Melissa DeWild

224 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

86 Historical Fiction Titles To Share with Readers | Collection Development

PREMIUM

Voices in the Dead House

Lock captures the strong personalities of Whitman and Alcott without glossing over their flaws in this fascinating snapshot of history.

Take My Hand

With prose that steeps readers in this heart-wrenching story, Perkins-Valdez confronts with the atrocities that have been inflicted on those living in poverty while giving nuance and dignity to her characters along with glimmers of hope. This is an exceptional read.

Funny You Should Ask

After writing YA novels (Drawn That Way; Stray; Burn), Sussman makes her adult fiction debut with a smart and sexy tale of second-chance love. The story thoroughly satisfies on a romantic level and packs an emotional punch with genuine characters.
PREMIUM

Hotel Portofino

Already slated to air as a TV series on PBS, O’Connell’s (The Ethiopian) historical novel, brimming with drama, romance, and intrigue set on the beautiful Italian Riviera during the 1920s, is perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. It also includes a diverse cast of characters and deftly addresses the prejudices of the era.
PREMIUM

All of You Every Single One

Hitchman (Petite Mort) has written an absorbing novel of love and lust and found family that spans 1910 to 1946, a period when Vienna was a haven for queer couples, then turned dangerous when the Nazi Party ascended to power.
PREMIUM

The Saints of Swallow Hill

Everhart’s (The Moonshiner’s Daughter) latest Southern historical novel is full of tragedy and abuse with characters who initially aren’t easy to like, but the story becomes much more appealing as Del and Rae Lynn grow into protagonists to root for, in a unique setting.
PREMIUM

Antoinette’s Sister: A Novel of the Unknown Sister of Marie Antoinette

With a narrative focused on Charlotte and interspersed with letters from her siblings and mother, Giovinazzo’s (The Woman in Red) captivating novel highlights the rise and fall of a strong female monarch against the backdrop of the French Revolution and Napoleonic Wars.
PREMIUM

Her Hidden Genius

As she does so well, Benedict (The Mystery of Mrs. Christie; with Victoria Christopher Murray, The Personal Librarian) again illuminates an overlooked female historical figure, accessibly highlighting Franklin’s scientific achievements and also depicting some of her personal life.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?