AUDIO

The First Date Prophecy

Highbridge Audio Aug. 2023. 10:48 hrs. ISBN 9781696612739. $19.99. CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
Young adult novelist Kate Tamberelli (The People We Choose, written as Katelyn Detweiler) joins her husband, Danny Tamberelli, to publish a semibiographical fiction rom-com. The story begins similarly to their own true story, as former child star Rudy and aspiring writer Lucy match on a dating app. Their first date was supposed to include a psychic and New York’s best tacos but only delivers on the psychic. What a psychic, though—she predicts that Rudy and Lucy are destined for each other and that happiness is assured. The couple purposefully set about building their relationship through the magic and missteps that ensue. Former Nickelodeon star Danny Tamberelli narrates the part of Rudy, alternating with actor Mara Wilson as Lucy. Tamberelli sounds like he is at a bar with friends, telling his buddies about their adventures, while Wilson, more soft-spoken, shares Lucy’s story as she would with an intimate friend. The story is pure rom-com but seeks to answer the question: What makes a successful relationship? And where are the best tacos in New York?
VERDICT A nostalgic, sweet romance, warmly narrated and satisfying. For fans of Rachel Winters and Karen Doornebos.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?