Lesa Holstine

651 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Read-Alikes for ‘The White Lady’ by Jacqueline Winspear | LibraryReads

The Benevolent Society of Ill-Mannered Ladies

Fans of Georgette Heyer’s Regency novels will savor this mystery from “Dark Days Club” series author Goodman. Well-developed characters, a touch of romance, and cases involving social issues of the period enhance the experience.

Code of the Hills

The writing in the follow-up to Shifty’s Boys is as beautifully descriptive of the scenes in Detroit as in the Kentucky hills. Offutt’s Mick Hardin novels are powerful books that feature characters with questionable ethics.
PREMIUM

Dark Angel

While the Russia/Ukraine hacking scheme already seems historical, the second Letty Davenport thriller (after The Investigator) will satisfy Sandford’s numerous readers, with its high-octane action and gallows humor.
PREMIUM

The Ghost Goes to the Dogs

The ninth “Haunted Bookshop” mystery (following The Ghost and the Stolen Tears) is a little scattershot in the solution, but it will appeal to Jack’s fans.
PREMIUM

Hard Rain

The slow-paced, atmospheric sequel to the Tony Hillerman Award–winning Pay Dirt Road will appeal to fans of Marcie R. Rendon’s Sinister Graves, in which another young female PI searches for answers after a flood.
PREMIUM

Vivianna Valentine Goes Up the River

Some questions are never fully answered in Edwards’s sequel to Viviana Valentine Gets Her Man. Sexist male attitudes toward working women are on full display in this 1950s period piece, which might only appeal to fans of the earlier book.
PREMIUM

Nonna Maria and the Case of the Stolen Necklace

A streetwise Italian Miss Marple is a shrewd amateur sleuth in this atmospheric series installment (following Nonna Maria and the Case of the Missing Bride) that leaves a hint of more Nonna Maria mysteries to come.

The Body in the Web

The 26th Faith Fairchild mystery (after The Body in the Wake) is fresh and remarkable in its ability to bring back memories of the day-to-day aspects of living through COVID. The reader and the victim are both trapped in a web in this skillful combination of mystery and pandemic story.

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?