Dorian Gossy

10 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

How To Forage for Wild Foods Without Dying: An Absolute Beginner’s Guide to Identifying 40 Edible Wild Plants

This handsome book has real utility as a field companion for safe, wild plant hunts.
PREMIUM

The World According to Joan Didion

McDonnell’s starstruck approach to Didion enlivens other well-detailed accounts about her work and life. Best for literary biography sections.
PREMIUM

The Zen of Climbing

An inspiring book aimed at rock climbers and other athletes that’s ideal for both spirituality and sports psychology sections. Its emphasis on the virtues of cultivating mind-body awareness will also appeal to readers interested in New Age wisdom.

Chasing Shadows: My Life Tracking the Great White Shark

Fans of Jaws and “Shark Week” will love this book, but it’s also a compelling read for anyone interested in oceans, wildlife, conservation, or scientific adventures. An excellent title for readers who’ve ever been at the ocean’s edge and wondered what was out there.
PREMIUM

She Rides: Chasing Dreams Across California and Mexico

Vrecek’s passion for her ride goes far toward offering a fresh take on traveling the difficult road to self-actualization.
PREMIUM

Tell It Like It Is: A Guide to Clear and Honest Writing

This book is a vigorous argument for literary commitment and transparency that is itself a delight to read.
PREMIUM

The Twenty: One Woman’s Trek Across Corsica on the GR20 Trail

Could complement an adventure collection primarily, and an illness-narratives section secondarily.
PREMIUM

Long Illness: A Practical Guide to Surviving, Healing, and Thriving

This is a welcoming book, though many of its strategies duplicate techniques well described in other health care manuals. It is useful, however, to see how compassionate health management techniques can address these puzzling long conditions and offer encouragement for healing.
PREMIUM

If It Sounds Like a Quack…: A Journey to the Fringes of American Medicine

A witty and informative examination of several alternative health-care practices in the United States that indicts both pseudo-healers and unsuccessful efforts to regulate them.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?