FICTION

At Sea

Gallery Jul. 2022. 320p. ISBN 9781982171544. $27.99. F
COPY ISBN
DEBUT A woman has to separate fact from fiction if she wants to recover what she’s lost. Cara and Brendan meet when she’s just out of college. Brendan is charming and funny, and she falls fast and hard for him. And at first it’s good. They marry and have a son, and if there are moments when Brendan’s behavior seems a little strange, Cara believes in him—even when he tells her he’s been part of a U.S. Special Forces team and the subject of top-secret experiments that allow him to breathe underwater for long periods of time. She knows it sounds far-fetched, but she’s seen him do it. She believes that until the day he and their baby son, Micah, disappear. Five years later Cara has rebuilt her life, but she still holds out hope her son can be found. When she hears of a sighting of a man and a child at sea, she’s convinced it’s Brendan and Micah and will now do all she can to find them.
VERDICT Fedor’s moody debut explores the depths of love a person can feel and the toll that grief and mental illness might take on those emotions. For readers of Diane Chamberlain and Sally Hepworth.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?