Luke Gorham

31 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Brother Alive

Blisteringly intelligent, bursting with profound feeling, and host to some of the most complex, necessary characters in recent memory.
PREMIUM

Calling for a Blanket Dance

Another noteworthy debut in what feels like an ongoing renaissance of Indigenous peoples’ literature, both reflecting this lineage and introducing an exciting, fresh new voice to the choir.
PREMIUM

Night of the Living Rez

Talty’s debut story collection is a wonderfully understated work with sneaky emotional force, anchored by a memorable main character and the author’s keen understanding of childhoods that have been marked by instability.

The Last White Man

A provocative and welcomingly unpredictable work, taking readers to deeply humane places and through moving considerations that similar works rarely visit.
PREMIUM

Against Heaven: Poems

Alabi’s confident debut recommends them as a name to follow, but this collection is a mixed bag of forceful but too often scattershot and hyperactive poems.

Nightcrawling

Undeniably bleak but littered with small beauties and a powerful discourse on the dehumanizing effects policing can have on marginalized communities, bodies, and minds (and especially on Black women). Mottley’s novel understands that sometimes a happy ending just means surviving.

Read-Alikes for ‘Sea of Tranquility’ by Emily St. John Mandel

PREMIUM

The Last Confessions of Sylvia P.

This work rises above most other literary histories in its devotion to effectively revisiting a particular mid-century writing style and in intelligently, empathetically noodling with The Bell Jar’s enduring legacy.

Lapvona

At once immensely alien and deeply human, Moshfegh’s latest is a brutal, inventive novel about the ways that stories and the act of storytelling shape us and articulate our world.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?