Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Biography & Memoir | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Neurodiversity Titles of Note | Parenting

Jazz Legends | Performing Arts

Baseball Histories | Sports & Recreation

Making Movies with Liz Taylor | Performing Arts

Here After: A Memoir

A poignant book. The author explores grief in its unshakable, impossibly enduring rawness.

I’ll Just Be Five More Minutes: And Other Tales from My ADHD Brain

A must for collections.
PREMIUM

True Believer: Hubert Humphrey’s Quest for a More Just America

A flattering look at a liberal political figure. Fans of American political history will appreciate this one.

Knights of Freedom: With the Hell on Wheels Armored Division in World War II; A Story in Photos

An excellent, moving depiction that captures the defining period of a soldier’s life. Strongly recommended.
PREMIUM

Finish What We Started: The MAGA Movement’s Ground War To End Democracy

This eye-opening, often terrifying (for democracy advocates) debut work is rich with political history and recent case studies. Highly recommended for readers wanting to understand how millions of Americans have been swept up in the MAGA universe.
PREMIUM

Boxing the Compass: A Life of Seafaring, Music, and Pilgrimage

This title clearly showcases a life lived on the author’s own terms.
PREMIUM

The Devil Sat on My Bed: Encounters with the Spirit World in Mormon Utah

General readers will enjoy this book’s many stories about spiritual experiences and the accessibility of its arguments. Academics, too, can appreciate how the author situates the specifics of the Mormon experience in the larger theoretical discourse of spirit manifestations in other cultures.
PREMIUM

Jean Peters: Hollywood’s Mystery Girl

The author clearly did an incredible amount of research, but much of Peters’s personal life remains a mystery.
PREMIUM

Vampires in Silent Cinema

Though written for academic audiences, this title is engaging. Movie buffs will appreciate the extra effort Rhodes makes to resurrect films lost to time.
PREMIUM

Inconceivable: Super Sperm Donors, Off-the-Grid Insemination, and Unconventional Family Planning

This book reveals a little-known aspect of one route to becoming a parent. For health sciences consumer health collections.
PREMIUM

Pain Hustlers

Emily Blunt and Chris Evans star in a recently-released Netflix film based on the book, but Hughes’s riveting account about the opioid epidemic stands on its own as a work of outstanding narrative nonfiction that should find a place in most libraries.

Polar Vortex: A Family Memoir

Dorrance’s (It’s All About Mimi) gorgeous, plaintive story speaks to those caring for aging parents and realizing they must eventually prepare for their own exits. A lyrical read-alike for Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast.

The Trojan Horse and Other Stories: Ten Ancient Creatures That Make Us Human

Highly recommended for both disciples and skeptics of classics. It’s also perfect for fans of nonfiction by Natalie Haynes.
PREMIUM

How the Spanish Empire Was Built: A 400 Year History

An engaging new approach to understanding the spread of the Spanish empire. Highly recommended.

Have You Got Good Religion? Black Women’s Faith, Courage, and Moral Leadership in the Civil Rights Movement

From the life of Prathia Hall, an activist theologian who inspired Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech, to the story of Bree Newsome Bass, who climbed a flagpole to remove the Confederate flag at the South Carolina statehouse in 2015, less than two weeks after the murder of nine people in Charleston’s A.M.E. Church, this book delivers a powerful, passionate, and educational reading experience.

History | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Black Elders: The Meaning of Age in American Slavery and Freedom

A readily accessible read for all interested in the chronic, painful, physical, and mental battles that marked the daily lives of enslaved and emancipated Black people approaching the end of life, reckoning with their prospects, and reflecting on their mortality. This book centers elders, their roles, and day-to-day class and gender relations and demonstrates how Black communities cared for each other as they tried to maintain material and moral intergenerational bonds during and immediately after the era of enslavement.
PREMIUM

The Making of a King: King Charles III and the Modern Monarchy

This title delivers a quite informative and historic account of events from Queen Elizabeth’s passing to Charles’s first year as King. Royal fans will appreciate this work, but the book’s portrayals of Harry and Meghan may come across as unfair to some readers.
PREMIUM

Treaty Justice: The Northwest Tribes, the Boldt Decision, and the Recognition of Fishing Rights

Readers interested in the history of Indigenous peoples, the Pacific Northwest, and legal battles will enjoy this book.
PREMIUM

The Clear Leader: How To Lead Well in a Hyper-Connected World

Practical and evidence-based, this lofty effort will support any leader through today’s data dump. More valuable as a handy self-assessment or as a gap filler in leadership collections.
PREMIUM

The Summer Canada Burned: The Wildfire Season That Shocked the World

A recommended title for forestry and media collections in higher education and for followers of Canadian events and studies.
PREMIUM

Sloth

This compact volume nicely covers the past, present, and future of sloths for readers who have fallen in love with them based on popular culture depictions.

Leaders Leap: Transforming Your Company at the Speed of Disruption

An offering of nonpareil implications for any business or organization. This title expands Chip and Dan Heath’s Switch. It also serves as a contemporary update to Clayton Christensen’s classic The Innovator’s Dilemma. Highly recommended for all university libraries supporting business curricula.
PREMIUM

They Called Us Exceptional: And Other Lies That Raised Us

This candid and compassionate account reveals the cost of impossible expectations and the courage necessary to find oneself. For fans of Qian Julie Wang’s Beautiful Country or Safiya Sinclair’s How To Say Babylon.

Motherland: A Memoir

This expressively narrated account of a country in crisis balances detailed research and political insight with snippets of daily life. A must-listen that pairs well with Raúl Gallegos’s Crude Nation and Rory Carroll’s Comandante.
PREMIUM

The Fabulist: The Lying, Hustling, Grifting, Stealing, and Very American Legend of George Santos

Chiusano’s case study succeeds in revealing the roots of Santos’s shameless behavior and never-ending lies. This account of how an accomplished scammer rose in national politics is both compelling and sickening. Highly recommended, and an essential purchase for all New York libraries.

Silent Cavalry: How Union Soldiers from Alabama Helped Sherman Burn Atlanta—and Then Got Written Out of History

This compellingly narrated contribution to U.S. Civil War historiography, made personal by Raines’s family history, is illuminating and thought-provoking. An important update to Margaret M. Storey’s Loyalty and Loss: Alabama’s Unionists in the Civil War and Reconstruction and an excellent addition to any audio history collection.

My Name Is Barbra

A spectacular and heartfelt memoir, written with invigorating passion and read with endearing humor.

Talking to My Angels

Longtime Etheridge fans and those new to her work will be blown away by her music and grace-filled, courageous personal narrative.

Some People Need Killing: A Memoir of Murder in My Country

A brave and heartbreaking work that fleshes out the human cost of Duterte’s violent rule.

Cocktails with George and Martha: Movies, Marriage, and the Making of ‘Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?’

Multilayered and eminently revisitable (like the play and the film), Gefter’s wonderful book helps readers reevaluate vis-à-vis values prevalent half a century later.
PREMIUM

The Rulebreaker: The Life and Times of Barbara Walters

A definitive and deeply researched biography, likely to be in high demand at all libraries, especially those with book clubs. Perfect for future journalists and young people who may not know what women went through to break into careers that were traditionally unwelcoming to them.
PREMIUM

Candy Darling: Dreamer, Icon, Superstar

A richly detailed and thoughtful portrait of Candy Darling, an innovator during an era that, although on the cusp of change, had not yet evolved far enough beyond the limited boundaries of conformity.

3 Shades of Blue: Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Bill Evans, and the Lost Empire of Cool

A compulsively readable book about three jazz legends who came together for one glorious moment to produce one of the best, most influential jazz records ever.

Baseball Heaven: Up Close and Personal, What It Was Really Like in the Major Leagues

A wonderfully distinctive and intriguing baseball history with something of a New York bent. With its personal feel and near-mystical quality, this highly recommended work will mesmerize baseball lovers and casual fans.
PREMIUM

Music and the Idea of a World

A distinctive exploration of the many meanings of music. Best for music theorists and those with a background in philosophy.
PREMIUM

The Swans of Harlem: Five Black Ballerinas, Fifty Years of Sisterhood, and Their Reclamation of a Groundbreaking History

Valby gives each dancer space for their stories to naturally flow, writing them as fully realized individuals with their own hopes and dreams. A heartwarming addition to performing arts biographies.
PREMIUM

Listening for God in Torah and Creation: A Weekly Encounter with Conscience and Soul

Written from the perspective of progressive British Judaism, this will appeal to readers looking for a modern take on the Torah. While this type of book could be read weekly in conjunction with the Torah passage for that week, there is enough ongoing narrative to sustain a straight-through reading.

The Story of the Bee Gees: Children of the World

This detailed and well-researched biography gives the Bee Gees proper respect. For fans of the group and music memoirs.
PREMIUM

Unspooled: How the Cassette Made Music Shareable

A solid blend of history and nostalgia about cassette tapes that’s perfect for Gen Xers and older readers.
PREMIUM

The Blues Brothers: An Epic Friendship, the Rise of Improv, and the Making of an American Film Classic

Will be popular with fans of pop culture and aficionados of film and TV history, as it not only covers the creation of The Blues Brothers abut also serves as a dual biography of Aykroyd and Belushi.
PREMIUM

Baseball’s Great Expectations: Candid Stories of Ballplayers Who Didn’t Live Up to the Hype

A fascinating exploration of the unfulfilled dreams of pro baseball players. Will appeal to fans of the sport.

A Year of Last Things: Poems

A powerful, thoughtful collection of observations and contemplations; a beautiful and valuable addition to the world of poetry by one of its most inspiring writers. Readers who love the work of W.S. Merwin, Mary Oliver, Billy Collins, and Louise Gluck will want to savor this new collection.
PREMIUM

‘Cleopatra’ and the Undoing of Hollywood: How One Film Almost Sunk the Studios

Film historians and Cleopatra aficionados will enjoy the book’s many juicy details, but expect repetition.
PREMIUM

Pilobolus: A Story of Dance and Life

Highly recommended for libraries that collect for sophisticated dance audiences and for scholars looking for in-depth, historical documentation on a revolutionary dance company. Pranzatelli’s vivid descriptions of the group’s canonical pieces will have readers running to find videos to see the magic for themselves.
PREMIUM

Living Space: John Coltrane, Miles Davis and Free Jazz, from Analog to Digital

A fascinating and complex study of the musical evolution of two legendary artists. Best for serious jazz aficionados.

The Notebooks of Sonny Rollins

Illuminating diary entries by a jazz legend; highly recommended reading for fans, musicians, and general audiences.
PREMIUM

Collaboration: A Potential History of Photography

An invigorating alternative to traditional ways of understanding the history of photography.
PREMIUM

Radiant: The Life and Line of Keith Haring

A solid choice for those with an interest in pop art figures or gay culture of the 1970s and ’80s, particularly in relation to the AIDS epidemic in New York City.
PREMIUM

Tuned In: Memoirs of a Piano Man

This vicarious adventure and engaging memoir teaches that learning a marketable trade, in this case piano tuning, can be a useful underpinning for seeking goals that seem out of reach. Includes insightful anecdotes about music stars.
PREMIUM

Jazz in the Hill: Nightlife and Narratives of a Pittsburgh Neighborhood

A useful book for jazz enthusiasts on Pittsburgh’s vibrant jazz life.

How To Win Friends and Influence Fungi: Collected Quirks of Science, Tech, Engineering, and Math from Nerd Nite

Delightful and eminently readable. This book about the Nerd Nite empire will be an excellent addition to science collections.
PREMIUM

Space Oddities: The Mysterious Anomalies Challenging Our Understanding of the Universe

Geared toward curious lay readers willing to be challenged with mind-bending scientific puzzles. It helps to have some familiarity with physics, but this book is accessible with clear explanations, a sprinkling of humor, and a dash of poetry. The combination makes for an engaging follow-up to Cliff’s previous book, How To Make an Apple Pie from Scratch.

Classic French Recipes

An excellent, encouraging introduction to French home cooking by an author who combines the best culinary qualities of Gallic versions of Irma Rombauer and Fannie Farmer, with just a dash of Ratatouille’s beloved Chef Gusteau.
PREMIUM

My Life in Recipes: Food, Family, and Memories

For those seeking a healthy mix of typical yet well-executed European-Jewish dishes, paired with less familiar while still intriguing options, this will be a sure hit.
PREMIUM

Sugar Taco at Home: Plant-Based Mexican Recipes from Our L.A. Restaurant

A true reflection of the Sugar Taco brand provides the home chef with conscientious, earth-friendly, and delicious vegan Mexican food.
PREMIUM

Roots, Heart, Soul: The Story, Celebration, and Recipes of Afro Cuisine in America

Richards delves into the foodways of his ancestors and, in doing so, highlights the Afro-diaspora and its delicious culinary heritage in the U.S. and beyond.
PREMIUM

The Flower Yard in Containers & Pots: Creating Paradise Season by Season

Parkinson’s love for plants, gardening, and wildlife shines through in this conversational, lovely book. Most useful for intermediate or advanced gardeners.

Grown Woman Talk: Your Guide to Getting and Staying Healthy

A remarkable, accessible offering of feasible action steps that will help women feel more in control of medical issues related to heart health, hormones, cancer, and much more. Written from a social justice lens.
PREMIUM

Southern Rivers: Restoring America’s Freshwater Biodiversity

A wide-ranging picture of interconnectedness between aquatic biodiversity and humanity. Includes rich terminology and vivid descriptions and photographs. Highly recommended for libraries in the Southeast or any library with a strong environmental history collection.

Deep Space: Beyond the Solar System to the Edge of the Universe and the Beginning of Time

A stunning and essential coffee-table book. Targeted at amateur astronomers, the book takes advantage of today’s advanced astronomy research that provides exciting new information from the sensitive eyes of modern large telescopes, both in space and on the ground. Nicely supplements Erich Karkoschka’s Observer’s Sky Atlas and the National Geographic Stargazer’s Atlas.

Sam the Cooking Guy and the Holy Grill: Easy & Delicious Recipes for Outdoor Grilling & Smoking

Even among other excellent guides, like How To Grill Everything by Mark Bittman and Smokin’ Hot in the South by Melissa Cookston, Zien’s exuberantly written cookbook will encourage readers to let out their inner caveperson and throw something tasty on the barbie.

Twelve Trees: The Deep Roots of Our Future

This engaging heart-and-mind approach to educating readers about trees reveals that they too have lessons to offer to the world.
PREMIUM

AI Needs You: How We Can Change AI’s Future and Save Our Own

A loud and clear call to action regarding AI’s future, which is put into perspective by probing the history of three other major technological innovations, not a book about AI’s day-to-day utilization.
PREMIUM

Wild Sugar: Seasonal Sweet Treats Inspired by the Mountain West

Bakers with some experience in the kitchen, especially fans of the Pioneer Woman brand of cookbooks, will find both culinary and philosophical inspiration in this sweet debut.
PREMIUM

Raising Mentally Strong Kids: How To Combine the Power of Neuroscience with Love and Logic To Grow Confident, Kind, Responsible, and Resilient Children and Young Adults

Many parents will gain much insight into how to raise mentally healthy individuals who treat others (and self) with dignity and demonstrate empathy.

The 5 Principles of Parenting: Your Essential Guide to Raising Good Humans

Comprehensive and filled with ideas that parents can quickly translate into action. A remarkable addition to collections.

Momma Cusses: A Field Guide to Responsive Parenting & Trying Not To Be the Reason Your Kid Needs Therapy

Side-splittingly funny and relatable. A rollicking read for overwhelmed parents who can look past a few swear words to learn how to regulate themselves to be responsive, not reactive, to their children.
PREMIUM

You’re Not Done Yet: Parenting Young Adults in an Age of Uncertainty

An insightful guide that addresses the oft-ignored problems that young adults face. For parents who want to help their young adults lead thriving, independent lives.
PREMIUM

Parenting Anxious Kids: Understanding Anxiety in Children by Age and Stage

With epidemic levels of anxiety on the rise, especially for youths, this guide will benefit many parents who are looking for ways to be of help, instead of a hindrance, to their children.
PREMIUM

Your Child Is Not Broken: Parent Your Neurodivergent Child Without Losing Your Marbles

This book will help many parents of neurodivergent children. Readers will appreciate Mavir’s honest, no-holds-barred approach.
PREMIUM

Becoming a Screen-Savvy Family: How To Navigate a Media-Saturated World—and Why We Should

This title is aimed at Christian parents, but the book’s tips will likely help most people concerned about their children’s media usage and consumption.
PREMIUM

Sigh, See, Start: How To Be the Parent Your Child Needs in a World That Won’t Stop Pushing

This book will appeal to many parents who are feeling guilty about not meeting their child’s needs. This book’s solutions are simple enough to implement immediately.

How To Talk to Kids About Anything: Tips, Scripts, Stories, and Steps To Make Even the Toughest Conversations Easier

A must-have, all-encompassing resource. For parents looking for support and answers.

Parenting at the Intersections: Raising Neurodivergent Children of Color

A necessary, engaging, educational, and eye-opening perspective, not often found, about parenting children of color with neurodivergence. It’s also a powerful call to action to make parenting a form of disruption to oppressive systems and people.
PREMIUM

The Unexpected: Navigating Pregnancy During and After Complications

A vital reference that steers women toward healthy and successful pregnancies.
PREMIUM

Restore Your Life from Chronic Pain: Find Lasting Relief from Arthritis, Headache, and Back Pain

A positive, comprehensive, integrative, helpful, and hopeful approach to taming pain. Perfect for people with chronic pain who are eager for feasible solutions.
PREMIUM

Creators in the Academic Library: Collections and Spaces

Offering inspiration for implementing student creativity initiatives, this is a recommended purchase for most higher education libraries.
PREMIUM

The Design of Books: An Explainer for Authors, Editors, Agents, and Other Curious Readers

This title illuminates all that goes into producing and designing a book. A must for authors, editors, designers, and curious readers. Give to those who enjoyed ABC for Book Collectors by John Carter and Nicolas Barker. They’ll love this book too.

Cataloging and Classification: An Introduction

The new edition of this essential work has raised the bar on an already excellent text about cataloguing. Recommended for cataloguers at all levels of expertise.
PREMIUM

The Fight Against Book Bans: Perspectives from the Field

This title is highly recommended for people seeking information on how to address book challenges and increase advocacy efforts, as well as anyone working in libraries facing censorship who needs to know they aren’t alone.

Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics 2023

The most authoritative and up-to-date source on United States labor market data available in print. A must-purchase.
PREMIUM

The Encyclopedia of Cut Flowers: What Flowers To Buy, When To Buy Them, and How To Keep Them Alive Longer

A distinctive ready reference that will provide an abundance of positive takeaways and tips for both novices and the most seasoned florists.

The Need for Roots

Perennially debated, puzzled over, critiqued, and lauded, Weil’s impassioned contribution to the philosophy of human flourishing gathers resonance in a polarized world out of balance. Essential.
PREMIUM

No Bullet Got Me Yet: The Relentless Faith of Father Kapaun

Readers interested in military and Korean War history and faith-based stories will enjoy this book about a man whose simple yet profound piety influenced all who came in contact with him, regardless of their faith or background.

Bones Worth Breaking: A Memoir

This memoir is a poignant portrait of the love between two brothers and a shared life, with descriptions of traumatic experiences and the resulting scars. The relevance of the book’s themes and topics, alongside Martinez’s openness and exceptional writing skill, will undoubtedly connect with many readers.

The Wives: A Memoir

A fearless, engaging, and important memoir about how one person’s decision to serve in the military affects their entire family. Readers will learn the true meaning of military service through the wider lens of its impact on families and communities.

The Black Box: Writing the Race

A must for scholars, yet still accessible to general audiences, by arguably the preeminent scholar of African American studies. This gem brilliantly reflects multiple depictions of what it means to be a Black American amid complex, structured interracial and color-based discrimination discourses, in which writing and language are keys.

Solidarity: The Past, Present, and Future of a World-Changing Idea

Readers interested in the intersection of politics and practice will devour this impressive work.

The Hammer: Power, Inequality, and the Struggle for the Soul of Labor

Well researched and reported, with a propulsive storytelling style. Nolan’s outstanding book will interest readers who follow news about equality efforts but might not be familiar with the complex world of labor organizing.
PREMIUM

The Sky Was Falling: A Young Surgeon’s Story of Bravery, Survival, and Hope

A recommended purchase. This debut author’s writing style and fast-paced story will appeal to readers interested in a behind-the-scenes look at hospital operations and personnel during the COVID pandemic.
PREMIUM

Exploring American Jewish History Through 50 Historic Treasures

An intriguing, illustrated volume that showcases the link between Jewish artifacts and U.S. history.
PREMIUM

Saving Michelangelo’s Dome: How Three Mathematicians and a Pope Sparked an Architectural Revolution

An accessible book about the history of the dome that sparked an architectural revolution; recommended for general audiences.
PREMIUM

Tinseltown Gangsters: The Rise and Decline of the Mob in Hollywood

A great addition to collections about the history of film or organized crime, chronicling famous and lesser-known mobsters who made a killing, literally and figuratively, in Hollywood. Sussman’s diligent research and juicy storytelling will appeal to fans of his other works.

Says Who?: A Kinder, Funner Usage Guide for Everyone Who Cares About Words

Highly recommended for all writers and speakers of English who want to understand why the language works the way it does.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?