Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Read-Alikes for ‘The Bullet That Missed’ by Richard Osman | LibraryReads

Read-Alikes for ‘Oath of Loyalty’ by Vince Flynn and Kyle Mills | LibraryReads

Audiobook Mystery Starred Reviews | Scott Brick, Gabrielle de Cuir, Billie Fulford-Brown, Tanya Eby, Grace Experience, Jodie Harris, January LaVoy, Ray Porter, Kirsten Potter, and Yelena Shmulenson Read The Season's Top Picks

PREMIUM

No Plan B

This humdrum, by-the-book thriller isn’t all that good, but it will still attract Reacher’s countless fans.

Geiger

Part police procedural, part spy novel, and entirely captivating as normal life collides with ideology, nostalgia, and a reminder that perhaps the Cold War is not as settled as once believed. This debut will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter, Kjell Eriksson, and Ragnar Jónasson.
PREMIUM

Through a Darkening Glass

Maxwell’s debut novel is definitely not your traditional “murder in a quaint village” historical mystery; an optional purchase might be of interest to fans of Daphne du Maurier.
PREMIUM

Finlay Donovan Knocks ’Em Dead

Libraries that didn’t buy the first audiobook should purchase both at this time.
PREMIUM

The Investigator

A must-buy. Sanford fans will be captivated and will eagerly seek out more Letty Davenport novels.
PREMIUM

Finding Grace

Recommended for listeners of suspense fiction and stories involving family dynamics.

The Soviet Sisters: A Novel of the Cold War

This thrilling mystery set just after World War II is filled with spies, lies, and double agents that will keep listeners on the edge of their seats for a bumpy ride.
PREMIUM

Nonna Maria and the Case of the Missing Bride

A wonderful new addition to any mystery collection.
PREMIUM

When the Crow’s Away

Fans of the first novel in the series will enjoy Brown’s delightful performance and look forward to the series’ next installment.
PREMIUM

Two Nights in Lisbon

While some will guess parts of the ending, getting there is great fun.
PREMIUM

At the Quiet Edge

A slow burner that propels listeners into a nail-biting conclusion, leaving them holding their breath. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jackson and Iris Johansen.
PREMIUM

Death By Beach Read

Recommended for those who enjoy light mysteries and beach reads.

The Murder of Mr. Wickham

A captivating production that’s perfect for readers who enjoy historical mysteries and for those Austen fans who’d love to see Mr. Wickham’s ultimate comeuppance.
PREMIUM

The Chase

Fox (Gathering Dark) mingles suspense with wit in a manner that is engrossing and entertaining. This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a compelling, character-driven thriller teeming with doubt and danger; recommended for fans of Karin Slaughter, Sarah Bailey, and Allison Brennan.
PREMIUM

Insomnia

Fans of the author and supernatural thrillers will enjoy.
PREMIUM

The Sacred Bridge

A solid addition to the series that will satisfy Hillerman’s many fans.
PREMIUM

Death and the Conjuror

Join the challenge presented by Mead to solve this mystery and hope the second book in the series comes out soon.
PREMIUM

Every Cloak Rolled in Blood

A heavy-handed but well-written addition to the series that is drawn from the author’s own experience of unexpectedly losing a daughter.

Buried in a Good Book

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a cozy mystery that is compelling, comical, and clever. Recommended for fans of Ann Purser, Elizabeth Blake, and Avery Aames.

This Train

Listeners of thriller fiction will enjoy this book. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Red Warning

Quirk’s fans and readers of spy stories will enjoy this audio.
PREMIUM

Our American Friend

Listeners of spy stories, political fiction, and journalistic exposés will enjoy this tale.
PREMIUM

December ’41: A World War II Thriller

Reminiscent of the thrillers of the 1980s, such as those written by Frederick Forsyth and Ken Follett, this is a supplemental choice for public libraries who cannot keep enough World War II spy novels on the shelf.
PREMIUM

Her Last Affair

Worth a listen for those up for a unique mystery that is out of the ordinary.
PREMIUM

Smile Beach Murder

Mystery fans will enjoy Vacker’s delightful performance of this compelling series launch.
PREMIUM

The Heretic

Fascinating details about the detectives’ personal lives, a vibrant city atmosphere, class differences, and the many conversations that always include the listener make for an affecting listening experience.
PREMIUM

The Silent Sisters

Listeners of spy novels and Dugoni fans will enjoy this audiobook.
PREMIUM

Strangers We Know

Listeners will get wrapped up by the narrators as the many layers of secrets within the family are revealed.
PREMIUM

The Shop on Royal Street

This is a satisfying beginning to the new “Royal Street” series and will be especially appreciated by fans of the “Tradd Street” series. It will also interest those who like old houses, ghost stories, and determined Southern women.
PREMIUM

Magic, Lies, and Deadly Pies

Fans of The Great British Baking Show will enjoy hearing about the pies made by Daisy. This first in a new series is for fans of cozy mysteries looking for one with a modern twist.

In the Blood

Carr’s latest entry is a masterpiece, sure to be a hit, especially considering this summer’s new Amazon series Terminal List, starring Chris Pratt. Highly recommended for fans of military action and spy thrillers.
PREMIUM

Blood Sugar

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a psychological thriller with an amiable yet amoral protagonist. Recommended for fans of Greer Hendricks, Gilly Macmillan, and Michele Campbell.
PREMIUM

The World of Pondside

Avid readers of mysteries won’t necessarily be shocked by the numerous twists and turns, including the big reveal. While not an essential purchase, this audiobook is perfect for mystery listeners who like a fun story with lots of odd suspects.
PREMIUM

Her Dying Day

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a missing-person mystery brimming with suspicion and secrets. Recommended for fans of Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena.
PREMIUM

Mirror Lake

A true delight, especially for those who enjoy cozy mysteries.
PREMIUM

I’ll Be You

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking an intricate plot that is both moving and menacing, a fast-paced roller coaster of suspense and surprises. Recommended for fans of Lisa Jewell, Holly Seddon, and Bev Thomas.
PREMIUM

Last Call at the Nightingale

Traditional mystery readers and lovers of 1920s historical fiction will enjoy this subtly inclusive listen.
PREMIUM

Things We Do in the Dark

Listeners may guess some of the twists in this fast-moving thriller, but likely won’t guess them all. Recommended for fans of the author and writers such as Mary Kubica and Simone St. James.

The Lioness

This is a good read, full of adventure and with twists aplenty.
PREMIUM

Vital Lies

Listeners of spy thrillers will enjoy this book. Recommended.
PREMIUM

Dark Circles

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a creepy cult story that is as entertaining as it is eerie. Recommended for fans of Riley Sager, Janelle Brown, and Lisa Jewell.
PREMIUM

The House Across the Lake

Fans of Sager, and those just discovering his works, will enjoy this novel.
PREMIUM

The Island

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a sinister and suspenseful tale of survival, an adrenaline-fueled story of the lengths one would go to for family; recommended for fans of Candice Fox, Alice Feeney, and Rachel Hawkins.

The Lightning Rod

This exceptional audio will have listeners wanting more and hoping that the next installation won’t take long. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

City on Fire

Listeners who enjoyed The Godfather or the GoodFellas film based on the book Wiseguy will find this work to be similar.
PREMIUM

Kingdom of Bones

Readers who enjoy Michael Crichton’s books and fans of Rollins’s (The Last Odyssey) previous work will want to tackle this new entry in the “Sigma Force” series, which can also be enjoyed as a stand-alone novel.
PREMIUM

The Last Party

Thriller fans will be intrigued. Recommend to readers of Gillian Flynn and Liane Moriarty.
PREMIUM

The It Girl

Ware’s newest novel is a must-add for mystery collections that will appeal to her fans and new readers alike.

A Botanist’s Guide to Parties and Poisons

The mixture of niche mystery elements (cozy, historical, academic) combined with Harris’s appealing narration make this debut a must-buy for audio mystery collections.
PREMIUM

The Dark Flood

Recommended for those who enjoy listening to mystery and to fans of the author.
PREMIUM

Hide

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a spine-tingling and suspenseful tale of survival, full of creepy, compelling twists. Recommended for fans of David Moody, S. A. Barnes, and Matthew Lyons.
PREMIUM

A Trace of Poison

Reminiscent of Jessica Ellicott’s “Beryl & Edwina” series, this novel will please readers with its historical world and a plot that would satisfy Poirot.

The Twist of a Knife

Readers of character-driven novels will love the twists and turns of this Agatha Christie–style mystery that leads to an unexpected reveal. Perfect for fans of G.  M. Malliet, Elly Griffiths, and Richard Osman.
PREMIUM

The Body Falls

The weather, as an additional character in the plot, is very effective. Though part of a series, this book can be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Carlene O’Connor and the “County Cork” series by Sheila Connolly.

Lavender House

Rosen’s deftly clued, noir-tinged plot successfully walks the line between hope and heartbreak, all while thoughtfully exploring the role of family in our lives. This fresh take on the classic private investigator begs to be brought to the big screen.

Vanishing Hour

Cold cases, romance, and several search-and-rescue missions combine in a riveting novel for fans of Paula Munier, Margaret Mizushima, and Jeffrey B. Burton.
PREMIUM

The Widow

Told with Rouda’s signature first-person technique, this is a guilty-pleasure read, laden with silver-tongued politicians who revel in their duplicitous dance with the truth. It’s a deliciously diabolical take on marriage, politics, and the lies that bind.
PREMIUM

Secrets of the Nile

Fans of avant-garde women sleuths, Dame Agatha, and plot-driven mysteries will enjoy this twisty read.
PREMIUM

The Bullet That Missed

Although the third in Osman’s series (after The Man Who Died Twice) is confusing at times, it’s a character-rich mystery that will be eagerly received by fans of the Thursday Murder Club.
PREMIUM

Holmes Coming

“Sherlock in modern times” has been done, but having the actual character adapt to modern times is a fresh take on the detective. Johnson nails Holmes’s voice, and his relationship with a new doctor to tell his story is fun and engaging. Fans of the original adventures of Sherlock Holmes will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Treachery on Tenth Street

Belli follows Betrayal on the Bowery with another well-researched, intriguing historical mystery depicting culture and social class in Gilded-Age Gotham.
PREMIUM

Reptile Memoirs

The persistent listener will be rewarded with an extraordinary story and a satisfying audiobook experience.
PREMIUM

Portrait of an Unknown Lady

One of those wonderful listens in which the audiobook edition may well be the best way to experience the story.

PREMIUM

Portrait of a Thief

Listeners may finish this book feeling as if they’ve learned plenty, but so palatably wrapped in cleverly delicious plotting.

PREMIUM

The Marlow Murder Club

Cozy mystery fans will be lining up for the next series installment.
PREMIUM

Sinister Graves

There’s a bleak tone in this emotionally intense follow-up to Girl Gone Missing. Rendon, an enrolled member of White Earth Nation, skillfully handles sobering social issues of stolen children and isolated young adults who feel loss. Recommend to readers of David Heska Wanbli Weiden’s award-winning Winter Counts.
PREMIUM

The Socialite’s Guide to Murder

Evelyn is quite spoiled, something of an acquired taste as an amateur sleuth. Suggest to readers who enjoyed other hotel-set mysteries with young amateur sleuths, like Nita Prose’s The Maid and Audrey Keown’s Murder at Hotel 1911.

A Book Club To Die For

This cozy mystery full of books, romance, and a crime-solving cat will appeal to readers of Kate Carlisle’s “Bibliophile” mysteries.

Anywhere You Run

In this viscerally frightening novel of the Jim Crow era, Morris writes a stunning, heartbreaking portrayal of being Black in the 1960s U.S. South.
PREMIUM

Disaster at the Vendome Theater

This is a slow-burn mystery with little gore or suspense, but the alternating points of view give readers a unique perspective on the murders. For fans of Miranda James’s “Cat in the Stacks” mysteries, which also walk the line between lighthearted fluff and suspense while dispensing with graphic violence.
PREMIUM

The Ghost and the Stolen Tears

The eighth “Haunted Bookshop” mystery (following The Ghost and the Haunted Portrait) seems convoluted at times and has an abrupt conclusion, but fans of the series will be eager to pick up with Pen and Jack. Cozy readers who enjoy ghosts or bookstore mysteries may want to try Coyle’s entire series.
PREMIUM

A Heart Full of Headstones

For the many fans of Rebus and those who enjoy gritty Scottish noir.
PREMIUM

A Streetcar Named Murder

An entertaining cozy set in an atmospheric New Orleans.

City of Fortune

Captivating characters, such as Elizabeth and her mother-in-law, sparkle in this refreshing and amusing con narrative.

PREMIUM

Antiques Liquidation

Best for readers of cozy mysteries who enjoy small-town living, humor with a side of murder, and cute canine companions.
PREMIUM

The Crime That Binds

This is another entertaining addition to the series. Subplots, featuring familiar characters from previous books, add to the story line. Recommended for followers of the series and fans of library cozy mysteries by Eva Gates and Holly Danvers.

Read-Alikes for ‘Fox Creek’ by William Kent Krueger | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

You’re Invited

Recommend to those who liked Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies or Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Family Remains’ by Lisa Jewell | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Wealth Management

The chapters are unusually short, enabling Zuckerman to keep a lot of thematic balls in the air; he really hits his stride in his first time out, telling a story torn from the headlines with a quick-read focus.
PREMIUM

Murder on the Vine

Fans of David P. Wagner’s Italian mysteries will appreciate the lush descriptions of food and wine in Trinchieri’s third atmospheric “Tuscan Mystery” (following The Bitter Taste of Murder). The complicated personal relationships (helpfully elucidated in the book’s list of characters) add to the enjoyment.
PREMIUM

Because I Could Not Stop for Death

Agatha Award winner Flower’s (“Amish Candy Shop” and “Magical Bookshop” series) first historical mystery introduces a courageous Emily Dickinson as a protagonist who’s stronger than expected. The thoughtful story involving class, social, and political issues may appeal to the poet’s fans, as well as readers of Edith Maxwell’s “Quaker Midwife Mysteries” series.

A Reluctant Saint

Fields’s seventh Josie Gray mystery is a timely police procedural that deals with current issues from border policing to election tampering. Suggest for readers who appreciate atmospheric procedurals that capitalize on setting.

Read-Alikes for ‘Black Dog’ by Stuart Woods | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Among Wolves

Readers will find 50 shades of domestic suspense in this sexy thriller focused on unreliable narrators and cheating spouses. Regular readers of the genre will likely have the twist figured out long before the ending, but they will enjoy the journey. Recommended for readers of Tarryn Fisher or Shari Lapena.

The Cloisters

The tension and foreboding builds gradually in this outstanding gothic debut, allowing readers to savor Ann’s voice. The disturbing account plays with class differences and women friendship, set against a medieval, academic atmosphere sheltered from the city.
PREMIUM

Behind Her Lives

Cole’s characters are well developed and compelling. Fans of B. A. Paris and Liv Constantine will enjoy this book.
PREMIUM

No Strangers Here

Known for her cozies, O’Connor (“Home to Ireland” and “Irish Village” series) moves into darker territory here. For fans of Louise Penny.
PREMIUM

Marple: Twelve New Mysteries

Readers will be eager to try this anthology as a dozen celebrated crime fiction authors try their hand at writing traditional short stories featuring Christie’s amateur sleuth. As in any collection, some stories stand out, but they all capture the character of the shrewd, always underestimated Miss Marple.

Secret Lives

Add another wise, experienced senior sleuth to a group that includes Richard Osman’s “Thursday Murder Club” series and even Miss Marple. De Castrique’s (“Blackman Agency Investigations” series) quirky characters and offbeat twists will appeal to Osman’s readers.
PREMIUM

Flight Risk

This lighthearted mystery with its travel agent/psychic and her occasional, unofficial partner is a good choice for cozy mystery lovers, animal lovers, and fans of the author. Recommended.
PREMIUM

Other People’s Clothes

Highly recommended for fans of twisty psychological suspense in the vein of Stephanie Wrobel’s This Might Hurt or Tara Isabella Burton’s Social Creature.
PREMIUM

Geiger

This recommended debut thriller from Sweden is a complex, layered story of spies and murder.
PREMIUM

Magpie

Fans of Fatal Attraction and Single White Female will enjoy this character-driven and intensely suspenseful thriller.

Heat 2

This novel takes time to tell the story while slowly ratcheting up the suspense to nearly uncomfortable levels. Gardiner and Mann are legends, and this book will be a best seller that leads the cry for a film version.
PREMIUM

Next of Kin

Abdullah’s third legal thriller (after Truth Be Told) is crisply written, with a plot that never lags, well-written characters, and a heartrending backstory. The novel is marred by the introduction of totally new information and an unprepared-for plot twist at the end, which lessens an otherwise fine tale.

A Death in Door County

Full of fascinating history and lore, as well as the underwater geography of these fearsome waterways, this new mystery from “Mattie Winston” series author Ryan is a tour de force featuring a plucky and imminently likable sleuth. A deliciously clever and entertaining puzzle, highly recommended.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?