Grand Central

94 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Geiger

Part police procedural, part spy novel, and entirely captivating as normal life collides with ideology, nostalgia, and a reminder that perhaps the Cold War is not as settled as once believed. This debut will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter, Kjell Eriksson, and Ragnar Jónasson.
PREMIUM

The Most Precious Substance on Earth

Like My Dark Vanessa by Kate Elizabeth Russell, Bhat’s novel shows how life-altering and destructive sexual abuse can be. Unlike the protagonist of Russell’s book, Nina is less obsessed and broken, but damaged nonetheless.
PREMIUM

How To Speak Whale: A Voyage into the Future of Animal Communication

Environmentalists and general science enthusiasts will enjoy joining Mustill on his quest to understand whales.
PREMIUM

Aftermath

This will be popular with fans of Burton’s acting and readers who like their dystopian novels to end on a slightly hopeful note.
PREMIUM

Bronze Drum

Nguyen’s beautifully written novel will be an eye-opener to people who don’t know the turbulent history of the Lac Viet and the Han. Readers who remember the Vietnam War, and the part the United States played in it, might come away with a better understanding of the region and its people.
PREMIUM

Proving Ground: The Untold Story of the Six Women Who Programmed the World’s First Modern Computer

A compelling account of an underappreciated group of pioneering women.

These Impossible Things

El-Wardany’s highly recommended debut sensitively handles rape, domestic abuse, and the pressure of familial obligation. The book’s particular strength is in its treatment of the women’s Islamic faith as each grapples with what it means to be devout. There are no easy answers here, and readers will be thinking about Malak, Kees, and Jenna long after they close the book.
PREMIUM

Illegally Yours

An earnest and entertaining backstory to an accomplished creator, best suited to readers of celebrity memoirs, inspirational stories, and coming-of-age narratives.
PREMIUM

Ten Tomatoes that Changed the World

A fun book that both instructs and entertains on every page. Highly recommended.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?