MCD

15 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

If I Survive You

A revelatory work, full of a young man’s questioning and told in a distinctive voice, this contemplation of identity, culture, and race in the United States today is highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The Hollow Kind

Davidson (The Boatman’s Daughter) crafts an intricate supernatural story about a family’s history that will leave readers shaken. However, they will have to wade through the novel’s extreme level of detail to reach the conclusion.
PREMIUM

Ma and Me

A lyrical, disarmingly honest memoir of family ties and self-discovery.
PREMIUM

Two Nights in Lisbon

Fans of Chris Bohjalian’s Cassie Bowden and Camilla Läckberg’s Faye Adelheim may be sympathetic to Ariel’s plight and able to overlook the high page count.
PREMIUM

Dilla Time: The Life and Afterlife of J Dilla, the Hip-Hop Producer Who Reinvented Rhythm

Examining Dilla’s posthumous legacy in detail, Charnas asserts that the once best-kept secret in music is now a recognized trailblazer. A must-read for those interested in music history and in Dilla.
PREMIUM

The Doloriad

While not for everyone, this odd, deeply unsettling story will have readers vacillating between overwhelming disgust and an inability to stop thinking about what it all means. Fans of critically acclaimed macabre tales (like Rachel Eve Moulton’s Tinfoil Butterfly and Maryse Meijer’s The Seventh Mansion) will find a kindred spirit here.

PREMIUM

The Death of My Father the Pope

A ruthlessly honest memoir about the very complex emotions that can exist between parents and children. Recommended.
PREMIUM

Everything Now: Lessons from the City-State of Los Angeles

Was the city-state argument convincing? Unfortunately, no. Was the book interesting to read? Undoubtedly, yes. This book would appeal to readers who enjoy narrative nonfiction, essays, or life in Los Angeles.
PREMIUM

Breathing Fire: Female Inmate Firefighters on the Front Lines of California’s Wildfires

Readers who want a comprehensive understanding of political agendas and the effects of racism in the U.S. justice system will appreciate this book and will want to share their new knowledge with others. A powerful, well researched work for justice-minded readers.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?