Knopf

292 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

We Were the Universe

Stream of consciousness is a literary device that doesn’t appeal to everyone, so buy for demand only. Steer this novel toward readers who loved Melissa Broder’s Death Valley, Jonathan Safran Foer’s Everything Is Illuminated, or Joyce Maynard’s The Bird Hotel.
PREMIUM

Blue Ruin

Kunzru (Red Pill) has a gift for vivid, visceral description, whether it’s the drug-fueled squalor of London’s underground art scene or the gentrified New York compound where Jay finds himself. Along the way, there are thematic threads involving the commodification of art and conflicts of class and race (both Jay and Alice are biracial). Kunzru’s unique style and perspective make for a fun, though edgy ride.
PREMIUM

Lucky

The final twist and thus the novel fail in large part because the epilogue introduces an abrupt structural shift and an unsatisfying change in narrative voice for which readers are not well-prepared and which takes the book in a different direction.

A Year of Last Things: Poems

A powerful, thoughtful collection of observations and contemplations; a beautiful and valuable addition to the world of poetry by one of its most inspiring writers. Readers who love the work of W.S. Merwin, Mary Oliver, Billy Collins, and Louise Gluck will want to savor this new collection.
PREMIUM

Token Supremacy: The Art of Finance, the Finance of Art, and the Great Crypto Crash of 2022

A fascinating tale about NFTs, the art market, and investment for curious readers who have a solid understanding of how crypto and finance work.
PREMIUM

My Life in Recipes: Food, Family, and Memories

For those seeking a healthy mix of typical yet well-executed European-Jewish dishes, paired with less familiar while still intriguing options, this will be a sure hit.

Martyr!

Akbar delivers a delirious but moving portrait of one man’s personal reckoning, the novel’s profound affection for life fully earning its title’s bold exclamation.
PREMIUM

Bitter Crop: The Heartache and Triumph of Billie Holiday’s Last Year

Ultimately, this book achieves a successful and accurate tribute to Lady Day and her immense talent while also painting a stark and honest portrait of her life and hardships. Recommended for fans of jazz and the legendary Holiday.
PREMIUM

Dead Weight: Essays on Hunger and Harm

Written with acumen and care, this title will be of value to readers interested in learning more about media portrayals of disordered eating and feminist theory. Those drawn to the work of Roxane Gay, Elise Loehnen, and Susan Bordo will likely enjoy this title too.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?