Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

SFF Self-Publishing Stars

Thrillers | Prepub Alert, February 2025 Titles

Mystery | Prepub Alert, February 2025 Titles

Read-Alikes for ‘The Ornithologist’s Field Guide to Love’ by India Holton | LibraryReads

‘Played’ by Naima Simone | LJ Review of the Day

PREMIUM

Trondheim

A luminous tale of forgiveness, love, and hope that views a complicated relationship in the wake of tragedy.

‘The Faculty Lounge’ by Jennifer Mathieu | LJ Review of the Day

PREMIUM

Colored Television

The author of Caucasia, Symptomatic, and others writes with compassion for a heroine who is searching for her racial and social identities. In the end, Senna allows Jane the success her struggles have earned for her. Readers will be grateful for that.
PREMIUM

The Singularity

Folding prescient philosophical musings on the nature of human consciousness into a satisfyingly eerie fable, Buzzati’s foundational work of Italian science fiction might well be subtitled “The Postmodern Prometheus.”
PREMIUM

The Empusium: A Health Resort Horror Story

This novel won’t be every reader’s cup of tea, but the gothic elements keep the blood stirring. The book might also remind readers of the wilder writings of Isaac Bashevis Singer.
PREMIUM

The Secret Keeper of Main Street

Readers will root for Elsa and Bailey to find love and acceptance in their worlds but may be disappointed at how all the loose ends are wrapped up a bit too neatly. Fans of Thomas and stories of friendships forged beyond social boundaries will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Till Death Do Us Part

Flynn weaves a terrific tale that could easily get complicated and dubious, but she adeptly keeps everything straightforward and believable. When readers figure out a piece of the puzzle, Flynn introduces other elements to keep the pace and story continuously surprising. Pair this with First Lie Wins by Ashley Elston for the perfect book club discussion.
PREMIUM

Sentinel

Readers who enjoy thrillers by Tom Clancy, Brad Thor, or Vince Flynn will eat this up. Others may find it a bit formulaic.
PREMIUM

Then Things Went Dark

Despite an uneven story, Fitzgerald’s thrilling “whydunit” will keep readers focused on the lights and drama of the reality show, while they try to figure out what really happened when things went deadly.
PREMIUM

Tempted by Her Greek Island Bodyguard

Douglas’s (Waking Up Married to the Billionaire) latest is highly recommended for contemporary romance readers.
PREMIUM

How To Charm a Nerd

Readers who enjoyed the first series entry, The Bookbinder’s Guide to Love, may want to pick up this sequel.
PREMIUM

You Had Me at Happy Hour

Janovsky’s (The (Fake) Dating Game) latest is a work nemesis-to-lovers, “we’re just friends with benefits until we’re so much more” story, with two adorably awkward protagonists who it’s impossible not to root for.
PREMIUM

Going Toe to Toe

This fifth installment in St. John’s “Six Gems” series, after Frenemy Fix-Up, is best for readers who are already invested in the women and their HEAs.
PREMIUM

Unexpected Family for the Rebel Tycoon

This story from Stewart (Consequence of Their Forbidden Night) will tug at readers’ heartstrings and is a must-read for contemporary romance readers who love the family dynamic.
PREMIUM

A Murderer Among Us

Graham (Tangled Threat) delivers another entertaining and suspenseful story.
PREMIUM

Bound by Their Royal Baby

An entertaining royal-baby romance from Milne (His Princess on Paper).
PREMIUM

The Billionaire’s Plus-One Deal

Lewis (Breaking the Best Friend Rule) offers an adorable contemporary romance, featuring a fake-dating trope, that’s not to be missed.
PREMIUM

Campus Killer

Flowers’s latest (Cold Murder in Kolton Lake) will appeal to fans of suspense featuring criminology and profiling.
PREMIUM

Wyoming Mountain Investigation

Rushdan (Wyoming Mountain Cold Case) starts this new series with a skillfully told story full of adventure and romance.
PREMIUM

Uncovering the Governess’s Secrets

Kaye (His Runaway Marchioness Returns) presents a sexy Victorian romance about secret identities and sordid pasts. In-depth detail about the era’s law enforcement and asylums, paired with alternating first-person perspectives, yield an absorbing reading experience.
PREMIUM

How the Wallflower Wins a Duke

Morris (Beguiling Her Enemy Warrior) presents a sexy Regency romance full of complex characters. The wit and warmth are sure to win readers’ hearts.
PREMIUM

Lakeside Secrets

Richards (Silenced Witness) writes an exciting story with likable characters and believable scenarios.
PREMIUM

Never Date a Roommate

Brazilian author Ottoni’s English-language and Harlequin debut is a slow-burn, close-proximity romance about finding one’s place in the world and learning to be true to oneself that proves she’ll be an author to watch.
PREMIUM

Winter Warning

Winters (Mountain Abduction) gives readers another adventure-filled story in this popular series, with well-developed characters and a vividly described setting.
PREMIUM

Unexpectedly Wed to the Heir

San Andres’s (The Return of His Caribbean Heiress) fourth installment in the “Caribbean Courtships’’ series is as warm and witty as the others.
PREMIUM

Ranch Ambush

With a fast-moving storyline, Han (Murder in Texas) will keep readers on their edge of their seats as the romance and mystery unwind.

Display Shelf | Sports Romance

Read-Alikes for ‘The Au Pair Affair’ by Tessa Bailey | LibraryReads

Science Fiction & Fantasy | Prepub Alert, January 2025 Titles

Romance | Prepub Alert, January 2025 Titles

Horror | Prepub Alert, January 2025 Titles

Pop Fiction | Prepub Alert, January 2025 Titles

‘Between the Sound and Sea’ by Amanda Cox | LJ Review of the Day

‘Haunt Your Heart Out’ by Amber Roberts | LJ Review of the Day

Played

This touching, funny, sexy novel from Simone (Ravaged) is a joy to read and is sure to be popular where contemporary sports romances and multicultural fiction circulate well.
PREMIUM

Close Knit

Full of charming and quirky characters, with thoughtful individual backstories, this could easily become the first in a beloved series. Great for fans of Viola Shipman and Maddie Dawson.

The Faculty Lounge

This highly entertaining and fun book is especially recommended for educators and caregivers of school-age kids.
PREMIUM

The Art of Pretend

A well-constructed story with a disappointing ending that will, nonetheless, engage readers.
PREMIUM

Exposure

Lacking in clarity and plot, this is a disappointing sequel.
PREMIUM

The Lost Coast

The Kellermans excel at creating menacing environments and truly creepy characters, spinning a tale that will keep readers turning pages all night.
PREMIUM

Lucy Undying: A Dracula Novel

A great option for vampire fans looking for a woman protagonist, as well as for readers looking for a unique journey through time.

‘A Dark and Drowning Tide’ by Allison Saft | LJ Review of the Day

Historical Fiction | Prepub Alert, January 2025 Titles

'I Dreamed of Falling' by Julia Dahl | Mystery Pick of the Month

'The Naming Song' by Jedediah Berry | SFF Pick of the Month

‘The Cottage Around the Corner’ by D.L. Soria | LJ Review of the Day

Haunting Love | Two Spooky and Swoony Reads

LJ Talks Vampires and Centering Women in Stories with Rachel Harrison, Author of ‘So Thirsty’

Fiction Shows Its Fangs | Horror Fiction Preview 2024

Literary Fiction | Prepub Alert, January 2025 Titles

Romantasy | Prepub Alert, January 2025 Titles

Read-Alikes for ‘The Briar Club’ by Kate Quinn | LibraryReads

2024 Stars So Far | Christian Fiction

2024 Stars So Far | Fantasy

2024 Stars So Far | Horror

2024 Stars So Far | Mystery

2024 Stars So Far | Romance

2024 Stars So Far | Science Fiction

2024 Stars So Far | Suspense & Thrillers

2024 Stars So Far | Literary Fiction

Display Shelf | Private Eye July

2024 Stars So Far | Historical Fiction

2024 Stars So Far | Contemporary Fiction

'I’ll Have What He’s Having' by Adib Khorram | Romance Pick of the Month

‘The Volcano Daughters’ by Gina María Balibrera | LJ Review of the Day

‘Mina’s Matchbox’ by Yoko Ogawa | LJ Review of the Day

PREMIUM

Pay the Piper

For fans of both Kraus’s novels and Romero’s films, this bloody Southern story highlights the strengths of both auteurs.
PREMIUM

Blood Like Mine

Fans of monster-themed books like Liz Kerin’s “Night’s Edge” series and Neville’s other mysteries and thrillers should give this novel attempt at horror a taste.

So Thirsty

With a realistic protagonist who faces choices that are sometimes scarier than monsters, this book will have readers sinking their teeth in.

I Was a Teenage Slasher

Even those well versed in slashers and their tropes will be surprised by the directions Jones takes. Readable both as representative of slasher films and book and as an exploration of the rules of the genre, this novel will have wide appeal to readers who are new to Jones’s work as well as established fans. Recommended as a contrast for fans of recent “final girl” books like the ones by Grady Hendrix and Riley Sager and readers who enjoyed The Pallbearers Club by Paul Tremblay.
PREMIUM

William

A late-act reveal helps this story stand out among other technology-going-bad tales, and those who like the trope, or enjoy a good techno-thriller, will want to watch William play with his human toys.

House of Bone and Rain

In his most accessible work to date, Iglesias has crafted a coming-of-age story that blends friendship, vengeance, and mysticism in beautifully written prose that demonstrates the thinness of the boundary between the spiritual world and grim reality. Recommended for fans of S.A. Cosby and Stephen Graham Jones and those who enjoy Nordic noir, with its strong sense of place and of the power of weather.
PREMIUM

Beyond Ivy Walls

With echoes of Jane Eyre and Beauty and the Beast, this turn-of-the-20th-century tale is sure to resonate with fans of historical romance. Fordham (The Letter Tree) pens characters whom readers will want to root for and intersperses fun historical details within a sweet love story.
PREMIUM

The Christmas Tree Farm: A Christmas Novella

This satisfying Christmas novel will find year-round fans, as Carlson (Just for the Summer) brings her relationship insight to another unique tale set in the Pacific Northwest. Readers looking for a fast, charming read with hints of faith will enjoy this novella.

Between the Sound and Sea

Will draw fans of redemptive family sagas that cross time and space, such as Amanda Dyke’s Set the Stars Alight and Heidi Chiavaroli’s Hope Beyond the Waves. Cox (He Should Have Told the Bees) is fast becoming an auto-buy for library collections.
PREMIUM

The Color of Home

For fans of romances that also deal in hard truths, such as Looking for Leroy by Melody Carlson and Pixels and Paint by Kristi Ann Hunter.
PREMIUM

What We Hide

This is an explosive beginning to a new series and a dynamic author partnership between Coble (“Pelican Harbor” series) and practicing lawyer Acker. Will appeal to fans of the legal thrillers of Randy Singer and Robert Whitlow.
PREMIUM

The Hidden Book

A crucial reminder of past injustices, this poignant novel from Manning (The Paris Mystery) successfully fictionalizes the history of a forgotten yet profoundly significant photobook.
PREMIUM

The Days I Loved You Most

With many recent novels focusing on the pandemic, Neff’s is a reminder of the historical events that stunned Americans and uprooted daily life prior to 2020. Recommended for women’s fiction discussion groups.
PREMIUM

And So I Roar

Eye-opening, evocative, exquisite; this title will resonate with Daré’s fans and readers drawn to themes around women’s empowerment, educational rights, choices, and cultural customs.

There Are Rivers in the Sky

Drawing on historical events, Shafak vividly narrates the theft of artifacts, war, colonialism, environmental crises, and genocide. From her extensive research, she raises critical questions about one’s connection to and responsibility for the past in this highly readable and engrossing novel.
PREMIUM

The Booklover’s Library

A hopeful, compelling and well-written read about the redemptive power of books, libraries, friendship, and love.
PREMIUM

The Thirteenth Husband

This would be a good addition to most libraries’ popular fiction sections and is sure to be a hit with fans of the work of Marie Benedict, Alison Pataki, and Susan Meissner.

State of Paradise

An unputdownable novel of a world spinning rapidly out of control.
PREMIUM

Madwoman

Award-winning Bieker’s (Godshot; Heartbroke) psychological exposé unfolds as an imaginary letter that C is writing to her mother, through which Bieker explores the results of domestic abuse on a family. The surprise ending supplies a satisfying but somewhat unrealistic resolution to C’s conflict.

The Volcano Daughters

A devastating story of sisterhood, community, and memory, quietly magical and utterly unforgettable.

I’ll Have What He’s Having

With an eminently likable group of characters, a generous helping of wine and foodie culture, and an extra steamy and tender love story, YA author Khorram’s (The Breakup Lists) first foray into adult fiction will warm readers’ hearts.
PREMIUM

Hers for the Weekend

Fans of Greer’s will enjoy this must-read novel, with its engaging plot, supportive side characters, and inclusive depiction of a lesbian relationship.
PREMIUM

Perfectly Wicked

This wickedly charming and sexy romance from Lovise (Never Blow a Kiss) is perfect for fans of witchy romances from Erin Sterling, Hazel Beck, and Lana Harper.
PREMIUM

The Break-Up Pact

The richly drawn setting and characters make this sweet, steamy slow-burn the perfect small-town romance for summer. Recommend YA author Lord’s (The Getaway List) adult debut to fans of Sarah Adams and Emily Henry.
PREMIUM

The Wedding Engagement

Allison (The Ex-Mas Holidays) writes a cozy and romantic romp in Scotland that will suit readers looking for friends-to-lovers romances in the vein of B.K. Borison’s “Lovelight” series.
PREMIUM

Hot Earl Summer

Ridley once again showcases her skills crafting interesting characters and fun-reading plots, which stress accepting and supporting people in the ways they want.
PREMIUM

Double Apex

Juniper’s (Chaos Is My Brand) literary escapade catapults readers into a world where speed and passion collide and gives fans of Simone Soltani’s Cross the Line another installment in the racing sports romance subgenre to devour.
PREMIUM

Adam & Evie’s Matchmaking Tour

In Nguyen’s (author of Banyan Moon writing as Thao Thai) first dive into romance, she offers a sexy tale that has relatable characters and a lush setting.
PREMIUM

Marriage & Masti

In this final installment of the delightful trilogy of retellings, Sharma (Tastes Like Shakkar) features her entertaining mainstay of close friendships, sexy storylines, and boisterous family members set within a tight-knit and elite South Asian community.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?