Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Now Available: Executive Report of STARS International Interlibrary Loan Survey

CBS News: “How Libraries Are Innovating To Stay Relevant”

Skidmore College Uses Ithaka to Amplify Its Special Collections

PREMIUM

The Whitewashed Tombs

Quartey’s author’s note discusses the current anti-LGBTQIA+ legislation in Ghana and its effect on him as a queer author. Recommended for readers who enjoy international fiction and detective fiction.
PREMIUM

Swimming Pretty: The Untold Story of Women in Water

A timely tribute to the glamour and athleticism of the pioneering women of synchronized swimming and their efforts to legitimize it as a sport. For readers who enjoy sports history and popular culture and for fans of Jordan Whitney-Wei’s Katharine Whitney Curtis: Mother of Synchronized Swimming.
PREMIUM

Challenging Modernity

This provocative volume is wide-ranging, and the contributors do not disappoint. Although neither Bellah nor the contributors offer a definitive conclusion, the scope, depth, and coherence of this collection is a brilliant elaboration of what might have occurred.
PREMIUM

The Demon of Unrest: A Saga of Hubris, Heartbreak, and Heroism at the Dawn of the Civil War

Civil War buffs will be pleased with the laser focus of Larson’s latest; others may find it overly detailed and slow. Still, given Larson’s popularity, this is an essential purchase.
PREMIUM

The Backwards Hand: A Memoir

Lee’s candid and poignant writing style will appeal to numerous readers. His highly recommended memoir about what it’s like to be a person with a rare congenital disability is insightful.
PREMIUM

Digitally Invisible: How the Internet Is Creating the New Underclass

This thorough narrative rethinks the digital divide from the lens and considerations of race and place. It’s sure to inform debates and directions in public policy, industry, and civil society, including libraries.

Anna Haugh’s Irish Kitchen: Modern Home Cooking with Irish Heart

A well-rounded entry into global cuisine that home cooks will embrace. A winner for all collections.
PREMIUM

The Bartender’s Pantry: A Beverage Handbook for the Universal Bar

Bartending professionals will find this to be an invaluable resource, but home drink slingers seriously intent on upping their cocktail-mixing game might enjoy it as well.
PREMIUM

The Untold Story of Books: A Writer’s History of Publishing

Immensely readable; will appeal to bibliophiles, fans of microhistories, and armchair sociologists.
PREMIUM

The Science of Ghosts

Paranormal soft horror with a sexy vibe. Readers, especially mystery fans, will find this blend of the arcane and the academic intriguing.
PREMIUM

From South Central to Southside: Gang Transnationalism, Masculinity, and Disorganized Violence in Belize City

An illuminating study about gangs and systemic inequality, best suited for an academic audience.
PREMIUM

’Til Heist Do Us Part

This rom-com brings back the cast of characters from Desai’s To Have and To Heist. Recommend to readers looking for a zippy and action-packed caper that recalls Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series.
PREMIUM

The Literature of Japanese American Incarceration

An accessible examination of the U.S. concentration camps that held people solely because of their race and heritage, plus a look at how they impacted society and generations to come. Important for both researchers and students.
PREMIUM

The Wisdom of Sheep: Observations from a Family Farm

This book is a must-read for those who admire and appreciate organic livestock farms and the goods they produce. It also movingly demonstrates how to persevere through difficult times.

Latin-ish: More Than 100 Recipes Celebrating American Latino Cuisines

A superb, marvelously informative introduction to Latine cooking and cuisine in the U.S., enriched with intriguing snippets of Salazar’s heritage and culinary journeys.

American Civil Wars: A Continental History, 1850–1873

Based on an impressive array of secondary sources, this outstanding account will appeal to readers interested in the U.S. Civil War seeking to understand how it affected Mexico and British North America.
PREMIUM

Dog Smart: Life-Changing Lessons in Canine Intelligence

An engaging, compelling synthesis of the ways scientists study and document canine cognition; this will be enjoyed by all dog lovers.
PREMIUM

I’m Mostly Here To Enjoy Myself: One Woman’s Pursuit of Pleasure in Paris

A sensual and vibrant essay collection and memoir that spotlights the different types of connections people yearn for and enjoy.
PREMIUM

She Married the Boss!: Actresses Who Wed Directors

Well-researched with 30 pages of notes and a 10-page bibliography, Malone’s book has a tabloid feel, and its juicy little-known stories will be devoured by Hollywood gossip and celebrity mavens.
PREMIUM

Negotiating While Black: Be Who You Are To Get What You Want

Peterman provides tools that everyone can use to identify, confront, and reduce implicit bias and implement best practices of negotiation.
PREMIUM

More, Please: On Food, Fat, Bingeing, Longing, and the Lust for “Enough.”

This book’s tone is compassionate as Specter creates a foundation for accepting oneself and rejecting stereotypes. Self-help, sociology, entertainment, and memoir readers from many generations will appreciate this wholehearted approach, which challenges society to do a better job of understanding the realities of eating disorders.
PREMIUM

Fire Exit

This novel further testifies to Talty’s ability as a formal craftsman, but its overdependence on narrative and emotional loops leaves the short novel feeling surprisingly padded.
PREMIUM

The Third Perspective: Brave Expression in the Age of Intolerance

A valuable guidebook for navigating discomfort with a sense of safety and strength that defies binary thinking and encourages readers to express themselves in authentic yet circumspect ways.
PREMIUM

Starring Joan Crawford: The Films, the Fantasy, and the Modern Relevance of a Silver Screen Icon

An enjoyable read that stands out among the numerous books written about Crawford over the years.
PREMIUM

The Phoenix Keeper

MacLean has crafted a lovely sojourn in a magical world that feels both familiar and wondrous. This mix of zoology, fantasy, and sapphic romance will have readers wishing they could buy a ticket to San Tamculo.
PREMIUM

Coexistence: Stories

Belcourt demonstrates the true strength of the story collection format, leveraging his remarkable skill with character and language to deliver a potpourri of memorable and moving short-form works.

The Disappeared

A must-read for historical fiction fans and a real-world cautionary tale of complacency and tyranny.

Read with Jenna Picks Chris Whitaker’s ‘All the Colors of the Dark’ | Book Pulse

New Report From Ithaka S+R: “How Are Faculty Using Generative AI in the Classroom?”

Research Tools: Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America (AILLA) Launches Revitalized Platform

Lyrasis Announces the 2024 Catalyst Fund Recipients and Their Projects

Release: Clarivate Releases Journal Citation Reports (JCR) 2024; Brief: “The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and Public Accommodations in Web Services” & More Headlines

Display Shelf | LGBTQIA+ Fiction

Read-Alikes for ‘The Midnight Feast’ by Lucy Foley | LibraryReads

Reproductive Health Information in Your Library’s Collection

Bloomsbury Visual Arts | eReviews

SFF Writer & Translator

Colonial Caribbean Module III: Economic Change and Indenture Labour, 1850–1870 | eReviews

Shark Tales | Remarkably Readable Science

LJ Talks with Debut Horror Writer Donyae Coles

R.F. Kuang & Katherine Rundell Win Britain’s Indie Book Awards | Book Pulse

NY Times: “How Black Librarians Helped Create Generations of Black Literature”

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Releases “Contracts in Publishing: A Toolkit for Authors and Publishers”

Report: “Nature Index 2024 Research Leaders: India Follows in China’s Footsteps as Top Ten Changes Again”

The Realities of Increasing Open Access Charges; Howard County (Maryland) Students Were Mostly Quiet About Book Bans — Until Now; & More Headlines

New Research Database: Introducing ProPublica’s 527 Explorer

CORE and IIDA Announces Winners of the 2024 Library Interior Design Awards

Artificial General Intelligence, Shrinkflation and Snackable are Some of the Many New, Revised, or Updated Words and Senses That Make Up the June 2024 Oxford English Dictionary Update

AI Roundup: Why Does AI Hallucinate?; Leading Chatbots are Spreading Russian Propaganda; & More

Sarah Beth Durst’s ‘The Spellshop’ Tops July LibraryReads List | Book Pulse

ALA Opens Nominations For the 2025 “I Love My Librarian Award”

New Open Access Resource: “‘Handbook for European Studies Librarians’ Provides Practical Guidance And Fosters Collective Knowledge”

Texas: “‘Knee-Jerk Reactions’: San Antonio School Districts Yanking Books From Libraries Without Formal Reviews”

Journal Article: “ChatGPT in Teaching and Learning: A Systematic Review”

New Report; National Overviews on Sustaining Institutional Publishing In Europe; Event Summary: CHORUS Forum: Navigating the Future of Persistent Identifiers (PIDs) in Scholarly Publishing; & More Headlines

A Data-Driven Approach to Optimizing the Academic Library Experience

‘The Midnight Feast’ by Lucy Foley Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Article: Disciplinary Differences and Scholarly Literature: Discovery, Browsing, and Formats (preprint)

Is AI Search a Medical Misinformation Disaster; HAICu: Using AI to Access, Connect, and Analyze Heritage Collections; & More Headlines

Journal Article: “Canadian Public Library Pandemic Response: Bridging the Digital Divide and Preparing for Future Pandemics”

New Article: “Understanding the Value of Curation: A Survey of US Data Repository Curation Practices and Perceptions”

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?