Portia Kapraun

71 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Windsor Conspiracy: A Novel of the Crown, a Conspiracy, and the Duchess of Windsor

Those unfamiliar with Wallis Simpson may wish for more backstory, but Blalock (An Indiscreet Princess) sketches out enough of the history that readers won’t be lost for long. A solid entry into the World War II subgenre that will entertain and educate historical fiction fans.
PREMIUM

Lost Man’s Lane

Carson (Where They Wait), pen name of Michael Koryta, delivers a captivating and eerie tale that weaves together family curses, the Y2K panic, and the very real horrors of adolescence. Xennial readers will especially enjoy revisiting cultural touchpoints of their own coming-of-age. Give this one to fans of Michael Koryta and Chuck Wendig’s Black River Orchard.
PREMIUM

Escape Velocity

Manibo (The Sleepless) pens a novel full of twists and turns, with broad appeal. Sci-fi, dystopian, and mystery fans will all find something to enjoy, while the posh setting and elite players give an unexpected air of palace intrigue that could rival Game of Thrones.
PREMIUM

Big Time

A fast-paced and thought-provoking speculative thriller with well-drawn and relatable characters. Give this one to fans of Blake Crouch and Mike Chen.
PREMIUM

Catchpenny

In this noir-tinged urban fantasy, Huston (Skinner) has created a world that is completely engrossing and full of wonder, imagination, and a good dose of music history. Give to fans of Neil Gaiman and Leigh Bardugo.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Mystery Guest’ by Nita Prose | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Charlot

An intriguing thought experiment that imagines the lasting impact of Chaplin’s real-life visit to Cambodia. Readers looking for deep biographical details should look elsewhere, but those who are interested in the 1930s and world history might appreciate.
PREMIUM

Godfall

A gripping, fast-paced, genre-bending novel full of heart and wonder. Give this one to fans of Ben H. Winters and Dan Chaon.
PREMIUM

The Pale House Devil

This solid novella will appeal to horror readers who like quirky protagonists. Recommended for fans of Kadrey’s “Sandman Slim” series or of Edgar Cantero and Jim Butcher.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?