Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

‘All the Colors of the Dark’ by Chris Whitaker Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Read with Jenna Picks Chris Whitaker’s ‘All the Colors of the Dark’ | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

The Wisdom of Sheep: Observations from a Family Farm

This book is a must-read for those who admire and appreciate organic livestock farms and the goods they produce. It also movingly demonstrates how to persevere through difficult times.
PREMIUM

The Bartender’s Pantry: A Beverage Handbook for the Universal Bar

Bartending professionals will find this to be an invaluable resource, but home drink slingers seriously intent on upping their cocktail-mixing game might enjoy it as well.
PREMIUM

Dog Smart: Life-Changing Lessons in Canine Intelligence

An engaging, compelling synthesis of the ways scientists study and document canine cognition; this will be enjoyed by all dog lovers.

Latin-ish: More Than 100 Recipes Celebrating American Latino Cuisines

A superb, marvelously informative introduction to Latine cooking and cuisine in the U.S., enriched with intriguing snippets of Salazar’s heritage and culinary journeys.

Anna Haugh’s Irish Kitchen: Modern Home Cooking with Irish Heart

A well-rounded entry into global cuisine that home cooks will embrace. A winner for all collections.
PREMIUM

’Til Heist Do Us Part

This rom-com brings back the cast of characters from Desai’s To Have and To Heist. Recommend to readers looking for a zippy and action-packed caper that recalls Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series.
PREMIUM

The Third Perspective: Brave Expression in the Age of Intolerance

A valuable guidebook for navigating discomfort with a sense of safety and strength that defies binary thinking and encourages readers to express themselves in authentic yet circumspect ways.
PREMIUM

Negotiating While Black: Be Who You Are To Get What You Want

Peterman provides tools that everyone can use to identify, confront, and reduce implicit bias and implement best practices of negotiation.
PREMIUM

The Science of Ghosts

Paranormal soft horror with a sexy vibe. Readers, especially mystery fans, will find this blend of the arcane and the academic intriguing.
PREMIUM

The Literature of Japanese American Incarceration

An accessible examination of the U.S. concentration camps that held people solely because of their race and heritage, plus a look at how they impacted society and generations to come. Important for both researchers and students.
PREMIUM

The Untold Story of Books: A Writer’s History of Publishing

Immensely readable; will appeal to bibliophiles, fans of microhistories, and armchair sociologists.
PREMIUM

The Backwards Hand: A Memoir

Lee’s candid and poignant writing style will appeal to numerous readers. His highly recommended memoir about what it’s like to be a person with a rare congenital disability is insightful.
PREMIUM

Challenging Modernity

This provocative volume is wide-ranging, and the contributors do not disappoint. Although neither Bellah nor the contributors offer a definitive conclusion, the scope, depth, and coherence of this collection is a brilliant elaboration of what might have occurred.
PREMIUM

Digitally Invisible: How the Internet Is Creating the New Underclass

This thorough narrative rethinks the digital divide from the lens and considerations of race and place. It’s sure to inform debates and directions in public policy, industry, and civil society, including libraries.
PREMIUM

The Demon of Unrest: A Saga of Hubris, Heartbreak, and Heroism at the Dawn of the Civil War

Civil War buffs will be pleased with the laser focus of Larson’s latest; others may find it overly detailed and slow. Still, given Larson’s popularity, this is an essential purchase.
PREMIUM

More, Please: On Food, Fat, Bingeing, Longing, and the Lust for “Enough.”

This book’s tone is compassionate as Specter creates a foundation for accepting oneself and rejecting stereotypes. Self-help, sociology, entertainment, and memoir readers from many generations will appreciate this wholehearted approach, which challenges society to do a better job of understanding the realities of eating disorders.

American Civil Wars: A Continental History, 1850–1873

Based on an impressive array of secondary sources, this outstanding account will appeal to readers interested in the U.S. Civil War seeking to understand how it affected Mexico and British North America.
PREMIUM

I’m Mostly Here To Enjoy Myself: One Woman’s Pursuit of Pleasure in Paris

A sensual and vibrant essay collection and memoir that spotlights the different types of connections people yearn for and enjoy.
PREMIUM

From South Central to Southside: Gang Transnationalism, Masculinity, and Disorganized Violence in Belize City

An illuminating study about gangs and systemic inequality, best suited for an academic audience.
PREMIUM

The Whitewashed Tombs

Quartey’s author’s note discusses the current anti-LGBTQIA+ legislation in Ghana and its effect on him as a queer author. Recommended for readers who enjoy international fiction and detective fiction.
PREMIUM

The Phoenix Keeper

MacLean has crafted a lovely sojourn in a magical world that feels both familiar and wondrous. This mix of zoology, fantasy, and sapphic romance will have readers wishing they could buy a ticket to San Tamculo.
PREMIUM

Coexistence: Stories

Belcourt demonstrates the true strength of the story collection format, leveraging his remarkable skill with character and language to deliver a potpourri of memorable and moving short-form works.

The Disappeared

A must-read for historical fiction fans and a real-world cautionary tale of complacency and tyranny.
PREMIUM

Fire Exit

This novel further testifies to Talty’s ability as a formal craftsman, but its overdependence on narrative and emotional loops leaves the short novel feeling surprisingly padded.
PREMIUM

Swimming Pretty: The Untold Story of Women in Water

A timely tribute to the glamour and athleticism of the pioneering women of synchronized swimming and their efforts to legitimize it as a sport. For readers who enjoy sports history and popular culture and for fans of Jordan Whitney-Wei’s Katharine Whitney Curtis: Mother of Synchronized Swimming.
PREMIUM

She Married the Boss!: Actresses Who Wed Directors

Well-researched with 30 pages of notes and a 10-page bibliography, Malone’s book has a tabloid feel, and its juicy little-known stories will be devoured by Hollywood gossip and celebrity mavens.
PREMIUM

Starring Joan Crawford: The Films, the Fantasy, and the Modern Relevance of a Silver Screen Icon

An enjoyable read that stands out among the numerous books written about Crawford over the years.

Display Shelf | LGBTQIA+ Fiction

LJ Talks with Debut Horror Writer Donyae Coles

Bloomsbury Visual Arts | eReviews

Colonial Caribbean Module III: Economic Change and Indenture Labour, 1850–1870 | eReviews

SFF Writer & Translator

Shark Tales | Remarkably Readable Science

Read-Alikes for ‘The Midnight Feast’ by Lucy Foley | LibraryReads

R.F. Kuang & Katherine Rundell Win Britain’s Indie Book Awards | Book Pulse

Sarah Beth Durst’s ‘The Spellshop’ Tops July LibraryReads List | Book Pulse

‘The Midnight Feast’ by Lucy Foley Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Top Titles | Fiction Audiobooks Building Holds

Most Requested | Nonfiction Audiobooks Building Holds

Winners of Women’s Prize and Walter Scott Prize | Book Pulse

LJ Talks with Eunice Wong, Audie and Earphones Award–Winning Narrator

Audiobook Stars | Top Titles To Know, Share, and Listen To

Audio Whodunits | Mystery Audio Stars

All in for Love | Romance Audio Stars

Fantastic Futures and Fairy Tales | SFF Audio Stars

Scary Sounds | Horror Audio Stars

PREMIUM

Willie, Waylon, and the Boys: How Nashville Outsiders Changed Country Music Forever

Fairbanks keeps the story moving, deftly changing from one musician to another throughout the book. This volume sings on each page and is suited to any library’s music history section.

Brilliant Exiles: American Women in Paris, 1900–1939

“Brilliant” also describes this beautiful, browsable, yet scrupulously researched volume. With copious chapter endnotes, an index, and luscious color spreads, this gathering of amazing, trail-blazing women is riveting.
PREMIUM

What We Keep: Advice from Artists and Designers on Living with the Things You Love

A mix of coffee-table book, art guide, and home decorating title, the audience for this most naturally makes it a fit for larger collections and universities supporting design programs.

The Backyard Bird Chronicles

At turns engaging, sad, and philosophical, this highly recommended title demonstrates that anyone can be a bird watcher by simply venturing into their own backyard and it encourages readers to be aware of the natural world around them. Fans of Tan’s fiction will love this, but so will most other general readers.

The Horses Who Made Me: A Journey to a Horsemanship Philosophy

This title introduces readers to the competitive and risky field of equestrianism. In addition to being a great memoir for animal lovers, it will inspire anyone who faces seemingly insurmountable career obstacles.
PREMIUM

The Savage Style: The Savage Lifestyle

This book is filled with beautiful images of commendable but expensive designs.
PREMIUM

Dark Calories: How Vegetable Oils Destroy Our Health and How We Can Get It Back

This book contains some intriguing conclusions about seed oils, but not all the arguments to turn readers away from them are proven.

PREMIUM

Going Fast and Fixing Things: True Stories from the World’s Most Popular DIY Repair Expert and Car Aficionado

This title is part memoir, but it’s also an intriguing and insightful perspective that bounces from topic to topic as he conveys his messages about social media and typical societal practices in the U.S.
PREMIUM

The Curious Cocktail Cabinet: 100 Recipes for Remarkable Gin Cocktails

An enormously helpful guide on how to assemble creative cocktails for the next happy hour.
PREMIUM

Daybreak

Listeners seeking a layered portrait of war and soldiering won’t want to miss veteran and former war correspondent Gallagher’s (Empire City) affecting latest.
PREMIUM

The Risk It Takes To Bloom: On Life and Liberation

This dynamic memoir is a transformative read about the importance of being true to oneself. Recommended for listeners seeking a voice to guide them through adversity and come out stronger on the other side.
PREMIUM

What’s Not Mine

Contemporary fiction readers looking for equal parts grit and heart will enjoy this one.
PREMIUM

Hogbook and Lazer Eyes

This brief, visually rich graphic novel evokes an imperfect, appealing vision of domestic harmony.
PREMIUM

Tehrangeles

While some may struggle with enjoying a novel set in the depths of the pandemic in 2020, readers who enjoy the satire of Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan, and those who consider the Kardashians a guilty pleasure won’t be able to put this book down.
PREMIUM

Daughter of Fire

Despite the unevenness, Robleda’s first novel shows promise and would be a good add to Latine mythology collections. Young adult readers will appreciate the chivalrous romance, and those with an interest in Latin American history will find the cultural perspective refreshing.

Lies and Weddings

A delicious novel that takes readers on a wild journey.
PREMIUM

The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye

Cameron’s debut thrillingly introduces readers to a compelling heroine who deserves her own place in the swashbuckler pantheon.
PREMIUM

Oath of Fire

Rivera’s (“Ascendant” trilogy) combination of urban fantasy and fae-esque elements will appeal to romantasy readers who enjoy legendary love.
PREMIUM

A Darkness Returns

Feist (Master of Furies) is a skilled author of epic fantasy, and this compelling crossover has the same adventurous spirit as his other books. He has established a sweeping and expansive world that thrives upon the elements of classic fantasy.
PREMIUM

Black Tide Son

An impressive, swashbuckling high-seas adventure that is just as fantastic a read as the first novel. Fantasy lovers will delight at a series that adds something different to the genre and continuously exceeds expectations.
PREMIUM

Crypt of the Moon Spider

This tale of SF horror and monstrous transformation from Ballingrud (The Strange) is the first in a projected trilogy and tells a chilling story that clearly has more frights to come.

PREMIUM

A Darker Shade of Blue: A Police Officer’s Memoir

For police memoir fans and people who enjoy reading about triumph over adversity. This isn’t as blistering as Edwin Raymond and Jon Sternfeld’s An Inconvenient Cop, which was about the NYPD, but this is a worthwhile and insightful account from a retired police superintendent.
PREMIUM

A History of the World in Twelve Shipwrecks

Gibbins’s intimate knowledge of underwater archaeology and his appealing writing style make this book attractive to fans of popular history and narratives with maritime themes. Give to readers who enjoyed David Grann’s The Wager.
PREMIUM

brother. do. you. love. me

Readers who are or have been caregivers will relate the most to this moving, highly recommended work, but readers who enjoy stories about people uniting to overcome obstacles will appreciate this title too. Coe’s touching illustrations adorn and enhance this book.
PREMIUM

Strike Up the Band: New York City in the Roaring Twenties

This highly recommended book bears comparison to Frederick Lewis Allen’s Only Yesterday. For general readers seeking a broad understanding of the decade and New York or scholars needing a reference point for this combustible era.
PREMIUM

Death Scene

The killer will be obvious to cozy readers, but fans of the series will once again enjoy the characters and Salem setting in the sequel to Now You See It.
PREMIUM

I Need You To Read This

The second novel by the author of The Golden Spoon, with its newspaper columns and letters, will satisfy readers looking for psychological suspense and vulnerable heroines.

The Night of Baba Yaga

A mashup of crime thriller and queer romance, this fascinating fairy tale retelling has a decidedly un-fairytale-like ending but showcases the power of two very different women who risk everything to be free.
PREMIUM

Havoc

For fans of books by both Tony and Anne Hillerman, along with others that embody the spirit and landscape of the Southwest.
PREMIUM

It’s Elementary

Filled with snappy dialogue, laugh-out-loud scenes, quirky characters, a solid mystery, and a dash of romance, here’s hoping there’ll be more stories about Mavis.
PREMIUM

Anna O

A promising debut with a compelling central mystery that will keep readers guessing.
PREMIUM

Mother of Stories: An Elegy

These very personal and painful revelations from a death studies scholar will be of interest to readers of literate grief memoirs.
PREMIUM

My Affair with Art House Cinema: Essays and Reviews

Erudite and comprehensible, this invitation to cinematic culture, just like encounters with many films, rewards repeat customers.
PREMIUM

Sacro Visions by Dolce & Gabbana

At once an evocation of what it means to worship and a celebration of the art of Dolce & Gabbana. Suggest to readers who thrilled to Andrew Bolton’s Heavenly Bodies exhibition catalogue.

I Curse You with Joy

This memoir is not about Hollywood or gossip; it’s about being human and embracing grace and empathy toward family and self. Haddish makes room for jokes about sex and bodily functions and provides plenty of laughs and heart in this ribald, raw, and candid memoir.
PREMIUM

Taylor Swift Is Life: A Superfan’s Guide to All Things We Love About Taylor Swift

This title helps readers understand how Swift became a global phenomenon with an influential power that transcends music and pop culture. For both neophyte and advanced Swifties.

The Unofficial Oral History of Planet of the Apes, Vol. 1: 1963–1973

This comprehensive, authoritative, and entertaining oral history offers insights from dozens of actors, writers, directors, producers, makeup artists, stunt people, composers, and cinematographers working on the five films. It’s an essential purchase for fans of sci-fi films and the franchise that rivals James Bond in popularity and longevity.
PREMIUM

Rockin’ the Kremlin: My Incredible True Story of Gangsters, Oligarchs, and Pop Stars in Putin’s Russia

An absorbing illustration of the mutuality of music and politics. For musicians, business people in the music industry, and readers interested in the intersection of politics and art.
PREMIUM

Romancing Miss Stone

Vaughan’s (Casting Her Crush) Harlequin debut pays loving tribute to the adventure movies of the ‘80s and ‘90s, taking readers on a fun- and romance-filled romp through the Belizean rainforest. Bo and Alex’s story is sure to leave readers looking for more from this author.

PREMIUM

The Summer of Perfect Mistakes

St. Aubin’s (Trapped with Temptation) latest is a perfect read for the summer season, with plenty of sweetness and steam. Readers are sure to resonate with its themes of figuring out what one wants from life and learning to let go of perfection.

PREMIUM

Escape the Everglades

Piñeiro (Sabotage Operation) unfolds the crime and mystery in the Everglades and its surroundings in this vividly adventurous novel.
PREMIUM

The Kiss That Made Her Countess

Martin (The Housekeeper’s Forbidden Earl) continues Harlequin’s “Season of Celebration” series with this third installment. This steamy Regency romance turns a marriage of convenience into real connection.
PREMIUM

A Deal with the Rebellious Marquess

In Scott’s (Alliance with the Notorious Lord) final installment of her “Enterprising Widows’’ Victorian romance trilogy, readers will find an engaging enemies-to-lovers tale that is sensuous and sweet.
PREMIUM

Save Me

Sala (The Next Best Day) delivers a heartfelt read in her first Harlequin Intrigue title.
PREMIUM

Not Another Love Song

Soto’s (Forget Me Not) engaging novel, which is sure to be a hit with members of the Reylo fandom it originated from, should also circulate well in collections where contemporary romances are popular.

A Shore Thing

This unique take on the romantic road trip trope is sure to delight historical romance readers, especially those looking for charming queer stories.
PREMIUM

Guardian Defender

Thomas (Vigilante Justice) delivers a fast-paced romantic suspense ride in this page-turning novel.
PREMIUM

Silenced Witness

This adrenaline-spiking suspense novel by Richards (A Stalker’s Prey) will have readers wanting to explore the entire “West Investigations” series, featuring books that are well-written and entertaining.
PREMIUM

Slow Dance with the Italian

A charming mix of finding hope after difficult times and a love story, this heartfelt tale from Wilson (Cinderella’s Kiss with the ER Doc) is sure to warm readers’ hearts.
PREMIUM

The Prince She Kissed in Paris

Clarke’s debut is a fiery romance for royalty romance fans.
PREMIUM

Cold Case Scandal

Helm (Cold Case Investigation) skillfully delivers book four in this series and writes with enough detail and backstory to ensure new readers will be hooked and able to read this as a stand-alone.
PREMIUM

Bound by Their Lisbon Legacy

A romance from Hayes (One Night on the French Riviera) for the not-quite-enemies-to-lovers fans.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?