Penguin Pr

114 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Black Box: Writing the Race

A must for scholars, yet still accessible to general audiences, by arguably the preeminent scholar of African American studies. This gem brilliantly reflects multiple depictions of what it means to be a Black American amid complex, structured interracial and color-based discrimination discourses, in which writing and language are keys.

3 Shades of Blue: Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Bill Evans, and the Lost Empire of Cool

A compulsively readable book about three jazz legends who came together for one glorious moment to produce one of the best, most influential jazz records ever.
PREMIUM

The Unexpected: Navigating Pregnancy During and After Complications

A vital reference that steers women toward healthy and successful pregnancies.
PREMIUM

Finding a Likeness: How I Got Somewhat Better at Art

A fun chronicle of a writer’s attempt to get better at visual art, which will likely inspire readers to give it a go as well.

The Manuscripts Club: The People Behind a Thousand Years of Medieval Manuscripts

This book will fly off the shelves. Once readers look inside, they will be hooked. In every respect, this title is a winner.
PREMIUM

Be Useful: Seven Tools for Life

Schwarzenegger provides a useful, logical, and sometimes humorous blueprint for general readers to achieve a successful and satisfying life, although he chooses to avoid talking about his own misconduct.

Jezebel

A riveting story reinforcing the notion that there are two sides to every story. Barnard’s eloquently written debut is perfect for fans of Madeline Miller’s Circe or The Song of Achilles.

The MANIAC

Labatut’s prose is lucid and compelling, drawing readers on a frightening but fascinating journey; even the most right-brained among them will gain insight into the power and potential dangers of AI. Highly recommended.

The Fraud

Smith wrestles contemporary themes surrounding women’s independence, racism, and class disparity from centuries-old events in her beautifully crafted historical. Readers of Geraldine Brooks or Hilary Mantel will be enthralled.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?