Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

The Wharton Plot

Listeners will be captivated by the elegant setting and the inclusion of real details and people from Edith Wharton’s life. A winning historical mystery.
PREMIUM

The Antique Hunter’s Guide to Murder

Miller’s debut is a delightful adventure mystery for lovers of expert, emotionally layered protagonists with a bit of humor, from Allison Montclair’s Sparks and Bainbridge to Elizabeth Peters’s Vicky Bliss.

The Good, the Bad, and the Aunties

Recommended for all libraries. Sutanto’s third and final installment in the “Aunties” series will surely fill listeners with joy whether they’re fans of the series or just getting started.
PREMIUM

Village in the Dark

Riveting crime fiction, full of twists, turns, and hidden dangers, is enhanced by the remote Alaskan setting. A surprise ending will leave listeners anxiously awaiting the next installment in this compelling series.
PREMIUM

Three-Inch Teeth

Newbies and series fans will be on the edge of their seats.
PREMIUM

Finlay Donovan Rolls the Dice

Revisiting Finlay, as performed by Dawe, is an iconic experience.
PREMIUM

The Hunter

French’s slow-burn mystery about small-town insularity, loyalty, and vengeance captivates. French’s many fans will have this on their lists, but it’s a great fit for fans of Gillian Flynn and Jane Harper, too.
PREMIUM

Barbacoa, Bomba, and Betrayal

A fun and vibrant mystery, perfect for enjoying at the beach or on vacation.

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd

A unique Christie classic is given its due thanks to the engaging talents of veteran radio actor Jones. Broadly recommended and a must-listen for fans of Christie, detective fiction, English manor house mysteries, and Jones’s earlier audio work.
PREMIUM

The Lace Widow

A layered and satisfying historical mystery.
PREMIUM

A Pie To Die For

A delicious magical cozy to entice listeners new to the subgenre.

Maude Horton’s Glorious Revenge

Highly recommended historical suspense featuring an irresistible heroine.

Murder at an Irish Chipper

A deliciously slippery mystery that blends classic genre tropes with modern investigative tools.
PREMIUM

Almost Surely Dead

A suspenseful psychological thriller, steeped in Pakistani folklore.
PREMIUM

Where They Lie

This debut covers a time period and place not often seen in mysteries and will attract interest.
PREMIUM

Death at a Scottish Christmas

The investigation is slow-paced in the sequel to Death at a Scottish Wedding, but the various holiday celebrations and Em’s new friends make up for the flat ending. For fans of Carlene O’Connor’s County Kerry mysteries.
PREMIUM

Like Mother, like Daughter

Bestselling McCreight (Friends Like These) expertly orchestrates mother-daughter dynamics to build additional layers of tension onto a fast-paced and twisted plotline. Pair with Pieces of Her by Karin Slaughter.

Ladykiller

Debut author Wood has expertly mixed romance with mystery in a novel that leaves more questions than answers. This fast-paced thriller will work well for book clubs and fans of the unreliable narrator trope.
PREMIUM

A Scandal in Mayfair

The strong characters will appeal to readers of the Bridgerton romances, as well as those who appreciate Georgette Heyer’s stories.
PREMIUM

A Talent for Murder

Fans will devour this third book in the Lily Kintner/Henry Kimball series (after The Kind Worth Saving). Swanson delivers a tense psychological thriller teeming with deliciously complex characters, unsettling plot twists, and several harrowing scenes that will move readers to the edge of their seat. This bird’s-eye view into the mind of a killer is definitely not for the faint of heart.
PREMIUM

A Killer Clue

The sequel to A Cryptic Clue, with its red herrings, missing books, and charming detecting duo, is a traditional cozy mystery that will appeal to fans of Kate Carlisle and Jenn McKinlay.
PREMIUM

Wordhunter

For readers who enjoy chilling mysteries and thrillers. Fans of strong character-building will delight in watching Maggie and Jackson’s partnership bring out their individual strengths. A somewhat open ending suggests that more installments are planned.
PREMIUM

It Had To Be You

Think Hitchcock’s films or Patricia Highsmith’s Ripley books, but with sex and violence unflinchingly detailed on the page.

Hope To Die

Inspired by a real-life crime in Australia, the sixth DI Fawley novel (following The Whole Truth) is an intricate, carefully plotted police procedural comparable to the best of Ann Cleeves’s Vera novels or Louise Penny’s mysteries. The mixed media used in the book adds to its appeal.

Talking to Strangers

This latest from best-selling Barton (Local Gone Missing) is a twisty and highly satisfying nail-biter that will have her fans and new readers burning the midnight oil.
PREMIUM

The Dark Wives

The conclusion to this novel feels abrupt, but fans of Cleeve’s complex, character-driven Vera series will be pleased with this latest installment, the sequel to The Rising Tide.
PREMIUM

Now You Owe Me

Well-crafted characters will draw in readers, and an intricately woven plot will keep them in their seats. Recommended for fans of Tana French, Gillian Flynn, and Karin Slaughter.

Gathering Mist

The sequel to Standing Dead sends Mattie and Robo to a difficult search environment. The story of the search, and the setting, are beautifully developed in a mystery that builds in intensity and suspense. Readers who enjoy Sara Driscoll’s “FBI K-9” books will appreciate the emphasis on search-and-rescue dogs in Mizushima’s series.
PREMIUM

Furever After

Although the 16th in Kelly’s “Magical Cats Mystery” series (after Paws To Remember) is, like the others, a cozy mystery, it’s also a story of chosen family. Fans of the series and romantic cozies will enjoy the wedding and “happily ever after” premise.
PREMIUM

The Summer of Love and Death

McCreary’s entertaining police procedural stands apart with its rich characterization and exploration of life’s complexities beyond the central crime. This is a series to watch and to suggest to fans of Ellen Hart’s Jane Lawless novels.

A Daughter of Fair Verona

Graced with an unforgettable cast of characters that includes the delightfully indefatigable Rosie and written with a cheeky sense of wit and charm Shakespeare would be proud to claim, Dodd’s well-executed launch of her new series is absolutely brilliant.

Mystery | Prepub Alert, December 2024 Titles

Read-Alikes for ‘One Perfect Couple’ by Ruth Ware | LibraryReads

Thrillers | Prepub Alert, December 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

To Err Is Cumin

While money in a chair and a missing unknown woman are flimsy plot points, fans of the “Spice Shop” cozy mystery series will enjoy the return of favorite characters, and the spices, food, and flowers that are a treat for the senses.

Playing Dead | Two Mysteries Offering Cozy Drama

PREMIUM

Finding Sophie

An electrifying triumph and a must-listen for Mahmood’s fans and for those encountering his work for the first time. Readers of twisty thrillers in the vein of Gillian Flynn and Tana French will be riveted.
PREMIUM

The Final Act of Juliette Willoughby

Will appeal to those who enjoyed The Girls in Navy Blue by Alix Rickloff, which also uses alternating perspectives and dual timelines. Both novels deal with an apparent death and an investigation into the event.
PREMIUM

A Lovely Lie

Hendricks (I Didn’t Do It) is definitely on the rise; hand this book to fans of Karin Slaughter’s The Good Daughter.
PREMIUM

Joe Hustle

Lange is so adept at drawing his two main characters that readers won’t mind the relative lack of plot twists; the real suspense comes from seeing Joe Hustle skate by one more time.
PREMIUM

A World of Hurt

Readers who enjoy crime novels that are gritty and not one-sided will want to add this to their TBR piles.
PREMIUM

Shades of Mercy

The sequel to The Bitter Past is a little disjointed, but it’s an intense thriller capitalizing on current technology, and Borgos writes strong, capable women characters.

The Burning

The 16th Kate Burkholder mystery (following An Evil Heart) is another riveting police procedural. Despite the violence and some graphic, gruesome details, fans will be eager for the latest well-developed mystery set in Ohio’s Amish country.
PREMIUM

Middle of the Night

Red herrings abound, and there are twists aplenty in Sager’s latest (following The House Across the Lake). His signature style will leave readers dizzyingly satisfied.
PREMIUM

Dead Tired

Funny and engaging. Here’s hoping Ailes will return to the twisty, character-driven storytelling showcased in the first installment of this series.

There’s No Murder Like Show Murder

Playwright Greene brings his love and passion for musical theater to this new series. Theater fans will appreciate the behind-the-scenes knowledge, along with the small details so essential to the atmosphere of this cozy mystery.

Agony Hill

The author of the Maggie D’arcy mysteries (A Stolen Child) launches a historical mystery series with a compassionate, vulnerable detective and a setting so vividly described it could be a character. Julia Spencer-Fleming fans will want to try this one.
PREMIUM

An Intrigue of Witches

Those who enjoy a little history with their magic will find this novel difficult to put down; the plot flows seamlessly from beginning to end. Readers will look forward to the next “Secret Society Mystery.”

The Murders in Great Diddling

With its focus on books and book lovers, eccentric villagers and frauds, this first mystery from the author of The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend is a delightful traditional, filled with fascinating characters. Those who escape to Louise Penny’s Three Pines might want to check out Great Diddling.

What Have You Done?

Lapena is a master of suspense, and she doesn’t disappoint here. Her many fans and those who enjoy domestic suspense, small-town crimes, and twisty thrillers will flock to this one. Very highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The Wrong Hands

Billingham continues his Detective Miller series in style. Wryly comic, fast-paced, and sharply observed, this excellent sequel to The Last Dance will be welcomed by the author’s fans.
PREMIUM

Return to Wyldcliffe Heights

Goodman, author of two Mary Higgins Clark Award–winning novels, including The Night Visitors, will please readers who like a gothic mystery with a creepy setting and unreliable narrators. Suggest for fans of Jane Eyre.
PREMIUM

The Last Line

While Lyerly’s cozy mystery debut celebrates theater, it also shines a spotlight on Tourette’s syndrome and emphasizes that some of the manifestations are different from those shown on television. Readers of cozy mysteries interested in current topics such as sexual assault, dementia, and newspaper cutbacks might want to try this book. Suggest for fans of Mia P. Manansala.
PREMIUM

A Nest of Vipers

An interesting blend of cozy mystery and historical fiction. The real charm of this novel is found in the setting and the characters, particularly the relationship between Kaveri and Ramu.
PREMIUM

Desperation Reef

Recommended for fans of Parker’s previous works and those interested in California’s surf culture and in characters trying to move on after a painful personal loss.
PREMIUM

Sherlock Holmes and the Telegram from Hell

Meyer is an author, screenwriter, director, and life-long Holmes fan. In addition to editorial notes and photos of many characters, he also weaves real people into this fabulous tale, including Alice Roosevelt Longworth and a very young J. Edgar Hoover, all while keeping the game very much afoot. Baker Street Irregulars everywhere will enjoy this.
PREMIUM

Broiler

A third winner by a rising star of Southern noir.
PREMIUM

The Woman in the Garden

Published in England as Devil’s Breath, Johnson’s (The Time Before the Time To Come) novel, with its convoluted plot, might appeal to those who appreciate socially awkward, unreliable narrators.

One Perfect Couple

Ware (Zero Days) once again delivers the literary goods, with a cheeky sense of wit (including a “blink and you’ll miss it” nod to one of her own books), a propulsive sense of pacing, and a fiendishly clever conclusion.
PREMIUM

One of Our Kind

At times unsettling, Yoon’s narrative is a thought-provoking exploration of race and identity in modern society.
PREMIUM

The Five Year Lie

The questions mount in this techno-thriller lite that doesn’t require any heavy lifting but will have readers wondering who’s watching their doorbell cams.

The Briar Club

This powerful, unforgettable historical mystery is for fans of Mary Anna Evans’s Justine Byrne series and stories with strong women characters.

Mystery | Prepub Alert, November 2024 Titles

Thrillers | Prepub Alert, November 2024 Titles

‘The Briar Club’ by Kate Quinn | Mystery Pick of the Month

PREMIUM

Last Seen in Havana

Relationship fiction wrapped in a gentle mystery. This atmospheric series entry is recommended for fans of Leah Franqui’s After the Hurricane.
PREMIUM

Daughter of Ashes

This well-paced mystery, underlaid with an implacable sense of urgency, will hold listeners’ attention throughout. Recommended for fans of Laurie Stevens, Samantha Holland, and Joanna Schaffhausen.
PREMIUM

The Heiress

Highly recommended to fans of Lucy Foley and Lisa Jewell.
PREMIUM

California Bear

An unstoppable listen, highly recommended for those craving a thrilling break from reality.

A Corpse in the Castle

Filled with bright and sarcastic dialogue and smart plotting, this clever cozy is an excellent reintroduction to Polly Pepper.
PREMIUM

City in Ruins

If this is truly Winslow’s valediction, one couldn’t ask for anything more fitting and rewarding.
PREMIUM

Do What Godmother Says

Stratton delivers a tightly woven dual-timeline thriller. Elements of occult horror, historical fiction, and whodunit will intrigue readers of all stripes. Give this to fans of Alyssa Cole’s When No One Is Watching.
PREMIUM

The Next Mrs. Parrish

With scheming worthy of the soapiest television drama, readers will enjoy watching the match of wits and wills in this entertaining beach read.

The Comfort of Ghosts

A must-buy to complete Winspear’s great series. The satisfying and emotional ending is perfect for fans.

Read-Alikes for ‘A Calamity of Souls’ by David Baldacci | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

A Punishing Breed

Readers who like campus mysteries and intriguing, gruff detectives with a few redeeming qualities will enjoy this first book in a planned series.
PREMIUM

The Library Thief

Shenjé shines a light on LGBTQIA+ love and people of color in Victorian England. No stone is left unturned or unexamined in this gothic mystery that offers a counterpoint to what is often a cis-het and white genre. Fans of Sarah Waters and Bridget Collins might have in Shenjé a new author to add to their TBR lists.

'Love Letters to a Serial Killer' by Tasha Coryell | Mystery Debut of the Month

Still See You Everywhere

Fans of twisted cat-and-mouse thrillers, unconventional underdog protagonists, fiendish evil-doers, and surprise “holy cow” endings will devour this unputdownable novel.

'Toxic Prey' by John Sandford | Mystery Pick of the Month

Love Letters to a Serial Killer

Witty, shocking, and wild, this is a must-have mystery.
PREMIUM

A Pose Before Dying

While cat yoga may be an extremely cozy activity and setting for a novel, Erickson (“Bookstore Café Mystery” series) also offers a vexing murder mystery that will unsettle and intrigue readers. This series starter quickly piles up the tension and conflict and establishes a main character who’s worth rooting for.
PREMIUM

The Queen City Detective Agency

While the historical mystery is slow-moving at times, it evokes the atmosphere and tension of the 1980s American South, emphasizing the rage and emotions of a woman of color who’s faced with the political clout of ruthless white power brokers.
PREMIUM

The Alone Time

A steady build-up that questions the origins of a tragedy and the motives of the survivors and pits survival, ambition, and perhaps the truth against each other, leading to a finale that will surprise even the most perceptive readers. Will appeal to fans of Jennifer Hillier, Jordan Harper, and Michelle Sacks.
PREMIUM

A Ruse of Shadows

Understanding this historical mystery requires thorough knowledge of the rest of the series, so it’s best for devoted fans.
PREMIUM

An Art Lover’s Guide to Paris and Murder

Art, murder, and the Parisian atmosphere combine in a delightful, detailed mystery for Francophile fans of Rhys Bowen or Betty Webb.
PREMIUM

Requiem for a Mouse

Charlie is on the periphery of the case in this sequel to Hiss Me Deadly, but fans of the series will be happy with the return of Charlie and Diesel, their friends and family, and preparations for a upcoming wedding.

Hunted

Mukherjee approaches terrorism and terrorist actors with a view that is more nuanced than cut-and-dried.
PREMIUM

When I Was Alice

At once frothy and dark, this book will appeal to mystery and thriller fans who loved TV’s Quantum Leap, the “Outlander” series, or the works of Susanna Kearsley.
PREMIUM

Trouble in Queenstown

The author of the “Ross Agency Mysteries” introduces another damaged character in an intriguing private eye story that examines family and roots.
PREMIUM

Radiant Heat

Collins’s claustrophobic debut is recommended for those seeking a layered psychological mystery that touches on topics such as sexual abuse, stalking, and the power of nature’s fury.
PREMIUM

The Busy Body

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking an amusing contemporary murder mystery that channels classic detective-sidekick stories. Recommended for fans of Betty Hechtman, Richard Osman, and Nita Prose.
PREMIUM

The Edge

Baldacci’s many fans will be pleased with this twisty follow-up to The 6:20 Man.

The Last Murder at the End of the World

Turton has created a complex world and characters in a page-turner centered on what it means to be human and whether those qualities are worth preserving. There is very real suspense as the clock runs down on Emory’s investigation, plus true emotional depth in the struggles she and her fellow survivors face.
PREMIUM

A Clock Stopped Dead

The sequel to A Pen Dipped in Poison is an unhappy story of family disagreements. Readers looking for British cozy mysteries might prefer Jessica Ellicott’s Beryl and Edwina series or the novels of M.C. Beaton.

Toxic Prey

 A believable, timely, edge-of-one’s-seat thriller involving climate change and a virus. Whenever Letty Davenport is involved (as in previous outing Dark Angel), it’s disaster on a grand scale.

PREMIUM

The Last Hope

It’s sad to see the story end, but this novel, filled with MacNeal’s signature character-centric plot and minute attention to historical details, does so magnificently.
PREMIUM

Next of Kin

The atmospheric mystery from the Tony Hillerman Award–winning author of McIntyre series opener Pay Dirt Road is a descriptive novel featuring a young PI who analyzes her own feelings about her job and hometown as she searches for answers in the gritty pool halls, in the rundown motels, and on the dusty roads of Texas.
PREMIUM

Ash Dark as Night

Hardboiled, gritty, and fresh, Phillips’s latest is for fans of action/detective stories.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Truth About the Devlins’ by Lisa Scottoline | LibraryReads

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?