MEMOIR

Year of the Tiger: An Activist’s Life

Vintage Sept. 2022. 352p. ISBN 9780593315392. pap. $17. MEMOIR
COPY ISBN
The prominent community organizer and founder of the Disability Visibility Project strikes again with an imaginative and insightful memoir about her journey as an activist and her continued fight to dismantle systemic ableism. The text is an eclectic scrapbook of essays, interviews, poems, photos, email chains, memes, and more. Every section is a new discovery that takes the reader through Wong’s childhood memories, policies around public health care, bad media depictions of people with disabilities, various uses of assistive technology, and the future of pandemic-era care. It also includes accessible and collaborative elements, such as image descriptions, artwork by Wong and other artists with disabilities, and quotes from disabled and social justice organizers. Written in a refreshingly frank and honest manner, Wong explores communal joy, grief, and rage and carves out a space for all people to be in conversation with one another.
VERDICT An essential read for anyone with an interest in accessible futures, community building, and social justice. Readers who enjoy Kai Cheng Thom and Adrienne Maree Brown will embrace this.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?