Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

The Body Harvest

Seidlinger’s (Anybody Home??) squirm-inducing and thought-provoking novel spins the fear of the COVID era into something terrifying in a whole new way. Suggest to those who like the immersive discomfort of books like The Seventh Mansion by Maryse Meijer, Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke by Eric LaRocca, and This Thing Between Us by Gus Moreno.
PREMIUM

The Drowning House

Priest (Cinderwich) is popular with library audiences from teen to adult, and her latest will appeal to both. A great suspenseful and twisty story, reminiscent of Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt, The Twisted Ones by T. Kingfisher, and The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon.
PREMIUM

Midnight Rooms

Coles’s novel is another stellar example of how marginalized voices are taking a perennially popular genre, previously dominated by white characters and authors, and revitalizing it for 21st-century readers in a manner that honors its history but injects brand-new terrors, similar to Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia and The Hacienda by Isabel Cañas.

Horror for Weenies: Everything You Need To Know About the Films You’re Too Scared To Watch

With horror’s popularity, this accessible, entertaining, and informative book will be in high demand. Pair with 101 Horror Books To Read Before You’re Murdered by Sadie Hartmann to capture a similar vibe for stories in print.
PREMIUM

The Night Guest

Knútsdóttir will hook readers with her first title to be translated into English. For fans of disorienting psychological horror marked by extreme tension and familial trauma, such as in The Grip of It by Jac Jemc, My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite, and anything by Catriona Ward.

Sacrificial Animals

Pedersen’s debut skillfully balances character and atmosphere. Recommend to readers who like creepy, methodically paced stories that focus on unease, such as the work of Kevin Brockmeier. Also a good pick for those who enjoy tales that use mythology in a revenge plot, like The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones.

Pink Slime

With her eerie and unnervingly probable plot, strong narrative voice, and focus on the small, beautiful moments of life amid disaster, Trías’s (The Rooftop) tale will continue to haunt readers long after they turn the final page. Pair it with other thoughtful and subtle horror stories such as Sealed by Naomi Booth or Fever Dream by Samanta Schweblin.

Display Shelf | Halfway to Halloween

PREMIUM

A Mask of Flies

Epic in scope and deeply steeped in its place, Lyons’s crime caper/horror hybrid will appeal to fans of titles like This Wretched Valley by Jenny Kiefer, The Devil Takes You Home by Gabino Iglesias, and The Children of Red Peak by Craig DiLouie.
PREMIUM

Heads Will Roll

Winning continues to write great horror novels, and this is a must-buy for libraries that are seeking new and insightful horror that will captivate their readers. Recommend to those who enjoyed My Heart Is a Chainsaw by Stephen Graham Jones, The Final Girl Support Group by Grady Hendrix, or Clown in a Cornfield by Adam Cesare.

Bury Your Gays

Captivating and creative, Tingle continues breathing new life into old tropes with a gory examination of art and the lives that fuel it.
PREMIUM

Incidents Around the House

Malerman is extraordinarily skilled at bringing fear to the ordinary and building a sense of unease into terror. He can terrify readers even while writing from a believable child’s perspective and voice. For fans of novelists who deftly deploy unease and surreal takes on the routine like Neil Gaiman, Catriona Ward, or Paul Tremblay, or Scott Thomas’s Violet, another novels about an imaginary friend.

Horror | Prepub Alert, October 2024 Titles

LJ Talks with Monika Kim, Author of ‘The Eyes Are the Best Part’

The Eyes Are the Best Part

With obvious nods to the serious issues that underpin Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye, and clearly inspired by Gillian Flynn’s seminal Gone Girl, Kim has written a novel that every library needs to own.
PREMIUM

The Z Word

King-Miller’s (Ask a Queer Chick: A Guide to Sex, Love, and Life for Girls who Dig Girls) fiction debut expertly balances social commentary with fun in a novel that will have readers cheering for her queer heroes and questioning their own brand loyalties. Will have wide appeal for fans of Jennifer Government by Max Barry, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith, and Manhunt by Gretchen Felker-Martin.
PREMIUM

How To Make a Horror Movie and Survive

A great read for fans of authors who embrace slasher-movie tropes in their storytelling such as Brian McAuley, Grady Hendrix, and Stephen Graham Jones, and also those who love tales where artists and cursed objects collide, such as Gothic by Philip Fracassi.
PREMIUM

Cuckoo

No one writes like Felker-Martin (Manhunt), and her unrelenting and brutally honest novels are crucial inclusions to all horror collections. Pair with Chuck Tingle’s Camp Damascus or Lucy Snyder’s Sister, Maiden, Monster. This is also a great update to the classic film Invasion of the Body Snatchers.
PREMIUM

Beyond the Bounds of Infinity: An Anthology of Diverse Cosmic Horror

A great introduction to today’s cosmic horror, featuring a plethora of talented new voices. An easy hand sell to fans of Jordan Peele, The Ballad of Black Tom by Victor LaValle, or the work of rising star Hailey Piper.

Craft: Stories I Wrote for the Devil

A captivating, alluring, and, at times, illicit book that is conscious of the craft of the storytelling process without sacrificing an extraordinary reading experience. It recalls Fever Dream by Samanta Schweblin, Looking Glass Sound by Catriona Ward, and Coyote Songs by Gabino Iglesias.
PREMIUM

Ghostroots: Stories

Aguda’s excellent story collection deserves a wide audience. With a breadth similar to the critically acclaimed Jackal, Jackal by Tobi Ogundiran, this will also appeal to readers of Eugen Bacon, Lisa Tuttle, and Karen Russell.

Midwestern Gothic

A must-buy title that updates the enduringly popular form of the gothic novel from a new perspective (as in Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia or The Hollow Kind by Andy Davidson), while also adding depth to the horror that unites Thomas’s literary universe, similar to Goblin and Spin a Black Yarn by Josh Malerman.
PREMIUM

This Wretched Valley

A fast-paced, dread-filled survival tale, perfect for fans of Scott Smith’s The Ruins.
PREMIUM

The Molossus of Old Man Moyer

A perfect ghost story for fans of The Amityville Horror or listeners who prefer not-so-subtle scares. The short runtime makes this a quick supernatural thriller that ends with a decidedly loud bang.
PREMIUM

Sanctuary

Fans of Isabel Cañas’s The Hacienda and Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House will savor this solidly scary yarn.
PREMIUM

Indian Burial Ground

Expertly blending timelines and perspectives, Medina delivers another atmospheric, unsettling, and downright eerie read that will keep readers guessing until the last page.

Horror | Prepub Alert, September 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

The House That Horror Built

An unsubtle but tense tale of self-aware gothic horror from Henry (Good Girls Don’t Die).
PREMIUM

Lost Man’s Lane

Carson (Where They Wait), pen name of Michael Koryta, delivers a captivating and eerie tale that weaves together family curses, the Y2K panic, and the very real horrors of adolescence. Xennial readers will especially enjoy revisiting cultural touchpoints of their own coming-of-age. Give this one to fans of Michael Koryta and Chuck Wendig’s Black River Orchard.
PREMIUM

The Gathering

Tudor’s (The Drift) latest blends elements from the horror, thriller, and mystery genres to create a compulsive and fantastic read. Well-paced action, great characters, a satisfying conclusion, and the setup for a sequel make for an easy recommendation, especially for fans of T. Kingfisher and Catriona Ward.
PREMIUM

What Grows in the Dark

A spooky walk in the woods for fans of supernatural mysteries, LGBTQIA+ protagonists, and folk horror such as The Blair Witch.
PREMIUM

Red River Seven

A fun romp with echoes of Jeremy Robert Johnson’s The Loop or Nick Cutter’s The Troop. Bloody escapism at its best.

The Invisible World

Outstanding narratorial performances take this novel to the next level. Fussner doesn’t offer easy answers but allows listeners to ponder the existence of the invisible world.

Black River Orchard

A dream team of narrators, combined with Wendig’s masterful storytelling, makes for a listening experience as intoxicating as a Ruby Slipper apple.
PREMIUM

A Light Most Hateful

Throughout this intense blend of horror, romance, and fantasy, listeners will be glad for Parker’s performance. A twisty, shocking novel for fans of Richard Kadrey’s The Dead Take the A Train.
PREMIUM

Never Whistle at Night: An Indigenous Dark Fiction Anthology

A collection of Indigenous horror stories that offers something for every listener, from quietly unsettling tales to gruesome body horror. Don’t miss this one.

The Reformatory

Incredibly written and performed historical horror that, though heartbreaking, might give modern readers a spark of hope.
PREMIUM

The Night House

Nesbø’s first foray into horror lacks a tightly focused plot but makes up for it with imaginative scenes that fascinate even when separated from the whole.
PREMIUM

The Paleontologist

Fans of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child’s “Pendergast” series should especially enjoy Dumas’s intriguing blend of supernatural and psychological horror, with its sharp prose, well-drawn characters, and just the right amount of humor and social commentary.
PREMIUM

Mister Lullaby

Those who enjoy King’s Castle Rock novels or dark fantasies that involve a weakening veil between worlds should enjoy this journey to Lalaland.
PREMIUM

Good Girls Don’t Die

Thriller/horror fans who dabble in mysteries and YA dystopian novels will savor Henry’s fourth-wall-centered assault on well-known genres.
PREMIUM

Edenville

While some listeners may get lost in Rebelein’s ever-confusing landscape, those who like their cosmic horror with a touch of humor should enjoy.
PREMIUM

Where the Dead Wait

Horror for fans of nautical disasters such as Dan Simmons’s The Terror or Jennifer Niven’s The Ice Master.

Horror | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Out There Screaming: An Anthology of New Black Horror

The collaboration of these uniquely gifted narrators with extraordinarily talented Black horror authors results in a thrilling, multifaceted audio experience that belongs in all fiction collections.
PREMIUM

Dwellings

Readers who enjoyed Afterlife with Archie by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa or Octopus Girl by Toru Yamazaki will enjoy untangling the plots of these six cutesy yet highly disturbing stories.
PREMIUM

Sanctuary

Fans of Isabel Cañas’s The Hacienda and Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s Mexican Gothic will breathe in this book’s brooding atmosphere, even as its emotional punch of a climax leaves them breathless.

Immortal Pleasures

A lush examination of love, self-worth, and colonialism through the monstrous.
PREMIUM

The Woods All Black

Readers will be drawn in to this horror novella with broad crossover appeal, thanks to its skillful blend of trans love story, historical fiction, and Southern gothic folk horror.

Diavola

Full of emotions, humorous moments, spinetingling scenes, and lots of tension, Thorne’s newest is a modern horror story that will grab readers and not let go.

First Light

This horror sequel invokes more about Sara rights and splinter cells, and Mia remains a fascinating protagonist to watch as she works through her own pain while trying to stay alive.

Horror Movie

Balancing a terrifying cursed film with examinations of artistic creation, fandom, and truth, Tremblay’s latest is smart and well-paced and will have broad appeal. Recommended for fans of Tremblay’s The Pallbearer’s Club as well as Clay McLeod Chapman’s The Remaking.

Horror | Prepub Alert, July 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Chicano Frankenstein

The way Olivas builds on the classic Shelley story and sets it within a futuristic context makes it an intriguing read that will speak to disenfranchised voices and spark discussion among its readers. A good read-alike for Tim McGregor’s Eynhallow and Frankenstein in Baghdad by Ahmed Saadawi.

LJ Talks with S.A. Barnes, School Librarian and Horror Author

PREMIUM

Bless Your Heart

Ryan’s (Throw Me to the Wolves) compelling horror/mystery hybrid is bursting with serious scares, humor, and Southern charm. Fans of Grady Hendrix and Rachel Harrison will appreciate.

This Skin Was Once Mine and Other Disturbances

LaRocca (Everything the Darkness Eats) is a viral sensation for all the right reasons, showcasing why extreme horror is so resonant, thought-provoking, and necessary. Suggest to fans of Tender Is the Flesh by Agustina Bazterrica and We Are Here To Hurt Each Other by Paula D. Ashe.
PREMIUM

Ghost Station

Barnes (Dead Silence) is quickly cementing herself as the go-to author in space horror. This will appeal to fans of sci-fi/horror hybrids that are heavy on the planetary-exploration details, such as David Wellington’s Paradise-1, and also readers who enjoy the psychologically intense polar horror of Ally Wilkes.
PREMIUM

Oracle

Suggest to fans of popular horror/thriller series by Christopher Golden, Chuck Wendig, and Mira Grant.
PREMIUM

The Day of the Door

Hightower’s (Silent Key) story, dripping with visceral dread from every corner, will draw in fans of intense psychological horror such as A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay, Mapping the Interior by Stephen Graham Jones, and Graveyard of Lost Children by Katrina Monroe.

The Angel of Indian Lake

Jones has given the world a gift, an epic tale for the ages, both a violent, high-octane slasher and a frank, thought-provoking indictment of the U.S., past and present.

Forgotten Sisters

Pelayo (The Shoemaker’s Magician) has given readers another can’t-miss novel, marked by its pervasive unease and riveting storyline. For fans of ghost stories that mine memory, fairy tales, and mystery, such as the works of Simone St. James, Jennifer McMahon, and Helen Oyeyemi.
PREMIUM

12 Hours

Wood (Telecommuting) showcases the strengths of the novella as the perfect vehicle for horror storytelling, in a captivating tale that is in equal measures beautiful and brutal, presenting terror both terrestrial and supernatural; similar to the work of Gabino Iglesias and V. Castro.
PREMIUM

Nestlings

A novel for fans of the monstrous and grotesque. Share this menacing listen with fans of Chase Novak’s Breed or Ben H. Winters’s Bedbugs.

The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years

This novel is a mystery and a love story fraught with heartbreak, infused with Islamic mythology, and written in evocative, lyrical prose. Fans of Isabel Allende and Alice Hoffman will be enchanted with this beautiful book.

Horror | Prepub Alert, June 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Eye of a Little God

Mashing up multiple genres, this is a story for fans of modern (and frightening) fairy tales.

Best Horror of 2023

PREMIUM

A Haunting in the Arctic

The novel’s very metaphysical ending might leave some readers disappointed, but its atmosphere and harrowed heroines make this a good book to read during cold and dark nights.
PREMIUM

Phantom

Listeners who don’t mind unappealing characters or messy plots may want to check this out, but it’s an otherwise optional purchase for most libraries.
PREMIUM

Spin a Black Yarn: Novellas

A great sampling of Malerman’s novellas, brought to life by an ever-engaging group of talented voice actors.
PREMIUM

Looking Glass Sound

With an abundance of moving parts, Ward’s multilayered tale is a delightful challenge for anyone who loves reverse-engineering their thrillers.

A Haunting on the Hill

Hand’s reworking of the Hill House legend is brilliant on its own, but sinister sound effects and Monda’s spine-tingling narration (which includes show-stopping renditions of the spooky murder ballads) make this an absolute must-have for horror collections.
PREMIUM

Red Rabbit

This meandering, lushly described weird West tale will be a treat for fans of Alma Katsu, Rob DeBorde, and Rhett C. Bruno.
PREMIUM

The Handyman Method

A haunted-house story possessed by the shades of Stephen King’s The Shining and The Tommyknockers. Horror fans will be enthralled.
PREMIUM

My Darling Girl

Full of twists, turns, and plenty of suspense, this slow-burn horror novel has depth and plenty of holiday chills. Fans of McMahon’s other works will not be disappointed.

Schrader’s Chord

Music and horror fans who like their ghost stories gooey and their music loud should give this story a spin.
PREMIUM

Disturbance

Though the subject matter is disturbing, Clake’s window into the horror wrought by abusive relationships resonates. A haunting literary horror for fans of Carmen Maria Machado’s Her Body and Other Parties.
PREMIUM

Ghost Tamer

A paranormal thriller that offers thrills and chills in addition to a touching exploration of grief, love, and moving on.
PREMIUM

Hemlock Island

A thrilling story, laced with horrors both real and otherwise; recommended for audiences who loved Nick Cutter and Andrew F. Sullivan’s The Handyman Method and Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s Echo.
PREMIUM

At the End of Every Day

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking atmospheric, unsettling horror that blends otherworldly chills with childhood nostalgia. Recommended for fans of Megan Collins, Kiersten White, and Jennifer McMahon.
PREMIUM

Vampires of El Norte

This complex blend of historical fiction, romance, and horror captivates on many levels. Share with fans of Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Alma Katsu, and Andy Davidson.
PREMIUM

Burn the Negative

One doesn’t need a Needle Man to poke holes in the plot, but Winning has created an immersive love letter to late-20th-century horror cinema that will draw fans of supernatural slashers like flies to corpses.
PREMIUM

Girl Among Crows

A captivating listen, just the thing for thriller readers seeking supernatural scares. The twists come fast, and the characters’ decisions lead to brutal consequences. Share with fans of Stephen King and Riley Sager.
PREMIUM

Dracula: A Full Cast Audio Drama

This dramatized adaptation of Stoker’s classic tale is a perfect spooky listen for those seeking a new experience of the original novel. Recommended for any audio classics or horror collection.

Fever House

Rosson’s dialogue and characters may attract fans of noir-adjacent fiction, but it’s the true horror fans who will love riding out this apocalypse.

The September House

This perfect synergy of author and narrator will have broad appeal. For fans of Rachel Harrison and Grady Hendrix and anyone seeking a unique haunted-house story.
PREMIUM

No Child of Mine

Though Giraldes’s tale is sometimes dragged down by its ghosts, readers of domestic horror will likely respond to the depiction of an increasingly isolated expectant mother.

Eynhallow

This is a must-buy for libraries that are looking to add fresh new horror to their collection. The story has broad appeal and will entice patrons with its additions to the classic Frankenstein story, as well as horror readers seeking something new. Recommend to those who liked T. Kingfisher’s What Moves the Dead and Philip Fracassi’s Boys in the Valley.
PREMIUM

We Ate the Dark

With stunning prose, Pearson draws readers into the lives of her characters and weaves a horror-esque fantasy tale.
PREMIUM

The Haunting of Velkwood

Fans of My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix won’t want to miss Kiste’s (The Rust Maidens) latest.
PREMIUM

The Daughters of Block Island

While there are numerous references here to horror icons such as Shirley Jackson and gothic novels, including Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights, they do not fully resonate with the characters of Carmen’s debut novel (after the short story collection Something Borrowed, Something Blood-Soaked: Thirteen Stories), making it read like a disjointed collection of tropes.

LJ Talks with Jenny Kiefer, Author of ‘This Wretched Valley’

Christmas and Other Horrors: An Anthology of Solstice Horror

This latest from Datlow is a consistently creepy anthology made for long, dark solstice nights (or long days, if you’re in the Southern Hemisphere).
PREMIUM

Midnight on Beacon Street

Verona’s debut is a riveting thriller and a thoughtful love letter to horror films. It will find its most enthusiastic audience with fans of the babysitter final girl trope from any medium, such as the movie Halloween and the novel The Babysitter Lives by Stephen Graham Jones.
PREMIUM

The House of Last Resort

Golden is already a library favorite, and his latest will be eagerly devoured. This title would make a great suggestion for fans of The Ancestor by Danielle Trussoni or Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia.

A Light Most Hateful

A stunning novel that purposefully plays with genre conventions and centers love, even as it actively terrifies readers to their core, much like recent novels from Victor LaValle, Rachel Eve Moulton, and Chuck Tingle.
PREMIUM

Where the Dead Wait

Fans of the historical horror Alma Katsu or polar exploration nonfiction, such as In the Kingdom of Ice by Hampton Sides, will rejoice, but the intense psychological horror and isolation will also appeal to those who enjoy space horror similar to Dead Silence by S.A. Barnes.
PREMIUM

Edenville

In his debut novel, Rebelein confidently writes in a sardonic tone, mixing humor with over-the-top cosmic horror, a combination that will appeal greatly to fans of We Sold Our Souls by Grady Hendrix, but don’t sleep on the academic aspects, as also seen in Catherine House by Elisabeth Thomas.
PREMIUM

Womb City

Tsamaase, like Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki, is a rising star in African speculative fiction whose work will appeal to readers from across the globe, especially fans of Philip K. Dick, Margaret Atwood, and Blake Crouch.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?