Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

Off-Earth: Ethical Questions and Quandaries for Living in Outer Space

This well-researched and accessible book is for general readers or those interested in the philosophy of science or the ethics of space travel.

Wildlife Anatomy: The Curious Lives & Features of Wild Animals Around the World

This book, more than many like it, will entice readers to consult it over and over, consistently finding new information each time they do. Highly recommended for all libraries.
PREMIUM

Mushrooming: An Illustrated Guide to the Fantastic, Delicious, Deadly, and Strange World of Fungi

This book would complement environmental art and nature lovers’ collections. It also pairs well with works about Beatrix Potter’s artwork, Paul Stamets’s contributions to mycology, and Eugenia Bone’s Mycophilia. A beautiful artistic exploration and tribute to mushrooms for their own beauty and value.
PREMIUM

Paved Paradise: How Parking Explains the World

Grabar offers an intriguing, wide-ranging, readable perspective of the urban American parking scene, its issues, and possible future.
PREMIUM

The Angel Makers: Arsenic, a Midwife, and Modern History’s Most Astonishing Murder Ring

True crime readers are sure to enjoy this debut.
PREMIUM

Truth and Repair: How Trauma Survivors Envision Justice

An intriguing exploration of alternative methods of justice for trauma survivors.
PREMIUM

Love, Nature, Magic: Shamanic Journeys into the Heart of My Garden

Recommended for people who love gardening or those with an interest in spiritual connections with nature.
PREMIUM

At Work in the Ruins: Finding Our Place in the Time of Science, Climate Change, Pandemics & All the Other Emergencies

A thought-provoking suggestion for readers well versed in climate discourse.
PREMIUM

Birdgirl: Looking to the Skies in Search of a Better Future

This is Jeannette Walls’s The Glass Castle meets Neil Hayward’s Lost Among the Birds, and it will likely generate strong millennial appeal as well.
PREMIUM

Grimhaven

Tasker’s (1903–44) unromantic, soul-baring account combines the authenticity of memoir with the stirring progress of a bildungsroman. A worthy revival.
PREMIUM

The Bolivian Diary

Among Seven Stories Press’s vibrant English and Spanish editions of Che’s complete works, this raw account of his desperate and ultimately tragic final campaign makes a riveting and sobering bookend to the youthful idealism of his cult classic The Motorcycle Diaries.
PREMIUM

25 Ready-To-Use Sustainable Living Programs for Libraries

A useful collection of ideas for libraries interested in offering sustainable-living programs.
PREMIUM

Birdlife: A Naturalist’s Guide to Birds of the Southeast

A useful companion to classic guidebooks, rounding out collections for birders in the Southeastern U.S.
PREMIUM

Ikebana: The Zen Way of Flowers

This visually striking art book will appeal to all who appreciate the beauty of ikebana and might inspire readers to try their hand at creating their own hanaike using Ueno’s techniques.
PREMIUM

2023 Night Sky Almanac: A Month-by-Month Guide to North America’s Skies from the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada

More than 60 illustrations and detailed monthly notes makes this a good choice for Northern Hemisphere public libraries.
PREMIUM

Planktonia: The Nightly Migration of the Ocean’s Smallest Creatures

Sea angels, tonguefish, hydromedusae, and peppermint shrimp in all their majestic beauty. Consider for all libraries.
PREMIUM

The Tracker’s Field Guide: A Comprehensive Manual for Animal Tracking

Improved photos, updated species names, and ample sources make this revised edition a recommended choice, particularly for rural libraries.

The Academic Library in the United States: Historical Perspectives

This comprehensive and important work will be deeply appreciated by librarians and historians; a welcome addition to any higher-education library.
PREMIUM

Sustainable Online Library Services and Resources: Learning from the Pandemic

A valuable resource for academic libraries, library schools, and large public library systems.
PREMIUM

How To Promote Your Book: A Practical Guide to Publicizing Your Own Title

A beneficial purchase, of particular use for self-published and small-press authors, with information that will be helpful for anyone seeking to boost the visibility of their work.
PREMIUM

Project Management in Technical Services: Practical Tips and Case Studies

While one must take care that the costs of project management don’t outweigh the benefits, this work provides tools and examples to provide a solid starting point for interested librarians. Recommended reading for library administrators and technical services librarians.
PREMIUM

Kintsugi: The Wabi Sabi Art of Japanese Ceramic Repair

The technical aspects of kintsugi are best directed to artists interested in learning the Japanese techniques. For the layperson, there are other methods of repairing ceramics that mimic the look of kintsugi without the expense and difficulty.
PREMIUM

Gradual: The Case for Incremental Change in a Radical Age

Students of American government and public policy will gain useful insights from this study, and they may even view American politics in a whole new manner.
PREMIUM

Hitler’s Aristocrats: The Secret Power Players in Britain and America Who Supported the Nazis, 1923–1941

Recommended for informed readers who want to know more about the international clandestine machinations that enabled World War II to occur.

Presence: The Strange Science and True Stories of the Unseen Other

Best suited for readers with an interest in psychology, parapsychology, and related fields.

Four Battlegrounds: Power in the Age of Artificial Intelligence

Recommended for both public and university libraries.
PREMIUM

Divining: A Memoir in Trees

Dunphy’s charming, lyrical ode to her special trees will appeal to readers who enjoy natural-history memoirs, books about trees, and reflections on women’s lives and relationships with people, history, current events, and the natural world.

Wolfish: Wolf, Self, and the Stories We Tell About Fear

A fascinating read, perfect for fans of Mary Roach’s Fuzz, or anyone who enjoys learning about wolves and what they can teach about human nature.
PREMIUM

The Anxiety Coach: Every Parent’s Guide to Building Resilience in Their Child

Filled with practical ideas, this will prove an ideal guide for the parents and children who struggle with anxiety.
PREMIUM

A Table Full of Love: Recipes To Comfort, Seduce, Celebrate & Everything Else in Between

Whether readers are looking for the perfect dish to woo or a way to comfort through food, McAlpine provides the tools and recipes to say it with love from a kitchen.
PREMIUM

BAO

Armchair travelers and fans of the brand will enjoy this title cover to cover, and serious home chefs will delight in the multifaceted, complex yet rewarding recipes. Instructions are in metric measurements, which will detract for some readers but not devotees.

A Generous Meal: Modern Recipes for Dinner

Flynn may be Canada’s best-kept secret, with her laidback attitude, entertaining chops, and deceptively simple dishes. She will be a popular fresh new voice for cookbook shelves.
PREMIUM

Cooking for the Culture: Recipes and Stories from the New Orleans Streets to the Table

Part memoir, part cookbook, this is a work that readers will devour cover to cover in between trying Boudy’s recipes in the kitchen. Boudy fans will come for the memoir and stay for the food, while other library patrons will come for the recipes and be delighted by Boudy’s journey.
PREMIUM

The Everlasting Meal Cookbook: Leftovers A–Z

Unique and practical, Adler’s title encourages home cooks to achieve what seems impossible: clean out the fridge, not into the garbage but into an appealing meal.
PREMIUM

The Teachers: A Year Inside America’s Most Vulnerable, Important Profession

This involving look at the teaching profession is recommended for any library with an education collection and where there is community interest.
PREMIUM

The Collaborators: Three Stories of Deception and Survival in World War II

A powerful exploration of complicity, ambivalence, and the human capacity for deception and self-rationalization.
PREMIUM

Design for a Better World: Meaningful, Sustainable, Humanity Centered

This is a book for a very patient reader, one willing to accept design as the most fundamental of human activities and good design as the panacea for society’s ills.
PREMIUM

Madison’s Militia: The Hidden History of the Second Amendment

Readers interested in the Second Amendment’s origins or in assessing arguments about its meaning will likely and deeply appreciate this comprehensive history.

The Best Strangers in the World: Stories from a Life Spent Listening

Shapiro’s confident, clear voice and self-deprecating humor, familiar to his many fans, translates well to the written word. His writing will resonate with many and is a treasure for biography readers. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

More Numbers Every Day: How Data, Stats, and Figures Control Our Lives and How To Set Ourselves Free

This book is recommended for those interested in self-help, mathematics, and statistics.
PREMIUM

Eliza Scidmore: The Trailblazing Journalist Behind Washington’s Cherry Trees

Parsell’s readable, well-researched biography will bring Scidmore back into the limelight, appealing to readers with an interest in geography, journalism, conservation, and women’s studies.

Ghosts of the Orphanage: A Story of Mysterious Deaths, a Conspiracy of Silence, and a Search for Justice

An important look into the dark past of orphanages globally. It’s also a deep dive into the ways these horrific stories were kept out of the public eye for so long.
PREMIUM

Who Gets Believed?: When the Truth Isn’t Enough

This is a riveting read that will be of interest to many, from those concerned with the plight of refugees and the biases built into many American institutions to anyone who loves unconventional memoirs and beautiful writing.
PREMIUM

Rain of Ash: Roma, Jews, and the Holocaust

Of profound interest to serious students and readers of history.
PREMIUM

Tremors in the Blood: Murder, Obsession, and the Birth of the Lie Detector

True crime fans will likely want to read this book, especially those interested in the history of criminal science.
PREMIUM

Satellite Boy: The International Manhunt for a Master Thief That Launched the Modern Communication Age

Amelinckx’s book is ideal for both true-crime and technology buffs.

Saying It Loud: 1966—The Year Black Power Challenged the Civil Rights Movement

An important, accessible book for general readers and scholars.
PREMIUM

Exploring the American Presidency Through 50 Historic Treasures

These iconic pieces provide the opportunity to share little-known stories. Perfect for history buffs.
PREMIUM

The Watchmaker’s Daughter: The True Story of World War II Heroine Corrie ten Boom

A haunting and inspiring tale of moral courage. Recommended.

La Duchesse: The Life of Marie de Vignerot, Cardinal Richelieu’s Forgotten Heiress Who Shaped the Fate of France

This is a fine work that sheds light on the nearly forgotten story of a consequential figure in French history.
PREMIUM

The Dyslexic Advantage (Revised and Updated): Unlocking the Hidden Potential of the Dyslexic Brain

Based on hard science and on personal narratives from 20 people, this book is a comprehensive must-have title for educators, parents, and those who process things through a dyslexic lens.
PREMIUM

Building Boys: Raising Great Guys in a World that Misunderstands Males

A title filled with ideas that are sure to be helpful for parents of sons.

The Emotional Lives of Teenagers: Raising Connected, Capable, and Compassionate Adolescents

Comprehensive and encompassing of the many of the struggles teens face today, this book is a must for libraries looking for mental health resources for parents of teens.

Born Extraordinary: Empowering Children with Differences and Disabilities

Told from a unique perspective, this is an essential read; all parents can benefit from the advice in this book.
PREMIUM

When Children Come Out: A Guide for Christian Parents

The question of how churches can be more supportive to LGBTQIA+ people is a valid one, but the small sample size raises questions about whether the book can draw accurate conclusions.
PREMIUM

Modern Miss Mason: Discover How Charlotte Mason’s Revolutionary Ideas on Home Education Can Change How You and Your Children Learn and Grow Together

This is a helpful resource for the many parents who homeschool, and it may also by utilized as a guide for all parents to incorporate more nontraditional learning activities into their child’s routine.
PREMIUM

Tiny Feet: A Treasury for Parents: An Anthology

This book will likely make parents truly reflect on their decisions and choices, but the book’s density may be too dry or slow for the average reader.
PREMIUM

Book Bonding: Building Connections Through Family Reading

An advocate of seeing the world as it is and imagining what it could be, Lambert provides thought-provoking reflections in these beautifully written pieces.
PREMIUM

The Baby Market: The Case for Adoption Reform

Many parents will likely find this to be a helpful resource. Advocates for children will find plenty of ideas and guidance.
PREMIUM

Somebody Feed Phil, the Book: Untold Stories, Behind-the-Scenes Photos and Favorite Recipes

A charming feast for the ears, to be devoured by armchair travelers, home cooks, and anyone who loves food, people, and stories.
PREMIUM

Cooking from the Spirit: Easy, Delicious, and Joyful Plant-Based Inspirations

Charismatic Brown makes this audio cookbook a good bet for public libraries, especially where vegan cooking is popular.

The Revolutionary: Samuel Adams

An exceptionally narrated study of Adams’s life and his ideas of fairness and democracy; highly recommended.
PREMIUM

All That Is Wicked: A Gilded-Age Story of Murder and the Race To Decode the Criminal Mind

This audio is for listeners seeking a candid and complex historical biography that is alarming and alluring, though the depth may be daunting to the casual true-crime crowd. Recommended for fans of Erik Larson and Dean Jobb.
PREMIUM

The Pirate’s Wife: The Remarkable True Story of Sarah Kidd

While serious history buffs may wish for more facts and less supposition, this glimpse into the human side of piracy strikes a chord. Recommend to listeners who enjoy stories about the golden age of piracy and colonial American history.
PREMIUM

Smart Pop Explains Peter Jackson’s The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit Movies

Sure to entertain and enlighten The Hobbit and LOTR fans and settle arguments on details large and small.
PREMIUM

The Samurai Encyclopedia: A Comprehensive Guide to Japan’s Elite Warrior Class

Vaporis includes scholarly research but writes for the general reader. Interest in samurai culture is significant, and this non-sensational choice emphasizes scholarship.
PREMIUM

The Ethical Traveler: 100 Ways To Roam the World (Without Ruining It!)

Full of bright, quick reminders for travelers and eco-conscious readers sticking close to home.
PREMIUM

Stories Behind the Poses: The Indian Mythology That Inspired 50 Yoga Postures

Suggest to readers looking to broaden and deepen yoga practice, and include in displays with yoga guides and training manuals.
PREMIUM

New York’s Great Lost Ballparks

A fascinating niche option for New York–area libraries and baseball history fans everywhere.
PREMIUM

Unsheltered Love: Homelessness, Hunger and Hope in a City Under Siege

A moving account of the experience of unhoused people in a major American city.

“You Just Need To Lose Weight”: And 19 Other Myths About Fat People

This book may not always be easy to digest, but it is powerful, necessary reading.

Best-Selling Special-Interest Travel | The Most Sought-After Titles by Public Libraries

PREMIUM

Impossible Histories: The Soviet Republic of Alaska, the United States of Hudsonia, President Charlemagne, and Other Pivotal Moments of History That Never Happened

This book is highly recommended for those with an interest in world history, Western civilization, and alternative histories.
PREMIUM

Will the Drama Ever End? Untangling and Healing from the Harmful Effects of Parental Narcissism

This book’s incisive look into family dynamics may interest those with and without narcissistic parents. Recommended for collections with a strong focus on family studies or self-help.
PREMIUM

What Makes You Come Alive: A Spiritual Walk with Howard Thurman

Brown’s vibrant portrait is sure to pique curiosity into Thurman’s writings and open meaningful conversation about what the relationship between spirituality and social action can be today.
PREMIUM

Sex, Drugs and Pilot Season: Confessions of a Casting Director

A fun and fascinating addition to the showbiz-memoir genre that will be of interest to celebrity mavens and serious film students alike.

The Soviet Century: Archaeology of a Lost World

A splendid book. Avoiding the usual fare of power and the Communist Party, the author reveals the pervasive political character of Soviet life.
PREMIUM

Political Violence in America: Historical Flashpoints and Modern-Day Trends

This encyclopedia may help high school and lower-level higher education students seeking rudimentary information about specific political violence topics, but it may not be needed in most libraries.
PREMIUM

Cultures Colliding: American Missionaries, Chinese Resistance, and the Rise of Modern Institutions in China

This thoroughly researched work is highly recommended for readers interested in the history of Christian missions to China. The inclusion of biographical information for many of the people involved enhances the text.

The American Way: A True Story of Nazi Escape, Superman, and Marilyn Monroe

Should appeal widely.
PREMIUM

The Perfect Sword: Forging the Dark Ages

This book focuses on the informative and archaeological aspects of swords, not violence. It will likely please readers who are fascinated by weapons and by those who would normally be hesitant to pick up a book about tools of war.
PREMIUM

Hijab Butch Blues

This book is recommended for all public and academic libraries.
PREMIUM

Malady of the Mind: Schizophrenia and the Path to Prevention

This book will likely be of interest to those in the medical profession and scholars. It belongs in social and behavioral sciences collections.
PREMIUM

Hidden Mountains: Survival and Reckoning After a Climb Gone Wrong

Wejchert’s personal relationship with the climbers, especially Emmett, make for a compelling, page-turning story. This title is recommended for fans of adventure stories.
PREMIUM

Wind, Trees

A fine collection recommended for any library.
PREMIUM

Grace in the Gray: A More Loving Way To Disagree

A gentle, Christian perspective on strength in weakness and authenticity in the gray spaces.
PREMIUM

Walking Broadway: Thirteen Miles of Architecture and History

For all architectural history students and urban designers, who might read Hilary Ballon’s complementary The Greatest Grid: The Master Plan of Manhattan, 1911–2011 alongside the guidebook.
PREMIUM

What’s Eating Us: Women, Food, and the Epidemic of Body Anxiety

This work will appeal to readers who enjoy memoirs and general nonfiction, but Kadzin’s conversational tone and writing style make this book accessible to all readers.

Tomorrowmind: Thriving at Work—Now and in an Uncertain Future

Highly recommended for all public and academic libraries and business collections.

LJ Talks with Leigh Joseph, Author of 'Held by the Land'

LJ Talks with Karen Fine, Author of 'The Other Family Doctor'

Display Shelf | Clean House

Display Shelf | Vegan Cookbooks

PREMIUM

Luck of the Draw: My Story of the Air War in Europe

This reissue will appeal to readers of World War II history and the Apple+ series will make this story relevant again.

Read-Alikes for ‘Spare’ by Prince Harry | LibraryReads

Best Audiobooks of 2022 | Nonfiction

The Extraordinary Life of an Ordinary Man: A Memoir

This gripping and emotionally wrenching memoir is given a top-notch multi-narrator production.

Lady Justice: Women, the Law, and the Battle To Save America

Inspiring and sobering, this is an essential purchase for all libraries.
PREMIUM

Barkley: A Biography

As it’s been two decades since the last biography of Barkley, this new narrative is a useful update.
PREMIUM

California Soul: An American Epic of Cooking and Survival

Corbin’s gritty and forthright book is perfect for fans of chef memoirs like Notes from a Young Black Chef and Kitchen Confidential.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?