AUDIO

The Honeybee Emeralds

Dreamscape Audio Mar. 2022. 11:29 hrs. ISBN 9781666534320. $24.99. F
COPY ISBN
Tector’s enchanting debut transports listeners to glittering Paris, where the discovery of a magnificent diamond-and-emerald necklace reveals long-buried secrets and sets off an epic adventure through France’s iconic past. Iranian British Alice Ahmadi, an intern at the struggling expat magazine Bonjour Paris, uncovers the necklace in the magazine’s basement storeroom. Hoping that a high-profile article about the necklace’s provenance could save the magazine, editor Lily enlists the support of art expert Daphne, magazine owner, Luc, fellow writer Jacob, and next-door neighbor Alexander. Narrator Lameece Issaq ably brings out the excitement as this group, affectionately dubbed the “Fellowship of the Necklace,” makes one amazing discovery after another, connecting the necklace to Louis Napoléon III’s mistress, American singer Josephine Baker, and even the dancer and spy, Mata Hari. In the process of their investigation, the group learns as much about themselves as they do the necklace. Issaq’s skillful characterizations and accent work round out this audio, imbuing each character with depth and breadth.
VERDICT While the story’s plotline occasionally strains credulity, this charming listen will have wide appeal. Recommend for fans of Phaedra Patrick and Nina George, or any listener who appreciates character-driven relationship fiction.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?