Flatiron

66 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Stardust Grail

Kitasei (The Deep Sky) writes an emotional roller coaster of a space quest, highlighting friendship, family, and the ostracism of those believed to be different. The prose is as intimate as the universe is wide.

The Cautious Traveller’s Guide to the Wastelands

A nerve-wracking but empathetic first-class read for lovers of the strange and uncanny.

The Familiar

Bardugo (Hell Bent) masterfully weaves magical realism with historical fiction and romance, which makes this book impossible to put down. Great for fans of Rebecca Ross, Heather Fawcett, and Holly Black.
PREMIUM

The Divorcées

The history of “divorce ranches” in the United States is fascinating as depicted in this novel, and Lois’s growing independence is compelling. A good choice for readers and book groups interested in 20th-century historical fiction that deals with women’s issues.
PREMIUM

How Not To Age: The Scientific Approach to Getting Healthier as You Get Older

Heavily footnoted, carefully researched, and ultimately prescriptive not of pills and potions but of foods close to nature and fairly accessible, this title may not be the magical fountain of youth, but it delivers good advice in palatable, practical ways that will make every blueberry taste like it’s erasing a wrinkle or two.
PREMIUM

Where There Was Fire

Arias’s debut, overflowing with ancestral ghosts and portentous omens, should resonate with readers seeking a poignant, multi-generational family saga.
PREMIUM

Above the Salt

Overblown writing and an occasionally lagging plot detract from the story. However, this romantic immigrants’ epic novel does capture the depth of the Portuguese experience at a tipping point in American history.
PREMIUM

The Longest Autumn

An ambitious debut into romantic godpunk.
PREMIUM

Gator Country: Deception, Danger, and Alligators in the Everglades

Audiences of all types will appreciate this easy-to-read narrative as well as Renner’s knowledge of the area, her academic ability, her candor, and her insights into human nature. Recommended for all libraries, especially academic ones and those in and around South Florida.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?