Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Read-Alikes for ‘End of Story' by A.J. Finn | LibraryReads

Horror | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Science Fiction & Fantasy | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Myths | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Historical Fiction | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

Cinderella in the Spotlight

This twin-swap romance from Pembroke (Baby Surprise in Costa Rica) is a perfect read for a cozy night in.
PREMIUM

Winning Over the Brooding Billionaire

Colter’s (Hawaiian Nights with the Best Man) latest is a heartwarming read of love and family.
PREMIUM

A Place To Hide

Webb follows up Murder at Sunset Rock with another well-delivered story of romance and intrigue.
PREMIUM

Heiress’s Escape to South Africa

Merchant (Ballerina and the Greek Billionaire) writes a charming romance that readers will be unable to put down.
PREMIUM

Consequence of Their Parisian Night

Renae’s (Parisian Escape with the Billionaire) latest is a fun romance with an adorable meet cute and an instant connection.
PREMIUM

K-9 Detection

Severn (K-9 Security) writes a great second novel in this series that has well-developed new characters and past favorites.
PREMIUM

Murder in the Blue Ridge Mountains

A fast-paced read from Flowers (Christmas Lights Killer) that will leave readers looking forward to the next title in the series.
PREMIUM

Wetlands Investigation

Solving the murder and staying safe while exploring their newfound love, the characters Sarah and Nick make this a great third book in the series from Cassidy (Monster in the Marsh).
PREMIUM

The Perfect Witness

Mettner (Going Rogue in Red Rye County) will keep readers on the edge of their seats with this well-written, fast-paced novel.
PREMIUM

Swiftwater Enemies

Readers who enjoy suspense and search-and-rescue stories will find that this title does not disappoint.
PREMIUM

Courting Samira

A humorous, heartfelt romantic comedy that will appeal to readers who enjoy gentle romance.

Delicious Romance | Foodie Rom-Coms

‘The Prospects’ by KT Hoffman | Romance Debut of the Month

‘Someone You Can Build a Nest In’ by John Wiswell | SFF Debut of the Month

Romance | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Read-Alikes for ‘Fangirl Down’ by Tessa Bailey | LibraryReads

Magical Realism | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Pop Fiction | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Literary Fiction | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Out There Screaming: An Anthology of New Black Horror

The collaboration of these uniquely gifted narrators with extraordinarily talented Black horror authors results in a thrilling, multifaceted audio experience that belongs in all fiction collections.

‘The Phoenix Bride’ by Natasha Siegel | Romance Pick of the Month

‘A Lonesome Place for Dying’ by Nolan Chase | Mystery Pick of the Month

‘The Dead Cat Tail Assassins’ by P. Djèlí Clark | SFF Pick of the Month

Read-Alikes for ‘The Women’ by Kristin Hannah | LibraryReads

Thrillers | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

Mystery | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

PREMIUM

The Exclusive

Fans who enjoy journalist sleuths, likable stars, and the novels of Michael Connelly and Hank Phillippi Ryan will find this hard to put down.
PREMIUM

Smoke Kings

In this story with an impassioned plotline and an assortment of complex characters, Mayfield approaches an often controversial subject with nuance, ushering in an array of perspectives from his dramatis personae. A brilliant debut from a promising talent.
PREMIUM

Nothing Special, Vol. One: Through the Elder Woods

Cook (My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic) offers a fine idyll through a fabulistic world that’s an appealing read for cozy fantasy fans.
PREMIUM

Dwellings

Readers who enjoyed Afterlife with Archie by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa or Octopus Girl by Toru Yamazaki will enjoy untangling the plots of these six cutesy yet highly disturbing stories.
PREMIUM

Manila Takes Manhattan

De Guzman (A Match Made in Lipa) gives readers a fun, frothy, and sexy story.
PREMIUM

The Boyfriend Subscription

This will draw readers in with its Pretty Woman vibes and queer love story.
PREMIUM

Sanctuary

Fans of Isabel Cañas’s The Hacienda and Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s Mexican Gothic will breathe in this book’s brooding atmosphere, even as its emotional punch of a climax leaves them breathless.

Immortal Pleasures

A lush examination of love, self-worth, and colonialism through the monstrous.
PREMIUM

The Waves Take You Home

Foodies will delight in the mouthwatering details of paella, pineapple upside-down rum cake, caramel flan, and sweet red wine in a charming novel.
PREMIUM

Under the Tamarind Tree

A beautifully told tale, offering a compelling love story and insight into Partition and its aftermath.
PREMIUM

Three Holidays and a Wedding

An outstanding addition to any holiday romance collection, perfect for fans of Jean Meltzer’s The Matzah Ball or Jaqueline Snowe’s Snowed in for Christmas.
PREMIUM

The Sight

A bleak but thrilling listen, providing an atmospheric glimpse into the inner workings and superstitions of carnival life. Share with listeners seeking character-driven, supernatural suspense.
PREMIUM

Straw Dogs of the Universe

A moving portrait of a fraught time in U.S. history. Share with readers of Jenny Tinghui Zhang’s Four Treasures of the Sky or Lisa Ko’s The Leavers.
PREMIUM

Accidentally in Love

An enjoyable but somewhat slow-going sophomore outing for Jackson (The Accidental Pinup).

The Wake-Up Call

Will appeal to listeners seeking an engaging opposites-attract holiday rom-com. Recommended for fans of Sophie Cousens, Emily Henry, and Katherine Center.
PREMIUM

An American Immigrant

This novel about the importance of one’s family and culture should appeal to readers of Leah Franqui and Angie Cruz.
PREMIUM

The Pole

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a short but stirring literary novel about art and desire. Recommended for fans of Anne Enright and Rachel Cusk.
PREMIUM

The Beginning of Everything

A solid friends-to-lovers romance with some thought-provoking elements. Recommended for fans of Abbi Waxman and Jenny Colgan.
PREMIUM

Galatea: A Short Story

Will appeal to listeners seeking a haunting short story with classical inspiration and unsettling contemporary implications. Recommended for fans of Jennifer Saint, Natalie Haynes, and Claire Heywood.
PREMIUM

Godzilla: Here There Be Dragons

Author Tieri (Multiversity: Harley Quinn Screws Up the DCU) and illustrator Miranda (We Live: Coming of Age) spin a thrilling adventure featuring the world-renowned King of the Monsters.

Eden

Author Sebela (Crowded Vol. 1) and illustrator Laming (Star Wars: Doctor Aphra Omnibus) present a riveting science fiction thriller examining how hope can inspire heroism, or become an excuse for monstrousness, in the face of desperation.

Firebugs

A tender, probing exploration of queer identity in a world seemingly on the verge of collapse, brought to life with warmth and grace by Bulling’s (Cutes: Collected Queer and Trans Comics) exceptionally fluid, emotionally evocative linework.

What We Mean by Yesterday: Vol. 1

Marra employs a loose, somewhat sketchy cartooning style that’s perfectly matched to his fast-paced, seemingly intuitive plotting. An occasionally shocking, sometimes nightmarish, completely unpredictable satire of modern masculinity.
PREMIUM

Army of One, Vol. 1

Despite an overabundance of exposition and worldbuilding, this is an intriguing initial offering from Lee (Hope Falls) in an ongoing sci-fi adventure, starring a charismatic queer teenager.
PREMIUM

Void Rivals, Vol. 1

Kirkman (Firepower) and illustrators De Felici (Oblivion Song Compendium) and Lopes craft a fantastic space opera centered on a fascinatingly complex pair of protagonists.

Iris: A Novel for Viewers

Tjong-Khing draws on psychedelic and pop art influences, using exaggerated figures, flamboyant gestures, and vivid color to evoke an uncanny sense of movement and unbridled emotion in this fascinatingly surreal dystopian science fiction pop fantasia.
PREMIUM

The Metabarons: Second Cycle Finale

Not a particularly great starting point for new readers, but so packed with magnificent action and trippy notions about human nature that even the uninitiated are likely to find something to enjoy in this operatic science fiction epic.
PREMIUM

Pelican Girls

Fans of historical fiction will appreciate this atmospheric tale of survival, reminiscent of Savage Lands by Clare Clark.
PREMIUM

The Girls We Sent Away

In this engaging, shocking, heart-wrenching story, readers are pulled along with Lorraine through the ups and downs of her pregnancy, optimistic for her future but saddened by its likely outcome. Fans of Church’s The Last Carolina Girl will be clamoring to read this one.
PREMIUM

The Divorcées

The history of “divorce ranches” in the United States is fascinating as depicted in this novel, and Lois’s growing independence is compelling. A good choice for readers and book groups interested in 20th-century historical fiction that deals with women’s issues.

James

Everett (English, Univ. of Southern California), author of The Trees and Erasure, has written an even richer and penetrating Adventures than Twain’s already rich masterpiece. It will fly off library shelves.
PREMIUM

The Morningside

Obreht draws upon plausible dystopian and postapocalyptic futures and strong elements from Serbian folktales, as well as magical realism. The result is a strange, almost dreamlike novel, distinctive for its memorable characters and beautiful writing.
PREMIUM

Clytemnestra’s Bind

It’s getting increasingly difficult to stand out in the crowded field of Greek mythological retellings; while Wilson’s effort doesn’t entirely succeed, it’s worthwhile for readers who enjoy this genre.

Choice

These pages abound with misery: animal mistreatment, the harsh plight of refugees, and dire poverty. But the rewards--indelible images, admirable story-telling, and wicked good writing--are many.
PREMIUM

The House on Biscayne Bay

Cleeton artfully weaves together two storylines, each featuring a different but equally sympathetic heroine, to create a compelling mystery with plenty of gothic atmosphere. Recommended for fans of suspenseful historical fiction about courageous women determined to uncover the truth no matter the cost.
PREMIUM

Nearly All the Men in Lagos Are Mad: Stories

A huge hit in Nigeria, Kuku’s story collection explores women’s lives, sexuality, and resilience in the face of adversity.
PREMIUM

Burma Sahib

The prolific Theroux (The Mosquito Coast) has long been a expert writer of fiction and travel narratives, so this biographical historical novel, about the young adult life of the soon-to-be George Orwell, is a natural for him.

Change

Louis’s (History of Violence) brilliant autobiographical novel set off fireworks when it was published in France. This fast page-turner will stir emotions and quicken heartbeats as Eddy creates his ideal self-image.
PREMIUM

Seven Summers

Set against the stunning backdrop of the Cornish coastline, Toon’s (Only Love Can Hurt Like This) atmospheric romance, full of longing, mourning, and growing up, will appeal to fans of slow-burn novels.
PREMIUM

Chloe Baker’s Lost Date

Stock the latest from Wicks (Hazel Fine Sings Along) where rom-coms are popular.

One Last Shot

Bayouette crafts an engaging story that jumps back and forth between the protagonists’ high school days and the present. The emotional aspects of the romance take center stage in this heartfelt first novel.
PREMIUM

Savor It

DeWitt (Rootbound) delivers another emotion-packed rom-com that readers will be eating up, full of witty banter, comical hijinks, and tender moments of healing. Hand to those who enjoy grumpy/sunshine pairings as well as fake-relationship romances.

The Prospects

The plot follows the tried-and-true sports romance formula that will please fans, while the love story and the tenacious, hopeful hero at its center will give readers the warm fuzzies.
PREMIUM

Everyone I Kissed Since You Got Famous

This first novel from Marvel (the pen name of Ruthie Knox and Annie Mare, coauthors of the forthcoming mystery Big Name Fan) is compellingly written, with a light touch on serious subjects and strong chemistry between the main characters. Recommended for readers who enjoy sapphic friends-to-lovers and celebrity romances.
PREMIUM

Take Me Home

Sweeney’s strikingly realistic tangle of family dynamics and forced proximity between two believable characters overcoming past presumptions about each other, along with sexy love scenes, make this a must-read.

Effie Olsen’s Summer Special

A much less intense version of The Bear, but with all the same familial bonds and restaurant drama. Bilow (Ruby Spencer’s Whiskey Year), a classically trained chef and food writer, serves up a full dish of romance, humor, and meaty plot, with a perfect portion of sexiness on the side.
PREMIUM

This Could Be Us

The second in Ryan’s “Skyland” series, after LJ Best Book Before I Let Go, is a gripping story recommended for readers who enjoy especially angsty and emotional romances like those of Colleen Hoover.
PREMIUM

Hathor and the Prince

McAvoy’s third Du Bell novel (following Verity and the Forbidden Suitor) is an entertaining historical romance.
PREMIUM

The Stranger I Wed

St. George (The Duchess Takes a Husband) kicks off her latest Gilded Age-set series with a romance that takes readers on a well-crafted, slow-burn journey through a marriage of convenience that eventually erupts into a steamy love story.
PREMIUM

Earls Trip

Powered by feelings and friendships, rather than plot or pacing, Holiday’s latest deftly sets up a series that shows potential.
PREMIUM

All’s Fair in Love and War

Heath (the “Wild Warriners” and “Merriwell Sisters” romances) starts an enjoyable new Regency series featuring a determined governess who knows exactly how she wants to live her life and a naval captain who is realizing that he doesn’t.
PREMIUM

An Inconvenient Letter

Readers will enjoy how Etta and Gerard try to detangle themselves from the messiness of their lives and loves in Wright’s (Windsong Manor) latest, reminiscent of the humor and romantic hoax in Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.
PREMIUM

Nearlywed

With a strong cast of characters and a gorgeous seaside New England setting, this mature and witty romance from DiDomizio (The Gay Best Friend) will appeal to fans of Alexis Hall and Emily Henry.

The Phoenix Bride

Narrated in alternating points of view and featuring diversity along multiple axes, including religion and LGBTQIA+ identity, this lyrically written and utterly romantic novel from Siegel (Solomon’s Crown) will appeal to readers of historical fiction and epic love stories.
PREMIUM

One Last Word

Witty lines, touching reconciliation moments, and compelling career and romantic breakthroughs make Park’s (The Do-Over) latest novel a satisfying read. Fans of her previous books will enjoy the well-paced plot and the various personalities in the cast, as well as Sara and Harry’s strong compatibility and chemistry.
PREMIUM

Hearts on Thin Ice

YA author Kennedy’s (What Goes Up) shining adult debut will delight readers and intrigue fans of Sarina Bowen’s “Brooklyn Bruisers” series and Icebreaker by Hannah Grace.

Ladies of the Rachmaninoff Eyes

With brilliant comic writing and dialogue evocative of Capote, McCullers, and Waugh, Van Dyke’s delightfully unproblematized story of a Black queer youth’s coming-of-age feels decades ahead of its time.

The Fire Within

Twice adapted to film by Louis Malle in 1963 and Joachim Trier in 2011, La Rochelle’s courageous plunge into the void reveals itself to be, as Will Self suggests in his incisive introduction, an existential novel rivaling those of Albert Camus, Jean-Paul Sartre, and William S. Burroughs.

Termush

Holm’s enigmatic fable deftly imagines from the inside out what might become of our fragile societal and mental constructs when the world as we knew it is gone, placing it alongside such psychologically acute post-apocalyptic rediscoveries as Marlen Haushofer’s The Wall and Kay Dick’s They.

Twelve Stories: With Selected Early Writings

The fierce genius on display here leaves little doubt that had she lived past 33, Latimer may well have rivaled Virginia Woolf as modernist master and feminist icon. A revelation.
PREMIUM

Seed on the Wind

One of the most ingenious plotters ever, Stout keeps readers guessing in this compelling saga, a curious forerunner to Ross Macdonald.
PREMIUM

A Deadly Walk in Devon

A fresh concept for a new series that offers readers the chance to see the English countryside. Those who enjoy Steve Burrows’s birding mysteries may want to try this nature-heavy cozy.

A Lonesome Place for Dying

Chase (author of the Dave Wakeland detective novels under the name Sam Wiebe) debuts his lonesome, reflective lawman with this well-written, complex case. Fans of Craig Johnson’s Longmire will enjoy.

The Innocents

The sequel to The Tumbling Girl is another entertaining, well-researched historical mystery, good for fans of Masterpiece Mystery’s Miss Scarlet and the Duke. As before, the working people behind the scenes at the music hall are the stars.
PREMIUM

To Slip the Bonds of Earth

Fans of Flower’s Agatha Award–winning mystery featuring Emily Dickinson, Because I Could Not Stop for Death, will appreciate the details in her new slow-paced novel featuring a strong, often-overlooked historical figure.

Cold to the Touch

Alaska in the winter and a likable protagonist come to life in this excellent, fast-paced police procedural. Suggest for fans of Harlan Coben or Lissa Marie Redmond.

Blood Red Summer

The intriguing sequel to Something Bad Wrong utilizes dual timelines and three voices that contrast styles of crime coverage in a Southern noir story of violence, corruption, and racism. For fans of true-crime podcasts or S.A. Cosby.
PREMIUM

Matterhorn

This would make a great movie, and fans of the Bond tales and special-ops action novels should add this to their reading lists
PREMIUM

Twice the Trouble

Fans of antiheroes and flawed characters will enjoy this action-packed, nonstop adventure.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?