Lesa Holstine

804 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

‘Hope To Die’ by Cara Hunter | Mystery Pick of the Month

PREMIUM

Death at a Scottish Christmas

The investigation is slow-paced in the sequel to Death at a Scottish Wedding, but the various holiday celebrations and Em’s new friends make up for the flat ending. For fans of Carlene O’Connor’s County Kerry mysteries.
PREMIUM

A Scandal in Mayfair

The strong characters will appeal to readers of the Bridgerton romances, as well as those who appreciate Georgette Heyer’s stories.
PREMIUM

A Killer Clue

The sequel to A Cryptic Clue, with its red herrings, missing books, and charming detecting duo, is a traditional cozy mystery that will appeal to fans of Kate Carlisle and Jenn McKinlay.

Hope To Die

Inspired by a real-life crime in Australia, the sixth DI Fawley novel (following The Whole Truth) is an intricate, carefully plotted police procedural comparable to the best of Ann Cleeves’s Vera novels or Louise Penny’s mysteries. The mixed media used in the book adds to its appeal.
PREMIUM

The Dark Wives

The conclusion to this novel feels abrupt, but fans of Cleeve’s complex, character-driven Vera series will be pleased with this latest installment, the sequel to The Rising Tide.

Gathering Mist

The sequel to Standing Dead sends Mattie and Robo to a difficult search environment. The story of the search, and the setting, are beautifully developed in a mystery that builds in intensity and suspense. Readers who enjoy Sara Driscoll’s “FBI K-9” books will appreciate the emphasis on search-and-rescue dogs in Mizushima’s series.
PREMIUM

Furever After

Although the 16th in Kelly’s “Magical Cats Mystery” series (after Paws To Remember) is, like the others, a cozy mystery, it’s also a story of chosen family. Fans of the series and romantic cozies will enjoy the wedding and “happily ever after” premise.
PREMIUM

To Err Is Cumin

While money in a chair and a missing unknown woman are flimsy plot points, fans of the “Spice Shop” cozy mystery series will enjoy the return of favorite characters, and the spices, food, and flowers that are a treat for the senses.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?