SFF

Uncanny Times

Gallery/Saga (Huntsmen, Bk. 1). Oct. 2022. 384p. ISBN 9781534415928. pap. $17.99. FANTASY
COPY ISBN
In the U.S. in 1913, siblings Rosemary and Aaron Harker know that being Huntsmen means leading untraditional lives to protect the unsuspecting world from the Uncanny. When a distant relative dies, they travel to central New York to see if there was really more to his death, as his widow suspects. The investigation is stymied by residents and visitors alike, along with additional deaths, but Rosemary, Aaron, and their hound Botheration (technically a Hell Hound, but the Harkers find that term too rude to use) discover that what is happening in this town could pose a danger to the rest of world. Smart and flawed protagonists take turns with points of view, as both deal with societal norms that neither really fit into for their own individual reasons. The novel’s worldbuilding involves pre–World War I Fae, monsters, labor issues, and class conventions with a supernatural twist, while the plot hints at future troubles for the Harkers.
VERDICT Fans of Supernatural, Sherlock Holmes, and smart canine companions will find Gilman’s (The Cold Eye) new series to be an entertaining read.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?