Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

Bet on It

An excellent read full of heart, sass, and steam that’s perfect for fans of Tessa Bailey and Jasmine Guillory.
PREMIUM

What a Match

This book is a sequel to Make a Scene but stands alone well. While it’s relatively short, it’s also somewhat slowly paced; romance readers who appreciate a steady journey from slightly oblivious friends to lovers will be its ideal match.

Read-Alikes for ‘Something Wilder’ by Christina Lauren | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

A Lady’s Guide to Fortune-Hunting

A fine historical romance full of wit and banter. Recommended as a read-alike for Julia Quinn’s “Bridgerton” series or Mimi Matthews’s The Siren of Sussex.

Read-Alikes for ‘Book Lovers’ by Emily Henry | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

To Get to the Other Side

This gentle contemporary romance has a unique close-proximity story line. Unfortunately, the writing style is primarily exposition and fails to draw in readers. Bear and Trixie are quirky and likable, but they remain flat characters and their interactions lack chemistry. Overall, the premise promises more than the novel is able to deliver.
PREMIUM

The Return of the Duke

In Heath’s third installment to the “Once Upon a Dukedom” series (following The Duchess Hunt), readers can finally enjoy Marcus’s story, and it is well worth the wait for those who love a strong heroine who breaks down all the preconceived notions that the hero has of her. Hand to readers who already love Heath, as well as fans of Stephanie Laurens and Lisa Kleypas.
PREMIUM

You Were Made To Be Mine

With a new set of intriguing circumstances and the familiar cast of charming characters, Long returns to “The Palace of Rogues” series in this fifth welcome visit (following After Dark with the Duke) to the Grand Palace on the Thames.

Maggie Moves On

Highly recommended, especially for fans of Nora Roberts and Tessa Bailey.
PREMIUM

Red Blossom in Snow

Lin’s historical romance will satisfy readers who enjoy a well-paced mystery braided into their love story.

The Bride Goes Rogue

Once again, Shupe delivers a sparkling, sexy romance in a well-crafted and entertaining historical setting, filling the book to the brim with vivid, appealing characters that readers can’t help but love.
PREMIUM

Wherever Is Your Heart

This new novella from Kelly (Love & Other Disasters) is recommended for readers who appreciate a character-focused romance and some quality queer postcoital processing. There’s nothing external preventing Mal and June from getting together; rather, they gradually unpack assumptions that each has internalized about what makes them undesirable to potential partners.
PREMIUM

You’re a Mean One, Matthew Prince

Fans of Alexandria Bellefleur and Courtney Kae will clamor for this slow-burn, opposites-attract holiday treat.
PREMIUM

Dream On

Fans of Hockman’s debut novel, Shipped, will be excited to enjoy another delightful rom-com. Hand to those who appreciate a slow burn and the sweetest surprises for their heroines. Cassidy is a smart, independent, and strong woman who will have readers rooting for her happy ending and hanging on for the gratifying twist late in the book that shows that dreams and fate are not always as straightforward as they appear.
PREMIUM

A Duchess by Midnight

A charming story of people learning to live with their past and commit to their futures, Michaels’s fairy tale finale is joyful and redemptive. The mix of retold stories, the governess trope, and winning characters makes this a solid addition for all libraries and a great pick for readers new to the author.
PREMIUM

Mistakes Were Made

Wilsner’s steamy, fast-paced secret-lovers contemporary romance features fully realized queer protagonists and secondary characters. Told from Erin’s and Cassie’s perspectives, it gives readers a window into their relationship, in and out of the bedroom. It’s not a romantic comedy, but definitely has humor, as well as great dialogue and hot sex scenes. Recommended for general purchase.
PREMIUM

The Roughest Draft

Well written, but excruciating in terms of human behavior. Better to read than to listen.
PREMIUM

Getting His Game Back

De Cadenet’s debut romance is a great listen as a sympathetic, inspiring, encouraging story of how far compassion and patience can go to helping depression.
PREMIUM

The Astronaut and the Star

Comfort’s debut lighthearted beach read (or listen) is only recommended for those with an interest in “opposites attract” rom-coms.
PREMIUM

Nobody’s Princess

A strong title in an essential collection-building series. Ridley, who has a deft hand with dialogue and detail and crafts bookmark-it scenes and byplay, is fast becoming an auto-buy author and makes a good read-alike suggestion for fans of Lisa Kleypas, Grace Burrowes, and Elizabeth Hoyt.
PREMIUM

Her Favorite Rebound

A strong choice for readers who are skeptical about the ethics and logistics of dating a billionaire, but still interested in assertive heroes who get what they want.
PREMIUM

The Accidental Pinup

Body positivity and inclusivity are popular current topics which, combined with the fast-paced plot and fascinating descriptions, make Jackson’s debut novel a good choice for general purchase.

Trans Love | Collection Development

PREMIUM

Immortal Rising

This 34th entry in the Argeneau series (after Mile High with a Vampire) adds to Sands’s rich and vibrant world with a suspenseful and action-packed romance featuring two nontraditional immortals.
PREMIUM

Lover Arisen

Fans of Ward’s “Black Dagger Brotherhood” series will not be disappointed in this most recent addition (following Lover Unveiled). With subplots involving Lassiter, the fallen angel, and an evil legacy, this new installment is a steamy, primal page-turner.

PREMIUM

Just the Two of Us

This is a refreshing change of pace from the usual contemporary fare, as Wilde (paranormal romance series “The Angel”) sets up her middle-aged characters to face their failing marriage during the current pandemic that is no stranger to any of us. This heartwarming tale will appeal to fans of Jasmine Guillory’s Royal Holiday, minus the steaminess.
PREMIUM

By the Book

Izzy is quirky, likable, and relatable, and her relationship with Beau is a hard-won slow burn that morphs naturally, if quickly, from combative to friendly to romantic. Her realistic frustrations as a Black woman in publishing add depth to the plot. Guillory’s fans will clamor for this book, the second “Meant To Be” novel (following Julie Murphy’s If the Shoe Fits).
PREMIUM

American Royalty

Recommended for general purchase.
PREMIUM

The Last Summer

It’s light on the romance, but this series opener features an uncommon heroine and a fascinating historical setting that readers will enjoy, as long as they’re okay with a cliffhanger ending.
PREMIUM

Circling Back to You

A workplace romance whose likable, well-developed Asian American protagonists have layered, realistic backstories. The dialogue is witty and insightful, with plenty of entertaining banter. Topics of grief, family relationships, and workplace harassment bring depth to the fast-paced, well-written storyline. A solid addition for libraries, especially those that want to diversify their romance collections.
PREMIUM

Up All Night with a Good Duke

Bursting at the seams with delicious drama and tropes, and the solid central couple and well-crafted prose will satisfy choice historical romance readers.
PREMIUM

West Side Love Story

A sparkling tribute to the rivalries of Romeo and Juliet, with none of the tragedy and all of the swoony romance. Oliveras (Island Affair) paints with lush prose a lively mariachi scene and the community of the Capuletas’ and Monteros’ San Antonio. With its large cast of fun supporting characters, this should launch a continuing contemporary romance series.

From Bad to Cursed

Harper (Payback’s a Witch) continues “The Witches of Thistle Grove” series strong, delivering a second installment packed with mystery, danger, lots of love-to-hate-you foreplay, family drama, and an identity crisis thrown in. Sound like a lot? It is, but still oh so fun. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

In the Event of Love

A well-written fast-paced debut, with fun banter and narrative; readers looking for a sweet and spicy holiday romance won’t be disappointed.
PREMIUM

From the Jump

The love story is satisfying, but Liv’s journey (from inflexible, insecure ice queen to confident risk-taker with a strong support network) is the real draw.
PREMIUM

Wicked Beauty

Robert (Neon Gods) keeps readers’ attention by ramping up the tension among Helen, Achilles, and Patroclus as the competition’s trials take place, interspersed with lots of erotic scenes. Although the worldbuilding is vague and Achilles’s overconfidence can be off-putting, many readers will enjoy this continuation of the “Dark Olympus” series.
PREMIUM

Never a Duke

Burrowes’s “Rogues to Riches” series is a popular choice among readers for good reason, and Ned and Rosalind’s entry, with its sweet love story and savory mystery, will continue that trend.
PREMIUM

The Fixer Upper

Forsythe understands the contemporary romance genre and writes with confidence. With likable characters and good pacing, this debut novel offers a great second-chance romance.
PREMIUM

Seoulmates

A fun romp whose adroit audiobook narration only adds to the pleasure.

Love in the Time of Serial Killers

Thompson’s (Psych Major Syndrome) contemporary romance delves into some heavy themes (grief, childhood trauma, trust), but balances them with comedic characters and situations. Phoebe is a complicated, likable character who, though extreme in her reasoning, is easy to connect with, and Sam is well developed and authentic. The fast-paced plot is alternately hilarious and touching, and readers won’t be able to put it down. True crime is an incredibly popular genre, and this book is a must-read for crossover romance fans.
PREMIUM

Fake It Till You Bake It

 The strength of Wesley’s novel lies in the likable, relatable characters. who share witty, well-crafted dialogue and sizzling chemistry; readers won’t want their story to end. Fortunately, there are lively, amusing supporting characters waiting in the wings for their own happily-ever-afters. Recommended for general purchase.

PREMIUM

Plain English

A strong choice where slow burns or aristocrat-meets-American romances are popular.
PREMIUM

Something So Sweet

This is a delightfully fun romance. Recommended for readers who like contemporary romance and those who enjoy Debbie Macomber’s novels.
PREMIUM

Crash Site

Readers who can suspend their disbelief will enjoy Grant’s romantic suspense novel most, but it is a solid choice for a collection.
PREMIUM

I’ll Come Back for You

Recommended. The spectral twist adds a spooky layer to Reid’s heartfelt exploration of trauma, second chances, and grown adults who are ready to live the lives they want.
PREMIUM

Maybe We Won’t

Readers of the “Silver Harbor” series will enjoy this new addition, but there is little to excite those not already familiar with the titles.
PREMIUM

One True Outcome

A light, low-conflict choice for libraries developing their M/M sports romance offerings; this is a subgenre with robust online and indie readership, despite a smaller presence in traditionally published romance.
PREMIUM

Season’s Change

The perfect novel for a hockey fan who loves M/M romance; it’s full of hockey-culture details, as well as exciting action on the ice, and Nary excels at describing the bodily experiences of athletics, anxiety, and desire. All of these elements, combined with slow-burning chemistry between the two leads, build to a satisfying and well-earned happy ending.
PREMIUM

Pretend You Want Me

Eden’s strength as a novelist is making each book stand on its own as an individual read, but they’re even better when the streams of her series cross. Highly recommended for collections where the romantic suspense works of Nora Roberts and Jayne Ann Krentz are popular.
PREMIUM

Little Girl Gone

Readers who like their suspense on the spooky side will enjoy this novel and look forward to the rest of the series.
PREMIUM

Disavowed in Wyoming

Some of Rushdan’s plot depends on her characters failing to fully think through their actions through all the way, but readers who are already invested in the series will enjoy finding out more about why this team was disavowed.
PREMIUM

A Perfect Equation

Everett’s second “Secret Scientists of London” novel (following A Lady’s Formula for Love) can be read as a standalone, but the first book’s introduction to plot and characters will help situate readers. This enemies-to-lovers romance is filled with astute observations into societal divisions and will have readers cheering for the women of Athena’s Society.

Romance in Audio | 6 Titles To Try

Read-Alikes for ‘Hook, Line, and Sinker’ by Tessa Bailey | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

How To Be a Wallflower

James’s (“Desperate Duchesses” series) newest series won’t disappoint, with her signature abundance of banter, humorous situations, and strong-willed characters determined to have their way, creating sizzling sexual tension. The author’s fans will also enjoy seeing characters from My American Duchess in this series starter.
PREMIUM

The Date from Hell

The adventuresome spirit of the first book continues in the sequel; the characters don’t experience as much growth as one expects and tend to read as younger than they are. An enjoyable follow-up for fans of the first; recommended to be read in series order.
PREMIUM

Boss Witch

Recommended for general purchase.
PREMIUM

The Meeting Point

Published as an ebook in 2021 and now available in print, Lara’s (Someday in Paris) novel has convincing characters and a charming, serendipitous plot, but readers will figure out the surprise twist long before it is revealed. An optional purchase.

A Proposal They Can’t Refuse

The well-written storyline, fast-paced plot, deft characterizations, and delectable descriptions of whiskey tasting and Puerto Rican cuisine will keep readers turning the pages long into the night.

PREMIUM

To Marry and To Meddle

Waters stays true to the humor and wit that characterize the series’ first two installments.
PREMIUM

Wild at Heart

Gold’s (“Emerald Mountain Ski Romances” series) latest is a sexy nature read full of camping tidbits and steamy nights. Romance fans who love the great outdoors will find this a pleasant escape.
PREMIUM

Part of Your World

Alexis undergoes a great deal of emotional growth over the course of the novel, and readers will cheer when she overcomes years of domestic abuse and indoctrination to create a happily-ever-after on her terms. Recommended for public library collections.
PREMIUM

Go Hex Yourself

Though fun, Clare’s novel won’t have enough conflict to keep some readers engaged; the reveal at the end demonstrates the low stakes. Recommend to those who prefer light paranormal fare that borders on chick lit.
PREMIUM

Every Summer After

Readers seeking a drama-free romance should look elsewhere, but hurt/comfort fans will eat it up. Recommended for those who like Sarah Dessen and K.  A. Tucker.
PREMIUM

Never Been Kissed

Readers will appreciate Wren and Derick’s banter and will clamor for them to finally kiss. Fans of Red, White & Royal Blue and Boyfriend Material will also enjoy this title.
PREMIUM

The Romantic Agenda

The novel has a complex and layered plot, making for a slow-burn friends-to-lovers romance readers won’t want to put down. Recommended for general purchase.

Book Lovers

Truly a book for book lovers and a romance for romance lovers, this novel will delight Henry’s fans, as well as readers of smart, sexy, and funny romances with emotional depth and storylines featuring family dynamics.
PREMIUM

The Stand-In

A first-tier purchase for libraries where contemporary and enemies-to-lovers romances are popular.
PREMIUM

Strictly Business

While Cardello’s long-lost-twin premise is no stranger in Romancelandia, the book ultimately falls short on believability and lacks charisma. It most likely won’t be missed on library shelves.
PREMIUM

The Family You Make

With an additional secondary romance and a large cast of friends and family, this is a fun series starter and a perfect listen for library patrons looking for some adventurous romance with a gorgeous wintry setting.
PREMIUM

An Accidental Odyssey

Listeners who enjoy mouth-watering food descriptions and who are hungry for an international adventure will find much to enjoy here.
PREMIUM

Duke Gone Rogue

Recommended for fans of Carlyle’s previous books, many of which are also performed by Cass.
PREMIUM

Love & Other Disasters

A good buy for libraries where contemporary romance circulates well.
PREMIUM

An Heiress’s Guide to Deception and Desire

A supplemental purchase for collections where historical romance is popular.
PREMIUM

The Redemption of Philip Thane

Recommended for fans of the author and readers who enjoy their historical romances with a slight hint of fantasy.
PREMIUM

Summer Nights with a Cowboy

In the third entry in the “Kittredge Ranch” series, Crews creates a deeply emotional and family-oriented love story filled with great chemistry and good steam.
PREMIUM

Something Fabulous

Hall’s (Boyfriend Material) farcical escapades paired with equally ridiculous characters tend to overshadow the romantic awakening of one of the protagonists. Still, this series starter will be excellent for readers with a silly sense of humor.
PREMIUM

A Duke, the Spy, an Artist, and a Lie

The trilogy is best read as a whole, as the secret in this last book hinges on a special connection among all the characters. This witty series is ideal for anyone eagerly anticipating the next season of Bridgerton.
PREMIUM

Phantom Game

In her 18th GhostWalker adventure (after Lightning Game) Feehan returns to the original teams at their mountain stronghold. Longtime series fans will enjoy glimpses into the lives of the team members, and Feehan’s choice of horticulture as the groundwork for the characters’ abilities is fascinating.

PREMIUM

The League of Gentlewomen Witches

Nearly every sentence is a metaphor or simile, which may frustrate some. Readers who are fans of Gail Carriger’s “The Parasol Protectorate” series, or tongue-in-cheek humor more generally, will find great enjoyment in this solid choice.
PREMIUM

The Valet’s Secret

Hand to readers who love a case of mistaken identity and romances that cross class lines; they’ll be sure to enjoy Kenneth and Rebecca’s electric encounters. Kilpack’s (“A Proper Romance” series) Regency novel is full of heartfelt emotion, along with intriguing drama, and will be a sweet fairy tale for readers who can appreciate what it means to find late-in-life lovee.
PREMIUM

A Lady Tempts an Heir

This third lively entry in St. George’s “Gilded Age Heiresses” series (after The Devil and the Heiress) hits all the right notes. The upfront discussion of infertility is particularly notable in a romance that’s set in the British Victorian Era and the American Gilded Age.
PREMIUM

Lease on Love

Readers who enjoy female entrepreneurs, found family, and gentle romantic leads will enjoy.
PREMIUM

The Wedding Season

Recommended for all public library collections.
PREMIUM

Fated Blades

Fans of the “Kinsmen” series (Silent Blade; Silver Shark) will enjoy this third adventure, but it’s best purchased by libraries with access to the entire series.

Delilah Green Doesn’t Care

The connection among Claire’s friends and the development of Delilah’s backstory add depth to a fun hometown romance, planned as the start of a series of Bright Falls–set queer romances.

A Caribbean Heiress in Paris

An essential purchase for libraries.
PREMIUM

Mr. Wrong Number

An optional purchase.
PREMIUM

Barbarian Alien

Dixon’s books are recommended for larger public libraries and where demand warrants.
PREMIUM

Dating Dr. Dil

This first book in Sharma’s “If Shakespeare Was an Auntie” series is a recommended first-tier purchase.

LJ Talks to Adriana Herrera, Author of "A Caribbean Heiress in Paris"

PREMIUM

You Can Run

Plot twists and red herrings abound in this fast-paced novel that will keep readers turning the pages.
PREMIUM

Accidentally Perfect

With the book’s quirky characters and unique vistas, fans of Clarke’s (Dear Jane) will be delighted by the “Hideaway Harbor” series launch.
PREMIUM

House on Fire

Burke’s second “Ashes and Dust” series installment ends on a cliff-hanger, and trilogy readers will be anxiously awaiting the next. Hudson and Wes from the “Not Dead Yet” trilogy feature prominently in this title, so libraries that own that series will also want to collect this one.
PREMIUM

The Rebel and the Rake

Though it has a slow start, readers who stick with it will find themselves fully engaged in both the mystery and the romance. Recommended for those who enjoyed the first novel in the series as well as readers looking for a historical romance outside of the standard Regency fare.
PREMIUM

You Made a Fool of Death with Your Beauty

Emezi’s (The Death of Vivek Oji) latest work is sexy, complex, and moving. The author illustrates the complexities of grief, new love, and a young woman discovering who she is and who she wants to be, and readers will enjoy a new take on a love triangle romance.
PREMIUM

Love, Hate & Clickbait

Bowery’s debut is a great read with a wild ride through hate, lust, and love in the world of political social media influencing. Highly recommended.

PREMIUM

Until We Meet

Di Maio’s historical romance is packed with drama, friendship, and a “love conquers all” story. Readers looking for a break from the typical World War II romance are sure to find it here.
PREMIUM

Sari, Not Sari

A secondary purchase, but this debut author’s career will be worth watching.

PREMIUM

Chef’s Kiss

Readers who enjoyed the adventures in romances like Alexis Hall’s Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake and Adriana Herrera’s Mangoes and Mistletoe will likely eat this one up too.

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?