Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

The Whitewashed Tombs

Quartey’s author’s note discusses the current anti-LGBTQIA+ legislation in Ghana and its effect on him as a queer author. Recommended for readers who enjoy international fiction and detective fiction.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Midnight Feast’ by Lucy Foley | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

It’s Elementary

Filled with snappy dialogue, laugh-out-loud scenes, quirky characters, a solid mystery, and a dash of romance, here’s hoping there’ll be more stories about Mavis.
PREMIUM

Anna O

A promising debut with a compelling central mystery that will keep readers guessing.
PREMIUM

Havoc

For fans of books by both Tony and Anne Hillerman, along with others that embody the spirit and landscape of the Southwest.

The Night of Baba Yaga

A mashup of crime thriller and queer romance, this fascinating fairy tale retelling has a decidedly un-fairytale-like ending but showcases the power of two very different women who risk everything to be free.
PREMIUM

I Need You To Read This

The second novel by the author of The Golden Spoon, with its newspaper columns and letters, will satisfy readers looking for psychological suspense and vulnerable heroines.
PREMIUM

Death Scene

The killer will be obvious to cozy readers, but fans of the series will once again enjoy the characters and Salem setting in the sequel to Now You See It.

‘Ladykiller’ by Katherine Wood | Mystery Debut of the Month

PREMIUM

What You Leave Behind

With deep characterizations, local lore, and a sympathetic heroine, this is another feather in Morris’s cap.

20 Bestselling Thrillers | The Most Sought-After Titles by Public Libraries

‘Hope To Die’ by Cara Hunter | Mystery Pick of the Month

Read-Alikes for ‘Eruption’ by Michael Crichton & James Patterson | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Death at a Scottish Christmas

The investigation is slow-paced in the sequel to Death at a Scottish Wedding, but the various holiday celebrations and Em’s new friends make up for the flat ending. For fans of Carlene O’Connor’s County Kerry mysteries.
PREMIUM

Like Mother, like Daughter

Bestselling McCreight (Friends Like These) expertly orchestrates mother-daughter dynamics to build additional layers of tension onto a fast-paced and twisted plotline. Pair with Pieces of Her by Karin Slaughter.

Ladykiller

Debut author Wood has expertly mixed romance with mystery in a novel that leaves more questions than answers. This fast-paced thriller will work well for book clubs and fans of the unreliable narrator trope.
PREMIUM

A Scandal in Mayfair

The strong characters will appeal to readers of the Bridgerton romances, as well as those who appreciate Georgette Heyer’s stories.
PREMIUM

A Talent for Murder

Fans will devour this third book in the Lily Kintner/Henry Kimball series (after The Kind Worth Saving). Swanson delivers a tense psychological thriller teeming with deliciously complex characters, unsettling plot twists, and several harrowing scenes that will move readers to the edge of their seat. This bird’s-eye view into the mind of a killer is definitely not for the faint of heart.
PREMIUM

A Killer Clue

The sequel to A Cryptic Clue, with its red herrings, missing books, and charming detecting duo, is a traditional cozy mystery that will appeal to fans of Kate Carlisle and Jenn McKinlay.
PREMIUM

Wordhunter

For readers who enjoy chilling mysteries and thrillers. Fans of strong character-building will delight in watching Maggie and Jackson’s partnership bring out their individual strengths. A somewhat open ending suggests that more installments are planned.
PREMIUM

It Had To Be You

Think Hitchcock’s films or Patricia Highsmith’s Ripley books, but with sex and violence unflinchingly detailed on the page.

Hope To Die

Inspired by a real-life crime in Australia, the sixth DI Fawley novel (following The Whole Truth) is an intricate, carefully plotted police procedural comparable to the best of Ann Cleeves’s Vera novels or Louise Penny’s mysteries. The mixed media used in the book adds to its appeal.

Talking to Strangers

This latest from best-selling Barton (Local Gone Missing) is a twisty and highly satisfying nail-biter that will have her fans and new readers burning the midnight oil.
PREMIUM

The Dark Wives

The conclusion to this novel feels abrupt, but fans of Cleeve’s complex, character-driven Vera series will be pleased with this latest installment, the sequel to The Rising Tide.
PREMIUM

Now You Owe Me

Well-crafted characters will draw in readers, and an intricately woven plot will keep them in their seats. Recommended for fans of Tana French, Gillian Flynn, and Karin Slaughter.

Gathering Mist

The sequel to Standing Dead sends Mattie and Robo to a difficult search environment. The story of the search, and the setting, are beautifully developed in a mystery that builds in intensity and suspense. Readers who enjoy Sara Driscoll’s “FBI K-9” books will appreciate the emphasis on search-and-rescue dogs in Mizushima’s series.
PREMIUM

Furever After

Although the 16th in Kelly’s “Magical Cats Mystery” series (after Paws To Remember) is, like the others, a cozy mystery, it’s also a story of chosen family. Fans of the series and romantic cozies will enjoy the wedding and “happily ever after” premise.
PREMIUM

The Summer of Love and Death

McCreary’s entertaining police procedural stands apart with its rich characterization and exploration of life’s complexities beyond the central crime. This is a series to watch and to suggest to fans of Ellen Hart’s Jane Lawless novels.
PREMIUM

The Wharton Plot

Listeners will be captivated by the elegant setting and the inclusion of real details and people from Edith Wharton’s life. A winning historical mystery.
PREMIUM

The Antique Hunter’s Guide to Murder

Miller’s debut is a delightful adventure mystery for lovers of expert, emotionally layered protagonists with a bit of humor, from Allison Montclair’s Sparks and Bainbridge to Elizabeth Peters’s Vicky Bliss.

The Good, the Bad, and the Aunties

Recommended for all libraries. Sutanto’s third and final installment in the “Aunties” series will surely fill listeners with joy whether they’re fans of the series or just getting started.
PREMIUM

Village in the Dark

Riveting crime fiction, full of twists, turns, and hidden dangers, is enhanced by the remote Alaskan setting. A surprise ending will leave listeners anxiously awaiting the next installment in this compelling series.
PREMIUM

Three-Inch Teeth

Newbies and series fans will be on the edge of their seats.
PREMIUM

Finlay Donovan Rolls the Dice

Revisiting Finlay, as performed by Dawe, is an iconic experience.
PREMIUM

The Hunter

French’s slow-burn mystery about small-town insularity, loyalty, and vengeance captivates. French’s many fans will have this on their lists, but it’s a great fit for fans of Gillian Flynn and Jane Harper, too.
PREMIUM

Barbacoa, Bomba, and Betrayal

A fun and vibrant mystery, perfect for enjoying at the beach or on vacation.

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd

A unique Christie classic is given its due thanks to the engaging talents of veteran radio actor Jones. Broadly recommended and a must-listen for fans of Christie, detective fiction, English manor house mysteries, and Jones’s earlier audio work.
PREMIUM

A Pie To Die For

A delicious magical cozy to entice listeners new to the subgenre.

Maude Horton’s Glorious Revenge

Highly recommended historical suspense featuring an irresistible heroine.

Murder at an Irish Chipper

A deliciously slippery mystery that blends classic genre tropes with modern investigative tools.
PREMIUM

Almost Surely Dead

A suspenseful psychological thriller, steeped in Pakistani folklore.
PREMIUM

Where They Lie

This debut covers a time period and place not often seen in mysteries and will attract interest.
PREMIUM

The Lace Widow

A layered and satisfying historical mystery.
PREMIUM

Listen for the Lie

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking intricate, intense psychological suspense about missing memories and murder. Recommended for fans of Lisa Jewell, Emily Schultz, and Ashley Flowers.
PREMIUM

Union Station

For listeners who enjoy intricate spy thrillers laced with social commentary.
PREMIUM

Murder Road

St. James’s paranormal thriller is as deliciously creepy as it is moving. Great for fans of Riley Sager and Karin Slaughter.
PREMIUM

Ghost Island

Fans of Seeck’s series will be thrilled to dive back into Jessica Niemi’s heart-pumping world and pick up where book three left off. Great for those who enjoy a blend of supernatural and murder mysteries.
PREMIUM

The Therapy Room

An intriguing premise, but an inconsistent plot and lacking narration make this an optional purchase for most audio mystery collections.
PREMIUM

Extinction

Recommended for fans of Michael Crichton’s Jurassic Park and those relishing a visit to the world of prehistoric animals.
PREMIUM

Daughter of Mine

With top-notch psychological suspense and carefully attuned narration, this novel will please Miranda’s many fans. Recommended for fans of Nicci French’s Has Anyone Seen Charlotte Salter?? and Amy Engel’s The Roanoke Girls.
PREMIUM

The Last To Pie

Popp continues to delight with her latest entertaining and delicious cozy mystery. Series fans will be riveted as things become perilous for the book’s most unusual pie maker.
PREMIUM

Murder in Masquerade

A fluffy tale, best for devoted historical mystery fans and those who enjoyed the first book in the “Lady of Letters” series.
PREMIUM

The Split

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking an intricate suspense full of sordid family secrets. Recommended for fans of Riley Sager, Jamie Day, and Shari Lapena.
PREMIUM

Nosy Neighbors

Fans of Sampson’s other works and those seeking a heartwarming and humorous mystery will be delighted. A perfect fit for those who enjoyed Laurien Berenson’s Peg and Rose Solve a Murder.
PREMIUM

How To Solve Your Own Murder

Longtime cozy mystery fans and those new to the genre will enjoy this new series, with delightful nods to Agatha Christie and Ruth Ware.
PREMIUM

Secrets of a Scottish Isle

Even audiences new to the series should enjoy this easy listen, enhanced with charming narration.
PREMIUM

Darling Girls

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a riveting suspense teeming with twists, a bleak story of sisterhood, secrets, and survival. Recommended for fans of Lucinda Berry, Lisa Jewell, and Jamie Day.
PREMIUM

The Murder After the Night Before

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a satirical psychological suspense with a hot mess of a heroine. Recommended for fans of Alice Feeney, Freida McFadden, and Tarryn Fisher.
PREMIUM

A Better World

A horrifying and altogether satisfying thriller, sure to intrigue fans of Sunny Moraine’s Your Shadow Half Remains or Rumaan Alam’s Leave the World Behind.
PREMIUM

The Princess of Las Vegas

While the mystery is somewhat underdeveloped, excellent characterizations and skillful narration will satisfy Bohjalian’s many fans.
PREMIUM

Nothing Without Me

This psychological thriller will keep fans invested to the end. A great next listen for fans of Riley Sager and Lisa Jewell.
PREMIUM

The Excitements

Fans of Sabine Durrant’s Sun Damage or Jacqueline Winspear’s The White Lady will be delighted by this laugh-out-loud heist novel proving that age is just a number.
PREMIUM

The Mystery Writer

Gentill’s (The Woman in the Library) latest should appeal to listeners who enjoy murder and mayhem, topped off with a good measure of conspiracy theorists and end-of-the-world preppers.
PREMIUM

Keep Your Friends Close

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking twisting psychological suspense about wealth and deception. Recommended for fans of Laura Dave, Mary Kubica, and Lisa Jewell.
PREMIUM

The Resort

Ochs’s twisty debut thriller will keep listeners guessing to the end.
PREMIUM

I Heard a Fly Buzz When I Died

This mystery featuring Emily Dickinson, Ralph Waldo Emerson, and Louisa May Alcott as characters delivers an intriguing plot while delving into the social mores and prejudices of 1850s New England high society.
PREMIUM

Leave No Trace

While similar to the National Parks mysteries of Claire Kells and Nevada Barr, this is recommended for fans of conspiracy and political thrillers too.
PREMIUM

Crosshairs

This confidently narrated, action-packed series continues to deliver; its fans will be pleased.
PREMIUM

You’d Look Better as a Ghost

Though it’s not for the faint of heart, this chilling, grimly funny story of a most unusual serial killer will appeal to fans of TV’s Dexter and Killing Eve. Watch for Wallace’s sophomore novel, The Dead Friend Project, due soon.

A Daughter of Fair Verona

Graced with an unforgettable cast of characters that includes the delightfully indefatigable Rosie and written with a cheeky sense of wit and charm Shakespeare would be proud to claim, Dodd’s well-executed launch of her new series is absolutely brilliant.

Thrillers | Prepub Alert, December 2024 Titles

Mystery | Prepub Alert, December 2024 Titles

Read-Alikes for ‘One Perfect Couple’ by Ruth Ware | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

To Err Is Cumin

While money in a chair and a missing unknown woman are flimsy plot points, fans of the “Spice Shop” cozy mystery series will enjoy the return of favorite characters, and the spices, food, and flowers that are a treat for the senses.

Playing Dead | Two Mysteries Offering Cozy Drama

PREMIUM

Finding Sophie

An electrifying triumph and a must-listen for Mahmood’s fans and for those encountering his work for the first time. Readers of twisty thrillers in the vein of Gillian Flynn and Tana French will be riveted.
PREMIUM

The Final Act of Juliette Willoughby

Will appeal to those who enjoyed The Girls in Navy Blue by Alix Rickloff, which also uses alternating perspectives and dual timelines. Both novels deal with an apparent death and an investigation into the event.
PREMIUM

A Lovely Lie

Hendricks (I Didn’t Do It) is definitely on the rise; hand this book to fans of Karin Slaughter’s The Good Daughter.
PREMIUM

Joe Hustle

Lange is so adept at drawing his two main characters that readers won’t mind the relative lack of plot twists; the real suspense comes from seeing Joe Hustle skate by one more time.
PREMIUM

A World of Hurt

Readers who enjoy crime novels that are gritty and not one-sided will want to add this to their TBR piles.
PREMIUM

Shades of Mercy

The sequel to The Bitter Past is a little disjointed, but it’s an intense thriller capitalizing on current technology, and Borgos writes strong, capable women characters.

The Burning

The 16th Kate Burkholder mystery (following An Evil Heart) is another riveting police procedural. Despite the violence and some graphic, gruesome details, fans will be eager for the latest well-developed mystery set in Ohio’s Amish country.
PREMIUM

Middle of the Night

Red herrings abound, and there are twists aplenty in Sager’s latest (following The House Across the Lake). His signature style will leave readers dizzyingly satisfied.
PREMIUM

Dead Tired

Funny and engaging. Here’s hoping Ailes will return to the twisty, character-driven storytelling showcased in the first installment of this series.

There’s No Murder Like Show Murder

Playwright Greene brings his love and passion for musical theater to this new series. Theater fans will appreciate the behind-the-scenes knowledge, along with the small details so essential to the atmosphere of this cozy mystery.

Agony Hill

The author of the Maggie D’arcy mysteries (A Stolen Child) launches a historical mystery series with a compassionate, vulnerable detective and a setting so vividly described it could be a character. Julia Spencer-Fleming fans will want to try this one.
PREMIUM

An Intrigue of Witches

Those who enjoy a little history with their magic will find this novel difficult to put down; the plot flows seamlessly from beginning to end. Readers will look forward to the next “Secret Society Mystery.”

The Murders in Great Diddling

With its focus on books and book lovers, eccentric villagers and frauds, this first mystery from the author of The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend is a delightful traditional, filled with fascinating characters. Those who escape to Louise Penny’s Three Pines might want to check out Great Diddling.

What Have You Done?

Lapena is a master of suspense, and she doesn’t disappoint here. Her many fans and those who enjoy domestic suspense, small-town crimes, and twisty thrillers will flock to this one. Very highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The Wrong Hands

Billingham continues his Detective Miller series in style. Wryly comic, fast-paced, and sharply observed, this excellent sequel to The Last Dance will be welcomed by the author’s fans.
PREMIUM

Return to Wyldcliffe Heights

Goodman, author of two Mary Higgins Clark Award–winning novels, including The Night Visitors, will please readers who like a gothic mystery with a creepy setting and unreliable narrators. Suggest for fans of Jane Eyre.
PREMIUM

The Last Line

While Lyerly’s cozy mystery debut celebrates theater, it also shines a spotlight on Tourette’s syndrome and emphasizes that some of the manifestations are different from those shown on television. Readers of cozy mysteries interested in current topics such as sexual assault, dementia, and newspaper cutbacks might want to try this book. Suggest for fans of Mia P. Manansala.
PREMIUM

A Nest of Vipers

An interesting blend of cozy mystery and historical fiction. The real charm of this novel is found in the setting and the characters, particularly the relationship between Kaveri and Ramu.
PREMIUM

Desperation Reef

Recommended for fans of Parker’s previous works and those interested in California’s surf culture and in characters trying to move on after a painful personal loss.
PREMIUM

Sherlock Holmes and the Telegram from Hell

Meyer is an author, screenwriter, director, and life-long Holmes fan. In addition to editorial notes and photos of many characters, he also weaves real people into this fabulous tale, including Alice Roosevelt Longworth and a very young J. Edgar Hoover, all while keeping the game very much afoot. Baker Street Irregulars everywhere will enjoy this.
PREMIUM

Broiler

A third winner by a rising star of Southern noir.
PREMIUM

The Woman in the Garden

Published in England as Devil’s Breath, Johnson’s (The Time Before the Time To Come) novel, with its convoluted plot, might appeal to those who appreciate socially awkward, unreliable narrators.

One Perfect Couple

Ware (Zero Days) once again delivers the literary goods, with a cheeky sense of wit (including a “blink and you’ll miss it” nod to one of her own books), a propulsive sense of pacing, and a fiendishly clever conclusion.
PREMIUM

One of Our Kind

At times unsettling, Yoon’s narrative is a thought-provoking exploration of race and identity in modern society.
PREMIUM

The Five Year Lie

The questions mount in this techno-thriller lite that doesn’t require any heavy lifting but will have readers wondering who’s watching their doorbell cams.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?