Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Display Shelf | LGBTQIA+ Fiction

Read-Alikes for ‘The Midnight Feast’ by Lucy Foley | LibraryReads

SFF Writer & Translator

LJ Talks with Debut Horror Writer Donyae Coles

PREMIUM

Cold Case Scandal

Helm (Cold Case Investigation) skillfully delivers book four in this series and writes with enough detail and backstory to ensure new readers will be hooked and able to read this as a stand-alone.
PREMIUM

A Fake Bride’s Guide to Forever

Hardy’s (Wedding Deal with Her Rival) latest is sure to be a hit with readers who enjoy friends-to-lovers romances.
PREMIUM

Escape the Everglades

Piñeiro (Sabotage Operation) unfolds the crime and mystery in the Everglades and its surroundings in this vividly adventurous novel.
PREMIUM

The Kiss That Made Her Countess

Martin (The Housekeeper’s Forbidden Earl) continues Harlequin’s “Season of Celebration” series with this third installment. This steamy Regency romance turns a marriage of convenience into real connection.
PREMIUM

Romancing Miss Stone

Vaughan’s (Casting Her Crush) Harlequin debut pays loving tribute to the adventure movies of the ‘80s and ‘90s, taking readers on a fun- and romance-filled romp through the Belizean rainforest. Bo and Alex’s story is sure to leave readers looking for more from this author.
PREMIUM

A Deal with the Rebellious Marquess

In Scott’s (Alliance with the Notorious Lord) final installment of her “Enterprising Widows’’ Victorian romance trilogy, readers will find an engaging enemies-to-lovers tale that is sensuous and sweet.
PREMIUM

Silenced Witness

This adrenaline-spiking suspense novel by Richards (A Stalker’s Prey) will have readers wanting to explore the entire “West Investigations” series, featuring books that are well-written and entertaining.
PREMIUM

Guardian Defender

Thomas (Vigilante Justice) delivers a fast-paced romantic suspense ride in this page-turning novel.

A Shore Thing

This unique take on the romantic road trip trope is sure to delight historical romance readers, especially those looking for charming queer stories.
PREMIUM

Mountain Abduction

Readers looking for an adventurous read set in Montana may find this title intriguing.
PREMIUM

Save Me

Sala (The Next Best Day) delivers a heartfelt read in her first Harlequin Intrigue title.
PREMIUM

A Cinderella To Redeem the Earl

Lethbridge (The Wife the Marquess Left Behind) presents a steamy Regency romance full of vengeance and vice.
PREMIUM

Bound by Their Lisbon Legacy

A romance from Hayes (One Night on the French Riviera) for the not-quite-enemies-to-lovers fans.
PREMIUM

The Summer of Perfect Mistakes

St. Aubin’s (Trapped with Temptation) latest is a perfect read for the summer season, with plenty of sweetness and steam. Readers are sure to resonate with its themes of figuring out what one wants from life and learning to let go of perfection.
PREMIUM

Slow Dance with the Italian

A charming mix of finding hope after difficult times and a love story, this heartfelt tale from Wilson (Cinderella’s Kiss with the ER Doc) is sure to warm readers’ hearts.
PREMIUM

The Prince She Kissed in Paris

Clarke’s debut is a fiery romance for royalty romance fans.
PREMIUM

Not Another Love Song

Soto’s (Forget Me Not) engaging novel, which is sure to be a hit with members of the Reylo fandom it originated from, should also circulate well in collections where contemporary romances are popular.
PREMIUM

Black Tide Son

An impressive, swashbuckling high-seas adventure that is just as fantastic a read as the first novel. Fantasy lovers will delight at a series that adds something different to the genre and continuously exceeds expectations.
PREMIUM

It’s Elementary

Filled with snappy dialogue, laugh-out-loud scenes, quirky characters, a solid mystery, and a dash of romance, here’s hoping there’ll be more stories about Mavis.
PREMIUM

Anna O

A promising debut with a compelling central mystery that will keep readers guessing.
PREMIUM

Havoc

For fans of books by both Tony and Anne Hillerman, along with others that embody the spirit and landscape of the Southwest.
PREMIUM

Daybreak

Listeners seeking a layered portrait of war and soldiering won’t want to miss veteran and former war correspondent Gallagher’s (Empire City) affecting latest.
PREMIUM

What’s Not Mine

Contemporary fiction readers looking for equal parts grit and heart will enjoy this one.
PREMIUM

Daughter of Fire

Despite the unevenness, Robleda’s first novel shows promise and would be a good add to Latine mythology collections. Young adult readers will appreciate the chivalrous romance, and those with an interest in Latin American history will find the cultural perspective refreshing.

The Night of Baba Yaga

A mashup of crime thriller and queer romance, this fascinating fairy tale retelling has a decidedly un-fairytale-like ending but showcases the power of two very different women who risk everything to be free.
PREMIUM

Tehrangeles

While some may struggle with enjoying a novel set in the depths of the pandemic in 2020, readers who enjoy the satire of Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan, and those who consider the Kardashians a guilty pleasure won’t be able to put this book down.
PREMIUM

I Need You To Read This

The second novel by the author of The Golden Spoon, with its newspaper columns and letters, will satisfy readers looking for psychological suspense and vulnerable heroines.
PREMIUM

Death Scene

The killer will be obvious to cozy readers, but fans of the series will once again enjoy the characters and Salem setting in the sequel to Now You See It.
PREMIUM

A Darkness Returns

Feist (Master of Furies) is a skilled author of epic fantasy, and this compelling crossover has the same adventurous spirit as his other books. He has established a sweeping and expansive world that thrives upon the elements of classic fantasy.

Lies and Weddings

A delicious novel that takes readers on a wild journey.
PREMIUM

The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye

Cameron’s debut thrillingly introduces readers to a compelling heroine who deserves her own place in the swashbuckler pantheon.
PREMIUM

Oath of Fire

Rivera’s (“Ascendant” trilogy) combination of urban fantasy and fae-esque elements will appeal to romantasy readers who enjoy legendary love.
PREMIUM

Crypt of the Moon Spider

This tale of SF horror and monstrous transformation from Ballingrud (The Strange) is the first in a projected trilogy and tells a chilling story that clearly has more frights to come.

‘Ladykiller’ by Katherine Wood | Mystery Debut of the Month

LJ Talks with Michelle Moran | Historical Fiction Author of ‘Maria: A Novel of Maria von Trapp’

‘One on One’ by Jamie Harrow | Romance Debut of the Month

Historical Fiction Preview 2024 | The Best Books and Key Trends To Know

‘Time’s Agent’ by Brenda Peynado | SFF Debut of the Month

Pop Fiction | Prepub Alert, December 2024 Titles

Read-Alikes for ‘Not in Love’ by Ali Hazelwood | LibraryReads

Pages of Mourning

Riveting, gripping, and atmospheric, the latest from award-winning, Mexico City-based Morrison (The Wait) takes readers on a whirlwind trip across his homeland. Macondo, the magical utopia of One Hundred Years of Solitude, is an object of desire that remains elusive in Morrison’s gritty tale of violence and love.
PREMIUM

Target Acquired

A fast-paced thrill of a ride from start to finish. Readers of Terri Blackstock and Susan May Warren will love this second installment of the “Lake City Heroes” series from Eason (Double Take).
PREMIUM

The Pecan Children

This novel is a good match for book clubs (with questions included at the book’s end) and a must for thrill seekers and fans of Southern gothic stories.
PREMIUM

The Ride of Her Life

Recommended for collections where Dugan’s Love at First Set or Helena Greer’s Season of Love have fans.
PREMIUM

The Ashes & the Star-Cursed King

Broadbent (The Serpent and the Wings of Night) ratchets up the action, treachery, and romance in the second installment of the “Crowns of Nyaxia” series. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Yarros’s romantasy or those who enjoyed K.A. Tucker’s “Fate & Flame” series.
PREMIUM

The Spellshop

Durst’s (The Bone Maker) cottagecore romantasy takes place on an island of fantastical creatures and people, with romances among found family and friends and illicit spellcasting adding a dash of suspense to the mix. An excellent match for fans looking to take a break from epic fantasy for some feel-good humor and happiness.
PREMIUM

What You Leave Behind

With deep characterizations, local lore, and a sympathetic heroine, this is another feather in Morris’s cap.
PREMIUM

Heavy Hitter

Cotugno’s (Meet the Benedettos) straight-from-the-headlines plot is undeniably inspired by a certain megastar/athlete romance. A must purchase for most libraries and Swifties.

20 Bestselling Thrillers | The Most Sought-After Titles by Public Libraries

‘The Moonlight Market’ by Joanne Harris | SFF Pick of the Month

‘Errands & Espionage’ by Sam Tschida | Romance Pick of the Month

‘Hope To Die’ by Cara Hunter | Mystery Pick of the Month

Literary Fiction | Prepub Alert, December 2024 Titles

Read-Alikes for ‘Eruption’ by Michael Crichton & James Patterson | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Let the Games Begin

A perfect Olympic-year read. This debut rom-com sparkles and is sure to delight contemporary-romance fans, particularly those who love reading about athletes, celebrities, and tenacious underdog heroines.
PREMIUM

Jewel Me Twice

Filled with witty banter, delightful secondary characters, and steamy sex scenes, this fast-paced second-chance romance is sure to please.

Business Casual

This final and fourth book in the “Lovelight” series, after Mixed Signals, is a knockout. Keep the entire series stocked to keep up with demand.

If I Stopped Haunting You

This forced-proximity, enemies-to-lovers romantic comedy has plenty of chills and thrills. Readers will stay up late, with all the lights on, to finish Wilkens’s satisfying debut.

Fall for Him

With strong friendships, a full cast of delightful characters, and a story told from alternating points of view, this enemies-to-lovers and forced-proximity romance from Burke (Fly with Me) explores serious issues such as neurodivergence, alcohol-use disorder, toxic family expectations, forgiveness, and grief, while still being a steamy, humorous, and hopeful read.
PREMIUM

Can’t Help Falling in Love

Readers looking for a humorous and cozy read will enjoy Sullivan’s (Love, Naturally) newest rom-com, with its great cast of characters and a slow-burn fake engagement where he falls first and they fall harder together.
PREMIUM

Worst in Show

With a believable character arc, protagonists who have great chemistry, and a good balance of humor and depth, this enemies-to-lovers romantic comedy from Collins (Love at First Spite) hits all the right notes. Recommend to fans of Rachel Lynn Solomon and Laura Moher.
PREMIUM

Second Tide’s the Charm

This second-chance romance from Blumberg (Digging Up Love) is a slow burn, ratcheting up the sexual tension page by page.
PREMIUM

A Werewolf’s Guide to Seducing a Vampire

This third entry in the “Glimmer Falls” trilogy (after A Demon’s Guide to Wooing a Witch) is sexy, charming, and fun.
PREMIUM

Haunted Ever After

Boneyard Key has all the small-town charm a contemporary romance reader could want, with a slightly scary addition that adds a thrill without courting nightmares. A must-buy where romantic comedies are popular.
PREMIUM

You’re the Problem, It’s You

Readers should start with book one in the series, Don’t Want You Like a Best Friend, as Beth and Gwen from that novel play starring roles in Bobby and James’s romance. Fans of the series will enjoy seeing the reluctant heroes maturing and taking responsibility thanks to unconditional love from supportive members of their family.
PREMIUM

The Backtrack

Combining the concept of 13 Going on 30 with 2000s nostalgia, La Rosa’s memorable storytelling is engaging, bringing readers into a world filled with raw emotions, complex relationships, and intricate character development.
PREMIUM

Magical Meet Cute

Meltzer’s (Kissing Kosher) latest is a page-turner, and readers won’t be able to stop until they have all the answers.
PREMIUM

Not You Again

Andie and Kit’s second-chance romance follows a slow-burn path that is filled with corrective conversations, healing, and tenderness for each other’s experiences, while the reality-show backdrop provides a contrasting tension.

The Truth According to Ember

With relatable storylines about identity, family, and self-worth and endearing characters, this steamy rom-com is a strong debut and a must-have for romance collections.
PREMIUM

Love and Other Conspiracies

Hand Marlowe’s debut to readers who love humorous banter, forced-proximity and one-bed tropes, and a couple who support each other through their personal journeys.

One on One

Harrow’s breathtaking debut delves deep into the raw emotions of grief and the pure beauty of rediscovering joy in an exquisite tale of second chances, featuring an enemies-to-lovers romance.
PREMIUM

No One Does It Like You

In Shepard’s (Sweeten the Deal) latest, Rose and Tom make a charming couple, although their patterns of behavior might not change enough for some readers to fully embrace the second-chance happily-ever-after. It’s the hapless movie star Boyd and his cadre of fan-fiction-writing devotees who will keep readers rooting for this second chance at marital bliss.
PREMIUM

Enemies to Lovers

With a delightful mix of comedy, loathing, attraction, and seduction, Williams (Just for December) offers an entertaining and engaging romance and endearing characters. Highly recommended for readers who appreciate contemporary romances with second chances, overbearing families, and secret crushes.
PREMIUM

Rumor Has It

The third outing for this alien crew is filled with action, high emotions, and hijinks.
PREMIUM

She Who Knows: Firespitter

Readers who fell hard for Okorafor’s award-winning Who Fears Death (recently optioned by HBO, with George R.R. Martin at the helm) will be thrilled to read this novel that dives deeply into the backstory of one of the fundamental but mysterious characters in that tale. Those who enjoyed Shadow Speaker will find a story with a similar form but featuring a much-deadlier young woman who defies the rules that are intended to reduce and confine her gifts and her spirit.

The Mercy of Gods

Nail-biting suspense makes for an engaging and compulsively readable intro to yet another ambitious series from this writing team.

The Lost Story

Readers will find this an absolutely immersive pleasure to read. Shaffer delivers an unforgettable and nostalgic experience, especially for fans of “The Chronicles of Narnia” by C.S. Lewis or fairy-tale retellings.
PREMIUM

The Dollmakers: A Novel from the Fallen Peaks

Though the unlikable protagonist may discourage some readers, Buchanan’s novel echoes with alluring nostalgia that’s sure to ensnare others to the very end.
PREMIUM

The Crimson Crown

Walter’s (Misrule) adoration of the villains in fairy tales once again comes to life in a queer backstory for the witch queen from “Snow White.” Her prose compels readers’ empathy as she builds the richly complex story of a young woman looking to save the one she loves most.

Full Speed to a Crash Landing

Readers looking for a wild romp of a sci-fi caper story, complete with long games, big plans, wild heists, and epically flirtatious banter, are going to fall in love with Ada Lamarr every bit as much as Agent Rian White does in this first of a projected trilogy from Revis (Museum of Magic). Perfect for fans of Valerie Valdes and Constance Fay.
PREMIUM

Swordcrossed

Marske’s (A Power Unbound) latest may seem low-stakes, but the romantic tropes are delightful, the worldbuilding is vivid, and the cast of characters all lend a hand in creating a cozy fantasy with heat and heart.

Time’s Agent

Fans of Carmen Maria Machado will find in this debut novelist a new author to follow every bit as voraciously.

The Price of Redemption

There’s plenty to savor in this first book in the “Tides of Magic” trilogy for fans of Patrick O’Brian’s “Aubrey/Maturin” novels, readers seeking a new fantasy to fill the void left by the end of Naomi Novik’s “Temeraire” series, lovers of Our Flag Means Death, those looking for a less-cozy take on Rebecca Thorne’s Can’t Spell Treason Without Tea, and anyone who’d like to rehash the Napoleonic Wars with a compelling narrative, great characters, swashbuckling derring-do, and epic, heartbreaking betrayals.
PREMIUM

A Song of Ash and Moonlight

The characters could be further developed, but Legrand has created a lush and atmospheric world in which magic and peril are all around, immersing readers at every turn. Fans of Sarah J. Maas might enjoy this series.
PREMIUM

Between Dragons and Their Wrath

Madson’s (We Dream of Gods) skillful prose weaves a story of political intrigue, personal connections, and dragons. Readers will want to know where the protagonists’ destinies lead them after this first in a projected trilogy.
PREMIUM

The Dissonance

A great pick for fans of Stephen King’s It, only with a more fantastical and angsty edge.
PREMIUM

Blood of the Old Kings

Readers will crave further works from Kim after reading his English-language debut, the first in a trilogy. While waiting for the next installment, suggest Robert Jackson Bennett’s The Tainted Cup, Shannon Chakraborty’s The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi, and Naomi Novik’s A Deadly Education for a similar experience.

Toward Eternity

Hur’s thought-provoking novel will appeal to readers who love gripping metaphysical science fiction, such as Adrian Tchaikovsky’s Children of Memory or Robert J. Sawyer’s Calculating God.

The Moonlight Market

This sometimes unsettling yet consistently delightful fairy tale feels like a marriage of the clever schemes of Trip Galey’s A Market of Dreams and Destiny and the metaphors of Kelly Barnhill’s The Crane Husband.
PREMIUM

Glass Houses

Ashby (ReV) has created an eerily familiar future world and characters who are both sympathetic and horrific. Give to fans of Patricia Highsmith and Naomi Alderman.
PREMIUM

A Song To Drown Rivers

YA author Liang’s (I Hope This Doesn’t Find You) adult debut will appeal to those who enjoy retellings blending history and myth.
PREMIUM

This World Is Not Yours

Readers will find themselves thrilled and chilled by this planet-based monster tale from Ashing-Giwa (The Splinter in the Sky) that will appeal to readers who like sci-fi horror, such as Ghost Station by S.A. Barnes and the creepiest parts of Cassandra Khaw’s eldritch worldbuilding.

The Black Bird Oracle

Marked by Harkness’s deft evocations and appreciation of learning, this is a book to treasure. The portentous ending, rife with new story threads and threats, will leave readers hoping that she doesn’t wait another six years to continue the series.
PREMIUM

Welcome to Glorious Tuga

For fans of James Herriot’s All Creatures Great and Small or anyone looking for an engrossing and heartwarming book to enjoy in one sitting.
PREMIUM

Kings of Coweetsee

Readers will appreciate the timely relevance of this story and the way Neal (Appalachian Book of the Dead) captures the struggle between tradition and change and offers a poignant picture of poverty, abuse, crime, and punishment.

The Heart in Winter

Barry writes like a charm; every sentence sparkles.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?