Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

Black Tide

Less a story about the apocalyptic end, this tale is character-driven survival horror that delves deep into the souls of some flawed heroes.
PREMIUM

Hidden Pictures

Rekulak’s (The Impossible Fortress) latest is both a mystery and a ghost story, with a strong central protagonist.
PREMIUM

Malice House

Readers will love the mystery, mayhem, and terrifying look at make-believe, and the monsters that are dreamed into existence in the process. Recommend to fans of Darcy Coates’s The Haunting of Leigh Harker and EV Knight’s Children of Demeter.

Such Sharp Teeth

Any library looking to acquire a gut punch of a horror novel that will appeal to a broad audience would do well to add this to their collection. It will also appeal to fans of Mongrels by Stephen Graham Jones and Her Body and Other Parties by Carmen Maria Machado.
PREMIUM

Lute

Fans of gloomy British horror will adore Thorne’s novel, with its references to the Shining Ones and other fae creatures. Recommend to fans of Catriona Ward, Sarah Pinborough, and Kristin Cashore.
PREMIUM

Curse of the Reaper

This book is a must for fans of the slasher genre, but it also offers a sickle-sharp critique of the expendability of actors fed into the Hollywood machine.
PREMIUM

Dark Observation

With well-researched forays into the World War II era, Cavendish’s latest will appeal strongly to readers who like detective stories set in the past as well as horror fans.
PREMIUM

Full Immersion

Readers of Amor’s latest are in for a creepy, unsettling narrative, with strong shades of Sarah Pinborough. Recommend to those who enjoy films like Inception and Memento.

Fear Is Always In Season | Horror Preview 2022

PREMIUM

Ghost Eaters

With similarities to the horror movies Flatliners and Bodies Bodies Bodies, minus the humor, Chapman’s story comes to a head as readers begin to understand that Ghost has so much more of a morbid meaning in this enthralling addiction horror tale.

Don’t Fear the Reaper

Adrenaline-filled with plenty of shocking moments, the latest from master of horror Jones is an intense, highly entertaining, and deeply personal novel.
PREMIUM

The Hollow Kind

Davidson (The Boatman’s Daughter) crafts an intricate supernatural story about a family’s history that will leave readers shaken. However, they will have to wade through the novel’s extreme level of detail to reach the conclusion.

LJ Talks to Horror Writer Gabino Iglesias, Author of ‘The Devil Takes You Home’

PREMIUM

Daphne

A thought provoking and honest conversation about anxiety wrapped around a Freddy Krueger-esque slasher. For fans of cursed small towns like in Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s Hex, or other fresh takes on the teen slasher like Jessica Guess’s Cirque Berserk.
PREMIUM

Fantasy Kit

A strong collection by an important voice in the genre. It will appeal to fans of the haunted flash fiction collection The Ghost Variations by Kevin Brockmeier and the breadth of scares in the anthology Tiny Nightmares, edited by Lincoln Michel and Nadxieli Nieto.

The Devil Takes You Home

The violence is brutal and graphic, but the story is also lyrical and staggeringly beautiful. It is an entertaining and thought-provoking book about human truths and the monsters at their core. Suggest to fans of S. A. Cosby and Stephen Graham Jones, who also write stories told by marginalized, sympathetic, and complicated characters in which every detail matters.
PREMIUM

No Gods For Drowning

Piper, a rising star in horror, is announcing her intentions to break through onto a larger stage with this confident and compelling tale that is as fun as it is thought-provoking. Suggest it widely.

Horror in Audio | 9 Titles To Try

PREMIUM

Beneath the Stairs

Fawcett’s debut novel is a haunted house story that spans generations but is anchored by its main protagonist Clare, who is thoughtful, caring, and easily relatable. Perfectly portrayed by narrator Carolina Hoyos, she’s a truly empathetic protagonist who is trying to discover what went wrong in her life as well as Abby’s and who thinks the answers might lie within the Octagon House.
PREMIUM

The Children on the Hill

Will appeal to listeners seeking a spine-tingling blend of psychological suspense and horror; recommended for fans of Jennifer Fawcett, Catriona Ward, and Josh Malerman.
PREMIUM

All the White Spaces

Scott Turner Schofield’s narration is very well done, and Wilkes (Where Things Fall from the Dark) thoughtfully examines grief, PTSD, and isolation, but the novel’s slow pace, large number of characters, and detailed information about the ship and the journey make this a better choice for listeners who enjoy historical novels with supernatural elements than for horror fans.

The Hideous Book of Hidden Horrors

This first book from award-winning horror editor Murano’s new independent imprint will leave satisfied readers seeking out more from these authors.
PREMIUM

Reluctant Immortals

Kiste’s (Boneset & Feathers) first book from a major publishing house brings her award-winning, feminism-fueled horror to more readers. Those eager for new Dracula- or Jane Eyre–framed stories will eagerly request, but do not pigeon-hole the appeal, as fans of titles such as Tananarive Due’s “Immortals” series or Kristi DeMeester’s Such a Pretty Smile will also be pleased.
PREMIUM

Sundial

A masterful example of suspense; audiences will love their trip to Sundial, even as the sands shift constantly beneath their feet.
PREMIUM

A Black and Endless Sky

This has some truly disturbing elements of possession and cosmic horror, but the real darkness here has more terrestrial origins.
PREMIUM

Echo

There is enough body horror to turn away the faint of heart, but it’s all worth the shocking yet touching ending.
PREMIUM

Dead Silence

Suggest widely to fans of haunted house stories and space horror.
PREMIUM

Gwendy’s Final Task

The final part of this trilogy wraps up the intriguing character arc of Gwendy, a character brought to life by Chizmar’s and King’s words, as well as the voice talents of Marin Ireland. Fans of King’s “Dark Tower” series will recognize the occasional nods to the mythos, but readers who have never read the books will still be drawn into this story, where the tension comes from Gwendy trying to stay ahead of those after the box and her own deteriorating condition.
PREMIUM

The Resting Place

For fans of the author and Scandinavian thrillers.

Anybody Home?

With a last line that fully implicates readers in the extreme horror they just saw, this is a story that will leave audiences terrorized and broken but also surprisingly grateful for the unique experience, much like Paul Tremblay’s critically acclaimed Cabin at the End of the World and Eric LaRocca’s Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke.
PREMIUM

What Moves the Dead

Retold Gothic classics and fungus-themed horror are both having a moment, and Kingfisher’s well-paced, immersive novella will satisfy those seeking read-alikes for Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s Mexican Gothic. Also suggest Moreno-Garcia and Orrin Grey’s excellent anthology Fungi and the nature field horror of Jeff VanderMeer.

Howls from the Dark Ages: An Anthology of Medieval Horror

With an overarching theme of a quaint museum visit and an introduction by medieval horror writer Christopher Buehlman, this is a delightfully terrifying trip through history.
PREMIUM

They Drown Our Daughters

The novel takes a while to untangle the mystery, but its themes of familial bonds and generational curses, along with its overall spooky atmosphere, should keep readers hooked until the end.

‘Orphans of Bliss’ and the Final Fix of Addiction Horror

PREMIUM

Leech

Foster’s (Dead Men) chain of stories reads a bit like watching a series of daily movie rushes with no inkling of what the script is about. Fans of speculative fiction mashed up with horror will eat this up, though enthusiasts of more conventional horror might give it a pass.
PREMIUM

Screams from the Dark: 29 Tales of Monsters and the Monstrous

This epic volume, with its impressive table of contents, will satisfy the hordes of readers looking for new takes on the monster trope. It pairs nicely with the Bram Stoker–nominated collection Miscreations: Gods, Monstrosities, and Other Horrors, edited by Doug Murano and Michael Bailey.

Wasps in the Ice Cream

This coming-of-age horror relies less on supernatural terror than combustible human elements, but features sympathetic characters and sharp plotting. Highly recommended.

Orphans of Bliss: Tales of Addiction Horror

A visceral depiction of the havoc, pain, and anguish of addiction, this triumphant conclusion to Matthews’s trilogy is essential for all collections. Anyone who has even been even tangentially touched by the monster of addiction will need access to these groundbreaking volumes and the lifeline they just may provide to the hopeless.
PREMIUM

Under Her Skin: A Women in Horror Poetry Collection, Vol. 1

Poetry is an excellent format for probing the dark emotions that define horror, and this anthology, and its evocative cover, will entice readers to engage with dozens of fierce and chilling voices. Just be prepared to add more horror poetry and new authors to your collections as a result.
PREMIUM

Hide

This mashup of The Breakfast Club and The Hunger Games may appeal to young teens, but it’s not recommended for adult horror readers.

Helpmeet

A reading experience that will linger long after the final page is turned.
PREMIUM

Hidden Pictures

This work offers plenty of commentary about the superficiality and priorities of upper middle-class America, but a more focused novel would have been more compelling.
PREMIUM

Friend of the Devil

While it would be easy to underestimate this novel as a Riverdale or Stranger Things knockoff, especially since Lloyd is an award-winning TV writer and producer (Modern Family; How I Met Your Mother), the story is definitely more adult, as if Jack Reacher were called to the creepy school in Sarah Read’s The Bone Weaver’s Orchard.
PREMIUM

Black Tide

Excellent writing, a consuming plot, and relatable characters make this an easy recommendation for library collection where sf/horror circulates well.
PREMIUM

From Below

Highly recommended for readers who enjoyed Caitlin Starling’s The Luminous Dead or other survival horror.
PREMIUM

And Then I Woke Up

This unique take on classic horror stories will have wide appeal.
PREMIUM

The Hacienda

For fans of Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s Mexican Gothic; but also V. Castro’s focus on colonialism, menacing old-world forces, sexism, class struggle, and vengeance; and Alma Katsu’s mastery of historical horror.
PREMIUM

Below

Highly recommended.

We Can Never Leave This Place

The hype surrounding LaRocca is real. He is quickly emerging as one of the best authors at articulating the emotions of horror: feelings of disgust, unease, but also wonder that physically pulsate through readers’ bodies as they interact with his creations. Similar to the storytelling style and reading experience of the extraordinary work of Helen Oyeyemi and Samanta Schweblin or Naben Ruthnum’s Helpmeet.
PREMIUM

Just Like Mother

An excellent suggestion for fans of cult stories or intense horror-thriller hybrids such as those by Sarah Pinborough.

Horror in Audio | 3 Titles To Try

PREMIUM

The Beetle

Fans of gothic novels and 19th-century horror shouldn’t miss this excellent production.
PREMIUM

Such a Pretty Smile

Recommended for public library horror collections.

Q&A with Award-Winning Horror Novelist Alma Katsu

PREMIUM

The Lake of the Dead

Some of the views on women are outdated but they’re directly addressed in this edition’s excellent introduction, leaving room for this title to appeal to a huge swath of readers, from fans of Yrsa Sigurðardóttir’s mysteries, to those who like Cynthia Pelayo’s and Simone St. James’s atmospheric horror-mystery hybrids.

Roost

Utterly original, bubbling over with unease, featuring a shocking twist that breathes new life into a popular horror trope, this novel is, quite simply, breathtaking. For readers who enjoyed Slade House, by David Mitchell, The Rust Maidens, by Gwendolyn Kiste, or Fledgling, by Octavia Butler.

PREMIUM

Mestiza Blood

This collection provides an excellent introduction to Castro’s style of unflinchingly raw, unapologetically sexy, unsettlingly realistic supernatural horror; it’s a solid volume of terrifying, thought-provoking, and fun tales. Readers seeking similar should check out the work of Gabino Iglesias and Cynthia Pelayo.
PREMIUM

A Touch of Jen

An optional purchase.
PREMIUM

Pearl

Buy it. Possibly Malerman’s best.

PREMIUM

The Doloriad

While not for everyone, this odd, deeply unsettling story will have readers vacillating between overwhelming disgust and an inability to stop thinking about what it all means. Fans of critically acclaimed macabre tales (like Rachel Eve Moulton’s Tinfoil Butterfly and Maryse Meijer’s The Seventh Mansion) will find a kindred spirit here.

The Fervor

Katsu has no peer when it comes to atmospheric, detail-rich historical horror, but this volume is more unsettling than anything she’s written yet, because its demons attack readers uncomfortably close to home. A must-read for all, not just genre fans. Those seeking more Asian-influenced horror might try the anthology Black Cranes: Tales of Unquiet Women.

Manhunt

This novel confidently plants a flag declaring its place among the greatest band-of-survivor zombie tales, right beside thought-provoking, action-packed classics such as The Rising, by Brian Keene, Zone One, by Colson Whitehead, and Mira Grant’s “Newsflesh” series.

PREMIUM

Dead Silence

The Titanic and Sixth Sense vibes will pique interest, but it’s the engaging, traumatized narrator Kovalik whom readers will root for, even when they don’t always trust her, and who will keep them turning the pages. For fans of both space horror like The Luminous Dead, by Caitlin Starling, or Hematophages, by Stephen Koziniewski, and ghost stories linked to family trauma like The Good House, by Tananarive Due.

PREMIUM

Tripping Arcadia

A 21st-century Gothic with a fascinating botanical frame and an escalating sense of dread that will be savored by fans of Mexican Gothic, by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Now You’re One of Us, by Asa Nonami, and Creatures of Will and Temper, by Molly Tanzer.

Spontaneous Human Combustion

Fans of science fiction, horror, and dark fiction will relish immersing themselves in this collection for all its grit, lyricism, and unquestionable profundity.
PREMIUM

Sundial

On its own merits this would be an optional purchase, but since fans of the excellent Needless Street will drive demand, libraries should have it on the shelves.
PREMIUM

Lamella

An excellent addition to any library looking to acquire intriguing horror material with broad appeal. Recommend to fans of For Mike, by Shelley Sykes, or The Changeling, by Victor LaValle.

Best Horror of 2021

PREMIUM

A Black and Endless Sky

An uncomfortable sibling reunion quickly turns from bickering over the past to attempting to survive the present in this white-knuckle horror-thriller that readers won’t be able to put down.

Body Horror: Squirmy Scares | Reader’s Shelf

The Death of Jane Lawrence

Starling’s (The Luminous Dead) gothic horror is an immersive delight that will be adored by fans of alternate histories, the film Crimson Peak, ghost stories, magical experiments gone wrong, and stories about women becoming aware of their own power.
PREMIUM

Blood & Bone: An Anthology of Body Horror by Women and Non-Binary Writers

An important addition to any horror collection but especially for libraries looking to diversify. Recommend to readers of Ellen Datlow’s collection Body Shocks, and Trigger Warning: Body Horror edited by Desiree Baltisberger.

Rookfield

White takes our collective pandemic anxieties and weaves them into a wonderfully weird and unexpected horror tale. Don’t overlook this gem.

Professor Charlatan Bardot’s Travel Anthology to the Most (Fictional) Haunted Buildings in the Weird, Wild World

An ambitious and beautifully constructed anthology that fans of the genre won’t want to miss; a necessary addition to any library.

Hailey Piper on Combining Romance and Horror | Behind the Book

PREMIUM

The Best Horror of the Year, Vol. 13

An essential purchase for the quality of stories included in the volume, as well as for Datlow’s extensive “Summation” section, in which she recaps the year in awards, key publications, and horror news. Readers will not find a more comprehensive (yet still easily digestible) snapshot of the entire genre anywhere else.

Pearl

Malerman delivers with another completely different yet equally crowd-pleasing and awesome horror novel that is not to be missed. Fans of tales as varied as Eden by Tim Lebbon, Tender Is the Flesh by Agustina Bazterrica, or The Night of the Mannequins by Stephen Graham Jones will all find something to savor and enjoy here.

Flowers for the Sea

Rocklyn has written an astounding story that will leave readers begging for more, recalling other critically acclaimed novellas like Priya Sharma’s Ormeshadow and P. Djèlí Clark’s Black God’s Drum.

PREMIUM

Thanatrauma

Tem has won just about every major speculative fiction prize (including a 2015 Bram Stoker Award for Blood Kin), but he has slipped through the cracks because his work doesn’t fit neatly into established genre boxes. Library workers can make up for this oversight by confidently suggesting this collection to fans of creepy, weird fiction by the likes of Carmen Maria Machado and John Langan.
PREMIUM

The Forest

Quigley, cohost of the award-winning Ladies of the Fright podcast, is well-versed in active contemplation of the horror genre itself, and it shows here with a story line that could be described as a 21st-century update to Shirley Jackson’s “The Lottery.” Fans of Hex, by Thomas Olde Huevelt, and The Twisted Ones, by T. Kingfisher, will find a kindred spirit in Quigley’s debut.

PREMIUM

Such a Pretty Smile

An obvious choice for fans of female-driven psychological horror (e.g., Sarah Pinborough’s Cross Her Heart and Rachel Harrison’s The Return). Also a good suggestion for readers who want to explore the trauma and inequalities in mental health treatment (like in Victor LaValle’s The Devil in Silver).

Queen of Teeth

This is a fun page-turner on its surface, but as soon as readers pause for breath, the real-world issues at play will wrap their tentacles around them. Readers who like old school science fiction dystopias (à la Philip K. Dick), with a healthy dose of cosmic awe (as in Caitlin Kiernan’s “Tinfoil Dossier” series) and a few dashes of kaiju mayhem, will be in horror heaven with this mesmerizing, original, and breathtaking debut.

PREMIUM

Dark Stars: New Tales of Darkest Horror

Most readers will focus on the epic table of contents, but ardent horror fans will appreciate this volume’s ode to the seminal out-of-print Dark Forces anthology edited by Kirby McCauley.Dark Forces similarly strove to bring horror to a wider audience in the 1980s and featured both an early Campbell story and Stephen King’s The Mist (which many consider to be his best novella).

LJ Talks to Horror Author Eric LaRocca

PREMIUM

ZRT: Division Tennessee

Perfect for readers who like their zombie novels with a little extra bite. Recommend to those who enjoyed Ben Tripp’s “Rise Again” duology and Peter Clines’s “Ex-Heroes” series.
PREMIUM

The Kindly Ones

Dystopian fiction fans will find a lot to admire here.
PREMIUM

All Things Deadly: Salem Stories

An uneven collection with some promising ideas.

Road of Bones

An essential read for horror and supernatural thriller fans.
PREMIUM

Beneath the Stairs

Fawcett’s debut is both incredibly suspenseful and immersive. A word of caution to readers: leave the light on.
PREMIUM

When Things Get Dark: Stories Inspired by Shirley Jackson

This solid anthology contains quiet horror takes on the themes and motifs that often appear in Jackson’s work.

The Strange Thing We Become: And Other Dark Tales

Fans of dark fiction will not want to miss this collection of stories about love, loss, choice, consequence, and the horrors therein.

Immortelle

With this novella, McCarthy has solidified her position as an heir to the canon of British women novelists, including Tanith Lee and Sarah Pinborough. This title would make a great addition to a “women in horror” library display.

The Gold Persimmon

The characters are captivating, the drama compelling, and the atmosphere haunting. When this fever dream of a ride is over, readers will get back in line to go again.
PREMIUM

Fit for Consumption

Readers hungry for something dark and queer will find much to chew on in Berman’s bold collection.

The Last House on Needless Street

A perfect marriage of pacing from both the plot and the narrator gives listeners a thrilling experience that will shock them until the end.
PREMIUM

All the Tommys in the World

Suggest Joe McKinney’s Dead World Resurrection or Shawn Chesser’s The Promise instead.

Children of Demeter

A book that dares you to turn out the light or put it down, this psychedelic dive into cults, monsters, and rebirth will blow your mind.
PREMIUM

Revelator

This noir thriller with horror elements strongly calls to mind the work of Hank Early crossed with Cormac McCarthy. It is a slow burn that takes its time to unfurl but makes a lasting impression. Fans of the first and third seasons of the television series True Detective will also enjoy this dark, somber tale with all of its sinister elements.

August’s Eyes

This creepy-crawly feast for the senses is a must for any fans of King and would be a particularly great read-alike suggestion for IT, Insomnia, or Dreamcatcher.
PREMIUM

On the Hierophant Road

Readers searching for something unexpected will find a lot to admire in this ambitious, inventive collection.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?