86 Historical Fiction Titles To Share with Readers | Collection Development

86 Historical Fiction Titles To Share with Readers | Collection Development

LJs first preview of historical fiction shows the genre is flourishing with a myriad of forthcoming titles. Surveying the next seven months, World War II stories still dominate the offerings. But more titles set during World War I are entering the fray, as are Cold War–set novels and stories starring librarians as spies. Beyond these time frames, titles set in ancient periods through the 1960s also appear, often containing strong elements of mystery or romance. Other findings to note: a wide range of viewpoints offer new takes on history; iconic literary characters and historical figures appear in many books; and the use of dual time lines connecting past and present is prevalent. 
Job Zone

EXPLORE LJ

LGBTQIA+ History at Home | Your Home Librarian

Grace Caternolo, Jun 08, 2022
Looking for ways to celebrate Pride Month outside of the parade? Many institutions and organizations have made their projects and collections accessible online, so readers can brush up on their knowledge of queer history. Alternatively, there are an array of films and books that cover topics ranging from the origin of Pride Month to personal queer histories. With this list, readers can discover history that may be new to them in the comfort of their home.

How Ted Lasso Changed My Librarianship | Backtalk

Beth Carpenter, Jun 08, 2022
Like many people around the world, I have become enamored with Ted Lasso. This comedy from Apple stars Jason Sudeikis as the titular character in a show with storylines that are funny, sweet, sad, and, at their heart, kind.

On Critical Cataloging: Q&A with Treshani Perera | Equity

Lisa Peet, Jun 06, 2022
Treshani Perera, Music and Fine Arts Cataloging Librarian at the University of Kentucky, has written and spoken on critical cataloging—looking at knowledge organization though an equity lens, examining not only at how content is described, but why those systems exist and how they can be changed.

Connecting at Scale | Editorial

Meredith Schwartz, Jun 01, 2022
In the midst of the myriad problems facing libraries in the United States—from the pandemic to burnout to the drastic increase in materials challenges—I want to celebrate a big win: the shift to libraries as at-scale providers of home connectivity for the digitally disenfranchised in their communities.

Barbara Hoffert, Feb 04, 2021
COVID shifts drove falling print circ and rising ebooks. But will it last? LJ's 2021 Materials Survey looks at some of the last year's trends.

Keith Curry Lance, Dec 21, 2020
This is the 13th year of the LJ Index of Public Library Service and Star Library ratings. The 2020 scores and ratings are based on FY18 data from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) Public Library Survey (PLS). Because of that delay, they don’t reflect the impact of the coronavirus; that won’t be reflected in the data until 2022. The big news in this year’s edition is that successful retrievals of electronic information (e-retrievals)—measuring usage of online content, such as databases, other than by title checkout—joins the six other measures that determine the LJ Index.

Mahnaz Dar, Nov 10, 2020
Whether librarians are providing services in-person or virtually, reference has changed with the pandemic.

LIS
Suzie Allard, Oct 15, 2020
Library Journal’s annual Placements & Salaries survey reports on the experiences of LIS students who graduated and sought their first librarian jobs in the previous year: in this case, 2019. Salaries and full-time employment are up, but so are unemployment and the gender gap; 2019 graduates faced a mixed job market even before the pandemic.

Gary Price, Jun 30, 2022
From an Educopia Announcement: With more than AUD $1M in support from the Mellon Foundation, we at Educopia are excited to be working with collaborative partners at Curtin University  and OAPEN on the Book Analytics Dashboard Project (2022-2025) to support the creation of a community-governed OA book analytics service for publishers.  This service is needed […]
Gary Price, Jun 30, 2022
From the U.S. Copyright Office: On June 30, 2022, the U.S. Copyright Office published a report titled Copyright Protections for Press Publishers. At the request of Senators Leahy, Tillis, Cornyn, Hirono, Klobuchar, and Coons, the Office undertook a study to assess press publishers’ existing protections under copyright law and to evaluate the viability of adding […]
Gary Price, Jun 30, 2022
From the U.S. Census: The last two decades have seen the country grow continuously older. Since 2000, the national median age – the point at which one-half the population is older and one-half younger – has increased by 3.4 years, with the largest single-year gain of 0.3 years coming in 2021, bringing it to 38.8 […]
Gary Price, Jun 30, 2022
From the LAC Website: Following two years of consultations, reflection and work, Library and Archives Canada (LAC) has unveiled its strategic plan, Vision 2030, defining the institution’s goals until 2030 and the measures through which it is planning to accomplish them. It is no surprise that users and access to collections are at the heart […]
Lisa Peet, Feb 09, 2021
When the long-awaited COVID-19 vaccines began to roll out in mid-December 2020, their distribution was immediately complicated by a shortage of doses and widespread uncertainty about who would be given priority. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) issued suggested guidelines for phased allocation. When it was not yet clear who would be next, many library workers, leaders, and associations began advocating for public facing library workers to be vaccinated as soon as feasible.

Erica Freudenberger, Feb 02, 2021
In the messy middle of the pandemic, library leaders share how things have changed since March 2020, their takeways, and continuing challenges.

Mahnaz Dar, Nov 10, 2020
Whether librarians are providing services in-person or virtually, reference has changed with the pandemic.

LJ Reviews, Oct 14, 2020
Since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, the number of books on the subject has been increasing exponentially. This introductory list, which will be updated regularly, is meant to help collection development librarians get started on determining which books work best for their collections.

Anita Mechler,  Jun 30, 2022
 Jesmyn Ward receives the 2022 Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction. The winners of the 2021 Ladies of Horror Fiction Awards are announced. The top best sellers are The House Across the Lake by Riley Sager, Escape by James Patterson and David Ellis, Lapvona by Ottessa Moshfegh, and An Immense World: How Animal Senses Reveal the Hidden Realms Around Us by Ed Yong. There are author conversations with Tim Miller, Matthew Hild, Mat Johnson, Jamie Bartlett, Jenny Kleeman, and Austin Kleon. Plus, adaptations on the way for Paul Williams’s Only Apparently Real and Eight Billion Genies by Charles Soule and Ryan Browne.

Kate Merlene,  Jun 29, 2022
Lisa Bird-Wilson wins the 2022 Saskatchewan Book of the Year Award for Probably Ruby. This year’s Gordon Burn Prize longlist is announced, which includes authors Margo Jefferson, Ali Smith, Lea Ypi and Tice Cin. LibraryReads and LJ share read-alikes for Suspects by Danielle Steel. Interviews feature conversations with Zachary Levi, Elisa Albert, Keri Blakinger, Carlos PenaVega and Alexa PenaVega,  John Vercher, and Meron Hadero. Plus, B&N and TikTok team up for the #BookTokChallenge.

Barbara Hoffert,  Jun 29, 2022
Top literary fiction, at home and abroad. 

Barbara Hoffert,  Jun 29, 2022
All the December 2022 Prepub Alerts in one place, plus a downloadable spreadsheet of all titles from every post.

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?