Scribner

108 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Making a Scene

Wu’s mea culpa is a moving study in self-acceptance that will win her more fans.
PREMIUM

Fen, Bog and Swamp: A Short History of Peatland Destruction and Its Role in the Climate Crisis

Fans of Proulx’s fiction, even those with marginal interest in peatlands, will be intrigued by the snippets of memoir and the habits of a writer’s mind that this collection reveals.

Stories from the Tenants Downstairs

A singular accomplishment from a writer to watch.
PREMIUM

Tracy Flick Can’t Win

Perrotta uses his main characters to tell the story from multiple points of view, successfully bringing out the dynamics of everyday life. There is something for everyone in this story, and readers of fiction that parallels real life will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Briefly, a Delicious Life

Unexpectedly light in tone, Stevens’s story of patriarchal abuse is sadly familiar in outline. What stands out, aside from the powerful rendering of Chopin’s music, is the daring, desire-drenched Blanca. For a historical character, she can sound annoyingly like a contemporary teenager, but readers of all stripes will embrace her.
PREMIUM

To Fall in Love, Drink This: A Wine Writer’s Memoir

Feiring provides an entertaining and engaging story about grapes and growth.
PREMIUM

Soundings: Journeys in the Company of Whales

This memoir, with its vividly described events and locales, along with its natural history frame, will appeal to readers who enjoy narrative nonfiction or travel memoirs about women recreating themselves, natural history, Indigenous cultures, and whales. Fans of Margaret Renkl’s Late Migrations or Meredith May’s The Honey Bus will relish Cunningham’s story.
PREMIUM

The First Populist: The Defiant Life of Andrew Jackson

A noteworthy narrative of a confrontational and consequential character, especially good for those new to the field of presidential history.

Mother Noise

A powerful, brilliant exploration of motherhood and its inextricable links to the other selves comprising a mother; those pieces that society doesn’t accept as part of the entrenched narrative about the meaning and purpose of motherhood.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?