Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

Infinite Dreams: The Life of Alan Vega

This biography’s candid photos and collections of images present an intimate glimpse into Vega’s life, work, and influence as an artist and performer.
PREMIUM

Silver: Poems

From fox to car to misty morning, silver glints throughout this polished collection, woven in like meaningfulness in life. A strong entry, appealing for most readers.

Prairie Man: My Little House Life & Beyond

Butler adeptly chronicles his trajectory into television, film, and Broadway and as a producer, and he’s candid about his personal and career achievements and missteps. He is as charming a writer as an actor. Fans will enjoy this behind-the-scenes look at his life and career.
PREMIUM

Feh: A Memoir

A page-turning memoir that shouldn’t be missed. Auslander’s nonfiction writing style is often compared to David Sedaris, and readers will see why with this title. It could motivate readers to keep trudging onward, even when life seems overwhelming.

Wrong Norma

Original, erudite, yet straightforwardly written; highly recommended for poetry enthusiasts.
PREMIUM

Black Bell

Complex and intriguing, this work will attract readers of cutting-edge poetry.
PREMIUM

Desolation: A Heavy Metal Memoir

A highly readable and often touching memoir about Lamb of God’s guitarist and lyricist.
PREMIUM

Bruce Willis: Celebrating the Cinematic Legacy of an Unbreakable Hollywood Icon

Willis’s fans will appreciate the book’s detailed filmography, but they won’t find personal anecdotes here.
PREMIUM

Colorfast

At once down-to-earth and sensuous; for most collections.
PREMIUM

With My Back to the World: Poems

Though Chang finally concedes that “My error was to become what / I wanted to be, not its tone,” there’s no easy understanding here. She’s grappling, and readers will too, but her refusal to trade in cliché makes this book stand out.

The Animal Is Chemical

A deeply human book for all readers.
PREMIUM

Hip-Hop Is History

Well-positioned to detail the genre’s evolution, this book offers hip-hop fans an engaging journey through its history, with much of its focus on the first 30 years.

Being Reflected Upon

A rich and bracing visit with one of our best poets; highly recommended.

Cue the Sun!: The Invention of Reality TV

A detailed, engaging focus, interpretation, and historical commentary on the evolution and reception of reality shows. A must-read for social scientists and reality TV aficionados.
PREMIUM

Too Much Too Young, the 2 Tone Records Story: Rude Boys, Racism, and the Soundtrack of a Generation

Rachel’s writing and research of 2 Tone Records will draw readers, but the book is lengthy.

The 12-Hour Film Expert: Everything You Need To Know About Movies

This gateway book will deepen readers’ appreciation of milestone movies. A variety of readers, not just film fans, will want to peruse this engaging title.
PREMIUM

Moving Pictures: A History of American Animation from Gertie to Pixar and Beyond

Primarily for cinema buffs but interesting enough for general appeal. Larsen is immensely knowledgeable about the history of animation, and he writes lively prose.

Another Land of My Body

Leonard has written a work that can and should be savored by a wide range of readers.
PREMIUM

Through a Noir Lens: Adapting Film Noir Visual Style

A must for devoted movie lovers but an enjoyable reward for general film buffs as well.

Modern Poetry: Poems

A highly recommended volume that can be equally appreciated by dedicated poetry readers and those for whom it might be that rare reading of verse.
PREMIUM

The Crow: The Life, Death, and Rebirth of a Classic Film, Revised and Updated

A complete, highly detailed guide to a cult classic and a critical analytical look at film safety practices.

Farewell Yellow Brick Road: Memories of My Life on Tour

A must-have for fans and a fitting tribute to an amazing artist.
PREMIUM

Fugitive/Refuge

A wide-ranging work of current import, shaped by an intimate and urgent tone that draws in the reader.
PREMIUM

Historical Dictionary of Confucianism

This well-researched, well-written reference is packed with information on one of the world’s foremost intellectual, moral, philosophical, and social systems. It’s an indispensable resource for high school and undergraduate students doing term papers, reports, and projects.

Opinionated Guides | Performing Arts

Punk Rock Tales | Performing Arts

PREMIUM

Namesake: Reflections on a Warrior Woman

A thoughtful, insightful, recommended collection of essays on Palestinian experiences that connects history with contemporary societies.
PREMIUM

Inspired To Climb Higher: The Challenges, Questions, Struggles, and Joy of Earning Your Doctoral Degree

Recommended for readers who are trying to determine if they should pursue a PhD or EdD. This book stresses that while every person’s journey is different, the key to being successful in earning a terminal degree is support from others and asking for help if needed.
PREMIUM

Semiotics for Screenwriters: Break Down Your Favorite Movies Then Write Your Own

A great addition to course materials for screenwriting classes and for academic libraries. Approaching storytelling from a theory-heavy perspective like this makes this work unique among screenwriting how-to books.
PREMIUM

The Moon That Turns You Back: Poems

Alyan’s audiobook is a solid companion to the print book, but the beauty and impact of her poetry are diminished in the presentation. Better as a listen-along than as a stand-alone.
PREMIUM

Queering Rehoboth Beach: Beyond the Boardwalk

This highly recommended title about Rehoboth Beach, DE, is a tour de force of micro history at its best. Both scholars and general readers will appreciate it.

The Believer: A Year in the Fly Fishing Life

Sure to become a fishing classic, this delightful book might inspire listeners to head out on their own fishing adventures. Share with those who enjoyed Dylan Tomine’s Headwaters or Malachy Tallack’s Illuminated by Water.

The Divine Christology of the Apostle Paul: Retrospect and Prospect

Informative, challenging and ultimately quite engrossing, this highly recommended title carefully unpacks selected New Testament passages. It reveals new facets and offers insights into profound and depthless truths about Paul and his understanding of who and what Jesus was.

Biography & Memoir | Prepub Alert, November 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Putin and the Return of History: How the Kremlin Rekindled the Cold War

A critical profile of Putin’s worldview. Thematically similar to Mikhail Zygar’s War and Punishment, this book focuses on Putin’s career in the Russian government.
PREMIUM

Belonging Without Othering: How We Save Ourselves and the World

Will appeal to readers researching DEI. This interdisciplinary work for think tanks, academics, faculty, and graduate students is most useful as a treatise.
PREMIUM

Trippy: The Peril and Promise of Medicinal Psychedelics

This title about utilizing medicinal psychedelics in the treatment plans of some conditions could easily have future public policy implications worldwide. The subject matter will be of interest to many readers.
PREMIUM

1217: The Battles That Saved England

An insightful look at a key but underrecognized moment in English history. History buffs will love it.

Women Money Power: The Rise and Fall of Economic Equality

This book excels at noting the ways societies undercut women. It’s a must-have that enhances gender studies, business, and sociology collections.
PREMIUM

The War That Made America: Essays Inspired by the Scholarship of Gary W. Gallagher

Readers interested in the latest research on Civil War history that moves beyond battles and leaders will enjoy this title.
PREMIUM

A Deeper South: The Beauty, Mystery, and Sorrow of the Southern Road

A beautifully crafted journey through the past and current South that will interest Southerners and readers curious about the region and its history.

The Cleopatras: The Forgotten Queens of Egypt

Llewellen-Jones’s extensive research on all seven of these intriguing Cleopatras is expertly presented. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The Last Decade of Cinema: 25 Films from the Nineties

Gen Xers and movie fans of all generations will enjoy this passionate and amiable appreciation of films of the 1990s.
PREMIUM

Rolling: Blackness and Mediated Comedy

An enlightening collection of essays that will appeal to readers interested in the history of Black comedy.
PREMIUM

For the Love of Renovating: Tips, Tricks & Inspiration for Creating Your Dream Home

A comprehensive and highly enjoyable guide to restoring old homes; while the coveted Brooklyn brownstone might not be accessible to all, the fundamental ideas can apply to any project.

Magic Pill: The Extraordinary Benefits and Disturbing Risks of the New Weight-Loss Drugs

This is not a simple book about weight loss. Instead, Hari explores obesity-related medical concerns and the risks of drugs such as Ozempic, all the while peppering the book with anecdotes designed to remind readers that the choices they make about weight loss often have far less to do with the number on the scale than they do with the stories they have been told about their bodies.
PREMIUM

Good Housekeeping Organize Your Life

With its daily and weekly home maintenance checklists, bright photographs, and handy list of organizational dos and don’ts, this book is a great resource for paring down and efficiently storing items so that they’re accessible and tidy.

House Love: A Joyful Guide to Cleaning, Organizing, and Loving the Home You’re In

Richardson’s playfulness and good humor shine in this book; he makes cleaning fun and provides excellent tips to refresh the whole house.
PREMIUM

Do Just One Thing: 365 Ideas for a Better You, Life, and Planet

Fans of Seo will enjoy this book filled with life-hacks and ideas to help them reduce their environmental impact.
PREMIUM

Thunder Song: Essays

A captivating collection of essays highlighting LaPointe’s unique experiences and inheritances as a modern Coast Salish woman. Strongly recommended for fans of Red Paint and similar memoirs; essential for Pacific Northwest library collections.

Display Shelf | Memoirs

Current Events | Prepub Alert, November 2024 Titles

Nature | Prepub Alert, November 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Women and the Church: From Devil’s Gateway to Discipleship

This recommended scholarly volume offers a fresh, feminist view of the Catholic Church’s history and teachings.
PREMIUM

Mae West and Her Adonises

A thorough collection of Mae West–related press materials, photographs, advertisements, and more on a rarely documented part of her career. Will likely appeal to West devotees and researchers.
PREMIUM

Critical Insights: Power & Corruption

This resource offers nuanced insights and facilitates engagement with the complexities of power and corruption in literature. A worthy addition to the series and a valuable tool for researchers and academics on this subject.
PREMIUM

Current Biography Yearbook 2023

An outstanding and invaluable resource that remains the leader in reference options for biographies of living and recently deceased people.
PREMIUM

Occupational Safety and Health Law Handbook

Companies and their safety employees will appreciate this updated, well-written, authoritative summary of OSHA law and practice.
PREMIUM

Birds Aren’t Real: The True Story of Mass Avian Murder and the Largest Surveillance Campaign in US History

This satirical conspiracy-theory book makes a fun addition to collections. Give to fans of other quick, funny, satirical reads such as The Donald J. Trump Presidential Twitter Library by The Daily Show with Trevor Noah team.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Demon of Unrest’ by Erik Larson | LibraryReads

Self-Help | Prepub Alert, November 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

The Feel Good Foodie Cookbook: 125 Recipes Enhanced with Mediterranean Flavors

Aptly demonstrated by the millions of views the author gets on her social media platforms, there is a definite appetite for Jawad’s whole foods–centric brand of Midwest-meets-Mediterranean dishes.

Accidental Astronomy: How Random Discoveries Shape the Science of Space

A captivating and approachable narrative. The book’s footnotes are a particular highlight, reminiscent of novelist Terry Pratchett’s witty and humorous writing style. This title is sure to educate and delight general readers and astronomy enthusiasts and will make an excellent addition to any science collection.
PREMIUM

Japanese Style Plant-Based Cooking: Amazing Vegan Recipes from Japan’s Leading Macrobiotic Chef and Food Writer

A fresh and unique addition to vegan cooking collections.

Dolci!: American Baking with an Italian Accent

This inventive, inspiring, and sweetly indulgent cookbook will earn its own well-deserved spot in bakers’ kitchens, alongside Nick Malgieri’s Great Italian Desserts, Silver Spoon Kitchen’s The Italian Bakery, and Gina DePalma’s Dolce Italiano.
PREMIUM

The Network of Life: A New View of Evolution

A perspective-shifting reconceptualization of evolution for science enthusiasts who want to keep up with current biomedical and environmental scientific theories.
PREMIUM

Bright Cooking: Recipes for the Modern Palate

Anyone interested in committing to a more mindful approach to cooking and eating and who’s willing to put in some time and effort will joyfully embrace Becerra’s dazzling, flavor-punched collection of recipes.
PREMIUM

Our Next Reality: How the AI-Powered Metaverse Will Reshape the World

This book about AI and its future contains complicated technical and philosophical concepts, but general readers, researchers, and tech professionals will find it thought-provoking.

Keep It Zesty: A Celebration of Lebanese Flavors & Culture from Edy’s Grocer

Written with a wonderful sense of humor and a great deal of heart, this cookbook debut is a first-rate introduction to the vibrant and appetizing world of Lebanese cuisine.
PREMIUM

One Bake, Two Ways: Fifty Bakes with an All-Plant Option Every Time

Following in the footsteps of Great British Bake Off alums Edd Kimber, Nadiya Hussain, and James Morton, Bhogal’s first cookbook delivers the stuff from which sweet baking dreams are made.

1974: A Personal History

A moving tale, from an expert storyteller, about growing up.

Then I Am Myself the World: What Consciousness Is and How To Expand It

Easily the most current, thorough, and helpful exploration of consciousness available. Koch’s light, simple, yet authoritative writing style will appeal to general audiences as well as scientists and researchers. An essential, highly recommended purchase.

Playing for Freedom: The Journey of a Young Afghan Girl

A must-have for any collection, especially in school and academic libraries. This memoir celebrates the power of one young woman to make a difference by speaking up and daring to be herself.
PREMIUM

Bloody Tuesday: The Untold Story of the Struggle for Civil Rights in Tuscaloosa

A powerful analysis and assemblage of oral histories from Black residents of Tuscaloosa, AL, demonstrating racism’s lingering effect on people, generation after generation.
PREMIUM

The Book That (Almost) Got Me Fired: How I (Barely) Survived a Year in Corporate America

James’s reflection on returning to the office in her fifties captures the dysfunction of the pre-pandemic corporate world.

The Book-Makers: A History of the Book in Eighteen Lives

A must for book lovers. Give to fans of Christopher de Hamel’s The Manuscripts Club.
PREMIUM

Free the Land: The Root Cause of Inequality and the Fight for a Better Future

A fascinating look at alternative landownership practices. Recommended for readers interested in economics, the environment, and issues of inequality.
PREMIUM

When Women Ran Fifth Ave: Glamour and Power at the Dawn of American Fashion

A fascinating journalistic study of three pioneering women in the changing retail landscape of the 20th-century United States. Shoppers who’ve been surfing Amazon in sweatpants since the pandemic began might look back on the eras of Odlum, Shaver, and Stutz with nostalgia.
PREMIUM

Fear and the First Amendment: Controversial Cases of the Roberts Court

An insightful read about using fear to frame public policies for political advantage. For First Amendment scholars and general readers alike.

Reds: The Tragedy of American Communism

This engaging history is based on a wide array of memoirs, FBI files, and other primary records that illuminate the American Communist Party’s lengthy history. Readers of U.S. history, especially about movements deemed radical, will be interested in this title.
PREMIUM

The Last Human Job: The Work of Connecting in a Disconnected World

Highly recommended for readers in connective labor professions.

The Light of Battle: Eisenhower, D-Day, and the Birth of the American Superpower

This magnificent study is based on deep archival research and offers a comprehensive look into the planning of the Allied invasion of France. Readers interested in World War II history, especially about D-Day, should enjoy.
PREMIUM

The Bonnet

A beautiful lived history lesson that’s a haunting addition to women’s and gender studies collections.
PREMIUM

The Wrong Stuff: How the Soviet Space Program Crashed and Burned

Recommended for general readers who enjoy books about spaceflight, engineering innovations, and the politics of engineering.

Nephew: A Memoir in 4-Part Harmony

This poignant memoir about overcoming devastating odds is a treasure and likely to become a classic. Essential reading for deepening understanding of society, the world, familial relationships, and the meaning of art and life.
PREMIUM

One Step Sideways, Three Steps Forward: One Woman’s Path to Becoming a Biologist

The incredible not-to-miss story of an evolutionary scientist who combined her passion for science with her love and devotion to her family, the environment, and many social causes.
PREMIUM

The Breakthrough Years: A New Scientific Framework for Raising Thriving Teens

An in-depth study and reference guide on adolescent development. Best for readers in working in education or psychology.
PREMIUM

Everything No One Tells You About Parenting a Disabled Child: Your Guide to the Essential Systems, Services, and Supports

An invaluable guide. It tackles many situations that parents of disabled children encounter.
PREMIUM

Newborn Handbook for New Dads: Expert Advice on How To Navigate Baby’s First Three Months

This pediatrician-created title is simple to read and full of must-know information. For all new dads, especially the ones who may feel overwhelmed.
PREMIUM

The Montessori Child: A Parent’s Guide to Raising Capable Children with Creative Minds and Compassionate Hearts

A must-have, easy-to-read, comprehensive guide for parents interested in incorporating the Montessori method into their home.
PREMIUM

What Are Children For?: On Ambivalence and Choice

Aptly highlights the paradoxes of parenting and gives readers grappling with the question of whether or not to have children an honest and balanced perspective that will help them decide what’s right for them.
PREMIUM

The Rhythm of Home: Five Intentional Practices for a Thriving Family Culture

A practical resource with ideas and reflective observations about how to live a more intentional life together as a family.

Let’s Talk About Aging Parents: A Real-Life Guide to Solving Problems with 27 Essential Conversations

A highly recommended resource that tackles the many aspects of caregiving for an aging parent. It’s chock-full of practical solutions to the many situations that may arise.

I Can Fix This: And Other Lies I Told Myself While Parenting My Struggling Child

Parents will find the need for tissues, several laugh-out-loud sections, and honest reflections in this highly relatable book.
PREMIUM

Parenting While Autistic: Raising Kids When You’re Neurodivergent

A much-needed, easy-to-read volume that encourages autistic people to have children if they want them and to ignore those who think that neurodivergent people can’t be good parents. Marsh uses fictional examples as a main teaching tool.
PREMIUM

Matrescence: On Pregnancy, Childbirth, and Motherhood

A fascinating and worthwhile read, this book for mothers is steeped in research that is both validating and illuminating.
PREMIUM

My Child Is Trans, Now What?: A Joy-Centered Approach to Support

A thorough and useful guide for all readers, but parents of trans kids will especially benefit from this resource.

The Black Family’s Guide to College Admissions

A much-needed guide with both insight and practical takeaways. It fills a void in the literature about the distinctive hardships and adversities Black students face in the college admission process. There’s much wisdom in this book for all parents too; it encourages families to examine both personal values and resources when seeking possibilities in education.

The Night Parade: A Speculative Memoir

An excellent production, combining surrealism and fantasy with the relatable hardships of life. Humorous, heartbreaking, and determinedly honest, this unique memoir offers an unforgettable listening experience.
PREMIUM

Alfie and Me: What Owls Know, What Humans Believe

Safina’s lyrical latest is a serene, educational listen that uses simple language to discuss complex topics. Recommended for anyone charmed by the unfolding of life and interested in the effect personal ideologies have had on humankind’s interactions with nature.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?