SFF

That Time I Got Drunk and Saved a Demon

Orbit (Mead Mishaps, Bk. 1). Jan. 2024. 288p. ISBN 9780316570275. pap. $18.99. FANTASY
COPY ISBN
DEBUT Spice trader Cinnamon doesn’t want to go on adventures because they lead to dangerous situations such as her sister Cherry getting devoured by a river monster. But Cin’s mishap with way too much mead results in a hangover and her rescue of a devilishly handsome demon who is not so demonic after all, leading her to the knowledge that the divine being her people follow isn’t really a goddess. It will be up to her, her demon mate, and the friends they rescue along the way to save their people from this evil monster masquerading as a goddess. The first book in the “Mead Mishaps” series, previously self-published, throws its heroine into the arms of a demon-shaped cinnamon roll of a hero and sends them on a quest to save the world from a power-hungry monster.
VERDICT This a serious fantasy quest that doesn’t take itself so seriously and is perfect for readers who love Legends & Lattes by Travis Baldree and Can’t Spell Treason Without Tea by Rebecca Thorne, but who wish that the romances at the heart of those cozy fantasies had been considerably more explicit.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?