Viking

122 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

In the Heart of the Sea -- HIPPO TEST TWO: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex

A book not to miss. No matter if read in 1999 or 2024.

The Bright Sword: A Novel of King Arthur

Highly recommended for readers who can’t resist a story featuring brave knights, stalwart queens, and magic.
PREMIUM

Music and Mind: Harnessing the Arts for Health and Wellness

For music lovers and readers who want better health and well-being.

Table for Two: Fictions

Not all novelists are good short story writers, but Towles excels with this collection. Readers unfamiliar with his novels will love these examples of his shorter fiction and they will be pure catnip to his legions of fans. Highly recommended.

Skies of Thunder: The Deadly World War II Mission Over the Roof of the World

Readers interested in the China-Burma-India Theater of World War II and Asian history will enjoy Alexander’s detailed and beautifully written account.
PREMIUM

The Hunter

With quicksilver dialogue and deep characterizations, French portrays the Ardnakelty villagers’ “gift of gab” and the roiling emotions beneath the banter splendidly. A few plot points strain credulity, but it’s a treat for French’s many fans and for readers who prefer realistic Irish characters and settings.

The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years

This novel is a mystery and a love story fraught with heartbreak, infused with Islamic mythology, and written in evocative, lyrical prose. Fans of Isabel Allende and Alice Hoffman will be enchanted with this beautiful book.

My Name Is Barbra

This lengthy but invigorating, passionate, and reflective memoir will be in great demand for decades.

Life on Other Planets: A Memoir of Finding My Place in the Universe

This lyrical memoir will motivate readers to look to the stars and to do what they can to ensure everyone has a seat at the scientific table.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?