Viking

103 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Old God’s Time

Admirers of Claire Keegan and Niall Williams will appreciate the Irish humor that masks deep sorrow. This novel’s words are well chosen, the sentences dazzle, and they all come together in a beautifully told, piercingly sad story.

The Queen of Dirt Island

This could be an incredibly sad story were it not for Ryan’s ability to infuse the irony of Irish humor into its darkest corners. Light glimmers just as the story fades to black. His expert storytelling and the strength and resilience of his characters make this so much more than just another Irish family saga. Highly recommended.

Essex Dogs

Highly recommended for fans of Bernard Cornwell or Ken Follett who are looking for a high-stakes, immersive war story.

In the Upper Country

This fascinating series of stories within stories reflects the fragmentary history of African and Indigenous people experiencing the effects of enslavement, particularly from a Canadian perspective. Engrossing and intensely readable, this book represents just the beginning of a larger narrative, with many chapters yet to be told; very highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Call and Response: Stories

Moeng, a former Stegner Fellow at Stanford with an MFA from the University of Mississippi, writes with lush, heartfelt intensity that illuminates contemporary Botswana for readers who value complex female characters navigating a rapidly changing world.
PREMIUM

I Could Live Here Forever

Many readers will feel they can identify with this portrait of self-discovery, messy emotions, and challenging relationships. Fans of Halperin’s first novel will also enjoy this offering.
PREMIUM

The Aftermath: The Last Days of the Baby Boom and the Future of Power in America

This title will likely be of high interest to scholars and those interested in social and behavioral sciences.
PREMIUM

It’s Not TV: The Spectacular Rise, Revolution, and Future of HBO

Media-focused readers may enjoy the executives’, actors’, directors’, and producers’ personal accounts and the abbreviated storylines that review salient aspects of popular culture and iconic shows like The Sopranos, The Wire, Game of Thrones, Six Feet Under, The Larry Sanders Show, and Succession.
PREMIUM

The Lemon

Taking the death of Anthony Bourdain as a jumping-off point, this bitingly satiric tale examines the mix of greed and reverence that drives people who have something to gain or to protect. Boyd is the pen name of journalists Kevin Alexander and Joe Keohane and editor Alessandra Lusardi, publishing their first novel.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?