Reviews

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

The Return of the Pharaoh: From the Reminiscences of John H. Watson, M.D

Readers who enjoy detective fiction in the vein of Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle will find Meyer’s fifth Holmes pastiche a fun and delightful addition to the canon.
PREMIUM

The Uninnocent: Notes on Violence and Mercy

Those experiencing their own forms of heartbreak won’t find advice, but instead may find some comfort and understanding in Blake’s elegant, sympathetic reflections.
PREMIUM

The Rule of Laws: A 4,000-Year Quest to Order the World

An intriguing synthesis of the history of global legal codes and their origins.
PREMIUM

Glitter Every Day: 365 Quotes from Women I Love

Bravo fanatics will enjoy spending the year flipping through Cohen’s playful collection of quotes and trivia.
PREMIUM

Singing Like Germans: Black Musicians in the Land of Bach, Beethoven, and Brahms

A long-overdue tribute to musical artists whose stories should not be forgotten.
PREMIUM

Scandal in Babylon

Hambly’s characters seem too modern for the 1920s setting, as if they’ve been transported from the 21st century, and the story is all style, with little to sink one’s teeth into. Recommended for cozy mystery and Hambly fans and those who are interested in 1920s Hollywood.
PREMIUM

We Could Be: Bowie and His Heroes

Readers will find many humorously intriguing or infuriating nuggets here; though some tend toward gossipy tabloid fodder, the overall impression is that of a lost soul participating in an alienating and self-destructive environment but who overcame that at times to create impressive, norm-shattering musical works.
PREMIUM

Farewell to My Alter: Nio Nakatani Short Story Collection

Nakatani’s beautiful and easily recognizable signature manga art style makes it easy to get caught up in her collection. A good read, but not a must-buy.
PREMIUM

How Rights Went Wrong: Why Our Obsession with Rights Is Tearing America Apart

Provocative reading for those interested in legal reform and a civil society.
53,124 articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?