AUDIO

You Look Beautiful Tonight

Brilliance Audio Jun. 2023. 10:23 hrs. ISBN 9798400105098. $42.99. THRILLER
COPY ISBN
Mia was content to hide in the shadows; an invisible, introverted girl, living vicariously through her outgoing friends and fictional book characters. That invisibility is cast aside, however, when a friend signs her up for a dating app, and Mia attracts the attention of the enigmatic Adam. Though Adam seems supportive, bolstering Mia’s confidence and bringing her out of her shell, his candor quickly becomes controlling as he seeks to manipulate her appearance, family, and friendships. More disturbing than the mysterious gifts that appear on her doorstep are the things, or people, that begin to disappear as Mia tries to escape Adam’s obsessive grasp. Jones, who authored The Poet and other titles as Lisa Renee Jones, delivers a domestic thriller that, while engaging, does not live up to the suspense offered by the initial forbidding flashback. Narrator Andi Arndt gives a steady, sedate performance; this works well for Mia’s more reserved moments but falls flat when the tone becomes frantic or frightened.
VERDICT This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a mild thriller with a satisfying, though not shocking, twist. Recommended for fans of Kiersten Modglin and Rachel Hawkins.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?