Becky Spratford

117 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

LJ Talks to Horror Writer Stephen Graham Jones, Author of 'Don’t Fear the Reaper'

Fear Is Always In Season | Horror Preview 2022

LJ Talks to Horror Writer Gabino Iglesias, Author of ‘The Devil Takes You Home’

PREMIUM

Daphne

A thought provoking and honest conversation about anxiety wrapped around a Freddy Krueger-esque slasher. For fans of cursed small towns like in Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s Hex, or other fresh takes on the teen slasher like Jessica Guess’s Cirque Berserk.
PREMIUM

Fantasy Kit

A strong collection by an important voice in the genre. It will appeal to fans of the haunted flash fiction collection The Ghost Variations by Kevin Brockmeier and the breadth of scares in the anthology Tiny Nightmares, edited by Lincoln Michel and Nadxieli Nieto.

The Devil Takes You Home

The violence is brutal and graphic, but the story is also lyrical and staggeringly beautiful. It is an entertaining and thought-provoking book about human truths and the monsters at their core. Suggest to fans of S. A. Cosby and Stephen Graham Jones, who also write stories told by marginalized, sympathetic, and complicated characters in which every detail matters.
PREMIUM

No Gods For Drowning

Piper, a rising star in horror, is announcing her intentions to break through onto a larger stage with this confident and compelling tale that is as fun as it is thought-provoking. Suggest it widely.
PREMIUM

What Moves the Dead

Retold Gothic classics and fungus-themed horror are both having a moment, and Kingfisher’s well-paced, immersive novella will satisfy those seeking read-alikes for Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s Mexican Gothic. Also suggest Moreno-Garcia and Orrin Grey’s excellent anthology Fungi and the nature field horror of Jeff VanderMeer.

The Hideous Book of Hidden Horrors

This first book from award-winning horror editor Murano’s new independent imprint will leave satisfied readers seeking out more from these authors.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?