Algonquin

54 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Moonrise over New Jessup

An outstanding writer, Minnicks excels at capturing the atmosphere and issues of a specific locale at a particular time, the Deep South at the dawn of the civil rights era. This highly recommended title is an excellent choice for book discussion groups and would make a great movie.
PREMIUM

I Am Still with You: A Reckoning with Silence, Inheritance, and History

Those interested in personal stories about Nigeria will likely enjoy this book.

The Great Escape: A True Story of Forced Labor and Immigrant Dreams in America

This book will appeal to students of U.S. immigration and civil-rights history, as well as anyone who loves a beautifully told story.

Dust Child

Achingly honest and ultimately hopeful; essential reading for U.S. audiences.
PREMIUM

Inciting Joy: Essays

Gay is a treasure, and his latest offering will delight his fans as well as those new to his work.
PREMIUM

Fatty Fatty Boom Boom: A Memoir of Food, Fat, and Family

Recommended for fans of Lindy West and Frank Bruni’s Born Round.
PREMIUM

I Am the Light of This World

A heart-wrenching story compounded by misguided decisions and bad luck, Earl’s life could form the basis of the blues songs he and Arthur so loved. For most fiction readers.

Factory Girls

From the author of Big Girl, Small Town, this novel is a wonder; the heroine is cheeky, the humor dark, the dialect thick, the sorrow palpable. Fans of Kenneth Branagh’s Belfast and television’s Derry Girls will find much to love.
PREMIUM

The Complicities

This enjoyable novel is filled with intriguing characters, whom D’Erasmo wrangles with deft changes of viewpoint, and the prose abounds with lyrical imagery. But its particular strength is its examination of that liminal space between innocence and culpability, leaving readers to judge whether these characters are as innocent as they want to believe.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?