Library Journal sponsors and co-sponsors many awards to recognize greatness and contributions to the library industry. Keep checking back to learn how to submit your nominations.

Library of the Year

The library landscape has changed significantly over the last few years, and Library Journal and Gale believe the Library of the Year award program should evolve to better serve the field. So, we are spending 2022 revamping the program to more fully engage with the needs of today's libraries. Stay tuned for more details to come in 2023..

(See Past Winners)

Jerry Kline Community Impact Prize

The Jerry Kline Community Impact Prize, developed in partnership between LJ and the Gerald M. Kline Family Foundation, recognizes libraries that have significantly helped their communities thrive. Learn more and submit your nominations.

Submission deadline: July 8, 2022

(See Past Winners)

Marketer of the Year

Library Journal will honor one library staffer or a library team with its sixth annual Marketer of the Year award in its October 1, 2019, issue. Sponsored by Library Ideas, the award recognizes the importance of innovative approaches to marketing of library services, and the role of marketing in building library engagement and defining a library’s relevance in the community. Learn more and submit your nominations.

Submission deadline: August 15, 2022

(See Past Winners)

Librarian of the Year

The LJ editors are seeking nominations for the 34th annual Library Journal Librarian of the Year Award to honor a professional librarian for outstanding achievement and accomplishments reflecting the loftiest service goals of the library profession. Learn more and submit your nominations.

Submission deadline: October 29, 2022

(See Past Winners)

Movers & Shakers

The editors of Library Journal need your help in identifying emerging talents in the library world—both great leaders and behind-the-scenes contributors who are providing inspiration and model programs for others. Our 21st annual round of Movers & Shakers will profile up-and-coming individuals from around the world who are innovative, creative, and making a difference fighting against censorship, and helping improve their workplace. From librarians and non-degreed library workers to publishers, vendors, coders, entrepreneurs, reviewers, and others who impact the library field—Movers & Shakers 2023 will celebrate those people who are moving all types of libraries ahead! Please use the form linked here to let us know about anybody you think we should be aware of.

Submission deadline: Extended to November 21, 2022

(Visit the Movers & Shakers website)

Paralibrarian of the Year

Submission deadline: This award is currently on hiatus

(See Past Winners)

Best Small Library

Library Journal‘s annual award for the Best Small Library in America was founded in 2005 to encourage and showcase the exemplary work of these libraries. It honors the U.S. public library that most profoundly demonstrates outstanding service to populations of 25,000 or less.

This award is temporarily on hiatus. Please check back for updates.

(See Past Winners)


We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing