Lesa Holstine

774 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

A Collection of Lies

Berry’s fifth Kate Hamilton novel, following The Shadow of Memory, combines a cold case and contemporary murder in an outstanding traditional mystery. Fans of Kate Ellis and Jane K. Cleland will appreciate this book.

The Last Note of Warning

The characters and plot come alive in this atmospheric historical mystery. For readers who enjoy a well-told Jazz Age mystery featuring working-class and queer characters.

Hall of Mirrors

The second in the Nightingale trilogy, following The Savage Kind, is a mystery, but the historical elements add complexity as the author explores issues of passing as straight or white, concealing an identity at a time of physical and emotional violence toward LGBTQIA+ and Black people.
PREMIUM

Murder, She Wrote: Murder Backstage

Although the mystery is slight, the sequel to Murder, She Wrote: Fit for Murder will appeal to fans of the cozy series who enjoy the reappearance of familiar characters.

Every Time I Go on Vacation, Someone Dies

This humorous mystery with a touch of romance was auctioned to Fox TV for development as a series, with Mack writing the pilot. For fans of Knives Out or E.J. Copperman’s “Jersey Girl Legal Mysteries.”

Home Fires

The sequel to Dangerous Consequences is an outstanding police procedural that plunges readers into a community’s nightmare. Readers of Steven F. Havill and Bill Crider will appreciate the novel’s focus on small-town life and a local police force.
PREMIUM

Smoke and Mirrors

After four books, the story arc Hilliard began in The Unkindness of Ravens is resolved, with hints of a new mystery to come. Fans of TV’s Only Murders in the Building might appreciate this series, though they should start with the first installment.
PREMIUM

The Seminarian

The creator and writer of the TV show Bones introduces a wacky cast of characters in his second fast-paced, action-packed novel (after The Driver). For fans of Tim Dorsey’s Serge A. Storms novels.

‘A Lonesome Place for Dying’ by Nolan Chase | Mystery Pick of the Month

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?