Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Biography & Memoir | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Horror | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Science Fiction & Fantasy | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Myths | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Historical Fiction | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Neurodiversity Titles of Note | Parenting

Jazz Legends | Performing Arts

Baseball Histories | Sports & Recreation

Making Movies with Liz Taylor | Performing Arts

New Series Launches | Graphic Novels

LA Times Book Prizes Finalists Announced | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for ‘End of Story’ by A.J. Finn | LibraryReads

‘End of Story’ by A.J. Finn Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Cinderella in the Spotlight

This twin-swap romance from Pembroke (Baby Surprise in Costa Rica) is a perfect read for a cozy night in.
PREMIUM

Winning Over the Brooding Billionaire

Colter’s (Hawaiian Nights with the Best Man) latest is a heartwarming read of love and family.
PREMIUM

A Place To Hide

Webb follows up Murder at Sunset Rock with another well-delivered story of romance and intrigue.
PREMIUM

Heiress’s Escape to South Africa

Merchant (Ballerina and the Greek Billionaire) writes a charming romance that readers will be unable to put down.
PREMIUM

Consequence of Their Parisian Night

Renae’s (Parisian Escape with the Billionaire) latest is a fun romance with an adorable meet cute and an instant connection.
PREMIUM

K-9 Detection

Severn (K-9 Security) writes a great second novel in this series that has well-developed new characters and past favorites.
PREMIUM

Wetlands Investigation

Solving the murder and staying safe while exploring their newfound love, the characters Sarah and Nick make this a great third book in the series from Cassidy (Monster in the Marsh).
PREMIUM

The Perfect Witness

Mettner (Going Rogue in Red Rye County) will keep readers on the edge of their seats with this well-written, fast-paced novel.
PREMIUM

Swiftwater Enemies

Readers who enjoy suspense and search-and-rescue stories will find that this title does not disappoint.

Here After: A Memoir

A poignant book. The author explores grief in its unshakable, impossibly enduring rawness.

I’ll Just Be Five More Minutes: And Other Tales from My ADHD Brain

A must for collections.
PREMIUM

True Believer: Hubert Humphrey’s Quest for a More Just America

A flattering look at a liberal political figure. Fans of American political history will appreciate this one.

Knights of Freedom: With the Hell on Wheels Armored Division in World War II; A Story in Photos

An excellent, moving depiction that captures the defining period of a soldier’s life. Strongly recommended.
PREMIUM

Finish What We Started: The MAGA Movement’s Ground War To End Democracy

This eye-opening, often terrifying (for democracy advocates) debut work is rich with political history and recent case studies. Highly recommended for readers wanting to understand how millions of Americans have been swept up in the MAGA universe.
PREMIUM

Boxing the Compass: A Life of Seafaring, Music, and Pilgrimage

This title clearly showcases a life lived on the author’s own terms.
PREMIUM

Courting Samira

A humorous, heartfelt romantic comedy that will appeal to readers who enjoy gentle romance.
PREMIUM

Murder in the Blue Ridge Mountains

A fast-paced read from Flowers (Christmas Lights Killer) that will leave readers looking forward to the next title in the series.

Winners of AAAS/Subaru Prize for Excellence in Science Books Are Announced | Book Pulse

Delicious Romance | Foodie Rom-Coms

‘The Prospects’ by KT Hoffman | Romance Debut of the Month

‘Someone You Can Build a Nest In’ by John Wiswell | SFF Debut of the Month

Romance | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Read-Alikes for ‘Fangirl Down’ by Tessa Bailey | LibraryReads

Magical Realism | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Pop Fiction | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Literary Fiction | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Kristin Hannah’s ‘The Women’ Is Top Loanstars Pick | Book Pulse

Compton Crook Award Finalists Announced | Book Pulse

Tessa Bailey’s ‘Fangirl Down’ Tops Holds | Book Pulse

Susan Cooper Wins SFWA Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

The Devil Sat on My Bed: Encounters with the Spirit World in Mormon Utah

General readers will enjoy this book’s many stories about spiritual experiences and the accessibility of its arguments. Academics, too, can appreciate how the author situates the specifics of the Mormon experience in the larger theoretical discourse of spirit manifestations in other cultures.
PREMIUM

Jean Peters: Hollywood’s Mystery Girl

The author clearly did an incredible amount of research, but much of Peters’s personal life remains a mystery.
PREMIUM

Vampires in Silent Cinema

Though written for academic audiences, this title is engaging. Movie buffs will appreciate the extra effort Rhodes makes to resurrect films lost to time.
PREMIUM

Inconceivable: Super Sperm Donors, Off-the-Grid Insemination, and Unconventional Family Planning

This book reveals a little-known aspect of one route to becoming a parent. For health sciences consumer health collections.
PREMIUM

Pain Hustlers

Emily Blunt and Chris Evans star in a recently-released Netflix film based on the book, but Hughes’s riveting account about the opioid epidemic stands on its own as a work of outstanding narrative nonfiction that should find a place in most libraries.

Out There Screaming: An Anthology of New Black Horror

The collaboration of these uniquely gifted narrators with extraordinarily talented Black horror authors results in a thrilling, multifaceted audio experience that belongs in all fiction collections.

Polar Vortex: A Family Memoir

Dorrance’s (It’s All About Mimi) gorgeous, plaintive story speaks to those caring for aging parents and realizing they must eventually prepare for their own exits. A lyrical read-alike for Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast.

The Trojan Horse and Other Stories: Ten Ancient Creatures That Make Us Human

Highly recommended for both disciples and skeptics of classics. It’s also perfect for fans of nonfiction by Natalie Haynes.
PREMIUM

How the Spanish Empire Was Built: A 400 Year History

An engaging new approach to understanding the spread of the Spanish empire. Highly recommended.

Have You Got Good Religion? Black Women’s Faith, Courage, and Moral Leadership in the Civil Rights Movement

From the life of Prathia Hall, an activist theologian who inspired Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech, to the story of Bree Newsome Bass, who climbed a flagpole to remove the Confederate flag at the South Carolina statehouse in 2015, less than two weeks after the murder of nine people in Charleston’s A.M.E. Church, this book delivers a powerful, passionate, and educational reading experience.

Society of Authors Translation Prize Winners Are Announced | Book Pulse

Signs of Spring | Editors' Picks of the Season

‘The Phoenix Bride’ by Natasha Siegel | Romance Pick of the Month

‘A Lonesome Place for Dying’ by Nolan Chase | Mystery Pick of the Month

‘The Dead Cat Tail Assassins’ by P. Djèlí Clark | SFF Pick of the Month

PEN/Faulkner Longlist Includes James McBride, Alice McDermott | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for ‘The Women’ by Kristin Hannah | LibraryReads

Thrillers | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

History | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Mystery | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

The Readers’ Almanac | Books To Know in 2024

Soho Press Launches New Horror Imprint, Hell’s Hundred | Book Pulse

‘The Women’ by Kristin Hannah Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Hachette Will Go on the Stock Market | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Black Elders: The Meaning of Age in American Slavery and Freedom

A readily accessible read for all interested in the chronic, painful, physical, and mental battles that marked the daily lives of enslaved and emancipated Black people approaching the end of life, reckoning with their prospects, and reflecting on their mortality. This book centers elders, their roles, and day-to-day class and gender relations and demonstrates how Black communities cared for each other as they tried to maintain material and moral intergenerational bonds during and immediately after the era of enslavement.
PREMIUM

The Making of a King: King Charles III and the Modern Monarchy

This title delivers a quite informative and historic account of events from Queen Elizabeth’s passing to Charles’s first year as King. Royal fans will appreciate this work, but the book’s portrayals of Harry and Meghan may come across as unfair to some readers.
PREMIUM

Treaty Justice: The Northwest Tribes, the Boldt Decision, and the Recognition of Fishing Rights

Readers interested in the history of Indigenous peoples, the Pacific Northwest, and legal battles will enjoy this book.
PREMIUM

The Clear Leader: How To Lead Well in a Hyper-Connected World

Practical and evidence-based, this lofty effort will support any leader through today’s data dump. More valuable as a handy self-assessment or as a gap filler in leadership collections.
PREMIUM

The Exclusive

Fans who enjoy journalist sleuths, likable stars, and the novels of Michael Connelly and Hank Phillippi Ryan will find this hard to put down.
PREMIUM

Smoke Kings

In this story with an impassioned plotline and an assortment of complex characters, Mayfield approaches an often controversial subject with nuance, ushering in an array of perspectives from his dramatis personae. A brilliant debut from a promising talent.
PREMIUM

The Summer Canada Burned: The Wildfire Season That Shocked the World

A recommended title for forestry and media collections in higher education and for followers of Canadian events and studies.
PREMIUM

Sloth

This compact volume nicely covers the past, present, and future of sloths for readers who have fallen in love with them based on popular culture depictions.
PREMIUM

Nothing Special, Vol. One: Through the Elder Woods

Cook (My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic) offers a fine idyll through a fabulistic world that’s an appealing read for cozy fantasy fans.
PREMIUM

Dwellings

Readers who enjoyed Afterlife with Archie by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa or Octopus Girl by Toru Yamazaki will enjoy untangling the plots of these six cutesy yet highly disturbing stories.
PREMIUM

Manila Takes Manhattan

De Guzman (A Match Made in Lipa) gives readers a fun, frothy, and sexy story.
PREMIUM

The Boyfriend Subscription

This will draw readers in with its Pretty Woman vibes and queer love story.
PREMIUM

Sanctuary

Fans of Isabel Cañas’s The Hacienda and Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s Mexican Gothic will breathe in this book’s brooding atmosphere, even as its emotional punch of a climax leaves them breathless.

Immortal Pleasures

A lush examination of love, self-worth, and colonialism through the monstrous.
PREMIUM

The Waves Take You Home

Foodies will delight in the mouthwatering details of paella, pineapple upside-down rum cake, caramel flan, and sweet red wine in a charming novel.

Leaders Leap: Transforming Your Company at the Speed of Disruption

An offering of nonpareil implications for any business or organization. This title expands Chip and Dan Heath’s Switch. It also serves as a contemporary update to Clayton Christensen’s classic The Innovator’s Dilemma. Highly recommended for all university libraries supporting business curricula.

Shortlist for Bread and Roses Award for Radical Publishing | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Under the Tamarind Tree

A beautifully told tale, offering a compelling love story and insight into Partition and its aftermath.
PREMIUM

Three Holidays and a Wedding

An outstanding addition to any holiday romance collection, perfect for fans of Jean Meltzer’s The Matzah Ball or Jaqueline Snowe’s Snowed in for Christmas.
PREMIUM

The Sight

A bleak but thrilling listen, providing an atmospheric glimpse into the inner workings and superstitions of carnival life. Share with listeners seeking character-driven, supernatural suspense.
PREMIUM

Straw Dogs of the Universe

A moving portrait of a fraught time in U.S. history. Share with readers of Jenny Tinghui Zhang’s Four Treasures of the Sky or Lisa Ko’s The Leavers.
PREMIUM

They Called Us Exceptional: And Other Lies That Raised Us

This candid and compassionate account reveals the cost of impossible expectations and the courage necessary to find oneself. For fans of Qian Julie Wang’s Beautiful Country or Safiya Sinclair’s How To Say Babylon.
PREMIUM

Accidentally in Love

An enjoyable but somewhat slow-going sophomore outing for Jackson (The Accidental Pinup).

The Wake-Up Call

Will appeal to listeners seeking an engaging opposites-attract holiday rom-com. Recommended for fans of Sophie Cousens, Emily Henry, and Katherine Center.
PREMIUM

An American Immigrant

This novel about the importance of one’s family and culture should appeal to readers of Leah Franqui and Angie Cruz.

Motherland: A Memoir

This expressively narrated account of a country in crisis balances detailed research and political insight with snippets of daily life. A must-listen that pairs well with Raúl Gallegos’s Crude Nation and Rory Carroll’s Comandante.
PREMIUM

The Fabulist: The Lying, Hustling, Grifting, Stealing, and Very American Legend of George Santos

Chiusano’s case study succeeds in revealing the roots of Santos’s shameless behavior and never-ending lies. This account of how an accomplished scammer rose in national politics is both compelling and sickening. Highly recommended, and an essential purchase for all New York libraries.

Silent Cavalry: How Union Soldiers from Alabama Helped Sherman Burn Atlanta—and Then Got Written Out of History

This compellingly narrated contribution to U.S. Civil War historiography, made personal by Raines’s family history, is illuminating and thought-provoking. An important update to Margaret M. Storey’s Loyalty and Loss: Alabama’s Unionists in the Civil War and Reconstruction and an excellent addition to any audio history collection.
PREMIUM

The Pole

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a short but stirring literary novel about art and desire. Recommended for fans of Anne Enright and Rachel Cusk.

My Name Is Barbra

A spectacular and heartfelt memoir, written with invigorating passion and read with endearing humor.

Talking to My Angels

Longtime Etheridge fans and those new to her work will be blown away by her music and grace-filled, courageous personal narrative.
PREMIUM

The Beginning of Everything

A solid friends-to-lovers romance with some thought-provoking elements. Recommended for fans of Abbi Waxman and Jenny Colgan.
PREMIUM

Galatea: A Short Story

Will appeal to listeners seeking a haunting short story with classical inspiration and unsettling contemporary implications. Recommended for fans of Jennifer Saint, Natalie Haynes, and Claire Heywood.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?