reviews

ALL COVERAGE

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Author
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

A History of the World in Twelve Shipwrecks

Gibbins’s intimate knowledge of underwater archaeology and his appealing writing style make this book attractive to fans of popular history and narratives with maritime themes. Give to readers who enjoyed David Grann’s The Wager.
PREMIUM

Strike Up the Band: New York City in the Roaring Twenties

This highly recommended book bears comparison to Frederick Lewis Allen’s Only Yesterday. For general readers seeking a broad understanding of the decade and New York or scholars needing a reference point for this combustible era.

History | Prepub Alert, December 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

In France Profound: The Long History of a House, a Mountain Town, and a People

Best suited for fans of Allman’s work, along with readers intrigued by a little-known French town, the author’s 800-year-old house, and the book’s contemporary elements. This will appeal to readers who enjoy Martin Walker’s “Bruno, Chief of Police” mystery series as well.

Invisible Labor: The Untold Story of the Cesarean Section

This inciting, empowering book shows the clear need not just to improve women’s access to health care but also to shift the paradigm about the restrictions placed on reproductive rights.
PREMIUM

Project Eagle: The Top-Secret OSS Operation That Sent Polish Spies Behind Enemy Lines in World War II

These reports on a relatively small part of the war offer a glimpse of the problems and successes of inserting agents into enemy territory. Recommended for large World War II collections.
PREMIUM

Yukikaze’s War: The Unsinkable Japanese Destroyer and World War II in the Pacific

This solid history of Japan’s Yukikaze naval destroyer is worth adding to collections.

The Black Box: Writing the Race

Listeners who seek to engage in today’s debates about school curricula, inclusive perspectives on U.S. history, and forming a shared national culture will find this powerfully argued and narrated work an invaluable resource.
PREMIUM

Aid State: Elite Panic, Disaster Capitalism, and the Battle To Control Haiti

While heartbreaking and discouraging, Johnston’s indictment of the aid industrial complex is essential listening, critically important when considering future responses to natural disasters.
1,276 articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?