Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

The Hollow Needle: The Further Adventures of Arsène Lupin

An intriguing classic that stands the test of time. Share with those who enjoy classic detective fiction and the popular Netflix series Lupin.
PREMIUM

Northwoods

This debut novel will surely appeal to fans of James Lee Burke and those interested in mysteries involving addiction, veterans with PTSD, and family relationships that tie everything together.
PREMIUM

The Taken Ones

Share with fans of mysteries and suspense involving intriguing women detectives who employ a hint of the supernatural.
PREMIUM

Murder at the Royal Albert

Music aficionados and readers of Nero Wolfe should enjoy spending time with the eccentric and delightfully grumpy Jacobus and his friends; this novel works even for those new to the series. Includes fun musical interludes performed by the Boston Symphony Orchestra.
PREMIUM

Leave the Lights On

This action-packed thriller offers plenty of surprises. Share with fans of Mary Kubica, Lisa Jewell, and Shari Lapena.
PREMIUM

Blood Sisters

A troubling but engrossing work for listeners seeking an atmospheric mystery highlighting the alarming number of missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls, and Two Spirit people.

Mother-Daughter Murder Night

The family dynamics are just as entertaining as the well-constructed plot in this heartwarming audiobook, perfect for listeners who enjoy lighthearted mysteries featuring strong women protagonists.
PREMIUM

The Daughters of Block Island

Thrilling psychological suspense that should appeal to fans of gothic novels and the works of Gemma Amor, Sarah Waters, and the Brontë sisters.

Bone Pendant Girls

Friedman’s fast-paced thriller is both heart-pounding and heart-wrenching. Share with fans of paranormal psychological suspense in the vein of Karen Brown’s The Clairvoyants.
PREMIUM

You Always Come Back

Will appeal to listeners seeking a twisting psychological thriller about sibling ties and terrifying secrets. Recommended for fans of Ashley Flowers, Megan Miranda, and Hannah Beckerman.
PREMIUM

Dirty Thirty

Evanovich’s many fans will love reconnecting with her likable and comic characters as the group tracks down a murderer and unravels a jewelry theft.
PREMIUM

The Wild Between Us

A gripping suspense, recommended for listeners of Lisa Unger, Ruth Ware, or Gillian Flynn.
PREMIUM

Kill Show: A True Crime Novel

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a suspenseful, fast-paced mockumentary that preys on society’s obsession with true crime. Recommended for fans of Michael Robotham, Karin Slaughter, and Lisa Jewell.
PREMIUM

The Buried Hours

Though some listeners may be intrigued by the story’s many twists, others may be exasperated by the cartoonishly evil bad guys and a heroine who allows attraction to overrule common sense.
PREMIUM

Death by Demo

Cozy mystery readers should enjoy Carpenter’s debut, the first installment in her “Home Renovation Mysteries” series. Recommended for fans of mysteries with a home-improvement bent, including Kate Carlisle’s “Fixer-Upper” novels, Jennie Bentley’s “Do-It-Yourself” books, and Sarah Graves’s “Home Repair Is Homicide” series.
PREMIUM

Unnatural Death

Cornwell’s fans will be captivated by Scarpetta’s detailed description of the retrieval and autopsies of two battered bodies. A grisly but intriguing entry in a long-running crime fiction series.
PREMIUM

This Is How We End Things

A deserted campus and surprise snowstorm create the perfect setting for Jacobs’s (Always the First To Die) exciting new suspense novel, with a wild and deadly chase and plenty of red herrings. Recommended for fans of Ruth Ware, Alex Michaelides, and Riley Sager.

Kamogawa Food Detectives

A heartwarming feast for the senses, for fans of Kim Fay’s Love and Saffron, Michiko Aoyama’s What You Are Looking for Is Inside the Library, and Hiro Arikawa’s The Goodbye Cat.
PREMIUM

The Mysterious Case of the Alperton Angels

Hallett’s well-thought-out, inventive thriller will keep listeners hooked.
PREMIUM

The Mystery Guest

Share with listeners seeking a lively, lighthearted mystery with an always-surprising amateur sleuth.
PREMIUM

First Lie Wins

Perfect for fans of thrillers with unexpected twists and ambiguous endings. Pair with Ren DeStefano’s How I’ll Kill You.
PREMIUM

Edge of the Grave

A chilling, blood-soaked gangster noir, set on the historic streets of Glasgow. Fans of the Netflix series Peaky Blinders will want to take note.

The Fury

Recommended for all thriller audio collections. Listeners who enjoy whodunits and closed-circle mysteries will want to pick this one up.
PREMIUM

Silence in Her Eyes

Will appeal to listeners seeking a fast-paced, frightening psychological novel, full of tension and twists. Recommended for fans of Rachel Hawkins, Ruth Ware, and Alice Feeney.
PREMIUM

Resurrection Walk

Haller and Bosch fans will not be able to stop listening to this expertly narrated, suspenseful courtroom drama.
PREMIUM

Ilium

Carpenter (Eleven Days) offers a literary thriller that is poignant, delicately dramatic, and lyrical. Share with listeners seeking a nuanced espionage story like Rebecca Starford’s An Unlikely Spy.
PREMIUM

Fall

Recommend Clark’s series to fans of police detective procedurals and domestic suspense.
PREMIUM

The Other Half

A good fit for listeners seeking a mash-up of mystery and suspenseful satire about entitled, irreverent English aristocrats. Recommended for fans of Gillian McAllister, Cate Ray, and Jillian Medoff.
PREMIUM

Baking Spirits Bright

Bursting with picture-perfect holiday charm, plenty of red herrings, and even a little romance, Fox’s latest cozy mystery is great fun.

The Other Mothers

An excellent addition to any mystery/thriller collection and a great recommendation for listeners seeking a gripping and increasingly claustrophobic story set among the polished elite.
PREMIUM

Sniffing Out Murder

This cozy mystery is a quick and easy listen that will leave audiences begging for the next in the series.

The Lies You Wrote

This series opener shows potential to join the ranks of Patricia Cornwell in terms of creating compelling characters, a surprising story, and satisfyingly complicated motivations.
PREMIUM

The Guests

Will appeal to listeners seeking a fast-paced, family-centered suspense. Recommended for fans of Joy Fielding, Robyn Harding, and Adrian McKinty.
PREMIUM

The Last Devil To Die

Osman doesn’t miss a beat with this mystery that is equal parts funny, clever, and heartbreaking. Listeners will relish another visit with the members of the Thursday Murder Club.
PREMIUM

The Search Party

A perfect fit for those who enjoy untangling the threads in a closed-circle mystery. Recommended for fans of Ruth Ware and Lucy Foley.
PREMIUM

Alex Cross Must Die

Patterson’s devotees will be pleased with this latest action-packed entry in a beloved series. Fans will want to hear more about Alex’s family members, who play pivotal roles in the plot.
PREMIUM

The Twelve Days of Murder

This twisty locked-room murder mystery will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and other Golden Age mysteries or who enjoy murder mixed with holiday merriment.
PREMIUM

Please Tell Me

Highly recommended for listeners who enjoy mysteries and thrillers, with a doozy of a twist at the end.
PREMIUM

The Exchange: After The Firm

Grisham always brings in an audience, so expect high demand for this fast-paced thriller.
PREMIUM

West Heart Kill

Will appeal to listeners seeking a murder mystery twist that blends an in-depth dissection of the genre with an engrossing investigation. Recommended for fans of Alex Michaelides, Anthony Horowitz, and Sophie Hannah.
PREMIUM

#CrimeTime: An Audio Original

Will appeal to listeners seeking a quick, campy crime novel in a fun audio format. Recommended for fans of the Hulu series, Only Murders in the Building.

The Frozen River

This layered, atmospheric listen captivates. A must-have for any historical mystery collection.
PREMIUM

One of Our Own: An Audio Original Thriller

Will appeal to listeners seeking a short but nerve-wracking psychological thriller about crimes that hit too close to home. Recommended for fans of Joy Fielding and Kiersten Modglin.
PREMIUM

While We Were Burning

Although the premise is great, the execution leaves something to be desired.

Home Fires

The sequel to Dangerous Consequences is an outstanding police procedural that plunges readers into a community’s nightmare. Readers of Steven F. Havill and Bill Crider will appreciate the novel’s focus on small-town life and a local police force.
PREMIUM

Smoke and Mirrors

After four books, the story arc Hilliard began in The Unkindness of Ravens is resolved, with hints of a new mystery to come. Fans of TV’s Only Murders in the Building might appreciate this series, though they should start with the first installment.
PREMIUM

The Perils of Lady Catherine de Bourgh

Gray continues to faithfully recreate the world of Jane Austen’s novels in this delightful third book in her series (following The Late Mrs. Willoughby). As always, the characters and plot are engaging, with a satisfying denouement. Gray sensitively portrays the neurodivergent Jonathan while highlighting the real challenges he faces.
PREMIUM

The Seminarian

The creator and writer of the TV show Bones introduces a wacky cast of characters in his second fast-paced, action-packed novel (after The Driver). For fans of Tim Dorsey’s Serge A. Storms novels.
PREMIUM

Perfect Opportunity

One of the best installments in a consistently superior series of regional mysteries.
PREMIUM

Only One Survives

For readers eagerly awaiting the return of Yellowjackets, this novel from McKinnon (The Revenge List) blends the musical highs of Taylor Jenkins Reid’s Daisy Jones and the Six with the darkness of The Girls by Emma Cline in a twisty thriller that is hard to resist.

Daughter of Mine

Miranda has arguably written her best book to date, and she has another guaranteed best seller on her hands.

A Collection of Lies

Berry’s fifth Kate Hamilton novel, following The Shadow of Memory, combines a cold case and contemporary murder in an outstanding traditional mystery. Fans of Kate Ellis and Jane K. Cleland will appreciate this book.

The Last Note of Warning

The characters and plot come alive in this atmospheric historical mystery. For readers who enjoy a well-told Jazz Age mystery featuring working-class and queer characters.

Hall of Mirrors

The second in the Nightingale trilogy, following The Savage Kind, is a mystery, but the historical elements add complexity as the author explores issues of passing as straight or white, concealing an identity at a time of physical and emotional violence toward LGBTQIA+ and Black people.

Such a Bad Influence

A smart and intelligent thriller that is a not-to-be-missed page-turner. Buy multiples because this one has the making of a big best seller.

The Last Word

This satisfyingly twisty cozy from the author of the marvelous Ruth Galloway mysteries will be utter catnip for current Griffiths fans and will have new readers begging for more.
PREMIUM

Murder, She Wrote: Murder Backstage

Although the mystery is slight, the sequel to Murder, She Wrote: Fit for Murder will appeal to fans of the cozy series who enjoy the reappearance of familiar characters.

Every Time I Go on Vacation, Someone Dies

This humorous mystery with a touch of romance was auctioned to Fox TV for development as a series, with Mack writing the pilot. For fans of Knives Out or E.J. Copperman’s “Jersey Girl Legal Mysteries.”

Read-Alikes for ‘End of Story’ by A.J. Finn | LibraryReads

‘A Lonesome Place for Dying’ by Nolan Chase | Mystery Pick of the Month

Thrillers | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Mystery | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

The Exclusive

Fans who enjoy journalist sleuths, likable stars, and the novels of Michael Connelly and Hank Phillippi Ryan will find this hard to put down.
PREMIUM

Smoke Kings

In this story with an impassioned plotline and an assortment of complex characters, Mayfield approaches an often controversial subject with nuance, ushering in an array of perspectives from his dramatis personae. A brilliant debut from a promising talent.
PREMIUM

Seed on the Wind

One of the most ingenious plotters ever, Stout keeps readers guessing in this compelling saga, a curious forerunner to Ross Macdonald.
PREMIUM

A Deadly Walk in Devon

A fresh concept for a new series that offers readers the chance to see the English countryside. Those who enjoy Steve Burrows’s birding mysteries may want to try this nature-heavy cozy.

A Lonesome Place for Dying

Chase (author of the Dave Wakeland detective novels under the name Sam Wiebe) debuts his lonesome, reflective lawman with this well-written, complex case. Fans of Craig Johnson’s Longmire will enjoy.

The Innocents

The sequel to The Tumbling Girl is another entertaining, well-researched historical mystery, good for fans of Masterpiece Mystery’s Miss Scarlet and the Duke. As before, the working people behind the scenes at the music hall are the stars.
PREMIUM

To Slip the Bonds of Earth

Fans of Flower’s Agatha Award–winning mystery featuring Emily Dickinson, Because I Could Not Stop for Death, will appreciate the details in her new slow-paced novel featuring a strong, often-overlooked historical figure.

Cold to the Touch

Alaska in the winter and a likable protagonist come to life in this excellent, fast-paced police procedural. Suggest for fans of Harlan Coben or Lissa Marie Redmond.

Blood Red Summer

The intriguing sequel to Something Bad Wrong utilizes dual timelines and three voices that contrast styles of crime coverage in a Southern noir story of violence, corruption, and racism. For fans of true-crime podcasts or S.A. Cosby.
PREMIUM

Matterhorn

This would make a great movie, and fans of the Bond tales and special-ops action novels should add this to their reading lists
PREMIUM

Twice the Trouble

Fans of antiheroes and flawed characters will enjoy this action-packed, nonstop adventure.
PREMIUM

A Midnight Puzzle

This locked-room mystery is a fun read for cozy fans, especially those who have kept up with Pandian’s series.
PREMIUM

She Left

Unreliable narrator Brewer bases her knowledge of the case on her memories as a teen in this novel by Grey (author of A Dismal Harvest under the name Daisy Bateman). Good for fans of Rachel Howzell Hall, Ruth Ware, and Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None.
PREMIUM

A Murder Most French

Wonderfully set, characterized, and paced, this is another winner in a delightful series. Add it to sure-bet lists and suggest to readers wanting to sink into a good story.

Death in the Details

Inspired by the real-life mother of forensic science, Frances Glessner Lee, this fascinating, solid debut will appeal to historical mystery readers who enjoy novels based on actual people. Suggest for fans of Michael Oren’s Swann’s War.
PREMIUM

The Silver Bone

A winning offbeat crime novel that begs for a sequel.

The Hunter’s Daughter

A mix of Karen Dionne’s The Marsh King’s Daughter and Thomas Harris’s The Silence of the Lambs, this impressive novel spotlights the difficulty of escaping a troubling past. Add some supernatural elements, and the result is a tale to remember.
PREMIUM

Pay Dirt

History buffs will appreciate Paretsky’s exploration of Kansas’s violent past, while V.I. fans will be eager to read the latest in the award-winning series (after Overboard).

The Rumor Game

Attractive characters, plenty of action, and a solid grasp of history make this a superior thriller and also a snapshot of a particularly shameful moment in the history of the United States.
PREMIUM

The Sight

A bleak but thrilling listen, providing an atmospheric glimpse into the inner workings and superstitions of carnival life. Share with listeners seeking character-driven, supernatural suspense.

Read-Alikes for ‘Random in Death’ by J.D. Robb | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

The Hunter

With quicksilver dialogue and deep characterizations, French portrays the Ardnakelty villagers’ “gift of gab” and the roiling emotions beneath the banter splendidly. A few plot points strain credulity, but it’s a treat for French’s many fans and for readers who prefer realistic Irish characters and settings.
PREMIUM

A Killer Romance

A slightly more serious cozy mystery from Blackburn (Once Upon a Seaside Murder), touching on family issues and illegal drugs, but with all of the warm hometown setting and entertaining supporting characters that cozy readers enjoy.
PREMIUM

Last Word to the Wise

The second “Christie Bookshop” novel, after Dead and Gondola, is a delightful escape to a Colorado mountainside, featuring fun family exploits and a delightful scene-stealing cat.
PREMIUM

Fatal First Edition

Fans of McKinlay’s library-themed series may wish for more scenes set in a library, but returning characters still manage to show up in this 14th series entry, after The Plot and the Pendulum.

The Excitements

An unconventional mystery with heart and wit, perfect for readers who love historical fiction, heists, and cunning elderly protagonists.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Fury’ by Alex Michaelides | LibraryReads

Mystery | Prepub Alert, July 2024 Titles

Thrillers | Prepub Alert, July 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Confessions of an Antichrist

Extra sharp and disgustingly hilarious; you’d be hard pressed to find a reader not offended by it.
PREMIUM

The Clinic

Readers who enjoy suspense stories with characters who “go inside” institutions to investigate, such as Helen Fields’s The Institution, will enjoy this title.

Murder Road

St. James’s (The Book of Cold Cases) intricate plot skillfully mixes gumshoe detective work with unexpected supernatural chills, not to mention winning characters that easily earn readers’ affection. This highly recommended title will thrill fans of St. James’s work and earn new ones along the way.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Heiress’ by Rachel Hawkins | LibraryReads

‘The Unquiet Bones’ by Loreth Anne White | Mystery Pick of the Month

PREMIUM

Poisoned Prose

Will appeal to listeners seeking a cozy paranormal mystery full of wit, whimsy, and witches. Recommended for fans of Tamara Berry, Casey Daniels, and Carol J. Perry.
PREMIUM

The Long Ago

Crime and Western writer McGarrity’s latest is different but no less compelling than his usual fare. For readers of Jane Harper, Meghan Miranda, and C.J. Tudor.
PREMIUM

The Young of Other Animals

Suggest to readers who aren’t squeamish about violence toward animals and those who appreciate a mother’s redemption arc.
PREMIUM

Off the Air

Fans of journalistic mysteries will appreciate Estes’s debut, which draws favorable comparisons to Hank Phillippi Ryan’s Jane Ryland series.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?