Reviews /bestof

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

The Loft Generation: From the de Koonings to Twombly; Portraits and Sketches, 1942–2011

This account of one of the most important moments in the history of modern art is invaluable as well as fascinating.

You Belong Here Now

This intricately plotted, deeply researched debut ranks among the best of the “Orphan Train”–themed novels and polishes the Western novel to a new radiance. Picture Charles Dickens on an Appaloosa for a fusion of two classic genres.

Sue Lynn Tan’s ‘Daughter of the Moon Goddess’; Daphne Palasi Andreades’s ‘Brown Girls’; and 47 Other Exceptional Works | Starred Reviews, Nov. 2021

Walking with Ghosts

Byrne has the soul of a poet; his use of language is exquisite. His stories will touch not just his fans but anyone who has experienced the pain of being on the outside looking in.

Autopsy

Scarpetta is brilliant, compassionate and humble, excelling in her profession and in diplomacy while trying to solve a heinous crime during a pandemic, dealing with combative coworkers, on call for the president and navigating a post–January 6 militarized DC. Longtime fans will cheer Scarpetta’s return in this timely tale; although all events are novel-specific, the series is best read in order.

The Curse of the Cherry Pie

A delicious character-driven treat for fans of The Great British Baking Show or Krista Davis’s “Domestic Diva” mysteries. Foodies will relish this latest addition to a series featuring a likable amateur sleuth with supportive, well-developed friends, along with recipes and talk of food.

What Comes After

Tompkins has written a stirring and excellent story of loss, silence, forgiveness, Quakerism, and faith. Each of her characters are fully realized, and though their actions may at times disappoint readers, their motivations are understandable. Book discussion groups, as well as fans of Annie Dillard, Ann Patchett, and Marilynne Robinson, will love this debut novel about humankind’s connections to one another and to the divine.

American Comics: A History

There are several recent histories of comics; however, none are as comprehensive or well-researched as this one. Dauber’s book sets itself apart, and comics enthusiasts will be enthralled.

Greater American Camera: Making Modernism in Mexico

A valuable contribution toward understanding cross-cultural currents between the United States and Mexico.
2,120 articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?