Grand Central

98 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Light Pirate

Writing as if she too had lived alone in Florida’s mangrove swamps, fishing by night, sleeping through the heat of the day, Brooks-Dalton turns a devastating dystopian vision on its head in this redemptive tale by asking whether life is sustainable without human connection. This exquisite novel will appeal to a diverse group of readers, from fans of environmental writers Alan Weisman and Elizabeth Kolbert to admirers of Lydia Millet’s A Children’s Bible and Delia Owens’s hero Kya Clark.
PREMIUM

The Wind at My Back: Resilience, Grace, and Other Gifts from My Mentor Raven Wilkinson

An accessible read that will surely be popular with Copeland’s many fans. Also a good choice for libraries looking to broaden their Black history offerings.
PREMIUM

Meredith, Alone

In a world contending with the mental health fallout from COVID, Meredith is immediately relatable. Executed with care, humor, and grace, this novel pokes at the bubble of solitude to show each of us that suffering has a sense of community and with that, the prospect of optimism.

The Big Bang Theory: The Definitive, Inside Story of the Epic Hit Series

This extensive and enjoyable oral history of The Big Bang Theory will make fans feel nostalgic for its glory days.

Geiger

Part police procedural, part spy novel, and entirely captivating as normal life collides with ideology, nostalgia, and a reminder that perhaps the Cold War is not as settled as once believed. This debut will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter, Kjell Eriksson, and Ragnar Jónasson.
PREMIUM

The Most Precious Substance on Earth

Like My Dark Vanessa by Kate Elizabeth Russell, Bhat’s novel shows how life-altering and destructive sexual abuse can be. Unlike the protagonist of Russell’s book, Nina is less obsessed and broken, but damaged nonetheless.
PREMIUM

How To Speak Whale: A Voyage into the Future of Animal Communication

Environmentalists and general science enthusiasts will enjoy joining Mustill on his quest to understand whales.
PREMIUM

Aftermath

This will be popular with fans of Burton’s acting and readers who like their dystopian novels to end on a slightly hopeful note.
PREMIUM

Bronze Drum

Nguyen’s beautifully written novel will be an eye-opener to people who don’t know the turbulent history of the Lac Viet and the Han. Readers who remember the Vietnam War, and the part the United States played in it, might come away with a better understanding of the region and its people.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?