Jacobs, A. J

44 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Ethics by Committee: A History of Reasoning Together About Medicine, Science, Society, and the State

This slim, deeply researched book pulls back the curtain on medical decisions that affect millions. Academic readers and those interested in medical ethics will enjoy Jacobs’s perceptive study.
PREMIUM

The Puzzler: One Man’s Quest To Solve the Most Baffling Puzzles Ever, from Crosswords to Jigsaws to the Meaning of Life

A fun, interactive exploration of the history and hidden world of puzzles. A must-read for puzzle enthusiasts of all skill levels.
PREMIUM

Arroyo

A promising and ambitious effort despite its drawbacks, this work is recommended for fans of debut novels, historical fiction, and books about small-town America.

Still Here: The Madcap, Nervy, Singular Life of Elaine Stritch

An excellent biography of a true American theater original. For all performing arts collections. [See Prepub Alert, 4/8/19.]
PREMIUM

The Truffle Underground: A Tale of Mystery, Mayhem, and Manipulation in the Shadowy Market of the World’s Most Expensive Fungus

Jacobs brings the reader on a fascinating journey that will be enjoyed both by foodies and by travel lovers.

PREMIUM

The Year of Our Lord 1943: Christian Humanism in an Age of Crisis

Jacobs seems to have written this with an eye to the time between the collapse of the Soviet Union in the 1990s and the events of 9/11, when it seemed that democracy had finally achieved peace, only to find it widely rejected. His look at how these five figures struggled with similar turns of events is worth pondering.
PREMIUM

Love at the Beach Shop

Although the second entry in the series (after Shirley Jump's Summer Love: Take Two), this novel from Jacobs (Her Unexpected Hero) stands alone and could be appropriate for a YA audience as well; highly recommend for all collections.
PREMIUM

The Last Equation of Isaac Severy

Jacobs's debut novel cleverly mixes people, plots, and puzzle with humor and heart. This brainy thriller will appeal to readers who enjoyed Marisha Pessl's Special Topics in Calamity Physics, Jonathan Safran Foer's Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, and Robin Sloan's Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore. [See "Editors' Spring Picks," LJ 2/1/18.]

Save Government Information! | Peer to Peer Review

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?