Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Cold-Blooded Liar

Fans of strong female protagonists, titillating crime dramas, and the novels of Lisa Gardner, Lisa Jackson, and Rose herself will find this unputdownable.
PREMIUM

Showstopper

The twisting plot keeps the story entertaining. Much as Clea Simon does in Hold Me Down, Lovesey makes the violence clear but does not place it front and center in the manner of grittier writers such as John Grisham or Michael Connelly. Fans of English detective stories will enjoy this novel and will want to read more books by Lovesey.
PREMIUM

The Resemblance

The fast pace is counterbalanced by paint-by-numbers characters, an overstuffed narrative, and an unbelievable finale. This debut is a bumpy ride.
PREMIUM

A Fashionable Fatality

Readers with an eye for fashion will enjoy the detailed descriptions of 1920s clothing and accessories while fans of the series will be excited to return to Phoebe and Eva’s world as they navigate a new mystery and ongoing relationships.
PREMIUM

Reef Road

Inspired by an actual murder, this title by actress and author Royce (Ruby Falls) will be appreciated by fans of psychological thrillers and stories of traumas affecting multiple generations.

Read-Alikes for ‘Desert Star’ by Michael Connelly | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

The Twyford Code

Hallett (The Appeal) creates a unique and imaginative mystery utilizing both an unreliable narrator and mainly epistolary format. The tale spins wildly, and readers are never certain regarding the facts. It’s tough going at first but worth sticking with for Smithy.
PREMIUM

The Maid’s Diary

Libraries with large thriller collections, or where other titles by White (The Patient’s Secret) are popular, may want to consider it, but most can skip.

Read-Alikes for ‘Going Rogue’ by Janet Evanovich | LibraryReads

Murder at an Irish Castle

There’s a strong sense of place in Brannigan’s debut, a well-written cozy mystery series launch. Will appeal to fans of Sheila Connolly and Carlene O’Connor.
PREMIUM

Alligator Alley

This is an easy entry to the Joe DeMarco series and will win Lawson some new fans.
PREMIUM

The Master of Mysteries

Burgess’s stories have too much philosophizing and pseudoscience for modern readers. Recommended only for collectors and reference, as early examples of American detective fiction.
PREMIUM

Sea Castle

The series never ceases to be fascinating, making characters sink or swim as lives are on the line and the story veers in unexpected direction. Required reading for any suspense fan.
PREMIUM

You Must Remember This

Fans of Agatha Christie will love the red herrings and large cast of interesting characters. Recommended for most libraries; large libraries or those with large numbers of mystery readers may need multiple copies.

Desert Star

Fans of police procedurals, dark cat-and-mouse mysteries, and Connelly’s iconic characters will find this soon-to-be-best-seller absolutely unputdownable.

The Last Party

The author of Hostage launches a police procedural series featuring well-developed, complex characters. The format alternates between the party and the investigation in a gripping story with twists and turns.

A World of Curiosities

Penny’s 18th Gamache novel (after All the Devils Are Here) is intense as the detective digs deep into his own fears. The darkness in this intricately plotted story forces readers to search for contrasting moments of hope.
PREMIUM

The Villa

The story is a slow burn with a flame that never quite materializes. Give this one to readers looking for psychological suspense and twist endings, but those seeking high-stakes tension will want to look elsewhere.
PREMIUM

The Game Is a Footnote

This entertaining Sherlock Holmes pastiche (sequel to A Three Book Problem) will appeal to fans of quirky characters and bookstore settings.

Fatal Fascinator

McKinlay’s mysteries are always humorous and a little offbeat with heartwarming relationships between close friends. This seventh “Hat Shop Mystery” (following Buried to the Brim) fits that description perfectly.
PREMIUM

The Best American Mystery and Suspense 2022

This first-rate collection asserts that the short story is alive and flourishing still.

A Half-Baked Murder

With increasing acceptance of cannabis as a supplement to medical care, this series starter helps normalize its use and promotes safe consumption, complete with designated drivers. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

A Mother Would Know

Garza (Where I Left Her) deftly explores family dynamics and mental illness in this twisty, fast-paced mystery. Perfect for fans of B. A. Paris’s and Camilla Way’s psychological suspense.
PREMIUM

The Glass Pearls

Combining masterly psychological suspense with a moral heft rivalling that of Greene, Le Carré, and Hans Fallada, this is a singularly compelling addition to Holocaust literature.
PREMIUM

Die Around Sundown

Art aficionados, hardboiled detective lovers, and wartime fiction fans should enjoy this audio, especially given Ochlan’s amazing performance. Expect listeners to eagerly await the next series installment.
PREMIUM

A Death in Tokyo

This solid police procedural, the third in the Kaga series (after Newcomer), stands alone. Despite a less than compelling plot, fans of smart detectives with less observant, more laid-back sidekicks (à la Holmes and Watson) will enjoy this book through all its twists and turns.
PREMIUM

And Justice for Mall

Fans of bizarre characters and spirited sleuths will appreciate this offbeat, humorous story.
PREMIUM

Fox Creek

With his well-rounded characters and intriguing story line, Krueger has another hit on his hands. Share with crime fiction fans, but consider balancing this recommendation with selections read by Indigenous narrators.
PREMIUM

Early Grave

With its singular characters, clever plotting, and focused storytelling, Levine’s punchy, well-written contemporary legal thriller will please John Grisham fans. The short chapters and first-person POV make it a good choice for reading on a tablet or phone.
PREMIUM

Winter’s End

Distinctive, interesting characters populate the fourth “Alaska Wild” mystery (following Dark Night), which is as descriptive and beautiful as always. Series readers will be happy for the resolution to several overarching storylines.
PREMIUM

Death on a Winter Stroll

Fans of Katherine Hall Page’s Faith Fairchild mysteries will appreciate the careful way this investigation unfolds in the atmospheric Nantucket-set story.
PREMIUM

Night, Forgotten

An artfully crafted story about a disturbing topic, which Tozer manages sensitively as she leads up to one unforgettable twist that will leave readers gasping. Trigger warnings abound, yet hope springs eternal in Tozer’s telling.
PREMIUM

Witnesses for the Dead: Stories

A representative collection of authors are included, featuring intriguing stories with settings as varied as a detention center for immigrants to occupied Paris in 1941. The premise is unusual for a crime collection, with characters who witness a crime, and sometimes take justice into their own hands. Royalties go to the Alliance for Safe Traffic Stops.
PREMIUM

Death of a Dancing Queen

The story has the writing style of a YA novel but is aimed at adult audiences. Suggested for both younger readers new to crime fiction, as well as returning genre readers looking for something to spice up their reading.
PREMIUM

The Blood of Patriots and Traitors

Readers who enjoyed the first novel will want to see how Geller’s life and career play out, but there is not much here for newcomers. What could be a classic in the spy genre, complete with a timely idea, doesn’t live up to its initial promise.

Read-Alikes for ‘No Plan B’ by Lee Child & Andrew Child | LibraryReads

Read-Alikes for ‘Long Shadows’ by David Baldacci | LibraryReads

The Plot and the Pendulum

With a cold case, a sinister mansion, a book collection, a skeleton, and Edgar Allan Poe, this is a treat for fans of McKinlay’s “Library Lover’s” series, Halloween-themed mysteries, and well-written cozies.
PREMIUM

The Medici Murders

History buffs may appreciate this intricate character study more than most casual mystery readers.
PREMIUM

Swann’s War

Fans of Jess Montgomery’s “Kinship” series may appreciate another historical mystery featuring a woman struggling to take over her husband’s role.
PREMIUM

Still Waters

Fans of the series will enjoy this entry, which includes fascinating details about search dogs and their work as well as a unique settings and a colorful cast of recurring characters.
PREMIUM

A Quiet Teacher

The chapters are short, and the writing is sharp as Oyebanji demonstrates a confident and developed voice and style. Never pulling punches, he smoothly places societal issues in service of the story and ends up multiplying the power of both.
PREMIUM

Blackwater Falls

Readers who enjoy a meatier mystery that grapples with contemporary themes, along the lines of a James Lee Burke thriller, will find much to admire.
PREMIUM

Exiles

A strong entry in a series best read in order.

Murder at the Jubilee Rally

Suggest for fans of mysteries featuring small-town police forces, including novels by Claire Booth, Steven F. Havill, and Tricia Fields.

Secluded Cabin Sleeps Six

For fans of creepy, cunning locked-room thrillers based on controversial social norms. Readers will revel in the search for genealogical justice amid best-kept secrets, while wondering who will live and who will die.
PREMIUM

Death in Heels

This character-driven mystery flips convention on its head when the straight amateur sleuth is an outsider to the drag community where her best friend is welcome.

City Under One Roof

The claustrophobic atmosphere in this unique one-building town, isolated by tunnels, weather, and secrets, builds a memorable debut crime novel.
PREMIUM

Heroes Ever Die

Fans of both superheroes and pulp noir are sure to love Crawford’s action-packed dialogue and descriptions.
PREMIUM

Stay Awake

Recommended for Goldin fans and those who enjoy listening to tales of suspense.
PREMIUM

22 Seconds

This expertly narrated audio is a fast and entertaining listen. A solid installment in this ever-popular series.
PREMIUM

A Bride’s Guide to Marriage and Murder

This charmingly narrated audio will appeal to followers of the series and fans of Victorian cozies and light romantic mysteries. Previous knowledge of the series is helpful but not necessary.
PREMIUM

The Favor

This haunting thriller is recommended for most collections.
PREMIUM

Overboard

The complex plot and interlinked characters won’t disappoint series fans.

Nobody But Us

This dual-narrated psychological thriller is a must-have for public library collections.
PREMIUM

The Echoes

A fitting finale to this historical fiction series inspired by the first woman sheriff in the state of Ohio.
PREMIUM

Better the Blood

Bennett (who is Maori and of Te Arawa descent) deftly illuminates the historical plight of the Maori people and its continuing effects in New Zealand. His action-packed narrative, blended with various cultural references, recalls the novels of Tony and Anne Hillerman, Craig Johnson, and William Kent Krueger.

PREMIUM

The Prisoner

Paris (Behind Closed Doors) reduces a woman to a state of near incapacitation and then enables her to face a terrible situation with resolve. For fans of Joy Fielding.
PREMIUM

High Spirits

The charming sequel to Be My Ghost will delight readers of paranormal cozy mysteries who enjoy quirky characters and a Christmas setting.
PREMIUM

Never Name the Dead

The mystery is secondary in this debut wrapped in Kiowa history, stories, and culture. This novel is slow-paced, but a perfect fit for a story keeper account. Recommended for readers of David Heska Wanbli Weiden’s Winter Counts.
PREMIUM

Viviana Valentine Gets Her Man

Edwards’s strength is in the creation of the setting and atmosphere of New York in 1950. For fans of hardboiled PIs with hearts of gold.
PREMIUM

The Sanctuary

A tepid mystery that will appeal primarily to aficionados of Scandinavian noir.
PREMIUM

Someone Had To Do It

Fans of Alyssa Cole and Zakiya Dalila Harris, whose characters navigate the issues women of color face in the workplace, and of psychological thrillers like Paula Hawkins’s The Girl on the Train will enjoy this one.
PREMIUM

Corpses, Calypso, and Cooking

The first “Caribbean Kitchen Mystery,” Mango, Mambo, and Murder, won the 2022 Lefty Award for Best Humorous Mystery, but Reyes’s sequel is somewhat convoluted and ends abruptly. Add this title, with its varied cast and a great deal of Spanish dialogue, where the first was popular.

PREMIUM

The Enigma of Room 622

Twists abound in this elaborate mystery, but readers will have to power through clichéd dialogue, jarring time shifts, and thin characterization to enjoy them.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Bullet That Missed’ by Richard Osman | LibraryReads

Read-Alikes for ‘Oath of Loyalty’ by Vince Flynn and Kyle Mills | LibraryReads

Audiobook Mystery Starred Reviews | Scott Brick, Gabrielle de Cuir, Billie Fulford-Brown, Tanya Eby, Grace Experience, Jodie Harris, January LaVoy, Ray Porter, Kirsten Potter, and Yelena Shmulenson Read The Season's Top Picks

PREMIUM

No Plan B

This humdrum, by-the-book thriller isn’t all that good, but it will still attract Reacher’s countless fans.

Geiger

Part police procedural, part spy novel, and entirely captivating as normal life collides with ideology, nostalgia, and a reminder that perhaps the Cold War is not as settled as once believed. This debut will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter, Kjell Eriksson, and Ragnar Jónasson.
PREMIUM

Through a Darkening Glass

Maxwell’s debut novel is definitely not your traditional “murder in a quaint village” historical mystery; an optional purchase might be of interest to fans of Daphne du Maurier.
PREMIUM

Finlay Donovan Knocks ’Em Dead

Libraries that didn’t buy the first audiobook should purchase both at this time.
PREMIUM

The Investigator

A must-buy. Sanford fans will be captivated and will eagerly seek out more Letty Davenport novels.
PREMIUM

Finding Grace

Recommended for listeners of suspense fiction and stories involving family dynamics.

The Soviet Sisters: A Novel of the Cold War

This thrilling mystery set just after World War II is filled with spies, lies, and double agents that will keep listeners on the edge of their seats for a bumpy ride.
PREMIUM

Nonna Maria and the Case of the Missing Bride

A wonderful new addition to any mystery collection.
PREMIUM

When the Crow’s Away

Fans of the first novel in the series will enjoy Brown’s delightful performance and look forward to the series’ next installment.
PREMIUM

Two Nights in Lisbon

While some will guess parts of the ending, getting there is great fun.
PREMIUM

At the Quiet Edge

A slow burner that propels listeners into a nail-biting conclusion, leaving them holding their breath. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jackson and Iris Johansen.
PREMIUM

Death By Beach Read

Recommended for those who enjoy light mysteries and beach reads.

The Murder of Mr. Wickham

A captivating production that’s perfect for readers who enjoy historical mysteries and for those Austen fans who’d love to see Mr. Wickham’s ultimate comeuppance.
PREMIUM

The Chase

Fox (Gathering Dark) mingles suspense with wit in a manner that is engrossing and entertaining. This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a compelling, character-driven thriller teeming with doubt and danger; recommended for fans of Karin Slaughter, Sarah Bailey, and Allison Brennan.
PREMIUM

Insomnia

Fans of the author and supernatural thrillers will enjoy.
PREMIUM

The Sacred Bridge

A solid addition to the series that will satisfy Hillerman’s many fans.
PREMIUM

Death and the Conjuror

Join the challenge presented by Mead to solve this mystery and hope the second book in the series comes out soon.
PREMIUM

Every Cloak Rolled in Blood

A heavy-handed but well-written addition to the series that is drawn from the author’s own experience of unexpectedly losing a daughter.

Buried in a Good Book

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a cozy mystery that is compelling, comical, and clever. Recommended for fans of Ann Purser, Elizabeth Blake, and Avery Aames.

This Train

Listeners of thriller fiction will enjoy this book. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Red Warning

Quirk’s fans and readers of spy stories will enjoy this audio.
PREMIUM

Our American Friend

Listeners of spy stories, political fiction, and journalistic exposés will enjoy this tale.
PREMIUM

December ’41: A World War II Thriller

Reminiscent of the thrillers of the 1980s, such as those written by Frederick Forsyth and Ken Follett, this is a supplemental choice for public libraries who cannot keep enough World War II spy novels on the shelf.
PREMIUM

Her Last Affair

Worth a listen for those up for a unique mystery that is out of the ordinary.
PREMIUM

Smile Beach Murder

Mystery fans will enjoy Vacker’s delightful performance of this compelling series launch.
PREMIUM

The Heretic

Fascinating details about the detectives’ personal lives, a vibrant city atmosphere, class differences, and the many conversations that always include the listener make for an affecting listening experience.
PREMIUM

The Silent Sisters

Listeners of spy novels and Dugoni fans will enjoy this audiobook.
PREMIUM

Strangers We Know

Listeners will get wrapped up by the narrators as the many layers of secrets within the family are revealed.
PREMIUM

The Shop on Royal Street

This is a satisfying beginning to the new “Royal Street” series and will be especially appreciated by fans of the “Tradd Street” series. It will also interest those who like old houses, ghost stories, and determined Southern women.
PREMIUM

Magic, Lies, and Deadly Pies

Fans of The Great British Baking Show will enjoy hearing about the pies made by Daisy. This first in a new series is for fans of cozy mysteries looking for one with a modern twist.

In the Blood

Carr’s latest entry is a masterpiece, sure to be a hit, especially considering this summer’s new Amazon series Terminal List, starring Chris Pratt. Highly recommended for fans of military action and spy thrillers.
PREMIUM

Blood Sugar

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a psychological thriller with an amiable yet amoral protagonist. Recommended for fans of Greer Hendricks, Gilly Macmillan, and Michele Campbell.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?