Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Dark Woods, Deep Water

A must-listen for fans of folklore and fantasy with an Eastern European bent. Tense and captivating.
PREMIUM

Mothtown

Mournful meets ominous in this genre-bender, perfect for fans of gothic surrealism or the New Weird and narrated with compelling intimacy.★
PREMIUM

The Book of Doors

A complex, deftly plotted novel full of brutal violence and great joy, the bonds of friendship, and unique magic. Highly recommended.

Convergence Problems

A collection of entertaining, thought-provoking speculative fiction that will send listeners searching for Talabi’s other works.
PREMIUM

Those Beyond the Wall

This thrilling sequel exploring justice and change would enhance any audio sci-fi collection.
PREMIUM

After World

An unconventional postapocalyptic story recommended for fans of Brandon Ying Kit Boey’s Karma of the Sun and Nick Fuller Googins’s The Great Transition.

The Warm Hands of Ghosts

The combination of a riveting story and excellent audio narration makes this a must-have for most libraries.

Your Utopia: Stories

A genius collection of enticing tales, sure to create more fans for both the author and the narrator.

The Tusks of Extinction

This novel is made for fans of character-driven ecofiction like Lee Mandelo’s Feed Them Silence and Octavia E. Butler’s Parable of the Sower.
PREMIUM

River Mumma

A fast-paced tale that draws from Jamaican folklore and Canadian pop culture. Recommended for listeners seeking a layered story that interweaves past, present, and future.
PREMIUM

This World Is Not Yours

Readers will find themselves thrilled and chilled by this planet-based monster tale from Ashing-Giwa (The Splinter in the Sky) that will appeal to readers who like sci-fi horror, such as Ghost Station by S.A. Barnes and the creepiest parts of Cassandra Khaw’s eldritch worldbuilding.

The Black Bird Oracle

Marked by Harkness’s deft evocations and appreciation of learning, this is a book to treasure. The portentous ending, rife with new story threads and threats, will leave readers hoping that she doesn’t wait another six years to continue the series.
PREMIUM

Rumor Has It

The third outing for this alien crew is filled with action, high emotions, and hijinks.
PREMIUM

She Who Knows: Firespitter

Readers who fell hard for Okorafor’s award-winning Who Fears Death (recently optioned by HBO, with George R.R. Martin at the helm) will be thrilled to read this novel that dives deeply into the backstory of one of the fundamental but mysterious characters in that tale. Those who enjoyed Shadow Speaker will find a story with a similar form but featuring a much-deadlier young woman who defies the rules that are intended to reduce and confine her gifts and her spirit.

The Mercy of Gods

Nail-biting suspense makes for an engaging and compulsively readable intro to yet another ambitious series from this writing team.

The Lost Story

Readers will find this an absolutely immersive pleasure to read. Shaffer delivers an unforgettable and nostalgic experience, especially for fans of “The Chronicles of Narnia” by C.S. Lewis or fairy-tale retellings.
PREMIUM

The Dollmakers: A Novel from the Fallen Peaks

Though the unlikable protagonist may discourage some readers, Buchanan’s novel echoes with alluring nostalgia that’s sure to ensnare others to the very end.
PREMIUM

The Crimson Crown

Walter’s (Misrule) adoration of the villains in fairy tales once again comes to life in a queer backstory for the witch queen from “Snow White.” Her prose compels readers’ empathy as she builds the richly complex story of a young woman looking to save the one she loves most.

Full Speed to a Crash Landing

Readers looking for a wild romp of a sci-fi caper story, complete with long games, big plans, wild heists, and epically flirtatious banter, are going to fall in love with Ada Lamarr every bit as much as Agent Rian White does in this first of a projected trilogy from Revis (Museum of Magic). Perfect for fans of Valerie Valdes and Constance Fay.
PREMIUM

Swordcrossed

Marske’s (A Power Unbound) latest may seem low-stakes, but the romantic tropes are delightful, the worldbuilding is vivid, and the cast of characters all lend a hand in creating a cozy fantasy with heat and heart.

Time’s Agent

Fans of Carmen Maria Machado will find in this debut novelist a new author to follow every bit as voraciously.

The Price of Redemption

There’s plenty to savor in this first book in the “Tides of Magic” trilogy for fans of Patrick O’Brian’s “Aubrey/Maturin” novels, readers seeking a new fantasy to fill the void left by the end of Naomi Novik’s “Temeraire” series, lovers of Our Flag Means Death, those looking for a less-cozy take on Rebecca Thorne’s Can’t Spell Treason Without Tea, and anyone who’d like to rehash the Napoleonic Wars with a compelling narrative, great characters, swashbuckling derring-do, and epic, heartbreaking betrayals.
PREMIUM

Lady Macbeth

Reid (Juniper &Thorn) takes some interesting liberties with this renowned Shakespeare character, and centering her retelling on a woman’s point of view will draw interest. The novel’s fantastical elements, like the witches, are exciting, and the multilingual prose is historically compelling.
PREMIUM

A Song of Ash and Moonlight

The characters could be further developed, but Legrand has created a lush and atmospheric world in which magic and peril are all around, immersing readers at every turn. Fans of Sarah J. Maas might enjoy this series.
PREMIUM

Between Dragons and Their Wrath

Madson’s (We Dream of Gods) skillful prose weaves a story of political intrigue, personal connections, and dragons. Readers will want to know where the protagonists’ destinies lead them after this first in a projected trilogy.
PREMIUM

The Dissonance

A great pick for fans of Stephen King’s It, only with a more fantastical and angsty edge.
PREMIUM

Blood of the Old Kings

Readers will crave further works from Kim after reading his English-language debut, the first in a trilogy. While waiting for the next installment, suggest Robert Jackson Bennett’s The Tainted Cup, Shannon Chakraborty’s The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi, and Naomi Novik’s A Deadly Education for a similar experience.

Toward Eternity

Hur’s thought-provoking novel will appeal to readers who love gripping metaphysical science fiction, such as Adrian Tchaikovsky’s Children of Memory or Robert J. Sawyer’s Calculating God.

The Moonlight Market

This sometimes unsettling yet consistently delightful fairy tale feels like a marriage of the clever schemes of Trip Galey’s A Market of Dreams and Destiny and the metaphors of Kelly Barnhill’s The Crane Husband.
PREMIUM

Glass Houses

Ashby (ReV) has created an eerily familiar future world and characters who are both sympathetic and horrific. Give to fans of Patricia Highsmith and Naomi Alderman.
PREMIUM

A Song To Drown Rivers

YA author Liang’s (I Hope This Doesn’t Find You) adult debut will appeal to those who enjoy retellings blending history and myth.

This Great Hemisphere

A stunning and compelling work of social justice speculative fiction from Askaripour (Black Buck).

The Fox Wife

Highly recommended for readers of fantasy mysteries, fans of Elsa Hart’s Jade Dragon Mountain, and anyone who enjoys stories of unreliable narrators where magic is hidden in plain sight. Choo’s (The Night Tiger) latest is magical, lyrical, and utterly compelling.
PREMIUM

Black Shield Maiden

This debut from singer/songwriter/activist Smith and screenwriter Hendel is recommended for readers of alternate and fantasy history in which women seize power and hold it in spite of the forces arrayed against them.

Sapphic Space | SFF Mysteries

Romantasy | Prepub Alert, November 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Vol. 40: The Best New SF & Fantasy of the Year

The latest entry in this annual series has something for every SF and fantasy reader, from the blackness of space to the power of magic and all of the places and planes in between.
PREMIUM

The Sword Unbound

Hanrahan’s sword-and-sorcery series is perfect for fans of The Witcher.

Asunder

This compelling mix of horror, found family, and intricate mythology will appeal to those who loved Winter Tide by Ruthanna Emrys and The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin.
PREMIUM

The Witchstone

Neff’s rollicking fantasy novel is a hilarious delight, filled with fun twists and turns and a demon to root for.
PREMIUM

Yoke of Stars

Lemberg once again (after Geometries of Belonging) draws readers into their storyverse, playing with names, identities, and language itself. Alternating points of view show how separate paths can come together in more ways than one, highlighting the deeper connection of people, no matter their background.
PREMIUM

Haunt Sweet Home

Pinsker’s (Lost Places) evocative prose turns an amusing reality-show backdrop into a haunting story of hiding from (and discovering) oneself.
PREMIUM

Blackheart Man

Much like the Blackheart Man of legend, readers will be swallowed whole by this novel and reemerge completely changed.

Daughter of the Merciful Deep

Fans of Penelope’s The Monsters We Defy will be thrilled, while readers of The Deep by Rivers Solomon, In the Shadow of the Fall by Tobi Ogundiran, and The Ballad of Perilous Graves by Alex Jennings will find another novel that sings of hope and magic.
PREMIUM

Navola

For readers who enjoy fantasy full of political and family intrigue, such as A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin, and for those who like coming-of-age stories focusing on a young man’s battles, such as The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss.
PREMIUM

The Sky on Fire

Lyons’s (The Discord of Gods) latest will add to the dragon frenzy while also appealing to readers who enjoy heist stories and action-packed fantasy. Comparisons to Anne McCaffrey’s “Dragonriders of Pern” series are spot on.
PREMIUM

Navigational Entanglements

Readers of SF mysteries inflected with sapphic romance and political or corporate shenanigans, such as Lady Eve’s Last Con by Rebecca Fraimow and Station Eternity by Mur Lafferty, will become entangled in the latest from de Bodard (Fireheart Tiger).

The Runes of Engagement

The collaboration by Buckell (A Stranger in the Citadel) and debuter Klecha is tons of fun and full of geeky references and in-jokes. Will be catnip to readers who love this combination of military SF, alternate history, and fantasy.
PREMIUM

Lady Eve’s Last Con

Readers who have fallen hard for the recent run of SF caper mysteries, such as The Spare Man by Mary Robinette Kowal, Floating Hotel by Grace Curtis, and You Sexy Thing by Cat Rambo, will find similar thrills in this debut.
PREMIUM

These Deathless Shores

A gritty, immersive Peter Pan retelling with a Malaysian-inspired setting that flips the narrative on its head. Readers will enjoy the familiar tale in Low’s resonant prose.
PREMIUM

The Fallen Fruit

A unique speculative story that could have been further developed.

A Sorceress Comes To Call

Highly recommended for readers who enjoy reimagined legends.

The God and the Gumiho

YA author Kim’s (Last of the Talons) adult debut is an action-filled contemporary fantasy based in Korean mythology, featuring morally gray characters and a little heat.
PREMIUM

Unexploded Remnants

An ambitious debut that delivers high-stakes action sequences and intriguing characters.

Science Fiction & Fantasy | Prepub Alert, November 2024 Titles

‘The God and the Gumiho’ by Sophie Kim | SFF Pick of the Month

PREMIUM

The Other Valley

Beautifully imagined speculative fiction. This stirring portrait of one woman’s determination to survive and right the wrongs of the past will resonate with fans of Caroline Hardaker’s Mothtown.
PREMIUM

The Inhumans and Other Stories: A Collection of Bengali Science Fiction

Adopting yet subtly subverting the prevalent imperialist biases of their day, these popular tales offer a diverting glimpse of the cultural ferment and ambivalence of late colonial Bengal.

Cozy Science Fiction and Fantasy

'Masquerade' by O.O. Sangoyomi | SFF Debut of the Month

Read-Alikes for ‘The Familiar’ by Leigh Bardugo | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Dreadful

Silly but earnest, this cozy fantasy will appeal to fans of TJ Klune and Travis Baldree.

‘Rakesfall' by Vajra Chandrasekera | SFF Pick of the Month

Science Fiction & Fantasy | Prepub Alert, October 2024 Titles

Romantasy | Prepub Alert, October 2024 Titles

The Bright Sword: A Novel of King Arthur

Highly recommended for readers who can’t resist a story featuring brave knights, stalwart queens, and magic.

The Fall of Waterstone

Saintcrow’s attention to detail and fantastical worldbuilding, inspired by Norse Viking legends and places, merits her series’ comparison to classic epic fantasies like J.R.R. Tolkien’s “Lord of the Rings” and Robert Jordan’s “Wheel of Time.”
PREMIUM

In Our Stars

Campbell asks powerful questions about the way social structures collapse and how the loudest voices take advantage, all in a pulse-pounding adventure about saving the world and staying one step ahead of the forces that would destroy it.

The Daughters’ War

Readers who were caught up in the political shenanigans, hopeless battles, and pyrrhic victories of Brian McClellan’s In the Shadow of Lightning or Daniel Abraham’s Age of Ash will be enthralled, while those who like their grimdark fantasy to trip over into horror will find similarities between the characters of Galva and Alex Easton from T. Kingfisher’s What Feasts at Night.
PREMIUM

The Spice Gate

This is a sweeping, smart, and heartfelt tale that is perfect for readers who enjoy action-packed epic fantasy about family, survival, and the steadfast strength of the oppressed.
PREMIUM

Running Close to the Wind

Rowland (A Taste of Iron and Gold) dials up the humor, innuendo, and laugh-out-loud escapades in this pirate novel. Fans of the show Our Flag Means Death should definitely take a look.
PREMIUM

In the Shadow of the Fall

In Ogundiran’s (Jackal, Jackal) West African–based epic fantasy, the first in a duology, Ashâke learns the truths of her world and becomes a linchpin in the coming conflict between gods and godslayers. A sure hit for fans of Suyi Davies Okungbowa, Moses Ose Utomi, and N.K. Jemisin.
PREMIUM

We Speak Through the Mountain

Readers of hopepunk that asks difficult questions will find plenty to think about in Mohamed’s follow-up to The Annual Migration of Clouds.
PREMIUM

Queen B: The Story of Anne Boleyn, Witch Queen

This prequel to Her Majesty’s Royal Coven leans into the real history of Anne Boleyn and creates a delightful origin story for the series.

Rakesfall

In Chandrasekera’s (The Saint of Bright Doors) newest, the characters’ journey through fantastical worlds across millennia is reminiscent of This Is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone. Recommended for fans of ambitious speculative fiction that tackles systems of oppression in fresh ways.
PREMIUM

Moonbound

The depth of ideas in Sloan’s excellent new book will entice readers who enjoyed James S.A. Corey’s “Expanse” series.

The West Passage

This fascinating debut nestles in the intersection between T. Kingfisher’s whimsicality and Premee Mohamed’s far-too-local old gods.
PREMIUM

Blood Jade

The follow-up to Ebony Gate continues to build a delightful world of family magic, Japanese culture and diaspora, and strong ties of loyalty and friendship.
PREMIUM

The Undermining of Twyla and Frank

Bannen brings readers back to Tanria (after The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy) in another charming romantasy full of humor and adventure.
PREMIUM

Treacle Walker

Garner’s latest evokes Pullman’s “His Dark Materials” trilogy with the joining of philosophy and childhood perspectives.
PREMIUM

Salt & Broom

Fans of magical retellings will delight in Jane’s newfound powers in this blend of witchy gothic romance and supernatural cozy mystery. Share with listeners who enjoyed the similar setting and mystery in B.R. Myers’s A Dreadful Splendor.

Fifty Beasts To Break Your Heart

An alluring exploration of relationships through a fantastical lens that may appeal to those who enjoyed Cassandra Khaw’s The Salt Grows Heavy or Kelly Barnhill’s The Crane Husband.
PREMIUM

The Night Ends with Fire

Song’s (An Echo in the City) poetic prose brings together cardinal spirits, a flawed protagonist, and a plot inspired by the legend of Mulan.
PREMIUM

I’m Afraid You’ve Got Dragons

A high fantasy that’s also cozy, the latest from Beagle (The Way Home; The Last Unicorn) is recommended for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and Travis Baldree’s Bookshops & Bonedust.
PREMIUM

The Unrelenting Earth

A great pick for fans of Martha Wells or those who enjoy inventive sci-fi fantasy with emotional stakes.

Masquerade

Richly detailed worldbuilding and inspiration from the Persephone myth all lend to a layered, immersive storyline in Sangoyomi’s debut.
PREMIUM

Gravity Lost

The second entry in the “Ambit’s Run” series is perfect for readers who want a cozy sci-fi that doesn’t sacrifice an exciting plot.
PREMIUM

Daughter of Calamity

While Lin’s debut starts slowly, historical fantasy enthusiasts will be delighted by the worldbuilding.

Dazzling Fantasy Debuts

Science Fiction & Fantasy | Prepub Alert, September 2024 Titles

‘Service Model’ by Adrian Tchaikovsky | SFF Pick of the Month

PREMIUM

The Coven

This previously self-published title by Woods (What Lurks Between the Fates) is highly recommended for those who delight in anti-heroes, carnal hate sex, and danger around every corner. Perfect for fans of Jennifer Armentrout, Carissa Broadbent, and anyone who loves the trend of romantasy in an academic setting like Rebecca Yarros’s “Empyrean” series.
PREMIUM

Iron Flame

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking an intense, exhilarating epic fantasy. Not suitable as a stand-alone; the series is slated to be a quintet, so resolution will be deferred. Recommended for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Terry Brooks.
PREMIUM

The Future

Alderman’s The Power, which was recently made into a popular television series, continues to attract attention; libraries should expect high demand for this twisty and emotionally resonant vision of the future.
PREMIUM

Thornhedge

With a running time of fewer than four hours, this is perfect for short road trips. Recommend to faerie and folk tale fans who enjoyed Seanan McGuire’s “Wayward Children” series or Kell Woods’s After the Forest.
PREMIUM

Saevus Corax Deals with the Dead

A must for fans of the lighter side of grimdark and morally gray characters like Shannack from Christopher Buehlman’s The Blacktongue Thief.
PREMIUM

Yours for the Taking

While some listeners might wish for more robust characterizations, this speculative look at the cost of capitalist feminism intrigues. For fans of Brey Willows’s Chosen.
PREMIUM

The Shadow Speaker

Lyrical, emotive narration enhances a compelling coming-of-age novel, the first in a duology perfect for any audio fantasy collection.
PREMIUM

System Collapse

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking an immersive, engaging sci-fi series with short, fast-paced installments; as a continuation of the Network Effect storyline, this is not ideal as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Ann Leckie, Andy Weir, and Iain Banks.
PREMIUM

A Season of Monstrous Conceptions

With notes of cosmic horror and fantasy, Rather’s haunting tale inscribes the struggles of people on the margins seeking stability while discovering their talents and self-worth.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?