Pamela Dorman: Viking

8 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Bullet That Missed

Although the third in Osman’s series (after The Man Who Died Twice) is confusing at times, it’s a character-rich mystery that will be eagerly received by fans of the Thursday Murder Club.

The Retreat

Readers of Pearse’s earlier book or Ruth Ware’s suspense novels will be hard-pressed to put down this atmospheric, sometimes creepy novel.
PREMIUM

A Lady’s Guide to Fortune-Hunting

A fine historical romance full of wit and banter. Recommended as a read-alike for Julia Quinn’s “Bridgerton” series or Mimi Matthews’s The Siren of Sussex.
PREMIUM

Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband?

Readers who like the novels of Marian Keyes and Cecelia Ahern will find much to enjoy here.

PREMIUM

The Man Who Died Twice

This entertaining follow-up to Osman’s first mystery reveals more about the main characters’ lives, especially Elizabeth’s. Excerpts from Joyce’s diary provide many humorous moments, as well as another perspective of the events of the novel. Recommended for fans of British cozies, especially Simon Brett’s “Fethering” series and Ann Purser’s “Lois Meade” series.

The Nine Lives of Rose Napolitano

This is a serious yet fantastical look at relationships, family, and feminism, told in a singular voice; book groups should take note. The closest read-alikes are Life After Life, by Kate Atkinson, and Replay, by Ken Grimwood.

The Thursday Murder Club

The delightful, spirited characters from this witty, sometimes bittersweet story deserve a return engagement.

The Giver of Stars

Rich in history, with well-developed characters and a strong sense of place, this book will fit well in any library’s fiction collection. For fans of Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants or Catherine Marshall’s Christy. [See Prepub Alert, 4/15/19; “Fall Fireworks,” LJ 8/19.]
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?