Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Emily Wilde’s Map of the Otherlands

This excellent series installment will leave listeners desperate to find out what Emily’s up to next.
PREMIUM

All the Hidden Paths

Recommended for listeners seeking a lush LGBTQIA+ fantasy and those who enjoy excellent worldbuilding with sumptuous descriptions of fashion and food. Political thriller enthusiasts may also enjoy the tricky byzantine plotting.
PREMIUM

Iron Flame

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking an intense, exhilarating epic fantasy. Not suitable as a stand-alone; the series is slated to be a quintet, so resolution will be deferred. Recommended for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Terry Brooks.
PREMIUM

The Future

Alderman’s The Power, which was recently made into a popular television series, continues to attract attention; libraries should expect high demand for this twisty and emotionally resonant vision of the future.
PREMIUM

Thornhedge

With a running time of fewer than four hours, this is perfect for short road trips. Recommend to faerie and folk tale fans who enjoyed Seanan McGuire’s “Wayward Children” series or Kell Woods’s After the Forest.
PREMIUM

Saevus Corax Deals with the Dead

A must for fans of the lighter side of grimdark and morally gray characters like Shannack from Christopher Buehlman’s The Blacktongue Thief.
PREMIUM

Yours for the Taking

While some listeners might wish for more robust characterizations, this speculative look at the cost of capitalist feminism intrigues. For fans of Brey Willows’s Chosen.
PREMIUM

The Shadow Speaker

Lyrical, emotive narration enhances a compelling coming-of-age novel, the first in a duology perfect for any audio fantasy collection.
PREMIUM

System Collapse

This audio will appeal to listeners seeking an immersive, engaging sci-fi series with short, fast-paced installments; as a continuation of the Network Effect storyline, this is not ideal as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Ann Leckie, Andy Weir, and Iain Banks.
PREMIUM

A Season of Monstrous Conceptions

With notes of cosmic horror and fantasy, Rather’s haunting tale inscribes the struggles of people on the margins seeking stability while discovering their talents and self-worth.
PREMIUM

The Oxygen Farmer

A fast-paced, wry SF thriller sure to please diehard sci-fi fans and those new to the genre. Share with readers of Arthur C. Clarke and Andy Weir.
PREMIUM

An Inheritance of Magic

Watt’s narration will leave listeners anticipating the next installment of Stephen’s story. Purchase for fans of Jacka’s works and where urban fantasy is popular.
PREMIUM

Space Holes: First Transmission

This space romp will have listeners laughing at a robust cast and familiar workplace ridiculousness. Recommend not only for fans of “The Murderbot Diaries” series but for anyone who has dealt with inane corporate regulations.
PREMIUM

The Stardust Grail

Kitasei (The Deep Sky) writes an emotional roller coaster of a space quest, highlighting friendship, family, and the ostracism of those believed to be different. The prose is as intimate as the universe is wide.

Service Model

A surprisingly thoughtful and compelling story from Tchaikovsky (Lords of Uncreation) about one robot’s journey through their own version of Dante’s circles of hell, complete with all the other hells they’d rather never have imagined. Readers who love a good postapocalyptic hell ride, AI-centered adventures, and robot/human companion stories, such as A Psalm for the Wild-Built by Becky Chambers, will appreciate.

A Letter to the Luminous Deep

Readers will want to savor the delightful letters that make up this cozy fantasy set in academia and an underwater world. Recommend to fans of Malka Older’s “Mossa and Pleiti” series.

The Silverblood Promise

There’s never a dull moment in this instantly absorbing debut that offers effortless escapism. Perfect for fans of the “Mistborn” series by Brandon Sanderson.
PREMIUM

Escape Velocity

Manibo (The Sleepless) pens a novel full of twists and turns, with broad appeal. Sci-fi, dystopian, and mystery fans will all find something to enjoy, while the posh setting and elite players give an unexpected air of palace intrigue that could rival Game of Thrones.
PREMIUM

The Stars Too Fondly

This delightful debut is a space odyssey with just enough mystery and romance to keep readers thoroughly entertained.
PREMIUM

Foul Days

Fans of folklore-infused fantasy with a romantic subplot and sassy, independent main characters will blissfully devour the coming duology.
PREMIUM

Red Side Story

The sequel to Fforde’s Shades of Grey continues to flesh out the inflexible society of the Colortocracy and Eddie’s pursuit to discover the truths about his world. The satirical dystopian setting and memorable characters highlight Fforde’s skill with worldbuilding and dialogue.
PREMIUM

The Practice, the Horizon, and the Chain

Metaphysical and philosophical, this novella from Samatar (The White Mosque) combines space adventure with an examination of the carceral state, here set in academia, that will leave readers with much to think about. This will appeal to readers who were fascinated by the stultifying caste systems of Medusa Uploaded by Emily Devenport and Braking Day by Adam Oyebanji and the rot of academe in The Mimicking of Known Successes by Malka Older.

The Cautious Traveller’s Guide to the Wastelands

A nerve-wracking but empathetic first-class read for lovers of the strange and uncanny.

How To Become the Dark Lord and Die Trying

Wexler’s (Emperor of Ruin) latest is a wild ride of fake it ’til you make it, full of high adventure and low chuckles every step of the way.

Mirrored Heavens

Roanhorse’s world of the Meridian (last seen in the series entry Fevered Star) is a powerful tale of gods, power, and the way people seek to claim both. The exquisite storytelling doesn’t release readers until the final page is turned.
PREMIUM

Ocean’s Godori

Cho’s debut is a quick read with a spark of romance and a cliffhanger that will frustrate some readers but leave others excited for what happens next.

Fiasco

Every single bit as much fun and adventurous as the author’s debut, this sequel offers a terrific enemies-to-lovers romance, an utterly stunning heel-turn betrayal, and a heartfelt story about blending found families and birth families and never assuming that what one sees is anything like the truth. Featuring a well-developed mercantile empire-type space opera setting, this is highly recommended for fans of the space romances of Valerie Valdes, K.B. Wagers, Rachel Bach, and Cat Rambo.
PREMIUM

The Fragile Threads of Power

Schwab’s well-spun series starter delivers, offering favorite characters for fans and fresh storylines to entice new listeners.
PREMIUM

And Put Away Childish Things

A great listen for anyone who enjoyed Lev Grossman’s The Magicians or Seanan McGuire’s Every Heart a Doorway and who understands that the worlds next to ours may be filled with darkness.
PREMIUM

Touched

With this quick but impactful listen, Edgar Award–winning Mosley offers existential musings about humanity’s purpose mixed with piercing commentary about societal ills.
PREMIUM

The Hanging City

Bentley’s expressive and entertaining narration provides a captivating look into the underground world of Cagmar and its inhabitants. Holmberg’s (Heir of Uncertain Magic) latest is a winner for fans of intricately plotted fantasy in the vein of Trent Jamieson’s The Stone Road.
PREMIUM

Prophet

A twisty sci-fi plot paves the way for slow-burn romance in this uniquely told collaboration.
PREMIUM

The Longest Autumn

Much like a leaf falling through the autumn air, Avery’s book is beautiful on its surface but unable to maintain a straight path.
PREMIUM

And What Can We Offer You Tonight

Mohamed’s haunting novella will check the boxes for fans seeking horror, fantasy, and dystopian worlds. Recommended for fans of Mia V. Moss’s Mai Tais for the Lost and C.L. Polk’s Even Though I Knew the End.
PREMIUM

We Are the Crisis

Perhaps the most striking part of Turnbull’s novel is its relevance to the current political climate, making it the perfect choice for listeners who enjoy speculative fiction that bravely tackles real-world issues.
PREMIUM

The Narrow Road Between Desires

Fans of fairy tales with a grown-up spin and Rothfuss’s other works will enjoy this audiobook that requires a smaller time investment than most fantasy novels.

The Dallergut Dream Department Store

This is an excellent choice for a gentle book club read.

Compelling Cli-Fi | SF/Fantasy

Science Fiction & Fantasy | Prepub Alert, August 2024 Titles

‘Someone You Can Build a Nest In’ by John Wiswell | SFF Debut of the Month

‘The Dead Cat Tail Assassins’ by P. Djèlí Clark | SFF Pick of the Month

PREMIUM

Nothing Special, Vol. One: Through the Elder Woods

Cook (My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic) offers a fine idyll through a fabulistic world that’s an appealing read for cozy fantasy fans.
PREMIUM

The Day Tripper

Goodhand’s (Man Down) adult debut is a compelling look at the way decisions, good and bad, build up over time to create a life. Recommended for fans of The Midnight Library by Matt Haig and readers who enjoy time-travel narratives.
PREMIUM

Lake of Souls: The Collected Short Fiction

This complete volume of Leckie’s short stories will be much appreciated by her fans, particularly as the “Imperial Radch” universe is award-winning and popular; the volume’s new story set there should be a welcome addition to that world.

Archangels of Funk

This cross between Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler and Kiki’s Delivery Service by Eiko Kadono deserves a place in every library.
PREMIUM

Sunbringer

The second book in the “Fallen Gods” series delves more deeply into Godkiller’s characters and world, with human vs. divine battles and a found family that will appeal to fans of The Witcher.
PREMIUM

When Among Crows

Roth’s (Arch-Conspirator) novella is filled with Polish folklore, imaginative storytelling, and depictions of how family forms people but doesn’t have to define them. Fans of contemporary fairy tales and fantastical stories should pick this one up.
PREMIUM

The Fireborne Blade

Recommended for readers who love to see a familiar tale turned on its head so hard that the entire story becomes different and even more fascinating.

The Brides of High Hill

A highly recommended entry in Vo’s series, one where the familiar erupts in surprise, a shower of blood, and all the horrors of Cassandra Khaw’s Nothing But Blackened Teeth, leaving Chih with yet another fascinating tale to tell.

The Dead Cat Tail Assassins

This wildly surprising caper fantasy from Clark (A Master of Djinn) will keep readers on the edge of their seats working out who “dunit,” and how and why, as they explore the gritty underbelly of this world of living contracts, dead gods, and legal necromancy, reminiscent of Max Gladstone’s “Craft Sequence” and “Craft Wars” series. This will appeal to all lovers of urban fantasy.
PREMIUM

Necrobane

The sequel to Ford’s Warden is a delightful epic fantasy, filled with strong worldbuilding and a great cast of characters.

Court of Wanderers

Highly recommended for readers who fell in love with Remy and his journey in Silver Under Nightfall. Also suggest Chupeco’s duology to anyone who loves fantasy filled with courtly glitter, epic betrayals, and bloody battles with friends and monsters alike.

The Wings Upon Her Back

Mills’s debut novel is complex and haunting, filled with beautiful prose and timely themes of political and religious upheaval and personal journeys.
PREMIUM

The Bound Worlds

The last of O’Keefe’s “Devoured Worlds” trilogy, following The Fractured Dark, brings as much action and as many thought-provoking character arcs as the previous books.
PREMIUM

The Gilded Crown

A beautiful fantasy full of quests, court intrigue, and star-crossed lovers, Gordon’s debut is the first of a duology, recommended for fans of Samantha Shannon’s The Priory of the Orange Tree.
PREMIUM

Welcome to Forever

Tavares’s (A Fractured Infinity) worldbuilding is complex and fascinating in this kaleidoscope of a novel. The high-stakes science fiction is sharp and tragic, hopeful and thrilling.

Someone You Can Build a Nest In

Wiswell’s debut is the ultimate monster slayer story, if the monster is just a misunderstood creature searching for love. This romantic fantasy has a great balance of grimness and humor that will appeal to fans of T. Kingfisher’s fantasy titles.
PREMIUM

Relics of Ruin

The strengths of the first book continue in the second of Evans’s “Books of the Usurper” series, with sophisticated prose, a richly detailed world, a clandestine and conspiratorial atmosphere, and fascinating elemental magic. Great for fans of Richard Swan.

The Familiar

Bardugo (Hell Bent) masterfully weaves magical realism with historical fiction and romance, which makes this book impossible to put down. Great for fans of Rebecca Ross, Heather Fawcett, and Holly Black.
PREMIUM

The Book That Broke the World

This is a wonderfully immersive fantasy whose meta message, about the power of books to change the world, is not to be missed.

Lost Ark Dreaming

Okungbowa (Warrior of the Wind) offers readers an amazing, character-driven story set in a vivid, dystopian world.
PREMIUM

Godzilla: Here There Be Dragons

Author Tieri (Multiversity: Harley Quinn Screws Up the DCU) and illustrator Miranda (We Live: Coming of Age) spin a thrilling adventure featuring the world-renowned King of the Monsters.

Eden

Author Sebela (Crowded Vol. 1) and illustrator Laming (Star Wars: Doctor Aphra Omnibus) present a riveting science fiction thriller examining how hope can inspire heroism, or become an excuse for monstrousness, in the face of desperation.
PREMIUM

Army of One, Vol. 1

Despite an overabundance of exposition and worldbuilding, this is an intriguing initial offering from Lee (Hope Falls) in an ongoing sci-fi adventure, starring a charismatic queer teenager.
PREMIUM

Void Rivals, Vol. 1

Kirkman (Firepower) and illustrators De Felici (Oblivion Song Compendium) and Lopes craft a fantastic space opera centered on a fascinatingly complex pair of protagonists.
PREMIUM

The Metabarons: Second Cycle Finale

Not a particularly great starting point for new readers, but so packed with magnificent action and trippy notions about human nature that even the uninitiated are likely to find something to enjoy in this operatic science fiction epic.

Read-Alikes for ‘House of Flame and Shadow’ by Sarah J. Maas | LibraryReads

Science Fiction & Fantasy | Prepub Alert, July 2024 Titles

These Fragile Graces, This Fugitive Heart

Recommended for SF readers who love a good mystery, can’t resist a queer romance, and adore seeing a corporate conspiracy unraveled and undone.

A Flame in the North

Saintcrow (The Salt-Black Tree) steps away from her usual urban fantasy with this epic Norse-inspired fantasy, emulating the writing style of traditional epic poems and tales with fantastic attention to detail. Recommend to readers who enjoy the high-fantasy writing style of authors such as J. R. R. Tolkien and those who appreciate Norse mythology.
PREMIUM

I Feel Awful, Thanks

Written from the heart and personal experience, Pickle’s debut is a compelling effort to help young adults feel seen through an imaginative delve into familiar psychological challenges.

Display Shelf | Cozy Fantasy

Display Shelf | Hopepunk

PREMIUM

Lore of the Wilds

Sbrana’s worldbuilding is richly detailed, with much of the action taking place in the final third of the book, and the cliffhanger ending will have readers breathlessly anticipating the sequel. Cozy fantasy readers should take note.

The Book of Doors

Brown’s debut is an immersive and enchanting story of friendship, defining one’s future, and the mystery that life can hold. Fans of Alix E. Harrow will find this novel delightful.
PREMIUM

Can’t Spell Treason Without Tea

Like the tea they serve and the company they keep, this is a read to soothe and comfort, with sprayed book edges adding to the delight.
PREMIUM

Fathomfolk

Chan offers readers a gorgeous first novel in the “Drowned World” series, chock full of political intrigue, complex family relationships and secrets, hot romance, water dragons, sea witches, sirens, kelpies, and more. Highly recommended for readers who enjoy Fonda Lee’s “Green Bone Saga.”

‘A Short Walk Through a Wide World’ by Douglas Westerbeke | SFF Debut of the Month

‘Mal Goes to War’ by Edward Ashton | SFF Pick of the Month

Those Beyond the Wall

Set 10 years after The Space Between Worlds, this novel provides a new protagonist, returning characters, and a multiverse of paths for all of them. Johnson’s tense sci-fi thriller is exciting and immersive.
PREMIUM

Catchpenny

In this noir-tinged urban fantasy, Huston (Skinner) has created a world that is completely engrossing and full of wonder, imagination, and a good dose of music history. Give to fans of Neil Gaiman and Leigh Bardugo.

Moon of the Turning Leaves

Rice renders an achingly realistic portrayal of a broken, post-apocalyptic world that still manages to contain hope and beauty. While this story can be read as a stand-alone, readers will likely want to seek out Moon of the Crusted Snow, which is set at the beginning of the blackout.
PREMIUM

To Gaze Upon Wicked Gods

Chang has crafted her own magic with this must-read, genre-bending debut novel, skating between fantasy, science fiction, and historical commentary.
PREMIUM

Floating Hotel

Readers who loved the combination of shipboard mystery, secrecy, and entertainment featured in recent novels (such as The Spare Man by Mary Robinette Kowal, You Sexy Thing by Cat Rambo, and The Sol Majestic by Ferrett Steinmetz) will be happy to board the Grand Abeona and share her final journey in the latest book from Curtis (Frontier).
PREMIUM

The Emperor and the Endless Palace

Huang’s opulent debut novel is a queer m/m reimagining of Chinese folklore that tells a mystical story of star-crossed lovers who chase true love and atonement across thousands of lifetimes.
PREMIUM

The Mars House

Exquisitely layered and entertaining, Pulley’s (The Half Life of Valerie K) latest novel is a queer tale of planetary refugees, politics, and populist views (and mammoths).
PREMIUM

Past Crimes

Despite its weaknesses, this sci-fi thriller from Pinter (A Stranger at the Door) is recommended for fans of Ernest Cline and the crime thrillers of James Patterson and Lee Goldberg.
PREMIUM

Wicked Problems

Gladstone’s second “The Craft Wars” book increases the action and devastation, bringing together familiar characters from across the world of the Craft as the battle for survival continues.
PREMIUM

Of Starlight and Midnight

This spin-off of Kuivalainen’s “Firebird Faerie Tales” is best for those who’ve enjoyed the previous books in that series.
PREMIUM

The Weavers of Alamaxa

Readers looking for fantasy inspired by the wide world of voices out there will find this story’s incorporation of Egyptian history fascinating, while those who love feminist fantasy such as Jenna Glass’s “Women’s War” series will dig right into this fight.
PREMIUM

Assistant to the Villain

A possibility for listeners seeking a grumpy-sunshine romantasy, but an otherwise optional purchase.
PREMIUM

Big Time

A fast-paced and thought-provoking speculative thriller with well-drawn and relatable characters. Give this one to fans of Blake Crouch and Mike Chen.
PREMIUM

Space Holes: First Transmission

Louis (Pray for Evolution) gives readers a ship barely hanging together, a bumbling wannabe hero, and a capable-in-spite-of-themselves crew that readers will root for in spite of themselves, but whether it’s an enjoyable read may depend on how well they can weather the over-the-topness of the novel.

Mal Goes to War

Ashton (Antimatter Blues) offers a technothriller with heart that will appeal to fans of the “Murderbot Diaries” from Martha Wells but also to readers looking for more AI-led stories like Day Zero by C. Robert Cargill and Emergent Properties by Aimee Ogden.
PREMIUM

Grand Tour

In the sequel to The Brass Queen, the vivid worldbuilding and delightful characters create an epic setting. Chatsworth pushes the dialogue and banter to extremes, leading to a fast-paced and humorous steampunk tale.
PREMIUM

Dragon Rider

Matharu’s (The Champion) debut adult fantasy is an excellent choice for readers who are enjoying the resurgence of dragon stories.

The Other Valley

This gripping speculative novel will make for wonderful book club discussions.

A Short Walk Through a Wide World

Readers of The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E. Schwab and Life of Pi by Yann Martel will fall in love with Aubry. Librarian Westerbeke’s debut is highly recommended for anyone who enjoys armchair travel and stories that open wide to embrace every experience, even the sad ones.
PREMIUM

A Feather So Black

YA author Selene (Diamond & Dawn) makes her adult debut with this story featuring the fae and a main character torn between two men and the worlds they represent. Recommend to readers looking for a new romantasy series.

Science Fiction & Fantasy | Prepub Alert, June 2024 Titles

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?