Algonquin

50 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Inciting Joy: Essays

Gay is a treasure, and his latest offering will delight his fans as well as those new to his work.
PREMIUM

Fatty Fatty Boom Boom: A Memoir of Food, Fat, and Family

Recommended for fans of Lindy West and Frank Bruni’s Born Round.
PREMIUM

I Am the Light of This World

A heart-wrenching story compounded by misguided decisions and bad luck, Earl’s life could form the basis of the blues songs he and Arthur so loved. For most fiction readers.

Factory Girls

From the author of Big Girl, Small Town, this novel is a wonder; the heroine is cheeky, the humor dark, the dialect thick, the sorrow palpable. Fans of Kenneth Branagh’s Belfast and television’s Derry Girls will find much to love.
PREMIUM

The Complicities

This enjoyable novel is filled with intriguing characters, whom D’Erasmo wrangles with deft changes of viewpoint, and the prose abounds with lyrical imagery. But its particular strength is its examination of that liminal space between innocence and culpability, leaving readers to judge whether these characters are as innocent as they want to believe.
PREMIUM

Lark Ascending

The not-too-distant dystopia of House’s (Southernmost) latest becomes a vehicle for the author to tell a compelling story about a refugee crisis. Because House takes the story out of a contemporary context, readers can more easily empathize with the novel’s refugees rather than focusing on real-world quandaries.
PREMIUM

Calling for a Blanket Dance

Another noteworthy debut in what feels like an ongoing renaissance of Indigenous peoples’ literature, both reflecting this lineage and introducing an exciting, fresh new voice to the choir.
PREMIUM

Trailed: One Woman’s Quest To Solve the Shenandoah Murders

Miles strikes a good balance between laying out the details of the crime and investigation, and fully developing the stories of the victims’ lives. Fans of unsolved cases will appreciate this well-researched, compelling story.

Jackie & Me

Bayard (Courting Mr. Lincoln) is a master of historical fiction; this exquisite book is no exception. This is a love triangle in which the future president is tragically incapable of fully returning the love given to him by both Jackie and Lem. A necessary purchase for public libraries.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?