Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

The Rising Tide

Flawed characters take center stage in an intense novel with a shocking conclusion.
PREMIUM

The Foulest Things

A fascinating mystery for readers who enjoyed Eva Jurczyk’s The Department of Rare Books and Special Collections.

Steeped to Death

The first “Witches’ Brew” mystery is a compelling debut with a mature amateur sleuth, a solid supporting cast, and a cat to rival Miranda James’s Diesel. For readers who enjoy the paranormal elements in Juliet Blackwell’s and Bree Baker’s cozies.
PREMIUM

Whisper Room

Kies’s sequel to the Sue Grafton Award nominee Shadow Hill is a compelling story for readers who want to follow investigative reporters into the crime scenes.

Fox Creek

Krueger, a Lefty Award winner for Lightning Strike, is one of those rare authors who combines intricately plotted, issue-oriented stories with mysticism and action. A must for fans of beautifully written crime fiction.
PREMIUM

The Housekeeper

Recommended for fans of women-led suspense novels such as Mary Kubica’s The Other Mrs. and Ruth Ware’s The Lying Game.

Alias Emma

Perfect for a single-sitting read, Glass’s thriller (the first in a planned series) is an adrenaline-fueled tour of clandestine London. What’s next for Emma Makepeace? More, please.
PREMIUM

The Deal Goes Down

There’s enough action in this thoroughly enjoyable comedy of errors to please the most discriminating reader, but it’s the humor that captures. For fans of crime capers and Donald Westlake’s “Dortmunder” tales.
PREMIUM

Die Around Sundown

Convoluted and contrived at times, but the novel’s historical aspects and police detective will intrigue fans of World War II mysteries.
PREMIUM

The Perfect Crime: 22 Crime Stories from Diverse Cultures Around the World

This excellent collection is recommended for most public libraries where anthologies are popular.

The It Girl

Fans of Golden Age mysteries like Dorothy Sayers’s Gaudy Night will love the book’s Oxford setting, while readers of trendy dark academia suspense novels, in the manner of Alex Michaelides’s The Maidens, will feel right at home. Top-drawer entertainment from a modern master of mystery.
PREMIUM

The Blame Game

As the “he said/she said” roller-coaster plunges to a shocking finale, readers may wish for a bit more backstory on ancillary characters and their motivations. However, aficionados of Jones’s work will find this tantalizing psychological fare worth their time.
PREMIUM

Treasure State

Readers needn’t be familiar with the series to appreciate this fast-paced mystery that pits betrayal, anger, and hate against hope and longing as it examines the lasting effect of a community used and abandoned after making a fortune for the titans of the copper mining industry. Will appeal to fans of Bryan Gruley, Lisa Sandlin, and Tim Johnston.
PREMIUM

The Summer We Buried

Narrator Emily Ellet adds to Gehrman’s atmospheric novel with an urgent performance that also captures the wistfulness of someone looking back on their youth. Each twist and turn will leave listeners on edge until the shocking conclusion.

The Left-Handed Twin

Listeners will cheer Jane along as they bite their nails throughout this relentless novel. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The Sweet Remnants of Summer

Hand this title to those looking for a more contemplative approach to their mysteries, without any violence or gore.

Read-Alikes for ‘The House Across the Lake’ by Riley Sager | LibraryReads

Girl, Forgotten

Slaughter skillfully leads readers on a thrilling journey into the past to solve the murder that a small town wants to forget, yet is still haunted by. Will appeal to fans of Michael Koryta, Joe Lansdale, and Jennifer Hillier.

PREMIUM

Fish Swimming in Dappled Sunlight

This complex novel focuses on the raw emotionality of young love, with a darker “he said/she said” plot. A must-read for fans of domestic suspense.
PREMIUM

A Dark and Stormy Tea

Recommended for fans of the series and lovers of culinary cozy mysteries. Recipes and “Tea Time Tips” are included.
PREMIUM

The Deepest Black

The author of the Ryan DeMarco books immerses himself in a conspiracy-theory mystery that combines true crime, UFOs, and sex cults. For fans of Silvis.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Woman in the Library’ by Sulari Gentill | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

The Finalists

Bell (Kill Your Darlings; The Request) has crafted a contemporary whodunit reminiscent of Agatha Christie that thriller fans will devour.
PREMIUM

Something Fishy This Way Comes

The follow-up to Much Ado About Nauticaling is another humorous cozy mystery with an emphasis on island lifestyle and attractions. The eccentric characters will appeal to fans of Bree Baker’s “Seaside Café” mysteries.
PREMIUM

The Unkept Woman

This will appeal to mystery readers who enjoy humor, historical fiction, and well-written crime-solving teams.

More Than You’ll Ever Know

Mystery fans beguiled by Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch and women’s fiction readers who adored Taylor Jenkins Reid’s The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo will equally fall under the spell of this totally transporting tale.
PREMIUM

The Last Lie Told

The author of numerous series, including “Devlin and Falco,” launches a new one that leaves threads unresolved. Though it’s confusing at times, Webb’s fans will still want to read it.

Light on Bone

The intricately plotted mystery puts a new spin on several historical figures, including O’Keeffe and the Lindberghs, who are guests at the ranch. Lasky (“Calista Jacobs” mysteries) provides vivid descriptions through O’Keeffe’s eyes that bring the setting and timeframe to life.

The Wedding Plot

Fans will appreciate the return of beloved characters, including the dogs. Chapter headings, quotes about love, are appropriate and unusual in a masterly story with a climatic wedding scene.
PREMIUM

Funeral Train

The sequel to Death of a Rainmaker (an LJ Best Book of 2018), is just as atmospheric. The anguish and struggles of the Dust Bowl and Depression years are vividly depicted in this historical mystery.

The Last Housewife

This explosive cautionary tale of a “podcast meets sex cult meets murder” will captivate fans of twisted psychological suspense.
PREMIUM

Daisy Darker

Feeney’s nod to Agatha Christie’s classic mystery And Then There Were None adds a delightful twist to this quirky thriller. Aficionados of locked-room stories and family dramas (plus Feeney’s large fan base) will enjoy this highly recommended title.
PREMIUM

Yesterday’s Spy

The atmospherics, geopolitical issues, montage writing style, and protagonist’s moral ambiguities will remind readers of spy novels by Jack Higgins and Frederick Forsyth.
PREMIUM

Shutter

The arid New Mexico landscape and Emerson’s stark prose add layers of bone-chilling believability to the story. Fans of thrillers with supernatural elements will enjoy this great first novel.

The Ghosts of Paris

A richly detailed historical mystery that spotlights social issues like postwar persecution of LGBTQ communities in both Sydney and Paris. Readers of Sulari Gentill’s “Rowland Sinclair” mysteries, set in interwar Sydney, will appreciate Moss’s riveting series.
PREMIUM

The House Across the Lake

Casey as the unreliable narrator mixed with suspicious neighbors, supernatural undertones, and multiple blindsiding twists, means Sager (Survive the Night) has written another winner.

The Retreat

Readers of Pearse’s earlier book or Ruth Ware’s suspense novels will be hard-pressed to put down this atmospheric, sometimes creepy novel.

Movieland

Goldberg’s compelling follow-up to Gated Prey is a fast-paced, riveting police procedural influenced by actual events in California. A character-driven series entry that skillfully depicts Hollywood corruption.

Mystery in Audio | 52 Titles To Try

PREMIUM

Unmissing

Recommended for fans of twisty thrillers.
PREMIUM

The Love of My Life

Walsh’s (Ghosted) latest is a great listen for fans of stories involving family secrets and issues of postnatal depression.

The Verifiers

Most listeners will be left hoping that Pek (a Singapore-born, New York City–based lawyer at a global investment company) is already at work on a sequel.
PREMIUM

Augusta Hawke

The author of the award-winning “DCI St. Just” and “Rev. Max Tudor” series launches another with a mystery writer at the center, but the slow-paced story rambles at times and lacks the humor of the St. Just novels. Fans will be better served by Malliet’s previous titles.
PREMIUM

Bark to the Future

Fans of the series will enjoy this new entry in the case files. Chet’s narration provides humor and insight, and Bernie’s search into his own past provides meditations on growing up and growing apart.
PREMIUM

One Step Too Far

Fans will wait with bated breath for more of Frankie’s cases.
PREMIUM

The Fields

This dark and gritty series launch, with a TV adaptation in development, should have wide appeal.
PREMIUM

Cherish Farrah

Morrow’s (MEM; A Song Below Water) social horror/psychological thriller is definitely worth a listen.
PREMIUM

Jane and the Year Without a Summer

Devotees of the series will welcome this addition and thrill to the many Austenian references.
PREMIUM

The Old Woman with the Knife

Narrator Nancy Wu’s lilt, emphasis, and pacing are impeccable, bringing life to Gu’s characters, making them easy to differentiate and identify as the engrossing story unfolds.
PREMIUM

Cleopatra’s Dagger

Recommended; readers of crime fiction will enjoy this thriller.
PREMIUM

Robert Ludlum’s The Treadstone Transgression

Readers of Robert Ludlum genre novels will especially enjoy Hood’s (The Treadstone Resurrection) thriller.
PREMIUM

Woman Last Seen

Although the novel has a slow-burn start, listeners get to hear the investigation unfold through multiple voices and perspectives as the story flashes back to the time before the women went missing, which adds to the suspense of this unique missing-person mystery.
PREMIUM

Woman on Fire

Fans of Dan Brown’s “Robert Langdon” series will enjoy watching Margaux weave her web of deception to get her way in the art world.

The Cage

Although there is a lot of legal jargon to digest, the author and narrators execute this legal thriller effortlessly by creating a deep and compelling story full of plot twists and unreliable facts that will keep listeners questioning the truth until the very end.
PREMIUM

Knit or Dye Trying

Following the simple recipe of most cozy mysteries, this plays into the tropes while also providing a story with enough murder, humor, and romance to keep listeners engaged.
PREMIUM

Finding the Other Woman

Despite Araya’s solid narration, the unconvincing plot and predictable conclusion make this a strictly optional purchase.

The Violin Conspiracy

A highly recommended purchase; this twisty heist thriller is also a poignant coming-of-age story, making it an excellent choice for many young adults, especially those interested in music.
PREMIUM

Diablo Mesa

Fans of the series will enjoy the tension, mystery, suspense, and romance the characters experience in this installment.
PREMIUM

The Mirror Man

Read this one instead of listening to it.
PREMIUM

The Violence

The message of Dawson’s thriller is surprisingly hopeful, but the road to that message is bloody, dark, and difficult.
PREMIUM

Last Seen Alive

This fifth “Ellery Hathaway” mystery continues the story of the complex main characters well known to series fans. Newcomers might feel the lack of background from previous series installments.
PREMIUM

The Cartographers

Peng’s (The Book of M) action-packed thriller is too unique to forget anytime soon.
PREMIUM

Like a Sister

The narration by Bahni Turpin showcases her talent as she brings Garrett’s characters to life, easily giving each their own personality that adds to the mystery and intrigue of the story.
PREMIUM

A Safe House

Another winning entry by Woods, and a good place to jump into the series for those who do not want to start with book one.
PREMIUM

Dream Town

Readers of period crime stories and Baldacci fans will enjoy this third installment in the “Archer” series.
PREMIUM

Four Aunties and a Wedding

Listeners will need to suspend their disbelief at times, but it’s worth it for the laughs. Will leave them eagerly awaiting Sutanto’s third “Aunties” installment.
PREMIUM

The Berlin Exchange

A well-executed production of another work by go-to author Kanon, performed by a narrator to note.
PREMIUM

The Younger Wife

Readers of family dysfunction fiction and Hepworth’s many fans will enjoy. Expect high demand.

The Couple at Number 9

Narrator Nathalie Buscombe brings many of the book’s women to life while Kenton Thomas brings a distinct voice and personality to Theo, whose connection to the three women becomes part of the larger mystery. All this and a mind-blowing plot twist that completely changes the whole complexion of the novel come together to create a mystery that gives listeners a punch in their collective gut and a tug on their heartstrings.
PREMIUM

The Goodbye Coast: A Philip Marlowe Novel

Recommended for all public libraries. Listeners will be gripped till the last loose end is tied up and eager to follow should Ide bring Marlowe back again.
PREMIUM

Find Me

Fans of Burke’s “Ellie Hatcher” series will enjoy this latest novel.
PREMIUM

Tripping Arcadia: A Gothic Novel

For fans of gothic novels and tales of revenge.
PREMIUM

The Night Shift

For thriller fans and those who enjoyed Finlay’s debut, Every Last Fear. True crime aficionados may enjoy too, since the fictional murders were based on well-known real crimes.
PREMIUM

The Village

Listeners drawn to the macabre, creepy, and twisty will find this is a peculiar yet intriguing thriller.
PREMIUM

City of the Dead

Recommended; a fine addition to the audio collection for Kellerman’s many fans.
PREMIUM

The Book of Cold Cases

Recommended for fans of the author and those who enjoy supernatural thrillers.
PREMIUM

Run, Rose, Run

Fans of Parton will enjoy hearing her portray Ruthanna with a rich, Southern accent. The 10 other narrators also do an excellent job showcasing the raw emotion and romantic tension between the characters.
PREMIUM

Sea Storm

Fans of the “Underwater Investigation Unit” will enjoy this installment, and those who love thrillers will like this too.
PREMIUM

Nine Lives

A secondary purchase for audio collections; this title from best-selling Swanson (Eight Perfect Murders) may work better in print.
PREMIUM

The Club

Recommended for large public libraries and those where the Reese Book Club books are popular.
PREMIUM

The Paris Apartment

While listeners must concentrate to keep track of the often dizzying point of view and time changes, Foley’s (The Guest List) many fans are accustomed to her style and will likely find this an engaging listening experience.

What Happened to the Bennetts

Scottoline’s familiarity with Philadelphia and the surrounding areas is evident throughout, and her writing is full of suspense and plot twists that’ll keep audiences guessing and rooting for Jason. The intensity of it all is sure to give listeners heart palpitations.
PREMIUM

Fool Her Once

Share widely with listeners looking for well-crafted and compelling mysteries. This audio will be popular with fans of J. P. Delaney, Greer Hendricks, and Liv Constantine.
PREMIUM

Devil House

Highly recommended for fans of unexpected, yet perfectly set up twists; with music by Darnielle and bandmate Matt Douglas.
PREMIUM

The Other Family

Creating unbearable tension, Staub (Don’t Scream) is brilliant at the slow build, and the recording is paced and voiced perfectly. A must-have for public libraries.
PREMIUM

Catch Her When She Falls

Not recommended.
PREMIUM

The Long Weekend

An edge-of-your-seat thriller where nothing is as it seems; recommended for fans of B. A. Paris, Peter Swanson, and A. J. Finn.
PREMIUM

The Match

Readers of Coben’s first Wilde novel will enjoy listening to this installment, which will answer many of their questions.
PREMIUM

The Shadow House

A great addition for any library looking to add to its thriller/suspense collection.
PREMIUM

Deadly Director’s Cut

This engrossing, atmospheric cozy will appeal to existing fans of the series and newcomers alike. A great next listen for readers of Elizabeth J. Duncan, Rhys Bowen, and Frances Brody.
PREMIUM

The Harbor

Listeners unfamiliar with Danish might have difficulty grasping the names of streets and characters at first, but after a short time, they will become accustomed to the language, and it will not impede their enjoyment of this engaging and complex crime story.
PREMIUM

Good Rich People

Listeners who like ghoulish characters and plots will enjoy Brazier’s (If I Disappear) sophomore novel.
PREMIUM

Monarch

Wuehle’s debut novel is a good fit for fans of Catherynne M. Valente and other literary-bent weird spec-fic.
PREMIUM

Local Gone Missing

Fans of Barton’s mysteries will enjoy identifying Ebbing’s bad actors and figuring out how the characters’ backstories weave together to allow Elise and her team to solve the crime.
PREMIUM

The Locked Room

Readers new to this series and longtime fans will not be able to put this down, as long as they aren’t put off by the pandemic story line.
PREMIUM

Take Your Breath Away

In typical Barclay fashion, subplots and characters weave together in a tight, satisfying story. Perfect for fans of suspense novels by Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner.
PREMIUM

The Second Husband

White (The Fiancée) establishes a pervasive uneasy tone, ending chapters with cliffhangers and small revelations that propel this domestic suspense tale to an intense penultimate scene. The final chapter, though, is unexpectedly flat as it ties up story threads. For fans of Hallie Ephron.
PREMIUM

Lady of Bones

Fans of the series will welcome another visit with Sarah Booth and the other quirky characters. So will fans of Southern-based sleuths. This fast-paced book, with its well-developed plot, will keep readers turning pages and following the action.
PREMIUM

The Lies I Tell

This follow-up to Clark’s previous thriller, The Last Flight, will twist readers through an intricate, domestic thriller as the two women’s lies unravel. Perfect for fans of Kimberley Belle, Alice Feeney, and Michael Robotham.
PREMIUM

The Lunar Housewife

Woods (Fraulein M) intersperses chapters from Louise’s manuscript throughout her story, giving readers a clear view of how subversive her thoughts and beliefs are. An engrossing tale of a talented young woman longing to break free from the restrictive gender roles of the 1950s; ideal for fans of Anna Pitoniak and Suzanne Rindell.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?