Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

Lost Man’s Lane

Carson (Where They Wait), pen name of Michael Koryta, delivers a captivating and eerie tale that weaves together family curses, the Y2K panic, and the very real horrors of adolescence. Xennial readers will especially enjoy revisiting cultural touchpoints of their own coming-of-age. Give this one to fans of Michael Koryta and Chuck Wendig’s Black River Orchard.
PREMIUM

What Grows in the Dark

A spooky walk in the woods for fans of supernatural mysteries, LGBTQIA+ protagonists, and folk horror such as The Blair Witch.
PREMIUM

The Gathering

Tudor’s (The Drift) latest blends elements from the horror, thriller, and mystery genres to create a compulsive and fantastic read. Well-paced action, great characters, a satisfying conclusion, and the setup for a sequel make for an easy recommendation, especially for fans of T. Kingfisher and Catriona Ward.
PREMIUM

Red River Seven

A fun romp with echoes of Jeremy Robert Johnson’s The Loop or Nick Cutter’s The Troop. Bloody escapism at its best.

The Invisible World

Outstanding narratorial performances take this novel to the next level. Fussner doesn’t offer easy answers but allows listeners to ponder the existence of the invisible world.

Black River Orchard

A dream team of narrators, combined with Wendig’s masterful storytelling, makes for a listening experience as intoxicating as a Ruby Slipper apple.
PREMIUM

Never Whistle at Night: An Indigenous Dark Fiction Anthology

A collection of Indigenous horror stories that offers something for every listener, from quietly unsettling tales to gruesome body horror. Don’t miss this one.
PREMIUM

Good Girls Don’t Die

Thriller/horror fans who dabble in mysteries and YA dystopian novels will savor Henry’s fourth-wall-centered assault on well-known genres.
PREMIUM

Edenville

While some listeners may get lost in Rebelein’s ever-confusing landscape, those who like their cosmic horror with a touch of humor should enjoy.
PREMIUM

Where the Dead Wait

Horror for fans of nautical disasters such as Dan Simmons’s The Terror or Jennifer Niven’s The Ice Master.

The Reformatory

Incredibly written and performed historical horror that, though heartbreaking, might give modern readers a spark of hope.
PREMIUM

The Night House

Nesbø’s first foray into horror lacks a tightly focused plot but makes up for it with imaginative scenes that fascinate even when separated from the whole.
PREMIUM

The Paleontologist

Fans of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child’s “Pendergast” series should especially enjoy Dumas’s intriguing blend of supernatural and psychological horror, with its sharp prose, well-drawn characters, and just the right amount of humor and social commentary.
PREMIUM

Mister Lullaby

Those who enjoy King’s Castle Rock novels or dark fantasies that involve a weakening veil between worlds should enjoy this journey to Lalaland.
PREMIUM

A Light Most Hateful

Throughout this intense blend of horror, romance, and fantasy, listeners will be glad for Parker’s performance. A twisty, shocking novel for fans of Richard Kadrey’s The Dead Take the A Train.

Horror | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Out There Screaming: An Anthology of New Black Horror

The collaboration of these uniquely gifted narrators with extraordinarily talented Black horror authors results in a thrilling, multifaceted audio experience that belongs in all fiction collections.
PREMIUM

Dwellings

Readers who enjoyed Afterlife with Archie by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa or Octopus Girl by Toru Yamazaki will enjoy untangling the plots of these six cutesy yet highly disturbing stories.
PREMIUM

Sanctuary

Fans of Isabel Cañas’s The Hacienda and Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s Mexican Gothic will breathe in this book’s brooding atmosphere, even as its emotional punch of a climax leaves them breathless.

Immortal Pleasures

A lush examination of love, self-worth, and colonialism through the monstrous.
PREMIUM

The Woods All Black

Readers will be drawn in to this horror novella with broad crossover appeal, thanks to its skillful blend of trans love story, historical fiction, and Southern gothic folk horror.

Diavola

Full of emotions, humorous moments, spinetingling scenes, and lots of tension, Thorne’s newest is a modern horror story that will grab readers and not let go.

First Light

This horror sequel invokes more about Sara rights and splinter cells, and Mia remains a fascinating protagonist to watch as she works through her own pain while trying to stay alive.

Horror Movie

Balancing a terrifying cursed film with examinations of artistic creation, fandom, and truth, Tremblay’s latest is smart and well-paced and will have broad appeal. Recommended for fans of Tremblay’s The Pallbearer’s Club as well as Clay McLeod Chapman’s The Remaking.

Horror | Prepub Alert, July 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Chicano Frankenstein

The way Olivas builds on the classic Shelley story and sets it within a futuristic context makes it an intriguing read that will speak to disenfranchised voices and spark discussion among its readers. A good read-alike for Tim McGregor’s Eynhallow and Frankenstein in Baghdad by Ahmed Saadawi.

LJ Talks with S.A. Barnes, School Librarian and Horror Author

PREMIUM

Bless Your Heart

Ryan’s (Throw Me to the Wolves) compelling horror/mystery hybrid is bursting with serious scares, humor, and Southern charm. Fans of Grady Hendrix and Rachel Harrison will appreciate.

This Skin Was Once Mine and Other Disturbances

LaRocca (Everything the Darkness Eats) is a viral sensation for all the right reasons, showcasing why extreme horror is so resonant, thought-provoking, and necessary. Suggest to fans of Tender Is the Flesh by Agustina Bazterrica and We Are Here To Hurt Each Other by Paula D. Ashe.
PREMIUM

Ghost Station

Barnes (Dead Silence) is quickly cementing herself as the go-to author in space horror. This will appeal to fans of sci-fi/horror hybrids that are heavy on the planetary-exploration details, such as David Wellington’s Paradise-1, and also readers who enjoy the psychologically intense polar horror of Ally Wilkes.
PREMIUM

Oracle

Suggest to fans of popular horror/thriller series by Christopher Golden, Chuck Wendig, and Mira Grant.
PREMIUM

The Day of the Door

Hightower’s (Silent Key) story, dripping with visceral dread from every corner, will draw in fans of intense psychological horror such as A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay, Mapping the Interior by Stephen Graham Jones, and Graveyard of Lost Children by Katrina Monroe.

The Angel of Indian Lake

Jones has given the world a gift, an epic tale for the ages, both a violent, high-octane slasher and a frank, thought-provoking indictment of the U.S., past and present.

Forgotten Sisters

Pelayo (The Shoemaker’s Magician) has given readers another can’t-miss novel, marked by its pervasive unease and riveting storyline. For fans of ghost stories that mine memory, fairy tales, and mystery, such as the works of Simone St. James, Jennifer McMahon, and Helen Oyeyemi.
PREMIUM

12 Hours

Wood (Telecommuting) showcases the strengths of the novella as the perfect vehicle for horror storytelling, in a captivating tale that is in equal measures beautiful and brutal, presenting terror both terrestrial and supernatural; similar to the work of Gabino Iglesias and V. Castro.
PREMIUM

Nestlings

A novel for fans of the monstrous and grotesque. Share this menacing listen with fans of Chase Novak’s Breed or Ben H. Winters’s Bedbugs.

The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years

This novel is a mystery and a love story fraught with heartbreak, infused with Islamic mythology, and written in evocative, lyrical prose. Fans of Isabel Allende and Alice Hoffman will be enchanted with this beautiful book.

Horror | Prepub Alert, June 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Eye of a Little God

Mashing up multiple genres, this is a story for fans of modern (and frightening) fairy tales.

Best Horror of 2023

PREMIUM

A Haunting in the Arctic

The novel’s very metaphysical ending might leave some readers disappointed, but its atmosphere and harrowed heroines make this a good book to read during cold and dark nights.

Schrader’s Chord

Music and horror fans who like their ghost stories gooey and their music loud should give this story a spin.
PREMIUM

Disturbance

Though the subject matter is disturbing, Clake’s window into the horror wrought by abusive relationships resonates. A haunting literary horror for fans of Carmen Maria Machado’s Her Body and Other Parties.
PREMIUM

Ghost Tamer

A paranormal thriller that offers thrills and chills in addition to a touching exploration of grief, love, and moving on.
PREMIUM

Hemlock Island

A thrilling story, laced with horrors both real and otherwise; recommended for audiences who loved Nick Cutter and Andrew F. Sullivan’s The Handyman Method and Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s Echo.
PREMIUM

At the End of Every Day

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking atmospheric, unsettling horror that blends otherworldly chills with childhood nostalgia. Recommended for fans of Megan Collins, Kiersten White, and Jennifer McMahon.
PREMIUM

Vampires of El Norte

This complex blend of historical fiction, romance, and horror captivates on many levels. Share with fans of Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Alma Katsu, and Andy Davidson.
PREMIUM

Burn the Negative

One doesn’t need a Needle Man to poke holes in the plot, but Winning has created an immersive love letter to late-20th-century horror cinema that will draw fans of supernatural slashers like flies to corpses.

Fever House

Rosson’s dialogue and characters may attract fans of noir-adjacent fiction, but it’s the true horror fans who will love riding out this apocalypse.

The September House

This perfect synergy of author and narrator will have broad appeal. For fans of Rachel Harrison and Grady Hendrix and anyone seeking a unique haunted-house story.
PREMIUM

No Child of Mine

Though Giraldes’s tale is sometimes dragged down by its ghosts, readers of domestic horror will likely respond to the depiction of an increasingly isolated expectant mother.
PREMIUM

Phantom

Listeners who don’t mind unappealing characters or messy plots may want to check this out, but it’s an otherwise optional purchase for most libraries.
PREMIUM

Spin a Black Yarn: Novellas

A great sampling of Malerman’s novellas, brought to life by an ever-engaging group of talented voice actors.
PREMIUM

Looking Glass Sound

With an abundance of moving parts, Ward’s multilayered tale is a delightful challenge for anyone who loves reverse-engineering their thrillers.

A Haunting on the Hill

Hand’s reworking of the Hill House legend is brilliant on its own, but sinister sound effects and Monda’s spine-tingling narration (which includes show-stopping renditions of the spooky murder ballads) make this an absolute must-have for horror collections.
PREMIUM

Red Rabbit

This meandering, lushly described weird West tale will be a treat for fans of Alma Katsu, Rob DeBorde, and Rhett C. Bruno.
PREMIUM

The Handyman Method

A haunted-house story possessed by the shades of Stephen King’s The Shining and The Tommyknockers. Horror fans will be enthralled.
PREMIUM

My Darling Girl

Full of twists, turns, and plenty of suspense, this slow-burn horror novel has depth and plenty of holiday chills. Fans of McMahon’s other works will not be disappointed.

Eynhallow

This is a must-buy for libraries that are looking to add fresh new horror to their collection. The story has broad appeal and will entice patrons with its additions to the classic Frankenstein story, as well as horror readers seeking something new. Recommend to those who liked T. Kingfisher’s What Moves the Dead and Philip Fracassi’s Boys in the Valley.
PREMIUM

We Ate the Dark

With stunning prose, Pearson draws readers into the lives of her characters and weaves a horror-esque fantasy tale.
PREMIUM

The Haunting of Velkwood

Fans of My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix won’t want to miss Kiste’s (The Rust Maidens) latest.
PREMIUM

Girl Among Crows

A captivating listen, just the thing for thriller readers seeking supernatural scares. The twists come fast, and the characters’ decisions lead to brutal consequences. Share with fans of Stephen King and Riley Sager.
PREMIUM

Dracula: A Full Cast Audio Drama

This dramatized adaptation of Stoker’s classic tale is a perfect spooky listen for those seeking a new experience of the original novel. Recommended for any audio classics or horror collection.
PREMIUM

The Daughters of Block Island

While there are numerous references here to horror icons such as Shirley Jackson and gothic novels, including Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights, they do not fully resonate with the characters of Carmen’s debut novel (after the short story collection Something Borrowed, Something Blood-Soaked: Thirteen Stories), making it read like a disjointed collection of tropes.

LJ Talks with Jenny Kiefer, Author of ‘This Wretched Valley’

Christmas and Other Horrors: An Anthology of Solstice Horror

This latest from Datlow is a consistently creepy anthology made for long, dark solstice nights (or long days, if you’re in the Southern Hemisphere).
PREMIUM

Midnight on Beacon Street

Verona’s debut is a riveting thriller and a thoughtful love letter to horror films. It will find its most enthusiastic audience with fans of the babysitter final girl trope from any medium, such as the movie Halloween and the novel The Babysitter Lives by Stephen Graham Jones.
PREMIUM

The House of Last Resort

Golden is already a library favorite, and his latest will be eagerly devoured. This title would make a great suggestion for fans of The Ancestor by Danielle Trussoni or Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia.

A Light Most Hateful

A stunning novel that purposefully plays with genre conventions and centers love, even as it actively terrifies readers to their core, much like recent novels from Victor LaValle, Rachel Eve Moulton, and Chuck Tingle.
PREMIUM

Where the Dead Wait

Fans of the historical horror Alma Katsu or polar exploration nonfiction, such as In the Kingdom of Ice by Hampton Sides, will rejoice, but the intense psychological horror and isolation will also appeal to those who enjoy space horror similar to Dead Silence by S.A. Barnes.
PREMIUM

Edenville

In his debut novel, Rebelein confidently writes in a sardonic tone, mixing humor with over-the-top cosmic horror, a combination that will appeal greatly to fans of We Sold Our Souls by Grady Hendrix, but don’t sleep on the academic aspects, as also seen in Catherine House by Elisabeth Thomas.
PREMIUM

Womb City

Tsamaase, like Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki, is a rising star in African speculative fiction whose work will appeal to readers from across the globe, especially fans of Philip K. Dick, Margaret Atwood, and Blake Crouch.
PREMIUM

Your Shadow Half Remains

Creepy from its first lines, this deceptively quiet roller-coaster of intense unease, palpable emotional trauma, and engrossing menace will appeal to a wide swath of readers.

This Wretched Valley

A terrifying debut, rendered with the intensity and skill of Scott Smith’s cult favorite The Ruins and touches of The Hunger by Alma Katsu and Echo by Thomas Olde Heuvelt. The novel announces Kiefer’s intentions to boldly begin her climb to the top of the genre.
PREMIUM

All Eight Eyes

Foxe’s (Dark X-Men) scripting emphasizes thrills and chills over exposition without shortchanging character development in this exhilaratingly pulpy horror thriller.
PREMIUM

Camp Damascus

Tingle’s foray into a new genre pays off. Share with horror fans looking for complex, multilayered characters and unexpected storylines or anyone seeking piercing commentary on faith, conversion therapy, and religious trauma.

Horror | Prepub Alert, April 2024 Titles

Sonic Screams | Top Audiobooks for Horror Listeners

PREMIUM

An Ordinary Violence

Great for fans of Erika T. Wurth and Stephen Graham Jones.
PREMIUM

The Pale House Devil

This solid novella will appeal to horror readers who like quirky protagonists. Recommended for fans of Kadrey’s “Sandman Slim” series or of Edgar Cantero and Jim Butcher.

Out There Screaming: An Anthology of New Black Horror

While some readers might be drawn to this book by Peele’s star power, this is a well-crafted anthology that’s perfect for introducing readers to emerging and established Black authors.
PREMIUM

Candy Cain Kills

This Christmas slasher, in the vein of movies like Silent Night, Deadly Night, is a quick read and a perfect book for gorehounds to devour on a cold Christmas night where there’s a fire in the hearth, some cocoa on the nightstand, and possibly something murderous in the snowy dark.
PREMIUM

Good Girls Don’t Die

Featuring a unique premise and culminating in an engaging twist, this book offers a poignant feminist horror story with strong women characters.
PREMIUM

A Haunting on the Hill

Where Jackson gave glimpses of possibility, Hand purposefully pulls back the curtain on a Hill House in its full derangement, but this haunted-house tale stands on its own very spooky legs.
PREMIUM

My Darling Girl

With detail that is simultaneously luscious and eerie and a story that is at once familiar and yet possessed by something unnamable, this novel won’t disappoint fans of McMahon (The Children on the Hill) or first-time readers.
PREMIUM

The Horror at Pleasant Brook

The sheer number of expendable characters sometimes slows down the action, but fans of Stephen King’s and Dean Koontz’s stories of small-town evil infestation will love seeing Pleasant Brook fall into darkness.
PREMIUM

Midnight Showing

For fans of horror and Hollywood (and Holly-weird) and for any creative who has contemplated the nature of art, the concept of reality, and a creator’s responsibility for their creations.
PREMIUM

Wasps in the Ice Cream

Full of pop-culture references, satanic panic, and nostalgia, this novel is a love letter to times past. Perfect for fans of Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides or Robert R. McCammon’s Boy’s Life.
PREMIUM

The Marigold

Though the cast is massive, each individual’s story is part of a unified whole, depicting a bleak future where corporations make deals with literal monsters in the name of progress.
PREMIUM

Everything the Darkness Eats

Two terrifying storylines come together in an inventive and haunting tale that explores whether love and forgiveness can exist in a pitiless universe.

Dead Eleven

Juliano’s tense debut offers grown-up vibes for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix’s Running Out of Time, like a more sinister take on M. Night Shyamalan’s The Village. An outstanding pick for fans of classic horror and creepy cults.
PREMIUM

Hounds of the Underworld

Should appeal to fans of Jim Butcher’s “Dresden Files” and Patricia Briggs’s “Mercy Thompson” series, although the dialogue and accents of the narrators, along with creepy music between chapters, give this audiobook its own unique sound. This first installment in the “Path of Ra” series stands on its own but also builds excitement for the next books to come.

The Shoemaker’s Magician

Though Paloma’s narrative is captivating, this tale is a must-purchase for Pelayo’s gorgeously written love letter to horror movies and Chicago, a city brimming with eclectic tales, urban horrors, and palpable magic.
PREMIUM

Maeve Fly

Leede’s chilling case study on how to create a monster should appeal to fans of Bella Mackie’s How To Kill Your Family and Bret Easton Ellis’s American Psycho.
PREMIUM

The Woodkin

With plenty of nods to horror master Stephen King, this is an audio that fans of the grotesque should relish.
PREMIUM

The Wishing Pool and Other Stories

A deftly written, atmospheric short-story collection for fans of Jordan Peele, P. Djèlí Clarke, and Octavia E. Butler.

Our Share of Night

Set against the backdrop of Argentina’s 1970s Dirty War and dripping with atmospheric horror, this novel will reward listeners’ patience, revealing beauty among supernatural and all-too-human terrors.
PREMIUM

The Dark Hour

Although Hart’s narration is unimpeachable, the story offers little depth and few surprises. Listeners might enjoy seeing Mark getting his comeuppance, or they might rejoice when the book finally reveals its obvious twist.

PREMIUM

The Salt Grows Heavy

A quick listen that should appeal to fans of Khaw’s Nothing but Blackened Teeth or those looking for a horrific take on the ever-popular The Little Mermaid.

Box of Bones: Book Two

The beauty revealed in the conclusion changes the game, forcing characters and readers to rethink woman power. Jama-Everett’s evocative, open-ended finale suits the saga far better than a neat wrap-up. Highly recommended.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?